Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MB Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 737 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 737 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
MB Backpackers Located at c/ Mercaderes 135-A, Cercado, Arequipa.
MB Backpackers
Peru
Arequipa c/ Mercaderes 135-A, Cercado
84% 737
-16.3987676 -71.5354597
MB Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.9

Had a lovely stay here. Staff are very helpful , friendly and can organise a wide range of tours to the colca canyon for you. Dorms are large and spacious and plenty of bathrooms. Breakfast is awesome it's was so nice to have banana pancakes. A large roof terrace where you can cook, relax in a hammock and meet fellow travellers. Would recommend this place. Location is extremely close to the main plaza and lots of shops, restaurants and bars to enjoy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
31st Oct 2016
9.4

Really chill hostel right next to the main square the staff were very friendly and helpful the breakfast options are eggs or pancakes but both are very delicious and served on the terrace with great views overall had a really good stay at this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
8.3

This hostel has the nicest staff and the best location. The private rooms and bathrooms aren't well built though, the upside was that I had a great view of El Misti. Tours to Colca Canyon and El Misti can be arranged from here as well, the staff will pick the best operators in town for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
29th Sep 2016
4.9

The breakfast and the friendly staff were the redeeming features of this otherwise dirty, badly equipped hostel. The bathrooms were dirty, showers were temperamental and the WiFi practically non-existant. The rooftop terrace was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Initially we explain you that we are changing the hot water systems and renovations of beds, we invite you to visit us so you can see the improvements and how this now,wi-fi sometimes wrong in peak hours and that's normal anywhere in the wi-fi works properly

28th Sep 2016
10.0

Great place to stay! Right off the main drag but away from all the hustle and bustle. Roof terrace is great for relaxing and topping up the tan. It's well facilitated. The breakfast is good. Either eggs or pancakes. Showers are hot and have a bit of pressure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Sep 2016
9.1

We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel, we had a private room which opened up onto the terrace. The terrace is a great place to chill, and the kitchen up there is great for cooking own meals out in the open air with the view! The location is great, so close to the main square, and the breakfast was good, eggs or banana pancakes! Beds were comfortable, the only downside was the shower, I struggled to get a warm one, but was ok for a few days and good job it was warm weather!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2016
6.3

Really good location Good breakfast The hostel needs maintenance specially bedrooms and it's urgent Our bus got earlier than expected so we got to the hostel around 5 am They had beds available but if we wanted to go to sleep we had to pay for an extra night so we had to wait till the morning at the common areas Very unfriendly staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your review is based only because you have not done check in early (4:00 am) but always you made check in early as 7:00 am when normal check in is at 11:00 am if you can not pay for an extra night and ask politely, then we can help you but if you ask very rudely as is you then we can not do much for you ,respect to the people and I respect you ,and is a lie that the bedrooms needs maintenance, you sleep in a 8 bed dorm and the beds are practically new because all are renovated bathrooms beds facilities etc.

26th Sep 2016
6.3

Wifi has its moments. Toilets and shower not old and bad... There is only 7 toilets on the whole premise and there isn't always toilet paper

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • bengoschnick6936
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
7.4

Positives: Great rooftop terrace and an unbeatable location. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the rooftop pancakes for breakfast were great! Negatives: The private rooms are basic, bathrooms were smelly, random hot water and pressure during a shower and no shower curtains which means water all over the floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We have 2 types of private rooms,Basic Double Bed Private and Standard Double Bed Private, the basic is cheaper because the room is small but comfortable with everything you need, the Standard private room are brand new with great view to the volcanoes, big windows and very quiet . we are working the curtains bathrooms for all this better.Thanks

15th Sep 2016
8.3

Location nice being very close to Plaza De Armas and restaurants but it can be noise since they always have music going in this area. Rooftop terrace is nice and there are some private rooms up top which are well worth the price if you don't mind the noise. Wifi was fine for the most part.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.