X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1383 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is ok , only 5 minutes by train to Amsterdam Center. The rooms very clean and I enjoyed my stay, would recommend it !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your nice comment! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you here again some other time! Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam

100%

very good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

97%

This hostel is amazing: super clean, very cheerful and helpful staff and free laundry facilities! The location is a little far off the city center but transit makes it a breeze.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

74%

Overall, good hostel experience, although more like a hotel than a hostel (I believe there is a hotel attached, so makes sense). Rooms are beautiful, clean, and spacious. Location appears to be quite out of the way from downtown but truthfully very easy to get downtown - quick 10 minute tram ride (although trams don't run all night). Overall, great place if you're just looking for a comfy place to sleep, but somewhat expensive considering the location and lack of a communal hostel "vibe".

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your experiences here. We are a hostel in combination with a hotel so that does makes sense:). We are happy to announce that trains from now on also run all through the night back to our hotel! We hope to see you again either here or in any other Meiningers around Europe. Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

77%

very clean

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking out the time to write down your experience. We appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you here another time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

57%

More of a hotel with dorms than a hostel. Not a great vibe for meeting people. It's a trek to get to the city center. They seem way too concerned with money - they wanted to charge my friends 180 euro EACH to stay an extra night. They charged me a 10 euro late checkout fee for being 50 minutes late turning in my room card. I was staying in a shared room with 6 other people, so I wasn't stopping the them from cleaning the room. I've never been charged a fee like this before.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking out the time to share your experiences! Next time please come to reception and ask for all options to get into the city center. If you were concerned with the length of the travel we could have advised you to take the train - only 5 minutes! As we are a big hotel with 750 guests, we have to apply certain rules. This makes it comfortable for our guests who are able to check in on time as well as for our housekeeping staff. Meininger Amsterdam

77%

It was a nice hostel and stay, thank you. As there is not very much food available in the surrounding areas, it would be great if the hostel could offer meals in the evening. We arrived during the evening and ended up going to bed hungry as a result of not being able to find food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

83%

It was really nice to stay in the hotel, but the wifi does not work well, and it is a bit far from the city center, but the cleanliness is really good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking out the time to comment. We appreciate your feedback and are working on improving our wifi at this moment. Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam!

91%

Clean and nice decorated rooms, clean bathroom, nice staff. Only internet was poor. I had a pleasant stay :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely comment. We are actually working on improving our wifi connection at this moment so hopefully it will be better soon. Hope to see you again at Meininger some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

69%

Pros: Free laundry, equipped kitchen (though quite small), very clean like a hotel, hot and strong shower. Cons: Needs take Train (€2.10 one way) or bus (€2.80) to the central. The transportation cost has greatly increased the travel budget in this expensive city. **U will never connect to the wifi. The speed is just extremely slow that u can never browse the net nor connect to the communication apps like viber, whatsapp, FaceTime, iMessage.** Wont come back for unless the wifi improved.

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

80%

The rooms at Meininger are very clean and comfortable--based on the rooms, this was one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. Free washer/dryer in the kitchen, which was wonderful. However, the hostel is not very convenient to the center of Amsterdam; there's nothing to see right near the hotel and the city center is probably 15 minutes away by bus. There's also very little atmosphere to the hostel and there were a lot of large groups; I might as well have been staying in a hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your nice review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay here. In case you would come back another time, we would advise you to take the train into the city: this takes only 5 minutes. We hope to see you again in any of our Meiningers in Europe! Warm regards Meininger Amsterdam

83%

It's a clean & stylish place, just way too big to be called a hostel... It occupies like 8F of a big building beside the railway/bus station & can hold ~800 people, but only 3 staff working at the reception desk to handle problems. They are nice, but usually you need to wait sometime before getting the chance to talk to them. Wifi really sucks, with so much users, you can imagine how slow it is at night, when most travelers need to use it... They should equip different wifi for each floor.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback! We really appreciate that you took the time to comment on your stay. We are aware of the wifi problems and are working on them so hopefully this will fixed soon. We hope to welcome you at Meininger again some other time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

Easy to get to from the airport and into city center. Late night the buses were confusing but not impossible. The rooms and facilities were amazing. Way nicer than some hotels I have stayed in. I was very impressed.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

69%

Hostel rooms were lovely, new facilities and lots of space. Bar area lacked character and was quite a bit out of Amsterdam Central- very close to the tram to get into the city though. Staff were really friendly and helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

I thought the rooms and the facilities were some of the best I've seen from a hostel, if not the greatest. The only thing I noticed was that they water drained slowly in the shower so you had to take quick showers or else it would overflow.


83%

Clean hotel, friendly staff good all round.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

91%

Awesome hostel. If you don't mind to take train for one station to Amsterdam Central, this hostel should be your hostel. It was a bit expensive when I stay in this hostel because of King's day. Breakfast if okay, rooms are clean!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

86%

Very nice hostel, good standards and helpfull staff. A little messy at breakfast, people everywhere, and sometimes no staff to help pay. We were very happy with our stay. I´t´s a little bit away from city center, and the tram/metro takes a while to ride. But otherwise, very content. Over all, a good stay!

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

80%

not bad, even have to take a short time train to center, it has a good location~~just next to the train station~!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

100%

We stayed as a family of five ( children are 12, 14, 14). Had a great time, very comfortable, safe, clean hotel in an excellent location. Staff is very helpful and kind. Parking is available in the building.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

(638 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback