X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1353 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Right next to the train station and about 15 minutes from the city center. It is more like a hotel with the hostel atmosphere. Great place to stay, we will definitely back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We will be happy to see you here again then! :) Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

It is just next to sloterdjik station, very convenient

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking out the time to write your review here. We hope to welcome you here again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

very clean hotel. Staff is very helpfull and you have 24/7 someone at the reception.close to the train station and in 5 minutes at central.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We hope to welcome you here again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

80%

Not the best location, but staff was extremely helpful. Was much cheaper than any other accommodation for the night we stayed there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking out the time to write down your experiences here. We hope to welcome you at any of our other Meiningers in the future! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

Really great facility. Very clean. 2 Warnings: If you are planning to do laundry here, I would recommend early in the morning. there is one washer for the entire building, and it is about 1.5 hr per load. This is also NOT in the city center. Its right outside the west station, which is great, and its only a 4 minute train ride to the central station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review and helpful feedback! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you here again in the future! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

This place is not a hostel, It is a hotel with dorm style rooms. the service is great and friendly. The hostel however is not great if your looking to go into the city daily unless you have a train pass. with that it is simple to jump on and ride 7 minutes to Amsterdam central where all the fun is. However the services and facilities at this hostel cannot be matched

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you here again some other time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

77%

The room was clean and with new furniture. There is parking lot just beside the Hostel, so if you planning go by car don't worry about it. Although the hostel is relatively far from Amsterdam center, there is also a train station that can bring you to Amsterdam central station in few minutes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for writing your review here! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you here again soon! Warm regards, Meininger amsterdam

86%

From viewing it on hostel world it looked great, true to form. The staff from check in to check out were very friendly and helpful with sight seeing and transport tickets. The rooms were great very spacious and clean. I really like the set up, lockers, personal light & power point etc. I seen a few comments on how the hostel is too far out of the city centre, its was never a hassle, only 5 min by train and there a plenty of trains. All together I enjoyed my stay at the Meininger, would recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you in any of our Meiningers again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

The faculty was mostly amazing the biggest beef was with the guests. If you don't like strict german standards I would consider somewhere else

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again at Meininger some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

46%

Bed bugs! We have stayed at Meininger before in other cities and had absolutely no problem, but here in Amsterdam we had a different experience. Aside from the fact that it is located a 20 minute bus ride away from the city, the atmosphere was boring. The worst part occurred on our second night, when we discovered BED BUGS! We didn't discover them until the middle of the night, and although they moved us after complaining, I doubt they moved the other 5 people in our room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking out the time to write your comments here! We are very sorry to read about your experience with bed bugs. As bed bugs are not insects living in Holland, they can sometimes travel along with our guests and get cozy in our sheets. We of course have taken care of the problem straight away after you left the room. We hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam after all and hope to see you again at Meininger! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

63%

If ever again in Amsterdam, I'd go somewhere else. When checked-in, they offered me breackfast for €6 and I said no; next morning was €8 :-P. Bad location (too far away from city centre) although next to Sloterdij station. Could improve cleanliness for sure


83%

This hostel felt like someone had bought a hotel and decided to rebrand it as a hostel. The location wasn't great, but the trains came fairly frequently. The staff were really nice and accommodating. Just a warning, the three bed an dorms are a single bed and a double bed so if it's three strangers or a couple and a stranger then it could be quite awkward.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are a combination of a hostel and hotel which is why it also might have felt like a hotel to you:) Next time please be aware that our double beds can be removed from each other which will make it two singles. We hope to welcome you here again some other time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

First time staying in a hotel-style hostel. Very clean and modern. Only had trouble finding the entrance as it's blocked by construction and there was no warning. It is away from city center, so area is pretty dead. Still convenient as there is a huge transportation hub with tons of trams, buses, trains, and metro.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking out the time to write your review here! We appreciate your feedback and have made some more adjustments regarding entrance-guiding. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you here again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

66%

I stayed in the 8th floor, where the wi fi wouldn't connect. It was needed to get to the reception to have internet.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking out the time to write your review here! We are aware of our wifi problems and are working on solving them quickly. We hope to welcome you here again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

very nice place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving such a nice comment! Hope to see you here again in the future. Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

57%

The maid stole a few of the items I left on my bed (I was the only one in that room), and the staff seemed quite unconcerned when I reported it. The kitchen is badly equipped. The location is far from the city, but you can easily get a train for about €3 and 20 minutes round trip. It's hard to find food without going at least 20 minutes away. Don't take the bus, the staff talked us into it but it takes 3 times longer and costs more.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • cooperka
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your review here! We of course are very upset to hear about our housekeeping staff stealing from our guests and encourage you to report this to the management so we can investigate what happened exactly. Next time please ask us more information about the trains. As a one way trip is only 5 minutes, it seems that you have taken a wrong one. Thanks again for commenting! Meininger

97%

Great hotel, location perfect right outside train station, only moan wud be didnt have a full length mirror, 7 girls in a dorm rm with one small bathroom mirror was difficult but everything else was awesome...wud use again for sure.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you at Meininger again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

really good hotel, very clean and new, lots of young people there, very nice atmosphere..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for leaving such a nice comment here. Hope to welcome you here again in the future! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

Due to the price paid would've expected towels to be provided, and also perhaps lockable storage in the room. Otherwise great place to stay much more like a hotel than a hostel.


80%

Meininger Hostel does have great facilities. You wonder if you are staying in a hotel or a hostel at times. But the dorm rooms certainly make this place a hostel. The drawback is that the hostel is not close enough to Amsterdam to make walking easy, so you have to take the train going to and from town. Given its location, you'd expect the room rates to be more reasonable. Unlike most hostels that offer free breakfast, this hostel chain charges for the buffet breakfast. A bit pricy for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for leaving your comment here! We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay here. We are a combination of a hotel and hostel which explains the wondering:). Our prices are very competetive but unfortunately Amsterdam is one of the most expensive cities in Europe to stay in. We hope to welcome you here some other time! (perhaps in low season with dorm beds for 14 euros). Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

(628 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback