X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Berlin Central Station Reviews

Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2354 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The location of the hostel was very convenient and it was clean. The staff was friendly and the hostel was definitely in a safe area. Not a lot of amenities were included, such as free breakfast or a towel, but the location was definitely worth the price.


80%

Clean and comfortable right next to station and 10 mins to Brandenburg gate. Guest kitchen and laundry is rather tiny, more a token one rather than that you can really use. My room floor was dusty.


69%

Tres bonne location, juste en face la gare centrale. Chambre peu cher, agréable et propre, cependant tout le reste de paye: 5€ pour une machine.. Personnel non accueillant, aucun sourire. Sécurité, rien a dire. C'est une auberge hotel vraiment grande qui accueille beaucoup de classe/groupe scolaire.


71%

Stayed in a private room initially which was divert nice for a change. Definitely recommend a private room if you ever feel like you need some space, great sized room and ensuite. I then stayed in a 4 bed mixed room which was the same size if not smaller than previous room I stayed in. Shared rooms would be great for a group friends rather than complete strangers as it's very snug. Staff and facilities were fine, nothing extraordinary but what you would expect at such a place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for taking time to give us that nice review. We feel happy to hear you liked our rooms and facilities and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm regards Your MEININGER team

80%

What you would expect from a Meininger. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, bathrooms were good. Ideally located by the station and you can rent bikes at €12 for 24hours to explore Berlin. No lockers in the rooms and the rooms were fairly small which was a problem. If you are planning a short stay in Berlin to explore some of the notable sites in the city, this hostel is ideal. It's expensive for what it is but the city itself isn't a cheap place to be.


100%

The easiest place ti reach all attractions!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, to be central is very important for such a big cities like berlin, we are proud that you liked the central location and we really hope to get a visit from you soon in the near future :) All the best to you Your MEININGER Team

77%

Not a bad place, just a hotel though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We hope to get a visit from you in the future :) Best regards Your MEININGER Team

43%

The rooms had no air conditioning so they were like a sweatbox if the window was left closed. But opening the window means not sleeping because all you hear are the trains and streetsweepers going around all night. If you managed to fall asleep then you would wake up in the morning with horrible back pain from the terrible mattresses. The rooms were not well cleaned as there was garbage in the room when I checked in. Staff was not helpful or courteous in the least bit. That's just the beginning

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to rate us. Unfortunately we have no air conditioner but we never advised it before, we just have fan coil which can refresh and circulate the air in the room. We feel sorry that you didn't feel comfortable with this situation and hope to get a second chance to see that we can improve ourselves. Best wishes Your MEININGER Team

60%

Tiny collective rooms with a direct view on the train station main entrance. You'll have to bear noises all night long. Rooms get really hot as soon as everyone is in. The positive thing is that there's a bathroom in the room so you only have to share it with 4 persons and it stays pretty clean. Staff is not very helpful or friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your great review we are happy to hear you liked our central location and the view from the room. We hope to welcome you back and wish you all the best. Your MEININGER Team

74%

We had a private double-room at this hostel. The stay was okay, and the location is good. Only problem we had, was that the staff got something mixed up and gave a new customer a card to our room. He came in when we were there, which was no pleasant surprise for either of us. We told the staff, and got it sorted out, but I'm disappointed no compensation were offered for this rather serious mistake of letting strangers into our room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We fully understand your problem but we all are human and mistakes can happen, we feel sorry for your experience and we really want apologize for that. We hope to get a second chance and get a visit from you in the near future All the best to you Your MEININGER Team

71%

Overall I found it to be a decent place but it was too expensive for what you got. I was travelling solo and had a single room. The single room was quite small and ALL single rooms are on the side of the Hbf so there are the sounds of the trains and announcements nearly all night slept through that quite fine but what the REAL problem was the laundry delivery right beneath my window (1st floor) from 4:20am- 4:50am and they make quite the racket!!!!!

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for taking time to give us a feedback. To be central located is a big point when we choosing a location for a Hotel, unfortunately we can´t regulate the noise from the trains but we offer soundproof windows in our rooms to have a comfortable stay in a central location. We hope you understand our situation and we hope you a enjoyed your stay in berlin Best regards Your MEININGER team

83%

We booked a private 4 bedroom, and it was very cramped, but other than that, all the facilities were great and the location is Excellent


91%

very clean, good staff,cool other guests

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Jordan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are happy that you share your good experience with others and looking forward to welcome you back :) All the best to you Your MEININGER Team

94%

Amazing location right beside the central train station and about a 10-15 minute walk from the Reichstag Building and Brandenburg Gate. There are pull out storage units under each bed with a good amount of storage space - be sure to bring a lock! The WiFi was very speedy and reliable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your honest and nice feedback We happy to hear you liked our central location. You are always welcome in one of the MEININGER Hotels in Europe vibrant cities. Best regards Your MEININGER Team

97%

Best hostel we went to whilst Interrailing, its the building opposite the train station, clean and new, great atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for sharing your nice review. We looking forward to see you in the near future :) Best wishes Your MEININGER Team

86%

Very easy to find with great location next to the hauptbahnhof. Nice and clean, very good!

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your nice and honest feedback :) We really want to get a visit from you in the near future. All the best to you Your MEININGER Team

100%

Best staff ever. dont stay anywherenelse you will find everything. And again BEST STAFF EVER.


77%

the location is perfect, only walking 5 min to the central station. the staff are little bit cold comparing to other cities in germany.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience with others. To be kind is very important and we feel sorry that it was not so during your stay. We have to improve ourselves to make it more comfortable for you. We hope to welcome you back, not only because the the central location :) Best wishes Your MEININGER Team

97%

GREAT location near Berlin Main Station Hbf VERY friendly staff SHOULD include complimentary breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your very nice review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards Your MEININGER Team

54%

More of hotel with dorm style rooms than an actual hostel. Seemed to cater towards young (15-16yo) student field trip groups. The staff weren't very helpful regarding city attractions and didn't seem too happy to have to answer questions. If you're traveling alone this is definitely NOT the place to stay. No sense of traveller/backpacker community. It's saving grace is a comfortable bed and it's proximity to the main train station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking time to rate us. We welcome people from all over the world, which can also includes school groups. That's the reason how our concept works. We feel very sorry that you didn't feel comfortable with it. To be helpful is our Job, so I fully understand that is not acceptable for you. Your feedback give us the chance to improve ourselves and make it better in the future. All the best to you Your MEININGER Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback