X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1553 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Best staff ever! Very helpful, friendly, patient, easy to talk to, especially Tetske, Patrick and Kelly. The dorm I booked was full when I arrived, so I was automatically upgraded to a private room with ensuite bathroom at no extra charge - it was as good as a hotel room. Only complaint was weak wifi on 6th floor so I had to go down to the common room. Was pretty easy to catch the train there, but not convenient for going out late in the city.


91%

this hostel was a bit out from the centre of the city. it's one train stop away from amsterdam centraal station- either a 15 minute bus ride away or a 5 minute train ride away. but other than that it's a great place to stay- it was pretty much a hostel with hotel features. great bathroom/shower, comfy beds, clean towels and sheets. great value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review!! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

More a hotel with shared rooms than a hostel! No complaints with the staff, room or cleanliness. Location maybe a downside as you have to get a train into Central Amsterdam. Only minor complaint, breakfast charged at extra €7.90 each, this seemed a bit steep given the price of the room. Overall great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your nice review and helpful feedback! We hope to see you here again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

I was a bit disappointed because the room wasn't as clean as I expected, there was a complete mess left by previous guests, but he ensuite and common areas were in perfect conditions. The location is not the best but the city center is easy to reach by bus or train and even by bike (it's a 20 mins ride). Besides the mess and the location I will definitely book here again or recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your lovely comment! Guests can be pigs sometimes right? :) We are happy that everything else was good for you and are looking forward to see you here again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

Enjoyed my 2 night stay here and really don't have any complaints. The only thing I can think of is that breakfast isn't included in your stay and is slightly pricey (8€ I think). That being said the breakfast selection was amazing. The hostel is also conveniently located within sight of the sloterdijk station, so its easily linked to the rest of the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! Hope to see you at Meininger again soon! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

91%

Great location for those coming by bus or using airport. Breakfast is awesome as well! Staff is nice. A little bit pricey so personally I will pick another hostel to stay in case I don't arrive late and am not obliged to leave early.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving such a nice comment! Next time check us out during low season (winter time) when are prices are much lower than during summer. Hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

A bit off centered, though two seconds away from the station that leads you to centraal within 9 minutes by train/15 minutes by bus. This is an Hotel, so it doesn't have the hostel atmosphere and breakfast is not included (7 Euros), but you'll have all the hotel comfort. The staff is very cool and helpful, there are lifts that leads to floors (very rare isn't it? so GLORYYYYY:)))), rooms are clean, clear and comfy and the kitchen + the common room are well equiped with a baby foot table and so.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely comment! We really appreciate our lifts and are happy to read that you did as well:) Hope to welcome you here again some time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Clean and modern hostel in a safe area, right next to the Sloterdijk railway stop and a short (5 minute) commute to city center. The staff were friendly and helpful and led me to a totally hip, beach-like bar in Amsterdam Noord my first night there. The people I met there were really chill and friendly. My room was all early 20s but I saw some families with children there as well. I wrote a full review on this hostel here: http://mvmtblog.wordpress.com/2014/11/19/hostel-review-meininger-amst


71%

Every dorm has an own toilet and shower... The staff is friendly.. buuuuut its a mix between hostel and hotel... there are lots of people who are not backpacking and not interested in meeting other people... lot of families... and its huuuuge... to big... at night there is nothing really going on at the bar... its def not a hostel feeling what you have there... you can hope that you have fun roommates and then you can still enjoy the stay with the nice shower... Amsterdam is a lil bit far away..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your room and shower (they are great right?) :) and hope to welcome you to Meininger again some other time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

74%

Great location close to railway station. Not much in the way of cooking facilities. Kitchen near bar area meant smoke and cooking smells going all over bar. Washing machine not working Staff member on check-in not particularly nice to my wife saying that children not allowed in mixed dorms and we were lucky they had a room available for us. Odd therefore that I was allowed to book the room online and had to provide my children's ages when doing so.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review and stay with us! We usually love the smell of freshly prepared food in our hotel but we guess you were unlucky with the type of food prepared:) Luckily our washing machine has been fixed in the mean time. As you might understand due to strict regulations, children under 18 are not allowed in mixed dorms. We will contact Hostelworld and see if they can change this on their booking website as well. Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

All round an excellent experience, would stay with you again in a heartbeat. Thank You!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it and hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, MeiningerAmsterdam

71%

My stay in the hostel was really good It is not located in the city centre but the connections are very good It looks like a hotel The bedrooms also are good and clean. The breakfast is ok The staff very kind and helpful I would recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to stay in Amsterdam Maybe the best hostel i have ever been

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for such a beautiful review! We are happy that everything worked out so well for you and hope to welcome you here again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

Everything was excellent but its not a hostel to party and ir is not ideal to meet people Its very far from the downtown so if you want to parte you have to leave early to the hostel ir leave very late justo to wait for the train

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, we are happy to see that you have enjoyed our hostel! Next time please use the night buses; they come back to the hotel all through the hotel and will save you time waiting for the first train:) Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

74%

More of a hotel then a hostel . You must take the train to get to downtown. They've took my towel but managed to give one back. No atmosphere. Pretty good spot to sleep. If you're into meeting new people, don't go there otherwise I recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your reply here, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to see you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

great room, helpful and beautiful reception staff

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review!! We only hire beautiful people here to accomodate to our guests :) Hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Fantastic hostel, exactly like a hotel but with a few more people in the room. The staff were very busy, as we stayed over Gay Pride, but they were accommodating. The communal kitchen was kept really clean by all the guests and was a pleasure to use. The bar area was lovely to chill out in and we ordered pizza to the hostel one evening and the staff showed the delivery person where we were. Toilet and shower facilities were spotless, beds made when we arrived and really secure lockers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thank you for writing down such a lovely review! We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you here again soon!! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

This is a really nice hostel but it's a 20 min bus ride from the heart of the city. Luckily the bus station is right there So it's not so bad. But just heads up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice comment!! Next time please try the train to the city; this only takes 5 minutes. :) Hope to see you again some time! Warm regards, Your Meininger Team

83%

Great hostel! We booked a 7 beds mixed dorm, and once there they upgraded us into a 4 beds private room with bathroom without charging anything. Room was very clean and equipped with all conforts (soap, showergel, hair dryer, tv, lockers) but windows were locked. The common area it's perfect to share a beer with friends. We didn't use it but the kitchen seemed fine. We rented bikes for 24h at 14.50€ (a reasonable price): a great service even if they can't be booked in advance. Recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thank you for your nice review! We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you here again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

It was nice time spent at hostel, location is far from center but very conveniently a minute away from train/bus/tram station which makes it easy to come to city's center. Staff is really really nice, friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

83%

Nice hostel, as were all the other Meininger hostels I stayed at around Europe. I was initially booked into a room that was already fully occupied, but the lady on reception was fantastic in sorting the problem out and transferring me to another room. Staff generally were lovely, good atmosphere, comfortable bed. Would be better if the sink was in a bathroom rather than in the dorm area itself, as difficult to clean teeth etc in morning without disturbing others. Will happily stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

(692 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback