Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MB Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 681 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 681 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
MB Backpackers Located at c/ Mercaderes 135-A, Cercado, Arequipa.
MB Backpackers
Peru
Arequipa c/ Mercaderes 135-A, Cercado
83% 681
-16.3987676 -71.5354597
MB Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Aug 2016
4.3

Paid for an ensuite private. They took us to a shed on the roof. Completely filthy. We saw the staff 'clean' after we'd left and they didn't change the sheets between customers. The bathroom wasn't private, just one on the same floor that everyone had access to and there wasn't a mirror anywhere so hugely overpriced. Miserable little man at the desk. The bag storage is an open room, out of eyesight of the desk AND they tried to charge us extra to use it. No atmosphere. Locatio

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
9.4

Cancelled

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

We stayed in the private room on the patio and it was very quiet with a gorgeous view. And you could not ask for a better location. Breakfast was really delicous and made individually. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
31st Jul 2016
7.4

Pros: great central location, breakfast is decent, nice rooftop to chill out (but inside common areas aren´t that inviting), helpful and friendly staff Cons: bathrooms are a bit dirty and building generally felt/looked very run down, would be nice if storage room for luggage could be locked, 6 bed dorm didn´t have a window to the outside so smelt really bad

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.4

Best possible location right next to the main plaza and super helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
8.6

Nice folks, great rooms, lots of lockers, but a cold shower :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
8.0

Overall my stay at MB Backpackers was positive. The majority of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful (plus they make a good, basic breakfast). I was able to easily book my trek to Colca Canyon and store my non-essential belongings at the hostel while I was away. Only negative thing is if you stay in the 10-bed dormitory do NOT expect it to be quiet. It has windows opening up to the very busy street (no cars, but LOTS of people) and the door opens up to the hostel lounge. Choose wisely!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jul 2016
9.1

The location was the best part. Right in the square, close to everything. Perfect place to stay if you want to be in the middle of Arequipa. They have a lovely rooftop terrace and great breakfast included - get the pancakes. Washrooms were wet all the time because there were no shower curtains so it made for a bit of a mess.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
5.1

This hostel only has two things going for it: the location and the rooftop terrace. The cleanliness of the common areas and its bathrooms were the worst we have seen in our entire trip of Peru. There are only 3 washrooms/toilets for the entire hostel to share. The toilets looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months and always smelled awful. Only 1 or 2 of the washrooms had soap, so I bought my own (how sad is that?). We originally booked 4 nights here but left after 1 night. Not worth it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
7.7

The hostal is overall nice and in a really great location. The breakfast is delicious and the rooftop balcony is sweet. Only downside was that the bathrooms were disgusting and the bag storage didn't feel very secure. Other that than, would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.