Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MB Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
MB Backpackers Located at c/ Mercaderes 135-A, Cercado, Arequipa.
MB Backpackers
Peru
Arequipa c/ Mercaderes 135-A, Cercado
84% 660
-16.3987676 -71.5354597
MB Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jul 2016
7.7

The hostal is overall nice and in a really great location. The breakfast is delicious and the rooftop balcony is sweet. Only downside was that the bathrooms were disgusting and the bag storage didn't feel very secure. Other that than, would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
8.9

The Location is just perfect! Just a few steps away from the Plaza the Armas! Staff was very friendly. The dorms are clean, beds very comfy, sadly there was no real window in my room and some fresh air would be necessary. The bathrooms aren't that nice actually, but it's ok. The Rooftop terrace is very cool and the breakfast was just awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.6

Incredible location! The rooftop where you have breakfast/hang out is just the best. Loved this town and loved this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
2.3

The hostel is extremely run downed. The bare minimum hasnt been done. Theres never any hot showers and the bathrooms are always occupied, soaked from showers, and with no toilet paper. The staff is by far the worst thing about the Hostel. They are not good people, if you pay close attention to the way they behave you realize that all they see in your eyes is money. That said, every service you ask from them somehow benefits them such as the tours, calling a taxi. They are not worth your money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

the first thing I am sorry for the inconveniences, we are building more bathrooms as your ace seen, we are making improvements throughout the hostel for better service, and we finished new bathrooms, our staff is always attentive to the needs of all people and is not as you say we only interested in money, I'm sorry we do not have private staff for you, our staff is for everyone and your rate so low does not really reflect everything offered by our hostel with a wonderful terrace, a great breakfast, and Super location practically in Plaza De Armas, just good luck

2nd Jul 2016
8.6

Great location and delicious breakfast. The rooftop terrace was wonderful. Met some great people there. Very happy with my stay. My only complaint is the wifi was dodgy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jun 2016
7.1

Terrible showers, very unreliable hot water. Not enough bathrooms, people often waiting for shower/toilet. No lockers in the room I stayed in, but no bunks which was nice. Breakfast was nice (eggs or banana pancakes) but too small. Laundry took two days instead of overnight, each time I went to collect it I was told a later time. Construction noises so not very peaceful (they are adding some extra bathrooms on the roof).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello as yourself seen we are building more bathrooms and now are already finished apologize for the inconveniences, but is to provide better services, we are also making new rooms and only your room has no lockers because your room was new because recently we have bought now all is well with newer bathrooms and lockers in all rooms

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st Jun 2016
8.9

Location is perfect, breakfast was good. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
8.0

This hostel is less than a block away from the Plaza de Armas which makes it very easy to get everywhere you want to go in Arequipa. Due to our delayed flight we weren't able to take advantage of many of the facilities or really talk to many people to get a handle on the atmosphere. However, we were able to set up a hike to the Colca Canyon with the hostel upon our arrival for early the next morning which was a great feature. The bathrooms weren't the cleanest and the rooms didn't have lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jun 2016
8.6

Unbeatable location and amazing roof terrace for beers in the sun.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
8.6

I had an amazing experience with staff here, particularly Luz who was so generous and patient with assistance. She really helped make my time in Arequipa more than just another stop on the backpacking trail. Meanwhile, friends had some negative experiences with night staff - influencing my rating. Rooms are clean and mostly quiet, if people hangout here it is on the amazing terrace/hammocks. Sorry party people, no one is going to sell you coke here. Location is prime and safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.