Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

M&J Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 2,264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 2,264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.0
M&J Hostel Located at Via Solferino 9, , Rome.
M&J Hostel
Italy
Rome 00185 Via Solferino 9
70% 2264
41.9034907 12.5015187
M&J Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
10.0

Mario, the main host, was the best person to talk to. He gave a great 3-day plan to tour the entire city. It was incredibly eye opening and definitely let you see everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
5.1

The staff was great, special mention to Johannes who was really nice and helpful. Nevertheless, everything else in there needs improvement/refurbishment. Everything feels old and dated. The toilets are disgusting and the bunk beds rock so much that I thought I was going to fall on top of the guy sleeping bellow.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
2.9

Would never stay here again and would never recommend it to anyone unless you want to be close to train station and have no hygiene standards ! First things first , photos are misleading - the rooms were old and dirty , the bathrooms falling apart , stairs to everything ( got yelled out / verbally abused by a local for mistakenly using the lift ), the staff on desk were busy chatting and flirting with the female guests rather than paying attention to new comers , not a shred of professionalism

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
7.1

This hostel did NOT have soap on any of the floors. The only bathroom that had soap was the bathroom next to reception. The bathroom floors were incredible filthy. And I had to pay for linen. Maybe I was mistaken, but I thought the linen was included.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
10.0

This place was awesome! Staff was great, rooms were great, air conditioning rocked!! Very close to train station!! Would definitely stay here again, and tell my friends that this is the place to stay when you're in Roma!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
8.9

Great location and staff close to everything and a nice place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.7

Had a fantastic time here in the beautiful city of Rome. From the moment I checked all the staff members where super kind and super helpful. Everything you need and all the sites are in walking distance. One of the staff members even came and woke me up so I didn't miss my tour!!! THANK YOU M&J HOSTEL :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Great location! Only 2 min walk from Termini station. The staff were very friendly and helpful, could speak so many languages. Breakfast was available from the bar beside the hostel for a good price. The atmosphere was great, there was a kitchen available (although we didn't use it). Rooms were spacious and clean - we particularly loved the bed sheets, so soft and white!! Would highly recommend staying at M&J hostel, if only for the bedsheets!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
5.1

The staff here were not particularly friendly or welcoming. Additionally, the common room was not comfortable or a place for new people to meet like it has been in other hostels. Additionally, the rooms we're monochromatic, not air conditioned as advertised and very loud due to street traffic and the need for an open window.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Jul 2016
4.3

Tried putting us in a room we hadn't booked without a discount then when we got the room we booked the shower was held up with string and the taps were loose. Does have aircon in some of the rooms but not all and at least I had a spring bed instead of the usual foam.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.