X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
917 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The staff Needs to be more polite And helpfull With guests.

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alexandre, We are sorry to hear that you didnt find our staff polite enough. We normally score very high points on our helpfulness and guest interaction. In case you would like to clarify your staff experience, plese do not hesitate to contact us through email. Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

This place was very comfortable. Really appreciated the free washing and the staff are amazing for advice or help regarding tourist stuff. Although not central it's only a 2.40 euro ride by train each way.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Helen, Thank you for your nice comment! We appreciate your opinion and would love to welcome you here again some other time! Warm regards from Amsterdam

77%

Good bed and breakfast.. Need to take a bus to go to Red Ligth Distric..


94%

everything was very clean and tidy. just make sure to arrive a bit after 3pm or else your room might not be ready yet. other than that everything was great the staff was really helpful and didn't mind being asked the same question a thousand times over.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kristina, Thank you for your nice comment! Answering questions is our specialty so never feel guilty about doing so:) Hope to welcome you here some other time! Warm regards from Amsterdam

86%

Breakfest hours are too early, specially in amsterdam where people party all night and wake up very late. But the rest of the hotel was good.

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Virginie, Thank you for your comment and stay at Meininger! We understand that sometimes partying does not make you wake up before 10:30 the next day....For those party animals we offer our bar sandwiches or of course the Starbucks which is a 2 minute walking distance. Hope to welcome you at Meininger another time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

Location was great/OK, depending on your perspective. Just 5 minutes outside of Amsterdam Centraal, you'll need a daily pass on the Sprinter, but great & frequent connections make it no real sacrifice (miss a train, there'll be another in about 4 minutes - anytime of day). Plus easier to get to Schiphol. Lots of families - breakfast buffet was a new type of circus/zoo I had yet to see! Food good. Very new place; very clean; A/C. Bed was not that comfy, though - VERY thin mattress. GREAT shower!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Michael, Thank you very much for your review and stay at our hotel! Our breakfast room can become quite crowded in busy times like these, but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food (and the shower!). Warm regards from Meininger Amsterdam

91%

Very good showers and clean hostel, bit out of the way but train station is very close


54%

We got a very bad start with one rude staff. We thought we booked a private 7 people room thru swedish hostelworld, but ended up in 2 separate rooms with strangers. (And they were loud and showed no respect that we were there for work and early mornings... ) Worst 3 nights ever! we got no help at all to change the room to one private... He was just rude. Breakfast was messy and poor. No seats. very nonchalant staff over all. We were out of toiletpaper first day, no fill up. The bar staff was ok!

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kajsa, Thank you for stay at Meininger! We appreciate your honesty and of course do not approve of rude behaviour from staff. However, we would like to advise you to book a private room next time. It will cost you a bit more than beds in a dorm but in that case you will be ensured of being together. Our staff is always very appreciated for their kind - and helpfulness and therefore it is very likely that your bad experience was due to misunderstandings. Kind regards, Meininger

100%

A member of staff who was on late at night helped me and my friend into the hostel and bought us a bottle of water from the machine after we'd had a few too many tequilas. He was friendly and caring. We are very grateful. Our stay at the hostel was great, will definitely be back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Laura, Thank you for your nice review! We are always trying to look out for our guests, especially after going out in Amsterdam:) We hope to see you again some time! Warm regards from Meininger Amsterdam

86%

The wifi is kind of sketchy. I wish you wouldn't have to keep logging in over and over again. The signal isn't particularly great either. And around 10-11.45pm when I suppose everyone's home and trying to get online, you can hardly get on the Internet, if at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alyssa, Thank you for staying with us! We agree that at busy times, our Wifi can be a bit overloaded. We are still in process of fixing it so hopefully it will get better soon. Thanks anyway for your helpful comment, we hope to see you again some other time! Kind regards from sunny Amsterdam

83%

Meininger West Amsterdam is still quite new. The room was spacious and fitted out nicely, free wi-fi, good luggage storage, buffet breakfast etc... I would easily recommend this hostel to anyone!


80%

Very good value for money, lovely rooms, nicely decorated. We were a group of 4 - a couple and 2 others - and the room had a double bed and a bunk bed which suited us perfectly. Lovely shower, separate toilet, comfy beds and linen. Staff at the hotel was nice and helpful. The hotel is right next to Sloterdijk Metro station which is relatively convenient although I guess I would have preferred a location closer to the city centre as night buses are a bit of a pain after a night out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Reka, Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are happy to read you have enjoyed your self and would love to welcome you again some time! Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam

91%

More like a hotel than a hostel, though plus your own kitchens! Not a hostel for making friends,as it is very large. All facilities are very good, though kitchen is small in comparison to the hostel/hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Vicky, Thank you for your nice comment! Have you tried our cosy bar area at night? From our experience, this is the perfect place for meeting other people. Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

A little bit far from the city center. overall good.


86%

It was a really nice stay. Highly recommended

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Maria! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

49%

I´ve stayed for 3 days and my room was cleaned only ONCE! I GOT ROBBED. I was in a single bed room and my stuff went missing and the recepcionist didnt even care, basically called some guy of the cleaning whom didnt do pretty much anything, she was gossip around with some lady from the staff about the situation. Just embarising. I've decided to stay in meininger amsterdam because a had a great experience at meininger brussels, where the service was amazing as well as the staff, huge mistake.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Isabel, We regret to hear that your experience here turned out not to be as it should have. Of course we do not approve of any rude behaviour and take stealing very seriously. Unfortunately, in case of any assumption of stealing, the only thing we can do is to inform the guest to press charges at the police station. We hope this is what you did so there is a possibility to get your money back. Please send us an email in case of any further questions. Kind regards, Meininger

97%

Best hostel we have been in the whole trip, everything was fantastic, great atmosphere and staff. The only problem was that it was near amsterdam's second most important station, so we had to get a train to amsterdam centraal and since there aren't any trains for 6 hours at night, it is difficult to go out at night, unless you are prepared to go out all night and only come back at 5 or 6 a.m.


80%

It's a good hostel, well located. Rooms are very neat yet too small.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Valerie, Thank you for your nice comment. We hope to see you again some other time in our hotel! Warm regards from Meininger Amsterdam

57%

Using computers for the internet should be free, it is in many hostels. There should be a better explanation about how to reach the hostel. Like, the I amsterdam card gives no right to use the sprint, so, there should be written the bus option. Another relevant information would be saying that the hostel is, in fact, neighbor to the station, "just turn left, through the exit close to starbucks, and go downstairs" - the addres "orlyplein 1-67" is quite useless.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Giulia, Thank you for your comment! We always try to inform our guests as much as we can. We have provded the reception desk for example with the right information regarding the transport tickets and the usage of the train. Furthermore, our website does include a more detailed explanation of how to get to the hotel from the train station so we would advise you to have a look there as well the next time. We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us after all and wish you a wonderful day!

83%

I went for a professional purpose, not as a tourist. During my one day stay there, I liked the ambiance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Shyamasis, Thank you for your nice comment, we are happy to read that you liked our hotel! Kind regards from Meininger Amsterdam

(436 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback