X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
927 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

I´ve stayed for 3 days and my room was cleaned only ONCE! I GOT ROBBED. I was in a single bed room and my stuff went missing and the recepcionist didnt even care, basically called some guy of the cleaning whom didnt do pretty much anything, she was gossip around with some lady from the staff about the situation. Just embarising. I've decided to stay in meininger amsterdam because a had a great experience at meininger brussels, where the service was amazing as well as the staff, huge mistake.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Isabel, We regret to hear that your experience here turned out not to be as it should have. Of course we do not approve of any rude behaviour and take stealing very seriously. Unfortunately, in case of any assumption of stealing, the only thing we can do is to inform the guest to press charges at the police station. We hope this is what you did so there is a possibility to get your money back. Please send us an email in case of any further questions. Kind regards, Meininger

97%

Best hostel we have been in the whole trip, everything was fantastic, great atmosphere and staff. The only problem was that it was near amsterdam's second most important station, so we had to get a train to amsterdam centraal and since there aren't any trains for 6 hours at night, it is difficult to go out at night, unless you are prepared to go out all night and only come back at 5 or 6 a.m.


80%

It's a good hostel, well located. Rooms are very neat yet too small.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Valerie, Thank you for your nice comment. We hope to see you again some other time in our hotel! Warm regards from Meininger Amsterdam

57%

Using computers for the internet should be free, it is in many hostels. There should be a better explanation about how to reach the hostel. Like, the I amsterdam card gives no right to use the sprint, so, there should be written the bus option. Another relevant information would be saying that the hostel is, in fact, neighbor to the station, "just turn left, through the exit close to starbucks, and go downstairs" - the addres "orlyplein 1-67" is quite useless.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Giulia, Thank you for your comment! We always try to inform our guests as much as we can. We have provded the reception desk for example with the right information regarding the transport tickets and the usage of the train. Furthermore, our website does include a more detailed explanation of how to get to the hotel from the train station so we would advise you to have a look there as well the next time. We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us after all and wish you a wonderful day!

83%

I went for a professional purpose, not as a tourist. During my one day stay there, I liked the ambiance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Shyamasis, Thank you for your nice comment, we are happy to read that you liked our hotel! Kind regards from Meininger Amsterdam

74%

More like a budget hotel than a hostel. Location is only one stop from Amsterdam Centraal on the train but still feels strangely isolated. Too expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Henry, Thank you for commenting! We are always glad to receive peoples thoughts about our hotel. We also agree that hotels in Amsterdam are incredibly expensive but definitely advise you to come back during low season time when our rates will be a lot lower. Have a nice day! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

71%

The hostel was clean and the rooms were very quiet which was a major plus. In addition it is located at a transport hub so makes it very easy to get to the airport (10mins by the train) and into the centre of Amsterdam (10mins by bus). Views and atmosphere are pretty non existent but if you want a clean simple easily accessible place to sleep we would recommend it.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Annie! Thanks for commenting, we are happy to see that you have enjoyed your self in our hotel:) We agree that Meininger Amsterdam is not the place to come to if you are looking for astonishing views but luckily not a lot of people are;) Have a wonderful day, hope to see you again some time! Warm regards from Meininger Amsterdam

91%

The only problem was that most of the families staying at the hostel were so rude to the staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rebecca, Thank you for that, it's nice to see things get noticed sometimes:) Hope to welcome you at Meininger again someday! Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam

77%

As a single backpacker I found that this place wasn't great for meeting other people. Additionally, as you have to take a train into downtown, if you want to go out, you have to catch the last train by 1am or a night tram for 30mins that runs every hour- it sucked for location. The Meiningers are always clean and this one was no exception, and it was very family friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Margot, Thank you for commenting! We are always excited to see how many of our backpacking guests mingle together and find each other at the bar in the evening but of course not every day is the same. We can see that you have been in more Meiningers so we hope to welcome you again in any of our new locations coming up in Europe! Kind regards from Amsterdam

89%

This is the best hostel I stayed at across my travels in Europe. Very clean, nice rooms, and comfortable beds. Located right next to the train so couldn't be easier to get into the main part of the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Cynthia, Wat a nice comment, thank you for that! We would be happy to welcome you again in case you are coming back to Europe. Have a lovely day. Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

Good for the cost. Not very expensive but worth the money spent...

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Maurice, Thank you for commenting here, we are glad to see you enjoyed our hotel! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

Definitely the best hostel of our holiday. The place was really good, next to Sloterdijk station (with useful tram and bus links) and staff really helped with what to do and where to go. We were matched with lovely English people. Bar downstairs, lovely people at the hostel. You can come and go whatever time of night. Plus the bathroom and toilet were clean, something I can't say about other hostels. You will feel like you're staying in a hotel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Daniel, Thank you very much for your nice comment! It's always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed them selves. We hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam or any of our other Meiningers! :) Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam

100%

it's the best hostel that I have ever lived. Highly recommend. Nice facility, good staff, excellent atmosphere. We live in the mix room but it really like a private room.

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely comment Shin, we would be happy to welcome you back here! Warm regards from Amsterdam

94%

There was a mix-up with booking our room, but once it was figured out then I was greatly impressed. It felt like a very nice hotel, the beds were comfortable, the staff very very friendly, everythng was clean. A little pricey but definately worth it.

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Meghan, thank you for your stay and sorry about the mix up. We are glad you enjoyed it after all and would be happy to welcome you here again! Warm regards from Meininger Amsterdam

97%

Very modern, Huge rooms, clean bed sheets, live atmosphere, very good staff. Amsterdam central station only one train stop away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Seyyed, thanks for your nice comment. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to recommend you our other Meiningers in Europe! Have a lovely day. Warm regards from Meininger Amsterdam

100%

Our favourite hostel by far. It's basically a hotel. 100% stay here for your trip. The only negative was the older woman staff member who Mothers you when you're using the washer and kitchen facilities. Tried to tell me to wash my pan up before I'd even eaten my food. But yeah fantastic hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Daniel, Great to hear that you have enjoyed your self here during your stay! Our motherly staff member can sometimes get a bit too excited about our product and likes to see things clean. We try to moderate it at times:) Hope to see you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

80%

Too far from Amsterdam Centertown

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jean Louis, Thank you for your reply! It is true that we are 5km from the city centre, however just 4 minutes by train! :) Warm regards from Meininger Amsterdam

91%

A bit of a inconvenience since the hostel is a train ride away from the main city, but it's a bit nice to get away from the craziness of Amsterdam at night. Everything else was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Keith, Thanks for reviewing your stay at Meininger! We as the staff of Meininger are sometimes very happy to be away from the craziness of Amsterdam at night as well:) Hope to see you some other time! Warm regards from Meininger

91%

Nice place to stay, very clean and comfortable beds. It's not hard to get into the city from here either, but not in the centre of town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Maddy, Thank you for your nice comment and for staying at Meininger! Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam

66%

One man of the staff is so rude unpolite and anoying that is sicotic. Oter staff great.. I do not go to recibe agression from nobody. These was the idea of lot guess abot this man. He need help. Common areas big but uncortable. Family type but not young atmosphere.


(441 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback