Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

M&J Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 2555 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 2555 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
3.1

Am 1. Tag hat jemand auf das Klo gekotzt und obwohl wir das Staff 2x gebeten haben, es wegzuwischen, war es 4h später noch da; alles stank nach Kotze. Die Badezimmer sind ein schlechter Scherz. Die Spülung in den Klos geht nicht, aus den Duschen kommt kaum Wasser und der Abfluss funktioniert nicht. Das Internet geht nur im Erdgeschoss. Die Küche stinkt, ist eklig und dreckig. Es ist eine einzige unhygienische Bruchbude! Wir mussten aus unverständlichen Gründen 43€ mehr zahlen als online stand...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2017
4.6

Dirty environment. Wifi is not available in room. Only available in corridor.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
4.9

The power cut out several times. We did not have consistent hot water and the keys did not work well. The downstairs looked so nice, but our floor was badly deteriorated.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
5.7

You have to pay in cash, but when I went to pay they didn't have enough change. The luggage room looks like someone squats there. The staff was unprofessional and the owner creepy. There's no elevator for the unending amount of stairs with luggage. Our key didn't work. Our room had to be changed because it wasn't even ready when we did get in. The wifi doesn't reach the rooms. It was dirty with no lockers. The pictures are a complete farse. The only pro was the cafe and the location. Do not stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • neelshah512
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th May 2017
3.7

I thought ok this is a place just to sleep but the people are so annoying that you can't just sleep.The staff is really great but not the service like there is no toilet paper,No lockers,room smells,no lift.I would not stay here more than one night!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th May 2017
4.3

Filthy bathrooms, bad wifi on the upper floors, unstable bunk beds, small rooms with one outlet to be shared and just overall bad service. Would not be going back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
2.6

Awful experience. Disgusting rooms with broken facilties inside. Rusty and unclean bathrooms. Unprofessional staff. The receptionist was asking other customers if they new the way to our room. No keys for the rooms "the machine for the keys is not working" is what we got from the receptionist. Extra costs were figured out when we arrived that we knew nothing about. Wouldn't recommend

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
4.0

dirty toilets, unfriendly staff. Hidden costs: Linen had to be purchased for 3,5 and this purchase was obligatory!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd May 2017
8.0

This was the first hostel I have ever stayed in and it was quite enjoyable. The staff were super friendly and very very helpful. Close to the train and bus terminal so everything is very accessible, but you can walk to most places in less than 30 minutes. I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • xoalah6847
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2017
5.1

Event the location is a big plus for this hostel but it was a shock for me after seeing how fancy the reception area and the bar area and what actually upstair. Bathroom and rooms in general are dirty. I dont know if it is because it is the cheapest room so they treat the room very bad. However, I came to another hostel after 2 nights and it was also the cheapest room (same price as M&J) but the cleanliness is such a relief. They will deserve 7.0+ stars if they truly take the reviews and improve

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.