X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MD House Reviews

18/6 Rajvithee Rd., Amphur Maung, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1165 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Not having Wifi in the room brought down our opinion. The breakfast in the morning was great - quick and always enough.


77%

Hotel was clean and well located. Staff friendly too. However, pool was not that clean and there were many midges around the communal areas. Plus There is still building going on around the hotel so although not noisy at night, could be during day.


86%

Great location walking distance from Zoe bar, thapae gate and great night life. The staff was available 24/7 and very helpful with booking restaurants. A bit on the pricey side but the pool is a nice treat in the old city.


80%

We really enjoyed staying here as it was good value for money, had all the facilities you could ask for and was walking distance to most of the places you might want to go to in Chang Mai. There is a comedy shaped pool to cheer you up whenever you see it as well. The people at reception were helpful but we found the lady in the tourist information office next to the hostel even more helpful.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location and great breakfast!

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice hostel, pool is good. Rooms are clean and spacious, staff lack in English but do try to help. Very close to lots of bars and food places and a 15min walk to the night bazaar. Would stay here again.


97%

We are a Family with two children (8 & 11 years) and appreciated our stay at M.D. House very much! Very nice, familar hostel, with Swimming pool, located in the Old City with everything needed around (inkl. Taxis)!

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place for the price. Restroom ensuite. There is a security guard so you can sleep feeling safe. Complimentary breakfast is subpar but close to markets so you can buy more food outside!


80%

Very nice hostel. It is located in the central square of Chiang Mai, the old city. Very close by all major facilities. Easy accesible from the airport. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Most of them speak English quite well.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Stayed in a private double that had AC which was great. The room and bathroom had more space than other hostels I have stayed at in SE Asia but the internet did not work in our room (201). They do offer free breakfast (just eggs and a drink) and have a pool. Also close to a very helpful travel agency.


66%

Good location and safe/secure place to stay. AC, tv, and a little area for hang drying clothing. Quiet room, firm mattress. Room and common places were clean. Pool was nice and breakfast was good. Overall, perfectly good place to stay, but don't expect help with directions or ideas for activities from front desk and don't plan to use the computers (only 1 of several was working and staff had no tech knowledge). (June-July 2015)

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

We were not impressed by the cleanliness or appearance of facilities. The location is good and it has a pool. They offer to make breakfast in the morning (not free). We were looking for a place with a nicer atmosphere though, so we left after 1 night.


66%

Interesting shaped pool when you walk in. The renovations others complained about in previous reviews seems to be complete.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+


80%

Location makes it worth it. We got a private room, it was nothing special for the price, but then again we weren't interested in spending too much time in it anyway. My biggest complaint was the wifi, which we could barely pick up in the room, but in their defense, they informed us that they were working to fix the issue when we asked about this. Staff was kind, friendly, and helpful. We felt very safe and happy here, also very close to the airport... I think our fare was 100 baht.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice place. Staff needs to improve their English and being able to recommend more activities, but the place is very nice.


74%

Moved to this hotel as a desperate measure from the last not having aircon, so ended up settling for a (relatively) expensive hotel. It was fine though a bit overpriced, 2 nice pools and breakfast included. Aircon was strong, wifi was intermittently good. Very friendly staff. Basic room but clean and fine for our purposes. There's a new part to the hotel being built which looks lovely so I would stay here again in the new part, it's much more modern and I imagine would reflect the price better.


80%

Great location, wonderful staff, and a delicious breakfast!


100%

Super nice staff!! Decent breakfast and solid pool, great location within the old city!!!!


83%

Staff was super friendly, loved the pool, however there was mold in our air conditioning.


94%

Very good hostel , happy friendly staff, more of a hotel than a hostel. Clean rooms and lots of facilities. Will stay again. 👍

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Chiang Mai Hostels

Please give us your feedback