X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lybeer Travellers' Hostel Reviews

Korte Vuldersstraat 31, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
5685 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Absolutely great location in Bruges. Walking distance from train station and from most everywhere you would want to go in Bruges. Great city as a whole. Facilities here are new, clean and nice. Very cool, relaxed meeting area where it is easy to drink/socialize with other guests. The hosts were very nice and accommodating, and I think they are all family, but as with many hostels that have been around and seen a lot of people come and go, they seemed burned out. Overall it was a great experience


97%

It was great, I would definitely stay there again.


83%

Stayed for 2 nights and had a good experience overall. Was very clean and good kitchen facilities. Was easy to get around. There was just a weird crowd at the hostel (all school children the first night and second night everyone was 40+) otherwise enjoyed my experience


97%

Stayed in a private room with my girlfriend which was great! Very clean, with modern ensuite. The hostel was in a fantastic location, 15min walk from the Train station, 15min walk to Markt square. Local amenities including supermarket 2 min away from the hostel and reasonably priced restaurants just 10min walk away. The staff in the hostel were very accommodating, and the free tour was great! Only downside was that a phone charger was stolen from kitchen on first day, not hostels fault though.

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Clean and well kept hostel with a fun and relaxed bar in the main room. Full of friendly people and excellent staff who are very knowledgeable and willing to help. We stayed in a twin double; the room was great. The hostel is in a perfect location right in town and is also reasonably priced. The wifi worked very well. Overall a great hostel.


91%

a little walk outside the main square, but seeing as you can walk across the whole town in about 15mins, it's not that far lol. only downside is that there aren't any lockers, that being said I never felt like myself or any of my possessions were in danger. I'd say it's one of the top hostels in Bruges, whatever you do tho don't stay at Charlie Rockets (not good)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oops, you didn't see the lockers? They were under the bed, most people seem to be able to find them :-) Come again one day, thanks for your review! Cheers

100%

Lybeer was great! The place is nice, quiet and clean. It is located near the train station. The staff is very helpfull. There are free coffe and tea, and yoy gave all you need if you want to cook in the kitchen.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel is fine, good location, clean, safe...nice atmosphere. The bar is very good and the beer tasting they do was pretty nice!!! The common showers aren't very good, once the hot water didn't work at all, and I had to go to another bathroom to finish showering, that was bad!!! Also the staff aren't in the reception all time, I had to wait a couple of minutes sometimes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. We would like to add however that staff is always present, either at reception, bar, kitchen, upstairs, downstairs, inside, outside. We are a family run hostel so we also take lunch breaks, go shopping and bring our children to school. Sorry you had to wait a couple of "minutes" sometimes :-) Take care, cheers!

100%

Excellent service, very hygienic and the best hosts I've stayed in! The private rooms were beautiful and the bathrooms very clean. I'd definitely recommend the free Walking Tour, it was so entertaining and our guide was superb.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Lybeer is a place with lovely staff & some decent music on in the communal area making for a friendly atmosphere. All of the staff speak great English. good location in a great city- only stayed for a couple of days so got by without using the kitchen etc, but facilities for self-catering are really good. Plenty of bathroom facilities. Equally, if you're looking for simply a room to stay then go out to drink/eat/see other places, like ourselves, then this does the job!

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

the only disantvantages: no elevator, no lockers! everything else was very good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
How did you miss the lockers?? They were under your bed. Better luck next time! :-) Cheers

94%

Overall, this is a great hostel experience. They have social beer tastings, walking tours, a happy hour, and a general community feel to this hostel. I gave an average rating on security because there were no lockers. I did, however, feel very safe there.


80%

Nice place to stay if tour have budget restrictions Good place to meet people of different countries Located at the heart of Brugge

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Just stay here when you're in Bruges. Diana is great ! Loved the bar.


100%

all the sights were within walking distance the room was clean the staff was helpful


83%

The staff is very friendly. It was nice to also speak to the Romanian staff, because the lady with the curly hair told us about some things to see in Romania we didn't know about :)


97%

You're amazing! Thank you for everything :)

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The kettles needed replacing.


74%

Great place. 10 minute walk from station and 5-10 minute walk to Centre square. staff were helpful. were given a 'useful tips' handout with places to eat for brekky lunch and dinners, closest supermarket etc which was good. security is poor though, the room doors did not automatically lock and no one else in the room seemed to lock the door, however we felt safe and were not too concerned. bathrooms and toilets were always really clean. and outside terrace was nice!


91%

A lovely hostel with very nice staff. It was clean and comfortable in a beautiful building. Right in the heart of town but off on a quiet street. Just be prepared to climb some stairs to your room.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(244 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback