X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1212 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

It's a good hostel/hotel with a nice breakfast. Rooms are very clean, cosy and comfortable. It's a little bit far from the city town, but the train station is just a few meters ahead. The staff is very helpful too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

60%

They changed me and my friends in to separate rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it! Your Meininger Hotel Amsterdam

83%

The best choice done in Amsterdam :D. It's a little bit far from city center, in a way that's not easy to reach by foot, but with just a tram you can go everywhere, even because the hostel is in the nearby of the tram station. The room was perfect! The atmosphere really mixed, young, family, nice and ugly:D Another point is the price: excellent!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Hotel Amsterdam

80%

Nice hostel but very noisy at night

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

Was a friendly welcome, very helpful explaining the means of travelling around the city. Lovely dorm room and we were put with two lovely girls. AS we were out a lot we didn't make use of the facilities available but from what I saw it was all very good. Would definately come back.

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

83%

Altough the location is very far away with metro, it was good stay for a reasonable price.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • wangel
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

86%

the computers provided in the hostel are not well functioning and the wifi are really hard to get linked in.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and will work on the matter. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

97%

Helpful staff, overall great stay. No complaints at all!

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

80%

The hotel was nice, is not on Ciy center, but has a station nealy! The Staffs were helpfull. The Breakfast was delicious, worth it! The Bedroom, was quite good. The problems: Far way from city center In all hostels where I've been, this was the worse for the Internet... but the Best for the Breakfast! =D

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

86%

Although I stayed here only briefly, I had a pleasant stay. The Meininger is a massive place offering spotless and spacious rooms with ensuite bathroom and top-notch facilities. Although its location next to the Amsterdam-Sloterdijk railway station and amidst office buildings is very convenient, there is nothing of interest in its vicinity. I found its staff to be very attentive and helpful. Having been to other Meininger Hostels before, this one offers clearly a livelier common area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

74%

The hostel is pretty good. Our room was really good and also the bar and the common area. However the kitchen was small and not equiped enough for the amount of guest . Internet service was not great either. In despite if that, the atmosphere was really good, young people and families can enjoy together.


100%

Paid for a room in an 8-bed dorm. Was given a single-bed room with private bathroom and shower for no additional cost, plus an unadvertised 10% discount. Score! Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. SECURITY: Keycard entry to room. Never felt unsafe in the building. LOCATION: Directly next to Sloterdijk Station (easy access to Centraal). STAFF: Extremely friendly! ATMOSPHERE: Bustling. Great vibe. CLEANLINESS: Spotless. VALUE: Couldn't be higher. FACILITIES: Plenty to do on-site.


89%

Very good option, but the hostel is too far from the city centre and the guests have to buy transport tickets.


80%

The Wifi is not stable. Most of the time I am not able to surf the internet, even though my phone and computer showed that it has already connected to the Wifi.


100%

We arrived very early in the morning on a bus from Germany and were soooo sleepy. We had booked a dorm, but the lady at the front desk gave us a private room because our room wasn't ready. She could see how sleepy we were. Thank you!! I don't know how the dorms were, but the private rooms are basically hotels. Very clean and new. WIFI worked great. The only downside to this place was the location. Its not in the city, it's on the edge of the city so you have to take the train into town.


83%

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well furnished. The breakfast for only 5,90 is very good too. The only problem is that the hotel is not very near the center of Amsterdam, but it's right next to a train station that can get you there in less than 10 minutes. You can also take the tran to the center, that is near the train station.

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic in everyway!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your enthusiastic words!! Hope to see you again in one of our 17 hotels across Europe! Greetings from Amsterdam.

97%

The staff were friendly and hard-working and they made sure it was an enjoyable stay. I will definitely consider staying at a MEININGER hostel in the future.

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you so much for your friendly review! We would be glad to have you again in one of our hotels :) And don't forget to ask for your 5% discount in your next stay as well! Greetings from the Amsterdam team!

94%

This place was fantastic, it was closer to a nice hotel then a hostel. Bit far out but definately worth it.


91%

Although it's not located in the hub of Amsterdam it's right next to the station which offers trains,trams and busses to anywhere you would like to go. The rooms are clean and comfortable, staff friendly and over all good value for money

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24


(560 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback