X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Lybeer Travellers' Hostel Reviews

Korte Vuldersstraat 31, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
4788 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It was a bit hard to find, tucked behind the main street, but the location was good, 10 min to the train station. The lobby and bar were good, with good happy hour specials. The rooms were comfortable with a vanity in room. The bathrooms on each floor were also really nice with very nice showers.


100%

Very nice hostel in the heart of Brugge. Comfy beds and easy to get to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, appreciated! Safe travels

100%

If I'm ever on Bruges, this is where I'm staying. Between the ber tasting, cheap bar in house and the staff, one of my favorite hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you so much for your great feedback, we'll recommend you as a guest to future hostels! :-) Take care man, always welcome, Lybeer

51%

Good location - 10 minutes from train and 10 minutes from main square. Everything else - terribel: receptionist was rude and didn't give me the sheets and towel I should have gotten, At 23:00 she told everyone to leave the common area because she wants "to go to bed". Reception, kitchen and common area close at 23:00 and only open at 08:30 (!). Not enough toilets per guests and shower was dirty. No elevator and very steep staircaise (3 floors). No young vibe, mainly for families. Go elsewhere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we're sorry to hear you weren't happy with your stay, most people are very happy, we're the highest rated hostel in Bruges.We would like to add that 80% of our guests are young travelers between 20 and 25 years old, so we do have a very young vibe at our hostel. Families are welcome too. During the week the common room closes at 23.00, Fridays at midnight. We do this mainly for people that want to have a good night's rest. Hope to make it up to you one day, safe travels! Cheers, Lybeer :-)

83%

We had a great night at the hostel. Everything worked very well. I strongly recomend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's been awesome having you as a guest too, do come back one day! Safe travels, Lybeer staff

74%

Very pleasant stay although the stairs were a bit dodgy. Very happy over all.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment. Hostel is located in an old, completely renovated house in the medieval city centre of Bruges. This is how stairs look like here, nothing to be worried about, welcome to beautiful Bruges! :-) Safe travels

46%

Staff seemed to prefer not being bothered by guests. A lot of giggling and laughing behind backs in their local language.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we're very sorry to hear you felt this way. Could you e-mail us and explain more precisely what happened, so we can work on further improving our services. Most people are very happy with our staff, we do everything to make your stay unforgettable and make you feel welcome from the start! We speak multiple languages here, doesn't mean there's laughing behind your back, you just didn't speak those languages, could that have been the problem? Anyway, safe travels, see you again one day!

74%

Facilities were all right, though some showers didn't have hot water. People tended to block the doorway a lot and sometimes it took a while for someone to be at the front desk. Rooms were nice and clean though.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
All our facilities are brand new, just like all rooms, kitchen, downstairs area, showers, toilets, etc.. There is always hot water. What do you mean people tended to block the doorway? You mean the people sitting outside socializing? We try to serve everyone's needs so we are not always behind the front desk but all over the place trying to see where we can be of use (kitchen, bar, common room, upstairs, etc..) But thanks for your comment, do come back one day, safe travels!

94%

Great hostel, great staff, great atmosphere. The free walking tour was awesome! The communal kitchen and bathrooms were very clean. I thought the price of a private single room was a but steep though, considering you still had to use shared bathrooms, but other than that I had no complaints. I would stay here again.


100%

Perfect stay at this great hostel! It is a beautifully restored house and everythig is new! One of the owners, who was at the reception desk was really nice and helpful (and very handsome I've gotta say) The location is great! Not far from the train station and really close to the main attractions! 100% recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome review, thanks so much! Take care and hope to welcome you again one day! Lybeer

100%

Amazing hostel! Nicely renovated, so clean, great kitchen, awesome common area/bar. I loved it here. Would highly recommend it to anyone. The staff here were very friendly as well

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your wonderful review! Always welcome, safe travels! Lybeer

97%

Great place, clean, friendly great common room!


57%

The service is bad. The counter states that if people want to check out before 7:30 am, they must do it the night before (the counter is not 24 hrs). However, when we wanted to check out at 7:40 am on the day of departure, no one was at the counter. At 7:50, a female staff showed up and demanded that we wait in the living room until she moved things out. We told her that we had a train to catch but she was annoyed and didn't care. At the end, we missed the train and had to wait for another 2 hrs

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're very sorry to hear you felt this way. May we inform you that the counter states 8:30am, not 7:30am. Everything in Bruges is still dead that time, we wake up around 8, reception opens at 8:30. If you wish to leave earlier, you can come and ask your key deposit back the night before. The girl was taking things out so she could give you back your deposit, plus she was 40 minutes earlier than announced reception time :-) We believe this comment is unfair and should be ignored by future guests.

100%

Wonderful place and city, also clearly the best room in our trip. Only negative thing is the stairs are so narrow and there is no elevator which cause difficult for 3rd floor rooms :)


86%

Nice hostel. Spacious private single room. Downside was having to carry my suitcase up a narrow spiral staircase to the 3rd floor. The support rails on the stairs aren't that stable, so have to be careful you don't land up like Ken from In Bruges . One of the toilets was the smallest I've ever used. Whilst sitting on the dunny, there would have been no more than 2cm between my knees and the door, was quite hilarious. There was a sign however to let people know in case they were claustrophobic.


97%

Amazing private room for a great price- felt like the honeymoon suite of the hostel. The only flaw with our experience was that we weren't able to get into our room until 6 pm because of renovations being done in the lobby. I would've appreciated being advised of this we arrived, as we would've rearranged our plans (we ended up missing the first half of the USA/Germany game). The cute boy working the front desk was extremely helpful when we arrived, so we weren't too mad, though.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your amazing review, appreciated! See you again one day, safe journey! Lybeer

77%

No elevator!


100%

It was really nice to stay in lybeer. I stay in single room and it was perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much, you were perfect too! :-) Hope to welcome you again at Lybeer!

83%

Nice, big airy room! Good value for money and great location! Staff were friendly and checkin was easy. We didn't make use of the kitchen/facilities so can't comment on that. The stairs are a bit rickety but are under construction. We were disappointed we couldn't stay a second night!

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Generally acceptable - the standard of the staff was mixed. When I first arrived I was kept waiting for 30 mins for the receptionist to arrive (within normal check in hours) and she didn't really seem to know much about the city. The following day the staff were very helpful though.


(204 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback