X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lybeer Travellers' Hostel Reviews

Korte Vuldersstraat 31, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
6130 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Security was ok, as every room has their own key, but much more lockers should deifnitely be provided! Of course, the sheets were fresh, but the blankets and pillows themselves could be renewed.


89%

Lybeer is a very nice hostel that has got potential to be even better. I had the feeling that they were understaffed, since there was only 1 person working at the reception and at the bar, likewise you've got to make your own bed (linen provided) and collect and bring it down to reception when checking out. One of the the shower rooms remained flooded for hours on Sunday morning, etc. There was a good vibe in the bar area and some people were socializing. The location is great and all look good


80%

We really enjoyed the set up of our 11-bed room-- overall the hostel was very clean and comfortable. The big problem for us was security. There were no lockers in our dorm room and the room itself did not lock easily. The door did not automatically lock behind you so each person would have to manually lock it when they entered or left the room (including locking it from the inside with the key). However, I noticed that others did not always do this and therefore our room was frequently unlocked.


74%

Would book again: + Freshly renewed hostel + Good location (near station, in the city centre + Very clean + Early check in was possible - Staff forgot to drop off towels during the day, but didn't need them since we were leaving quite early Value for money: Rather costly, but understandable since it was a busy weekend (Cactus Festival) in a high-demand city (Bruges) in a peak period (July)

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind comment. About the towels: we didn't forget anything, towels can be found right next to reception in a huge basket, free to use. Happy you enjoyed your stay!

86%

I had a pleasant stay here! Really liked the activities (beer tasting and city walk) that were organised by the hostel, because I was travelling alone and it was a good opportunity to meet people. Thanks Kai, it was awesome!


97%

I had a great time at Lybeer. Really enjoyed the beer tasting with Ky. Please consider separating the kitchen and bar (a lockable door?) so that early risers (there are some) can use the kitchen before 8.00 am. Otherwise, no complaints or suggestions. Keep up the good work and get downunder soon.


100%

Lybeer Travellers' Hostel was the best hostel I've ever stayed in! The rooms and bathrooms were very clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere downstairs in the common area was upbeat and fun, and the location of the hostel was excellent! I am planning a return trip to Bruges next year, and I will definitely be staying at Lybeer again!


97%

We had a great time at Lybeer. We felt comfortable, safe, and our private room looked brand new! We also had a window with a nice view, which was great. Lybeer is in a great location and also has a bar downstairs in the lobby. The staff seemed a little lukewarm. The only other complaint is the stair railing! It's old and could go at any time. Seemed like a liability. If we make our way back to Bruges, we will definitely be staying here again.


77%

The bar has 1€ beers which is great and staff are very helpful. The hostel basically parties all night long with loud music. People are running up and down the stairs and its not even worth bothering trying to sleep before 1am. The reception, kitchen and living area is not open before 815am. Rooms are tiny. Basically if you are planning on waking up early this hostel is not for you. If you are more of a nightlife person then it's good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your comment. A few remarks though: you had booked a "basic small dorm", so your room was obviously small and basic. All other room types are bigger. About the bar, every night is different, if there's a good crowd mingling, we can stay open until shortly after midnight, but never later than 1am. We're a good hostel, both for people that enjoy to socialize at the bar, and people that enjoy a good night's sleep. Welcome back anytime, take care!

91%

Great hostel to meet people, great location, strong wifi + clean bathrooms. Every night had an activity or the option of hanging out at the hostel. Staff were lovely and the kitchen was great to have. Rooms were a tiny bit small, but you didn't spend much time in there anyway! Highly recommend,


100%

Best hostel I have ever stayed at! So clean and everyone is very social and friendly! I can't wait to come back!


86%

All round good hostel. It ticks all the boxes.


100%

Great hostel in a central location with pleasant staff and enough bathrooms on each floor. The hostel bar downstairs and the lounge space are great and create a nice, social atmosphere to chill out and chat to fellow travellers.


100%

it was amazing. the bathrooms were nice, they had Belgian beers for cheap. the lounge was great. loved it


100%

We loved Lybeer Hostel! Our room was one of the twin ensuites, and it had been newly renovated. We liked the bright and clean looks, with two comfy beds and a brand new bathroom with pebbles on the wall. The view from the windows was very nice and the atmosphere was friendly. Plus, the hostel is in an excellent location, close to the t'Zand square - a comfortable walking distance from all the sights of Bruges!


97%

Simply one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Great staff, and feels like home from the moment you walk in!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review man, appreciated! We will recommend you as a guest to future hostels! :-) All the best, safe travels!

66%

Need better. Beds and pillows in room 4

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you weren't pleased with your stay. These people were in their late 50s early 60s so perhaps not the typical hostel guests :-) Take care!

89%

Great environment and right near the center of town. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and I always felt like my belongings were safe. Very nice bar inside the hostel and arranged pub crawls as well.


100%

Great hostel!! Awesome atmosphere, great "pod" style beds with personal charging ports which was a real luxury! Fantastic washer and dryer which were super quick/industrial style! Bar at the hostel and full kitchen were awesome! Wifi could have been better and I wish there had been elastic fitted sheets instead of flat sheets for sanitary reasons (flat sheets didn't stay put covering mattress), but other than that, great stay!


80%

We stayed in the 2-bed private room on the 3rd floor which was nice for safety reasons but we could still here things going on in the room next to us (I heard every word of some guy's late night Skype call). There was a sink in our room which I appreciate - and a window that we opened all night but didn't help to bring cool air in (we visited during a heat wave and it as miserably warm). The common areas are large and it is easy to meet other travelers. Didn't get the best vibes from the staff.


(294 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback