X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1877 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Any time I asked the staff questions they answered but seemed reluctant to help. There were only 2 staff members I spoke to that seemed like they wanted to be there, which was not a good start to my stay. This place has a hotel rather than a hostel atmosphere, which, is definitely not ideal for someone travelling alone. Everyone kept to themselves and were disinterested or awkward when you tried talking to them. In addition, the location is far from central station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you felt like our staff was reluctant to help you when normally our friendly staff is one of our best qualities. Eventhough our hotel is outside the city center of Amsterdam it is located next to a train station. By train it will only take you five minutes to arrive at Central Station. Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

it was really clean and comfortable and the best thing is the price. Although it cost only 16Euro(it was promotion price) for one bed per 6 bed room, it was clean and has a pretty wide shower booth and a suitable toilet. There is a private locker so that you can keep your valuables safely. But, you should know that you need to bring your lock with you if you want to use them.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards,

91%

Nice hotel! Modern facility. Super friendly staff! Our bathroom has not been cleaned properly though. It seams that the hotel in general is clean though. Kind of out of town but right next to the train station and bus station. If you come from central station, take the bus number 48, it takes you right to the big station at the hotel.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment. We are sorry to hear that your bathroom wasn't properly cleaned and will make sure that it will be 'spik en span' (Dutch proverb for sparkling clean) the next time you will be staying with us. We'd also like to thank you for your travel advice, which is sure to be useful for any other people who are planning to stay with us! Warm regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam

80%

Bathrooms and showers so close to the beds is always going to be a little annoying making it difficult to use them at late hours. Otherwise there were some beds that lacked as much privacy as others but that was the worst of it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing the Meininger Hotel. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay and have felt thoroughly “at home”. Your remarks and suggestions are more than welcome and allow us to introduce changes, wherever necessary. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

The only bad thing about this place is the location and even then, it could have been worse. It's not in the centre of amsterdam, so you have to take a 10 minute train to get there, which costs about €5 return. Apart from that it's probably the second best hostel I've stayed in (the first being their location in brussels)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. While we feel a bit bad about being beaten by our fellow Meiningers in Brussels we are happy to read that we made it to second place at the very least! We are happy to welcome you again (and hope to make it to first place) in the future! Best regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam.

80%

It's not your typical hostel, it's more like a 3 star hotel. This made it difficult to get to know people.


86%

Clean rooms, Good location and Excellent Atmosphere !!!

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Didnt expect that it would be a hotel hostel . Have had a terrible hostel experience before I changed to meininger. So meininger was perfect to me. Nice bathroom, clean towel and linen. Was a bit scared about sharing room with 3 other guys in the same room. Turned out ,They were very nice and neat :-) Kinda expensive tho

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. Since New Year's is an extremely popular event here in Amsterdam, it tends to raise the cross-year rates our beds go for. On the other hand we are very happy to hear that we gave you a great hostel experience to make up for all the others you've had! We hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam.

80%

The hostel was pretty cool, the staff and the atmosphere were excellent, me and my boyfriend had a great time there. The breakfast-buffet is the best!! The beds really comfy and the bathroom clean.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment. We are happy to read that you and your boyfriend enjoyed you stay with us. We hope to welcome the two of you again in the near future! Best regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam.

100%

I would totally book this place again for my next visit to Amsterdam! I'm very satisfied with the service and the staffs are all helpful! Thank God i chose this place 😊

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hope to see you again! Best regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam.

86%

It was perfect for me and my three friends traveling. It's literally a 2 minute walk from the train station. Very easy to get to and from Amsterdam. If you're planning on going out at night I would consider something right in the city as the trains don't run deep into the night. I was impressed by the rooms and bathroom in particular as they provide you with linens and shampoo/soap

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you consider us perfect for you and your friends. During the night the trains do stop running, but we have a direct connection with the center of the city by night bus which makes us reachable 24/7, even after a long and fun night out! We hope to welcome you again in the future! Best regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam.

94%

Great facilities, awesome atmosphere and very kind staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your compliments! We'll make sure that your experience will be even more awesome the next time you will stay with us! Warm regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam.

83%

This is not my first meininger experience and will not be the the last :) quality/price rate is always very good at meiningers.. i would recommend to my friends all the time. For Amsterdam, the hotel is a lit bit outside the city center but the train connections are just next to the hotel, so it won't be a problem with a daily ticket.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you have become a Meininger fan and that you would recommend us to others. We hope to see you again soon, either here in Amsterdam or in one of our other houses! Warm regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam.

100%

The experience with you all was awesome! I had a great stay and facilities were far beyond my expectations. Especially since this was my first time staying in a hostel. Great job!

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy to read that we made your first ever stay in a hostel a successful one. We are happy to host you again if you happen to return to beautiful Amsterdam in the future! Warm regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam.

83%

More a hotel than hostel wonderful accommodations. A bit far from the city center and had a little trouble finding it at first (wall down the stairs to the right of the rail station.) overall would definitely recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

94%

It's a super hostel: tidy, with excellent facilities and friendly staff. It has a very good location, especially, if you want to get to the airport/from the airport fast.strongly recommended!


100%

We had an amazing time! The hostel was very clean and the staff were knowledgable and friendly. There were people of all ages and there was a very friendly vibe in the bar area. If we decide to visit Amsterdam again we will be coming back!

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We are happy to read that you had an amazing time here with us! We're indeed taking pride in the fact that people from all walks of life visit us and thereby make our bar a fun and friendly place to stay and have some nice drinks at. Make sure to come by again if you ever decide to return to our beautiful city! Best regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam.

94%

Had a great time here in Meininger. Very clean rooms, good atmosphere, helpful staff and good facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a great time with us here in Amsterdam and hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam.

91%

This hotel fit our family of 5 since we needed to check in early and leave early. It was very convenient to the train station. It was quiet and clean (but bare necessities.)

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you appreciate our location and our flexibility when it comes to checking in and checking out. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam.

100%

Great place, very clean and excellent breakfast! The location was perfect for me!


(824 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback