X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz Reviews

Schönhauser Allee 19, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
810 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Was very pleased with the service at Meininger and will definitely book to stay there again. I absolutely recommend that anyone visiting Berlin considers this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear K., Thank you so much for your friendly words and for choosing MEININGER Alexanderplatz! We are very happy about your review and we are looking forward to your next visit! All the best for you and see you soon! Yours, MEININGER reception

94%

Very good hostel! Really close to U-Bahn, easy access to everywhere. Only the WiFi didn't work properly and the staff could be more friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear V., Thank you for staying in our house and for your review. So far we are happy that you could recommend us to others and that you liked staying here. About our staffs kindness we will ask them to be more friendly. We want our guests to feel comfortable and welcome. We are sorry that this did not occur with you and we want to apologize for that. Still, we hope to welcome you as our guest again and wish you a great start in the new week! Kind regards MEININGER reception

91%

Very good "high-class" chain hostel~ Clean and tidy and everything is pretty nice~

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear X., Thank you so much for your great recommendation and for choosing MEININGER Alexanderplatz. We are so pleased knowing you as one of a number of satisfied guests and looking forward to your next visit! Your MEININGER reception

43%

Wifi was terrible. Staff was rude about fixing it. No atmosphere to speak of. Located close to the U-bhan and Alexanderplatz but you can find way better places in better locations for a better price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear MEININGER guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your honesty. We are sorry, that your stay with us, was not as fine as we wished to be. It is true, we do have a weak wifi connection and especially in the rooms the connection can be quiet low. Even our staff is helpless when it comes to such problems. Being rude should not occur in any case and we want to apologize for that. We wish you a happy new year and still hope to welcome you again! Yours, MEININGER reception

91%

All are excellent except the breakfact which is overpriced..There is neither toast oven nor eggs supplied .Little varieties were available.You would try another day more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear MEININGER guest, Thank you for staying with us and that you took you time sending us your review. First we are happy to know, that all in all you have had a great time at MEININGER Alexanderplatz. Our breakfast offers toast and on the weekends we also serve boiled eggs. We hope that you have ask our kitchen staff for further details! Breakfast expectations are vary. We hope to welcome you as our guests again and wish a pleasant day! Yours, MEININGER

66%

Had a big issue while staying here that was dealt with professionally and thoroughly. Apart from that it was super average, aside from the great location. Kitchen only had one fork and no other cutlery, no mugs etc. I don't know why they bothered with a guest kitchen if they can't even provide stuff to eat with. We had a way better stay at the Wombats down the street afterwards.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear MEININGER guest! Thank you for your open words and your choice staying with us. We are sorry that you are sort of disappointed about certain details. Usually we tell our guests to ask for anything they are missing. In most cases we are able to fix the problems and pass anything that is missing. So please, next time do not hesitate to contact us with your questions! Kind regards, Your MEININGER reception

91%

Really nice hostel. Only drawback is the groups of students that stay there. Other than that, great place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear S., Thanks for staying at MEININGER and your nice feedback. Yes, we provide beds and rooms for all kind of guests such as individuals and groups. MEININGERs philosiphy includes all guests. We are sorry that you did not enjoy staying with a group as much, but still we would be happy to welcome you again! Yours, MEININGER reception

66%

Great location lovely area but staff were quiet unhelpful and rude.such a pity because loved everything else about our stay

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear N., Thank you for choosing MEININGER and your open feedback. We are very sorry that our staff were not as polite and helpful as they are supposed to be. We will talk to all of them to increase our service and kindness. Nobody should feel unwelcome or even bad treated! Hopefully that won´t happen again. Yours, MEININGER reception

51%

The staff at this hostel are extremely rude and unhelpful. To private room we had was mediocre and the internet did not work in the rooms, although it is advertised. I would not stay here again!!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello L., First we like to thank you for staying at MEININGER and that you took your time sending us your review. We are sorry for your unsatisfied experience with us. Especially unpolitness should not occur! I sadly do not know, what happened exactly. If you like you can sand us an e mail with your booking number and a detailed report and we will work it out. Still we hope to welcome you again at MEININGER. Yours sincerly MEININGER reception

91%

A good stay overall. Atmosphere was quite 'corporate'. Cleanliness: bathroom in shared dorm - floor with hair and fluff didn't appear to be cleaned daily. Appliances in kitchen good, but lacked drinking glasses, sharp cooking knives, enough large plates, bottle opener, even washing up liquid, which I was told guests supplied themselves. No storage system for guests to keep their non- refrigerated foodstuffs. Poor ventilation and not a comfortable space to eat as a social experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Meininger guest, Thanks for stying with us and for your review. We are glad about that you have had a good stay so far. Our guest kitchen offers the basics of equipment that you are able to prepare simple food. There is a public fridge to store your food there. About the cleaning conditions we will talk to our staff to keep an eye on more cleanliness. We hope that you will stay with us again and we are looking forward to your next visit! Have nice day, MEININGER team

100%

Really good hostel!The best i had in europe!Everything was extremely clean, most of the staff were very helpful and nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear MEININGER guest, thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. We are happy to know, that you have had a good time in Berlin with us. So, we hope to welcome you again in one of our houses! Have a nice day! Yours MEININGER reception

97%

Great location - right across from transit, great restaurants and nice neighbourhood!! Staff were very knowledgeable and friendly and the breakfast was delicious!! Thank you! Anna, Canada

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear A., Thank you so much for your friendly feedback and that you choosed our house for your stay! We are happy to know that you have had a great time with us! So, we are looking forward to your next vistit and wish you a nice day! See you next time! Yours, MEININGER reception

77%

Really nice neighborhood! The 6 bed dorm were I stayed was too small. Clothes washing out of order put me into troubles. It is a way too big hostel for the ones who travel alone and to discovery the city in a more intimate way and make friends.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello S., Thank you for your review. We are sorry for you that you did not enjoy your stay as much as it is supposed to be. Sometimes it happends that facilities break like our dryer. Our staff will help you out with further information such as washing stores as well as meeting other people. Next time do not hesitate to ask at the reception. Hope to welcome you again! Yours, MEININGER reception

94%

Wi Fi is not very stable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello A., Thanks for writing us. Yes it is sadly true that our WiFi connection is lower the more people use it. Beside our low internet we still hope that you have had a nice time staying with us. Yours, MEININGER team

91%

Great place, right on the U-Bahn and 5 min walk to Alexanderplatz. Would highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear T., Thank you very much for your friendly words. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was satisfactory. Happy guests are our aim and we try as much as possible tio reach it! So hope to welcome you again! Yours, MEININGER reception

74%

This place is nice and clean, the dorms are spacious and bathrooms are great! It lacks atmosphere and feels more like a hotel than a hostel, everything is a tube ride away but you get what you pay for, hence more central hostels are also more expensive

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello R., Thank your for staying with us and sending your review. We are pleased to know, that your stay with us was good. MEININGER is a hostel and hotel at the same time! We try to include as many interests as possible. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you a nice day! Kind regards, MEININGER reception

97%

24 hour coffee bar & reception -- awesome! Across the street from the U-Bahn. Plus they give you a full set of sheets -- fitted mattress sheet, pillowcase, and duvet cover. Highly recommended.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear A., Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy to know that you have had a great time staying with us! So we hope to welcome you sometime soon as our guest again! Kind regards, MEININGER reception



View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback