X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1154 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The hotel is modern and clean, the breakfast is great. Only annoying thing is that you have to get on public transport to get into the city which is ridiculously overpriced

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comments, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

This place is one of the nicest hostels I've stayed at. Top notch facilities, friendly staff, and a decently priced bar/restaurant. The only downfall is that it isn't in the city center, however it is located next to a major train station which makes commuting fast and easy!

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your kind comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

97%

My friends and I enjoyed our stay in Meininger Amsterdam! The hostel was really clean and great value for money! I will definitely recommend it to my friends!

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

91%

Great hostel but paying to travel into the city was annoying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

The best hostel i stayed in my entire trip! The only point that could better is the location! Its kinda far away from the center of amasterdam! However, its lovated just by a big train station, so its easy to move around! The infra structure is the best ever! Huge rooms, comfortable beds and a grat value for the quality!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

Wifi signal is not very strong and stable - otherwise its all good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comment, we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

100%

Literally the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean, orderly and neat! Love this hostel will stay again and at other Meininger locations as well!

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

Very very clean ,GREAT VALUE although not in city center it's just a short train ride away.


97%

This hostel is more like a hotel! It's perfect in every way... The location is great as you only need to pop on a train (which is next door) and 4 minutes later your at Amsterdam central. Staff were up beat and positive. Only thing is I think Breakfast is way too expensive but I didn't complain cos there was so much variety and it is all-you-can-eat. But I don't think people eat that much in the mornings. Maybe make it a couple of euros cheaper. Other than that you can't knock this place AT ALL.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your lovely review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

91%

Really nice hotel laid back good facility's will be using this hotel every time I go to the dam ideal location ine stop away from everything so can still get good slepp if needed

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

one of my favourite hostel ever visited

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

71%

It was a little far away from down town, and scary at nights at least for me, a young female traveler.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that you felt unconfortable in Amsterdam, but we can assure you that the city is really safe to visit also for female travelers on their own! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

It's a good hostel/hotel with a nice breakfast. Rooms are very clean, cosy and comfortable. It's a little bit far from the city town, but the train station is just a few meters ahead. The staff is very helpful too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

60%

They changed me and my friends in to separate rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it! Your Meininger Hotel Amsterdam

83%

The best choice done in Amsterdam :D. It's a little bit far from city center, in a way that's not easy to reach by foot, but with just a tram you can go everywhere, even because the hostel is in the nearby of the tram station. The room was perfect! The atmosphere really mixed, young, family, nice and ugly:D Another point is the price: excellent!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Hotel Amsterdam

80%

Nice hostel but very noisy at night

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

Was a friendly welcome, very helpful explaining the means of travelling around the city. Lovely dorm room and we were put with two lovely girls. AS we were out a lot we didn't make use of the facilities available but from what I saw it was all very good. Would definately come back.

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

83%

Altough the location is very far away with metro, it was good stay for a reasonable price.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • wangel
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

86%

the computers provided in the hostel are not well functioning and the wifi are really hard to get linked in.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and will work on the matter. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

97%

Helpful staff, overall great stay. No complaints at all!

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

(532 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback