X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lybeer Travellers' Hostel Reviews

Korte Vuldersstraat 31, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
4971 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

It was overall not bad


86%

Good hostel, conveniently located close to the center of Brugge. The farthest attraction away was only a 10 minute walk from Lybeers. Good measures were taken for security at night since the hostel doesn't have anyone on reception after 11pm. The lounge area is a great place to hang out and meet fellow travelers, especially in the afternoon and early evening when everyone is making dinner or enjoying happy hour.


97%

Clean, secure and good location. Good kitchen and a good atmosphere with the common room and organised walking tours/pub crawls. Staff not always friendly or available but otherwise it was a good stay.


97%

This hostel is so good, great atmosphere with a bar and kitchen with a big common area, great chill vibes to meet others. The beer tasting, pub crawl and walking tours are all excellent, run by Matt each day (beer tasting tues and fri). The bathrooms are pretty good and clean, the 11 bed dorm is great with separate private booths for each bed with a powerpoint and light. The city is so small that everything is walking distance and it's only a few minutes to the centre square.


97%

awesome place. great crowd and great common room to meet people in. best hostel of the 7 so far on this trip, no contest. the facilities were clean and had a lot of history, and the cubby style beds were more private/quiet/dark than most places. plus cheap beer and better than usual hostel WiFi...


91%

Great hostel, beautiful renovation!! Because it's a historical building, there's no elevator and they're not allowed to install one so don't blame them! I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back if/when I visit Bruges again. My only suggestions would be that the hostel should provide lockers in the rooms and change the locks on the doors. At one point I thought I had lost my key (but hadn't). Otherwise I would have been locked in the room. Dangerous if there's ever a fire.


94%

Very tidy and pleasant place, rather laid back but not noisy when I stayed. Free wireless and coffee in the morning, good bar, friendly owners and guests. Only thing I didn't quite like were the bizarre rules displayed in each room and threatening €500 fines for disruptive behaviour including eating

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey thanks for your great review, appreciated! The "rules" are mostly meant to be funny, don't take them too serious, it's us trying to be ironic :-) Welcome anytime, safe travels!

94%

This was my first time in a hostel and I was really impressed! Gorgeous building with stunning chandeliers, small but well arranged bedrooms, the lady on the front door was lovely and very helpful with facilities and directions, the stairs are very steep but very funky, great free walking tour, all in a great location in a beautiful city!

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The nicest building I've ever seen a hostel in. No lockers in the dorm but the building seemed pretty secure. Clean bathroom. Big common area and centrally located.


100%

We stayed in a four person ensuite and really enjoyed our time at Lybeer.


100%

Me and my brother are traveling around Europe, the staff are extremely friendly and always happy to help, Brugge is one of the best and most charming cities in Europe and this hostel is the perfect starting point to see it from, if you are visiting the city as we did for the food and the drink, the hostel organise beer tastings, walking tours, pub crawls all free, the staff are all extremely knowledgeable. You won't find a better hostel in the area

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It's the second time we've stayed here and now the building work is finished the Lybeers really is a great place to stay. You can't beat the location and the facilities are modern and spotlessly clean. A good atmosphere I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone but be aware there are a lot of stairs (64) to the top floor

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Excellent location, close to the train station and the city center; the staff was really helpful and nice with a strange sense of humor (strange good), the common area was nice and you get to know different people, their beer was cheap and delicious. Bruges is a city that you really fall in love with.


89%

Price and location of this hostel are unbeatable. Also the environment of the floors, bathrooms and bedrooms is pretty great. Unfortunately the reception only opens at 8:30, so if you plan to check out early there is no way to get back the key deposit. The introduction by the reception staff was quite detailed, though a bit too long. Most things mentioned are a nobrainer. Anyway, I would probably return to this hostel in the future.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for your awesome review! If you wish to check out earlier, you need to ask your key deposit back the night before, this is mentioned during check-in. Hope to welcome you again one day! Safe travels, Lybeer

100%

Everything was perfect!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

By far one of the best hostels I've stayed at!! Very clean! And really friendly staff. I was worried about showing up after reception closed at 11 (train took longer than anticipated), but everything was waiting in an envelope when I arrived on the desk. Good kitchen / cooking facilities. Great outdoor patio area - but weaker wifi signal outside. Great signal in the dorms though. I was in room 2 - with very sturdy bunks that are designed into the walls. Fantastic experience here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, amazing review, very much appreciated! Do come back! :-)

100%

Staff was friendly and helpful, facilities and location excellent. No complaints.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey man, thanks for your great comment! We also can't thank you enough for the great piano sessions you did, everyone was having an amazing time! Welcome anytime! :-)

83%

It was close to both the station and the center. The only negative was the dorm was tiny.


97%

Excellent hostel! New facilities, really clean, great location. Bar downstairs makes it really easy to meet people, and the staff are really helpful. Great kitchen facilities, and free coffee is a winner. Would recommend!


94%

This hostel was great! The staff were amazing - the lady when I checked in (curly hair) was so lovely and helpful! And the bar staff were legends!! Super flexible as well, depending on the vibe of the guests. They joined in on the fun too. It's clean with great facilities. Wifi all around, good kitchen and common spaces. (Loved the piano) Great for solo traveller! And the stairs aren't as bad as some of the reviews let on.. I was top floor and it was fine... Just gets the legs working!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(274 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback