Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

M&J Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 2633 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 2633 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
6.3

Overall it was good. The location was also good but the only thing I did not like is that you had to pay 3 eu each for bed linen. The beds were not comfortable at all.They were all the time making sounds whenever you moved. The check in time is 3 pm which was not mentioned on the site and this created a problem for us. No sockets near every bed. Washroom were not up to the mark and no kitchen which was again not a good idea as one cannot heat or cook their food. Staff was helpful in guiding.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
2.6

Literally the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. No lockers, doors left swinging open, only 1 plug socket for a room of 10. Only one bathroom in the building was working, one shower, one sink and one toilet available for over 200 people? Save yourself the hassle and book somewhere else

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
5.4

There were no lockers to put valuables or bags in, the door to the dorm room I was in didn't lock, the shower barely put out any water, we weren't allowed to use the elevator even though I was up on the 4th floor and had bags with me. The staff was friendly, though, and it was a decent location (right next to the main train station). There was also a restaurant on the first floor and you could get a 20% discount for being a guest at the hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • amandakypreos1602
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
4.0

Really dirty and unkept, the hostel doesn't care about their guests at all. Poor atmosphere in common areas. The only good part that it's easy to get to and from as it's located very close to the main train station. Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, better off paying a bit more for something else

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
5.7

misleading information for this hostel... THERE IS NO KITCHEN! i don't understand how it can be considered a hostel without a kitchen. hidden charges upon arrival, receptionist mumbled about a deposit for keys & linen etc. I booked 2 beds in a 10 bed dorm and when we arrived he said there is not room for 2 people in a 10 bed so we had to pay extra to stay together and be in a 6 bed dorm, then we were put into the 10 bed one anyway?..EXTREMELY HOT. no air con/fans..Rome is 40 degrees in summer!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
7.7

It was very convenient to the station. Close to a good grocery store. Staff was very helpful and cheery. The quad private was good having a bathroom and shower in the room. Ours had an ac so that was a pleasant surprise. Our first hostel stay with our kids.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2017
7.1

Staff were great, area was great. However the room and bathroom facilities were awful, but considering how cheap it was, and no air conditioning in mid-July, something to consider before booking. The locaation is ideal and Rome is beautiful, and everyone at the hostel was nice, just the dorm was so basic and the shower/bathroom area so shabby this let it down. Rome again? Yes. The hostel? No.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
4.6

Pretty cheap but located right next to a busy street complete with loud sirens all day and night. There is an elevator that you can't use and many floors to walk up. The bed and pillows are lumpy and uncomfortable. The shower head looked nice but was so clogged that a little bit of water trickled down the side and that's all you had. The staff was nice and the location was very close to the main train station.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2017
6.6

The wi-fi didn't reach my room, and there was no kitchen. The common room was 3 floors down from me so i didn't even bother going. Was good location and nice batgroom

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2017
5.4

Well, the localization is the only good thing about this place. Let's start from the beginning. There was an air condition in the room.but it was. Or working. Rude man in the reception said it will be broken. The end. The bathroom was dirty. But the breakfast at the restaurant was cheaper. How considerate of them! And my fabourite - luggage storage had air con! My backpack was so happy chilling there!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.