X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

M&J Hostel Reviews

Via Solferino 9, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2002 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The manager of the hostel came swung open the door and shouted good morning which was strange

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Very helpful staff at the desk. Unfortunately no locker to put your stuffs and no wifi in the room.


71%

Your bunk beds are too wobbly

  • 10th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very friendly stuff, rooms are clean and comfortable maybe a little loud in the night but i've you aren't expecting a very calm stay it's totally fine. I would definitly book m&j again!

  • 10th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Fantastic location, right ne to the central station. Good and extremely helpful staff. Only two issues - the matress on the bed had a plastic cover which made a souund every time you take a turn and the upper bunk was unstable and kept moving. Rest all was good!


100%

I really enjoyed staying there . Mario was extremely helpful and kind .

  • 27th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Mario makes this hostel. Great atmosphere.


80%

Is a very nice and friendly hostel very nice located near to the station

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Location is perfect. Very close to roma termini and a short walk from the colloseum, pantheon and other sights. Staff are very friendly and fun to talk with which creates a great atmosphere for meeting fellow travellers in the common room. The dorm room was fine, it had it's own bathroom and was good for it's cost. It's a great hostel.


60%

I wasn't impressed. The hostel had terrible showers, the water pressure was a drip at best. As a traveler a nice shower is highly anticipated and at this hostel the shower frankly put me in a bad mood. The other thing I didn't appreciate was the lack of wifi. If you advertise wifi then you should have it in the rooms unless you make it clear that it is only available in the lobby. There also wasn't much security in this hostel. They had tiny lockers for your passport but that's it. Good location

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I stayed in room 101, a private room with a bathroom. It was immaculate with a nice shower and great air conditioning. It was almost too comfortable. I stayed in the room more than I should have :-)


63%

Impossible to sleep at night. And that's not just because the traffic is loud. The other residents themselves are noise, their was a broken & therefore loud fan, the door was broken and could only be shut if it was "slammed" - making everybody awake. Furthermore: only 4 showers for approximately 40 people - of which only 2 are actually "working" in a way that you could shower in 5 minutes: ??? Though the personnel was friendly: I would not recommend this place: you'll walk as a zombie in Rome..


34%

I was here for two separate one-night stays. After the first stay, I would have rated the place "fine." The second stay, though, was another matter. The bedroom was filthy. The bathrooms were beyond filthy...with mold thrown in for good measure. In addition, although I had received an email less than 24 hours before stating that the hostel rented towels, the staff refused to rent me a towel, saying I now had to buy one for 7 euro. False advertising, anyone? A truly awful experience.


77%

Nice hostel with extremly nice staff. Rooms could be a bit better but what do you expect. Perfectly located and easy to find.


83%

Stall was very very cooperative. They provided us all details and possible route plans according to our time schedule. The book tickets for us to avoid ques to enter city attractions... kitchen washroom and bedrooms were very clean. However, Our room window opens toward main road so it was a bit noisy. They give special attention to the security of lugage room.. wifi is only available at common room.


54%

The bathroom was just horrible - very dirty. Staff didn't really clean it :/

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very happy! Loved the staff and the location. I wish the WiFi worked in the rooms but everything was perfect.


89%

Friendly and helpful staff, rooms were comfortable, clean and good facilities. Cheap breakfast downstairs (€3 for croissant, coffee and juice). Close walking distance to everything and right next to train station. Were great to book tours etc through the hostel too. One of the best hostels we stayed in.


77%

Some of the staff was really nice and helpful, a few people didn't really seem to know what was going on.. The location was super convenient, within walking distance of most major attractions and about a three minute walk from the main train station and the metro. Despite its central location it was quite quiet most nights. There was only noise from the bar downstairs one of my four nights and it stopped pretty early. The bar/restaurant below the hostel also had good food and a friendly staff!


40%

The bad Hostel: security, don't have breakfast, The bedroom Very Very hot and don't have fan, don't have elevator. Horrible place!!

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 Next » last »
(60 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback