Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MB Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 766 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 766 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
MB Backpackers Located at c/ Mercaderes 135-A, Cercado, Arequipa.
MB Backpackers
Peru
Arequipa c/ Mercaderes 135-A, Cercado
85% 766
-16.3987676 -71.5354597
MB Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jan 2017
8.0

I liked the rooms – two power outlets and a light per bed, some even with curtains. Lockers are available. The rooftop terrace is cool, and the breakfast really nice (pancake with banana). The toilets/showers were not so great; very dated and dirty. The place is basically directly at the main square, which is also nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are in the rainy season some bathrooms are located in the patios and so maybe you saw the bathroom dirty but it is only water that we are always cleaning and drying in general everything is clean.We appreciate your observation to continue improving

17th Jan 2017
8.3

We had a private room on the roof, which had a great view but was freezing! This hostel might be better in the summer, but it's definitely not weather proof. A lot of it is open, so when it rains, most of the floors and stairs are wet. Because of the water everywhere, the floors are usually dirty, especially in the bathrooms. And there seems to be no heating anywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Arequipa is a city with lots of sun the rainy season is only for 2 months maximum and the rains are almost finished, we never had problems of cold, but we always have extra blankets that we give in case anyone needs we have patios outdoors and it is normal that are wet from the rains but we are always constantly cleaning the whole hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
9.4

Mb backpackers is a nice little hostel in the heart of arequipa with amazing staff and probably on of the best breakfasts you ever get in a hostel. There are several spots to spent time especially the roof tetrace which is also used for the breakfast in the mornin :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Dec 2016
9.7

Cool little hostel in the heart of downtown Arequipa. BEST HOSTEL BREAKFAST I've ever had. Cool rooftop terrace and the location can't be beat. Hot water, good pressure, friendly staff. Wi-fi a little spotty at times. But I'd stay again. No bar, so if you want peace and quite, this is the place for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
7th Dec 2016
9.4

Great hostel right on the main plaza and close to everything needed for your stay in Arequipa. Cool rooftop, when we were there it was more of a fun chill hostel than party hostel however other hostels are close if you want to visit and get the best of both worlds. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.9

Had a lovely stay here. Staff are very helpful , friendly and can organise a wide range of tours to the colca canyon for you. Dorms are large and spacious and plenty of bathrooms. Breakfast is awesome it's was so nice to have banana pancakes. A large roof terrace where you can cook, relax in a hammock and meet fellow travellers. Would recommend this place. Location is extremely close to the main plaza and lots of shops, restaurants and bars to enjoy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
31st Oct 2016
9.4

Really chill hostel right next to the main square the staff were very friendly and helpful the breakfast options are eggs or pancakes but both are very delicious and served on the terrace with great views overall had a really good stay at this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
8.3

This hostel has the nicest staff and the best location. The private rooms and bathrooms aren't well built though, the upside was that I had a great view of El Misti. Tours to Colca Canyon and El Misti can be arranged from here as well, the staff will pick the best operators in town for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
29th Sep 2016
4.9

The breakfast and the friendly staff were the redeeming features of this otherwise dirty, badly equipped hostel. The bathrooms were dirty, showers were temperamental and the WiFi practically non-existant. The rooftop terrace was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Initially we explain you that we are changing the hot water systems and renovations of beds, we invite you to visit us so you can see the improvements and how this now,wi-fi sometimes wrong in peak hours and that's normal anywhere in the wi-fi works properly

28th Sep 2016
10.0

Great place to stay! Right off the main drag but away from all the hustle and bustle. Roof terrace is great for relaxing and topping up the tan. It's well facilitated. The breakfast is good. Either eggs or pancakes. Showers are hot and have a bit of pressure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.