Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • amilywoldt
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st May 2017
8.9

Kitchen was a bit dirty. Did not get that much atmosphere. The room's interior was very nice though. Staffs were also helpful and freindly to us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2017
10.0

Lovely, as always. The staff was very nice and helped me solve some problems i had with public transport and directions, always with a smile on their face.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your great review. Indeed we love to help out people and get in touch with our guests. That is one of the points we try to take from the hostel part of our hybrid hostel/hotel houses. We hope you had a great time in Berlin and would like to see you again if you ever come back. Kind regards your MEININGER team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
3.7

the receptionist wasn't at the front desk, and was then rude to me. The room was too small, the storage space under the bed was not big enough for my bag (which is only 40L), and there wasn't much floor space for the luggage either. Housekeeping came every day, but just took the trash, the bathroom did not get cleaned. There was 0 atmosphere and really hard to meet people and you will get a better value for your money elsewhere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we weren't able to fulfill your expectations. There are times during the day when there is only one person working in the hostel, so if there are any issues he has to leave the front desk, of course that is no excuse to be rude afterwards. We hope you were still able to enjoy your stay in Berlin. Sincerely your MEININGER team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
6.0

The employees in the front desk area were very nice, but you have to pay for EVERYTHING. And they have a little patrol of two or three security people throughout the building which is good! However, they are not the nicest people. And the bathroom floor was wet and covered in hairs. I would book further ahead to avoid having to go with this hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you liked or front desk employees. Unfortunately we don't know what everything means to you, but indeed most of our extra services are connected to a fee like the pool table or the internet terminals. The WIFI is free though and every sort of information of course. We are sorry if the guys from the night staff haven't been as kind as the ones during the day. We will talk to them so that they offer the same kind of kindness as our daily staff. Sincerely your MEININGER team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
8.9

The atmosphere was amazing! The location was close to everything, including public transportation, the city centre and steps away from the market. It was super clean, and having a bathroom in the room was very convenient, also the lockers were really cool because they were programmed with your room key. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for the kind review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our MEININGER spirit. We hope you had a great time here in the city of Berlin. Sincerely your MEININGER team

28th Apr 2017
9.1

Although it's a bit expensive, this is one of the cleanest, most hotel-like hostels I have ever stayed at. It is a bit of a walk to landmarks but the metro station is right out front and very easy to use. The beds are really nice and the room looks like a hotel room. The hostel is very quiet in the floors with dormitories but has a nice pub downstairs for when you want to socialize. I would recommend this place wholeheartedly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your great review. Indeed our hostel is a bit hotelish, because our house is a hybrid. It is a hotel and a hostel in one, that's the concept of or company, we try to connect the benefits of both things, the comfortable rooms and nice interior of a hotel with the atmosphere and usability of a hostel. We also offer private hotel rooms, work with youth and school groups and backpackers. It is the mix, that makes live interesting. Sincerely your MEININGER team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 94 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.1

More of a flash hotel than a hostel, really good rooms and bathrooms, just not very sociable like a normal hostel so don't expect a party. Close to all the main tourist places in central Berlin and metro right outside. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your nice review. Indeed our hotels are a bit different from normal hostels. We are a hybrid in between a hostel and a hotel. We try to offer the comfort of a hotel with a TV and a private bathroom for every room with the sociable parts of a hostel, like the guest kitchen and our staff always tries to be in touch with the guests to give the almost at home feeling. We hope you had a great time here in Berlin. Sincerely your MEININGER team

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
10.0

my staying was amazing , they have all what you need . the staff is the best , very polite , very kind . this hotel is located near to the best zones and it is located in front of the metro station , Thank you for be part of my best stayings in EUROPE : ) . The staff is the best of the best, well done guys . your service is the most important reason to comeback in 2018 , yeahhhhhh

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your amazing feedback. We are very proud to read this. We try to give our best every day and figure out what's matching each guest individually with advices and recommendations. Maybe if you are traveling around in Europe you might want to give it a try a check out some more MEININGER hotels, there are quiet a few in some interesting cities like Vienna or Amsterdam, London or Brussels. All the best wishes your MEININGER team

11th Apr 2017
10.0

Every thing was simple, straightforward, and user friendly from check in to check out. All the colleagues were friendly and great help! Big thank you to all of them. Will definitely return if there is a MEININGER hotel around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the amazing review. We do like to be seen the way you described us. Always trying to be helpful with a smile and an ear to listen to all the beautiful things you explored in the city. We hope you had a great time here in Berlin. Feel yourself invited to us whenever you pass by a MEININGER hotel. Kind regards your MEININGER team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Clean and modern. Fantastic staff. Very quiet when in your room. Beds very comfortable. Great location, right opposite u-bahn. Easy walk to Alexanderplatz. Popular with school groups - sometimes breakfast could be busy. Suited our 4 day family break perfectly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are very happy to hear that you fully enjoyed the stay in our house. We hope you had a great time here in the city of Berlin, and maybe one day you give us a second visit. Sincerely your MEININGER team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.