X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
915 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

More like a budget hotel than a hostel. Location is only one stop from Amsterdam Centraal on the train but still feels strangely isolated. Too expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Henry, Thank you for commenting! We are always glad to receive peoples thoughts about our hotel. We also agree that hotels in Amsterdam are incredibly expensive but definitely advise you to come back during low season time when our rates will be a lot lower. Have a nice day! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

71%

The hostel was clean and the rooms were very quiet which was a major plus. In addition it is located at a transport hub so makes it very easy to get to the airport (10mins by the train) and into the centre of Amsterdam (10mins by bus). Views and atmosphere are pretty non existent but if you want a clean simple easily accessible place to sleep we would recommend it.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Annie! Thanks for commenting, we are happy to see that you have enjoyed your self in our hotel:) We agree that Meininger Amsterdam is not the place to come to if you are looking for astonishing views but luckily not a lot of people are;) Have a wonderful day, hope to see you again some time! Warm regards from Meininger Amsterdam

91%

The only problem was that most of the families staying at the hostel were so rude to the staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rebecca, Thank you for that, it's nice to see things get noticed sometimes:) Hope to welcome you at Meininger again someday! Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam

77%

As a single backpacker I found that this place wasn't great for meeting other people. Additionally, as you have to take a train into downtown, if you want to go out, you have to catch the last train by 1am or a night tram for 30mins that runs every hour- it sucked for location. The Meiningers are always clean and this one was no exception, and it was very family friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Margot, Thank you for commenting! We are always excited to see how many of our backpacking guests mingle together and find each other at the bar in the evening but of course not every day is the same. We can see that you have been in more Meiningers so we hope to welcome you again in any of our new locations coming up in Europe! Kind regards from Amsterdam

89%

This is the best hostel I stayed at across my travels in Europe. Very clean, nice rooms, and comfortable beds. Located right next to the train so couldn't be easier to get into the main part of the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Cynthia, Wat a nice comment, thank you for that! We would be happy to welcome you again in case you are coming back to Europe. Have a lovely day. Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

Good for the cost. Not very expensive but worth the money spent...

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Maurice, Thank you for commenting here, we are glad to see you enjoyed our hotel! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

Definitely the best hostel of our holiday. The place was really good, next to Sloterdijk station (with useful tram and bus links) and staff really helped with what to do and where to go. We were matched with lovely English people. Bar downstairs, lovely people at the hostel. You can come and go whatever time of night. Plus the bathroom and toilet were clean, something I can't say about other hostels. You will feel like you're staying in a hotel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Daniel, Thank you very much for your nice comment! It's always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed them selves. We hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam or any of our other Meiningers! :) Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam

100%

it's the best hostel that I have ever lived. Highly recommend. Nice facility, good staff, excellent atmosphere. We live in the mix room but it really like a private room.

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely comment Shin, we would be happy to welcome you back here! Warm regards from Amsterdam

94%

There was a mix-up with booking our room, but once it was figured out then I was greatly impressed. It felt like a very nice hotel, the beds were comfortable, the staff very very friendly, everythng was clean. A little pricey but definately worth it.

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Meghan, thank you for your stay and sorry about the mix up. We are glad you enjoyed it after all and would be happy to welcome you here again! Warm regards from Meininger Amsterdam

97%

Very modern, Huge rooms, clean bed sheets, live atmosphere, very good staff. Amsterdam central station only one train stop away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Seyyed, thanks for your nice comment. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to recommend you our other Meiningers in Europe! Have a lovely day. Warm regards from Meininger Amsterdam

100%

Our favourite hostel by far. It's basically a hotel. 100% stay here for your trip. The only negative was the older woman staff member who Mothers you when you're using the washer and kitchen facilities. Tried to tell me to wash my pan up before I'd even eaten my food. But yeah fantastic hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Daniel, Great to hear that you have enjoyed your self here during your stay! Our motherly staff member can sometimes get a bit too excited about our product and likes to see things clean. We try to moderate it at times:) Hope to see you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

80%

Too far from Amsterdam Centertown

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jean Louis, Thank you for your reply! It is true that we are 5km from the city centre, however just 4 minutes by train! :) Warm regards from Meininger Amsterdam

91%

A bit of a inconvenience since the hostel is a train ride away from the main city, but it's a bit nice to get away from the craziness of Amsterdam at night. Everything else was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Keith, Thanks for reviewing your stay at Meininger! We as the staff of Meininger are sometimes very happy to be away from the craziness of Amsterdam at night as well:) Hope to see you some other time! Warm regards from Meininger

91%

Nice place to stay, very clean and comfortable beds. It's not hard to get into the city from here either, but not in the centre of town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Maddy, Thank you for your nice comment and for staying at Meininger! Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam

66%

One man of the staff is so rude unpolite and anoying that is sicotic. Oter staff great.. I do not go to recibe agression from nobody. These was the idea of lot guess abot this man. He need help. Common areas big but uncortable. Family type but not young atmosphere.


91%

It's a great hostel. A bit further from City but truly just a easy 5-min train ride. The staff are very friendly and facility is , clean modern and new. I booked it slightly late- just 3 days ahead of my arrival. So the price is a bit high especially for weekends, so it's not the most value for money since it's not in the city. But I trust it would be a great deal if you book way ahead of time. However, people don't really mingle here like in other hostels and the internet is unstable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Yijia, Thank you for your lovely comment! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your self and you are correct: the sooner your book, the lower the rates will be. We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

Very nice place, little out of the way. It is like staying in a hotel but with other people in your room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nicholas, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment here. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and since we are a mixture of a hotel and hostel, it seems that this has worked out perfect in your case:) Have a lovely day! Greetings from Meininger Amsterdam

91%

it's all good except that it's a bit expensive and that it's a bit far away from the city center. the breakfast is really good and the price of it is reasonable.


86%

First day of visit, we was out of showergel. So we put the gel bottle visible marked as empty. And when they cleaned the room that day, they removed our towels and the empty bottle and didnt replace the bottle or the towels. But they was good and fixed it instantly when we asked for it.

  • 28th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Elis, Thank you for your helpful comment. We are always looking to improve ourselves and really appreciate it if our guests come to reception straight away once they encounter a problem. This way we can fix it for them and improve their stay. We hope to see you another time and will make sure to refresh your towels by then:) Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam

97%

This hostel was perfect. It was one train stop on the public transportation and was literally 2 minutes from the station. The room has lockers in it and is very clean! The staff was pleasant and again i have had really great stays at all meiningers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Marybeth, Thank you for your lovely comment. A new Meininger opens almost every year in different locations throughout Europe so we will be happy to see you again! Kind regards from the Meininger Team

(436 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback