Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

M&J Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 2,433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 2,433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.9
M&J Hostel Located at Via Solferino 9, , Rome.
M&J Hostel
Italy
Rome 00185 Via Solferino 9
69% 2433
41.9034907 12.5015187
M&J Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Oct 2016
5.7

Good location next to metro and all, but felt very dirty. Bathroom stank, meanwhile only 2 toilet and shower on the floor and only one shower had hot water. Kitchen was small and not well equipped and old married couple was trying to take it over and stored food in all the pots. Also, bedding is mandatory but costs an extra 3 euro... Isn't my bed what I'm paying for each night...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Oct 2016
3.4

This place was disgusting. The atmosphere was terrible, there are no windows in the "common room" and the staff is incredibly unprofessional. It took them 20 minutes to check me in and they were watching videos on youtube the entire time. They're weird about credit cards and it's a 10 euro deposit for the key card. There are no lockers, and the beds were extremely uncomfortable. The only good thing is that it is close the the Roma Termini, but there are better hostels nearby the station.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
2.3

It was very dirty. The bathrooms weren't well kept, and the women at the front desk was the brightest.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
5.7

I am beyond annoyed at this hostel. The location and the staff were great, but it was not very clean and the atmosphere was more than dreary and gray. In addition you only can use exact change for all payments, if not, it will take a very long time for them to find you money. They upgraded my friend because they oversold the room he was supposed to stay at, and then they charged him for the upgrade! What?! Also there was no wifi as it was down and we received no solution or discount due to it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
5.7

Someone stole my sandwich! And this german had his cellphone stolen in the same time-frame. There was free sangria though! Mediocre hostel really, though when you are hanging around central Europe, you'll be paying United States hotel prices for any kind of decent hostel accommodation. I will probably camp out on the river next time in Rome. Better security, and it's free :) .

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
5.7

They charged us for the linens. They should have explained it beforehand.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
5.1

The only good thing I can say about this hostel is that it is close to termini station. The rooms are ok but there are not outlets by every bed and not enough for everyone. The bar right under plays music super loud until late so good luck if you want to sleep. The restroom by my room was absolutely disgusting, sticky floor and the toilet was clogged or wouldnt flush. The shower is so bad you may as well not even shower. I would honestly prefer a farther more expensive hostel than stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2016
10.0

I was very comfortable at a reasonable price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Sep 2016
5.4

The only lightbulb for a huge room didn't work. It was very messy. The shower flooded.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
6.3

I stayed here for one night in a large, 6 bed dormitory. The place itself is well connected, a stones throw from Termini and the centre of Rome. However, I found that the hostel was slightly dirty and was not particularly light. I would recommend this place if it was for a short stop in Rome. For longer, I would look for something more private and cleaner.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.