X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lybeer Travellers' Hostel Reviews

Korte Vuldersstraat 31, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
5797 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The showers are a bit of a struggle, there are not very many of them, and they are very damp, with water tracked all over the bathroom. It's housed in a really beautiful old building, so I know that plumbing may limit the abilitiy to change some of these issues, but it was a mild inconvenience. Maybe better bathroom mats or fans for increased air circulation could help? No lockers in some rooms, so the security of your stuff isn't guaranteed. Otherwise, a beautiful, well-located, friendly spot

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for your comment. A perfect solution for your issue would have been to open the window? :-) You probably entered right after someone else just took a long hot shower, we really don't have issues with dampy bathrooms otherwise. Take care, hope to welcome you again soon! Safe travels, Lybeer

91%

Highly recommend this hostel. Good location, nice stuff, clean and the most important thing, the amazing atmosphere!

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really enjoyable stay. Helpful staff and everything we could ask for, and a great atmosphere with many new friendships to come away with.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff was very friendly and competent. The room was spotless, bright and freshly painted. They do NOT serve breakfast, which is one improvement they could make. We arrived around 1:30PM, but we're not allowed to check in until after 3:00. Not very welcoming for tired travelers. My most serious concern is the rickety, wobbly fragile bannister on the long, steep winding stairs. The price seemed steep, but Brugge is very expensive. It was not a bargain.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. A few remarks however: there is a fully equipped kitchen at your disposal where you can make breakfast. Check-in is after 3pm, which is perfectly normal since all rooms need to be cleaned first :-) You were staying in the old medieval center of Bruges, so yes the stairs look like that. Price is the lowest in the whole city, we're a hostel, so it IS a bargain compared to what you would 've paid somewhere else. But thanks again, hope to welcome you again some day! Cheers

91%

The location was great and the facilities were fantastic. the best thing about the place was the staff! they were all so lovely and helpful, which made our experience of beautiful Bruges even better. Diana, in particular was lovely and went out of her way in helping us foodies find the perfect restaurant to eat at. would definitely recommend!

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel itself is just lovely! Staff were friendly and helpful, but seemed a bit frustrated by our multiple questions about taking a bus and/or train to our next destination, which made us feel a little uncomfortable. The location is perfect. Couldn't have asked for a better location.


100%

Beautiful hostel, two minutes away from main square. The bar has a 2 euro happy hour wich is really nice to start preparing for the night.. Plus there is a Piano, and a guitar to play.. Ended up singing and playing games with fellow travellers.. Really nice staff, nice Kitchen and bathrooms on every floor. Thumbs up for Lybeer!


97%

Excellent hostel with grate people. Staff was super helpful and fun. The private rooms are hotel-like. Definetly recommend it!


71%

No lockers in room 11 it is a 8 person dorm. Laundry is 7 euro but it is fast. Wifi is good! No lift.


94%

Amazing little hostel! I stayed two nights in a mixed dorm and would happily return here! The location is perfect-10 minute easy walk from the station and less into the market square and City centre! Clean, great beer tasting event, very informative staff. Only issue I had was noise-sadly the bar/lounge area is closed off at around midnight and people then take to holding loud drunken conversations in the hallways! The staircase may also not suit some guests (very windy/steep)

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Newly Rennovated, clean, slightly dodgy mattresses, but excellent value for money. Amazing helpful staff.

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a super stay!god bless you!!

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great stay - the hostel was the nicest I've ever stayed in. All very clean and modern looking, with a great bar with nice atmosphere and full kitchen. Our room was a double room and was more like a hotel than a hostel. If I came back to Bruges in the future I would definitely be coming back here. :)

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, great vibe, newly renovated bathrooms exceed expectations. Private room was lovely.


100%

Great place, friendly staff in top location. Cube style dorms are cool, showers are hot, Wi if works, free tea and coffee, good socialable bar and kitchen area, and cheap beers. Would recommend and return !

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location and very friendly staff!


91%

Cami, the girl a the reception was really lovely. I also enjoyed the beer tasting experience provided by "Druvel". I just think the kitchen should be available 24 hour. And it would be nice to have a locker inside the room. Great to have a guitar and a piano available.


89%

Great location and very clean. Lovely lounge with great cheap beers. Beds in our room did move and squeak a lot. Remember there is a city tax that is added when you leave!!

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Very friendly and helpfull staff and lovely atmosphere, conveniently located, 10 minutes walking from station and 5 minutes away from the centre shops and supermarkets. The hostel itself organizes free city tours, beer r Tasting events and etc... The "bad" points lockers in the room a little small (a backpack didn't fit, but it's enough for your most important stuff, also, there's no elevator (but I guess that's the standard in Brugge) Definetly would go again

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

due to issues travelling we ended up having to ask if they could fit us in one night early and they found the space for us. the staff were excellent. only cons are they don't have lockers in some rooms and I had an issue with a shower being cold at 6am once. otherwise staff are amazing and so is the atmosphere. would recommend.


(247 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback