X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz Reviews

Schönhauser Allee 19, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
767 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Really nice neighborhood! The 6 bed dorm were I stayed was too small. Clothes washing out of order put me into troubles. It is a way too big hostel for the ones who travel alone and to discovery the city in a more intimate way and make friends.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello S., Thank you for your review. We are sorry for you that you did not enjoy your stay as much as it is supposed to be. Sometimes it happends that facilities break like our dryer. Our staff will help you out with further information such as washing stores as well as meeting other people. Next time do not hesitate to ask at the reception. Hope to welcome you again! Yours, MEININGER reception

94%

Wi Fi is not very stable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello A., Thanks for writing us. Yes it is sadly true that our WiFi connection is lower the more people use it. Beside our low internet we still hope that you have had a nice time staying with us. Yours, MEININGER team

91%

Great place, right on the U-Bahn and 5 min walk to Alexanderplatz. Would highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear T., Thank you very much for your friendly words. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was satisfactory. Happy guests are our aim and we try as much as possible tio reach it! So hope to welcome you again! Yours, MEININGER reception

97%

24 hour coffee bar & reception -- awesome! Across the street from the U-Bahn. Plus they give you a full set of sheets -- fitted mattress sheet, pillowcase, and duvet cover. Highly recommended.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear A., Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy to know that you have had a great time staying with us! So we hope to welcome you sometime soon as our guest again! Kind regards, MEININGER reception

94%

Location is perfect, you can reach the subway in front of the hostel. Everything was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merhaber B., Thank you very much for your friendly words! We are pleased to know that everything was just fine! Satisfied guests are our aim! So see you again and have a nice day! Yours MEININGER reception

71%

This hostel is in a pretty good location, close to the underground station and supermarkets, etc. The rooms, bathrooms and hostel in general are clean and modern, but it does lack a bit of atmosphere and has a bit of a school camp hotel kind of feel. The beds are really comfortable and spacious. It would have been nice to have the lockers in the rooms instead of 6 floors downstairs and the staff were a bit rude during busy times. A bit expensive, but that's Berlin.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear C., Thank you for your open words and that you took your time for sending us your review. we are happy to read that the general facility was fine with you. MEININGER wants to offer all kind of travelers a room or bed. So our guests are groups as well as indies. Your dorm was a 4 bedroom. Lockers are in our 6 bedrooms. But lockers were available. We want to apologize for rude behaviour, even if it was probalby due to stress. Hope to welcome you again! Yours MEININGER

77%

Location is great if you want to easily get in to the centre without being right in the middle of things. We found the kitchen to be poorly stocked with only one plate and few bowls, cups etc, needing to eat out of a saucepan on occasion. All very clean though.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi MEININGER guest! Thanks for your feedback! Great to know, that you did like it staying with us! That is a good stay and a compliment for us. Anything you can ask our reception and they will help or assist you. So, next time do not hesitat to contact us! Yours MEININGER reception

94%

Great location if your interested in galleries, cafes and second hand shopping. In a really cool neighborhoods. Not much to complain about except maybe the kitchen need more plates

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Berlin guest, Thank you for taking your time to send us your comment. Even better that you have had a good stay with us. For the next time you can always ask our reception for anything that you might miss or like to know. Usually we can help you out. So hope to welcome you again! Have a nice day and till next time! Yours MEININGER

83%

This is more of a hotel than a hostel really, a lot of rooms and not very cozy. That being said it is very clean, safe, in a good location and great value for money. Since Berlin has great U- and S-bahn and this place is just next to a station you can easily go anywhere in the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear C., Thanks for your review. Yes, we are a hotel as well as a hostel. We are open for any kind of guests and that is why we offer sort of everything a bit! We want indi travelors being as happy as the groups are and we hope that our service provides enough for everyone! Our central location and our friendly staff is always helpful! Hope to see you again! Your MEININGER Prenzlauer Berg

60%

Internet is not the best bit could be because of the influx of German kids on end of year holiday.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear C., Thanks for your review. It is true, when too many people use the internet at once it occurs that the access is low. Sorry for that, even though we know about this we can not solve this problem propper. Still, we hope that you have had a good time in Berlin. Hope to see you again! MEININGER reception

100%

Everything clean. Very modern. Had a sna TV on the wall in the room which was nice. Free walking tour picks you up from lobby. Nice kitchen/hang out area. Walking distance to main attractions. Wifi worked great in room. Lockers (as long as you provide your own lock.. Not sure if you can rent one as I had my own). Free towels given. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey A., Thank you so much for your nice feedback. We are happy to know that you have had a great time at MEININGER! Satisfied guest are our aim, so great that you are so happy with us! Yes we do rent lockers and locks at the reception! Do not hesitate to aks! We are looking forward having you as our guest again! See you next time! Your MEININGER hotel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

80%

Stayed in a 6-bed dorm in a group of three. Facilities were clean and well-run. Location wasn't excellent, but still only 10-15 minute walk from Alexanderplatz. Definitely would recommend renting bikes for at least one day; very efficient way to get around the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi N., Thanks for your review! Your open words are quiet right. We are close to Alexanderplatz and our neighborhood offers lots of bars, restaurants and places to hang out. Renting a bike is a very good hint, because Berlin is a bike city and it is the fastest and best way to get around here! We offer that service too! So, hope to see you again and all the best for you. Your MEININGER reception

71%

All WiFi worked perfectly but no party here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello C., Thank you for your feedback. Cool, that the wifi worked as it is supposed to do. Party in the hous is not possible, but if you would have asked our staff at the reception they could have told you about the Berlins night life, all kinds of parties etc. Next time do not hestiate to contact us! Hope to welcome you again! Yours MEININGER reception

69%

Nice, part hotel, large, not so much a place to meet people as a place to sleep. Good location, right next to a metro stop. Breakfast is good but a bit pricey. did not like the basement kitchen but the bed was very comfortable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello M., Thanks for your review. We are glad to know, that you did like your stay with us so far. We offer as a low budget hotel all major requested facilities, but of course some are not as fancy as in other houses you could stay. All together it seemed like as you have had a good time staying with us and so we hope to welcome you again! Looking forward and have a nice day! Yours MEININGER reception

91%

The cleaning staff are so nice! The entire staff was helpful and accomodating for this hostel that felt more like a hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear M., Thank you so much for your friendly words. It sounds like, if everything was just fine for you and added to that our staffs kindness was convincing too. We are very glad to read all that and are thankfull, that you left us such open words! Hope to see you again and have a nice day! Your MEININGER team

91%

In a nice area 2 stops from Alexanderplatz. This was my first time to Berlin and I got around really well. Facilities were great. The only thing I'd harp on about would be that I think there were 2 too many beds in the room for the private bathroom. It just ended up a mess.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello L., Thank you so much for you friendly words and feedback. It means a lot to us that our guests feel welcome and have a good time at MEININGER. Yes, we appreciate our central location as well! Even though some of the rooms might seem too small, we still hope, that you enjoyed staying with us. Hope to welcome you again! Have a nice day, MEININGER reception

94%

There is nice. Things were good except some people were untidy n not picking up their clothes. Otherwise everything is good there with the facility and staff there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Berlin explorer! Thank you so much for you friendly words and feedback. It means a lot to us that our guests feel welcome and have a good time at MEININGER. Even though we are not able to arrange everything it is good to know, that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you again! Have a nice day, MEININGER reception

91%

I had a very nice stay there. highlights : very well located, easy to access, nice clean bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Berlin visitor, Thank you very much, that you have taken your time for a respond and feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was alright. Hope to welcome you again!

89%

In general we are very satisfied. At our arrival the guest kitchen was not cleaned and not fully equipped. But at our approach at the reception, everything was fixed. We appreciated the flexibility towards our big group and was happy that we could use the morning breakfast room for the evening dinner. Regards Henrik Worm

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Mr W., Thank you for your open words. We are pleased to know, that even if not everything was fully prepared at your arrival, that our staff could fix it immedately. Only with our open minded team that works fast and friendly we are able to manage such situations. We hope to welcome you as our guest again! Yours MEININGER

63%

Overall the hostel was good to stay for a few days if you just want a bed to sleep in. The guest kitchen was very average though and there was no real common area besides the restaurant. Room's were clean and tidy and there was enough space. slightly irritating though that everytime the girl above me moved the whole bed would squeak and wake everyone so felt bad getting up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your review! Due to the fact that we are a hotel for any kind of travelers our offer and service varies. Our guest kitchen is small, but there is a chance for you to cook. Our open space are the lobby and dining room, where you are invited to hang out as long as and with whom you like. Staying in a dorm always connects you with others and their behaviour, schedules etc. a single room offers even more comfort! We hope to see you as our guest again! Your MEININGER Tea

« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback