X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz Reviews

Schönhauser Allee 19, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
819 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Was very pleased with the service at Meininger and will definitely book to stay there again. I absolutely recommend that anyone visiting Berlin considers this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear K., Thank you so much for your friendly words and for choosing MEININGER Alexanderplatz! We are very happy about your review and we are looking forward to your next visit! All the best for you and see you soon! Yours, MEININGER reception

94%

Very good hostel! Really close to U-Bahn, easy access to everywhere. Only the WiFi didn't work properly and the staff could be more friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear V., Thank you for staying in our house and for your review. So far we are happy that you could recommend us to others and that you liked staying here. About our staffs kindness we will ask them to be more friendly. We want our guests to feel comfortable and welcome. We are sorry that this did not occur with you and we want to apologize for that. Still, we hope to welcome you as our guest again and wish you a great start in the new week! Kind regards MEININGER reception

91%

Very good "high-class" chain hostel~ Clean and tidy and everything is pretty nice~

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear X., Thank you so much for your great recommendation and for choosing MEININGER Alexanderplatz. We are so pleased knowing you as one of a number of satisfied guests and looking forward to your next visit! Your MEININGER reception

43%

Wifi was terrible. Staff was rude about fixing it. No atmosphere to speak of. Located close to the U-bhan and Alexanderplatz but you can find way better places in better locations for a better price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear MEININGER guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your honesty. We are sorry, that your stay with us, was not as fine as we wished to be. It is true, we do have a weak wifi connection and especially in the rooms the connection can be quiet low. Even our staff is helpless when it comes to such problems. Being rude should not occur in any case and we want to apologize for that. We wish you a happy new year and still hope to welcome you again! Yours, MEININGER reception

91%

All are excellent except the breakfact which is overpriced..There is neither toast oven nor eggs supplied .Little varieties were available.You would try another day more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear MEININGER guest, Thank you for staying with us and that you took you time sending us your review. First we are happy to know, that all in all you have had a great time at MEININGER Alexanderplatz. Our breakfast offers toast and on the weekends we also serve boiled eggs. We hope that you have ask our kitchen staff for further details! Breakfast expectations are vary. We hope to welcome you as our guests again and wish a pleasant day! Yours, MEININGER

66%

Had a big issue while staying here that was dealt with professionally and thoroughly. Apart from that it was super average, aside from the great location. Kitchen only had one fork and no other cutlery, no mugs etc. I don't know why they bothered with a guest kitchen if they can't even provide stuff to eat with. We had a way better stay at the Wombats down the street afterwards.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear MEININGER guest! Thank you for your open words and your choice staying with us. We are sorry that you are sort of disappointed about certain details. Usually we tell our guests to ask for anything they are missing. In most cases we are able to fix the problems and pass anything that is missing. So please, next time do not hesitate to contact us with your questions! Kind regards, Your MEININGER reception

91%

Really nice hostel. Only drawback is the groups of students that stay there. Other than that, great place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear S., Thanks for staying at MEININGER and your nice feedback. Yes, we provide beds and rooms for all kind of guests such as individuals and groups. MEININGERs philosiphy includes all guests. We are sorry that you did not enjoy staying with a group as much, but still we would be happy to welcome you again! Yours, MEININGER reception

66%

Great location lovely area but staff were quiet unhelpful and rude.such a pity because loved everything else about our stay

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear N., Thank you for choosing MEININGER and your open feedback. We are very sorry that our staff were not as polite and helpful as they are supposed to be. We will talk to all of them to increase our service and kindness. Nobody should feel unwelcome or even bad treated! Hopefully that won´t happen again. Yours, MEININGER reception



View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback