X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Berlin Central Station Reviews

Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2206 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Stayed in a 4 person dorm. A little bit small for a 4 person dorm but no complaints, the rooms were spotless and the beds were comfy. Only setback is that it feels more like a hotel than a hostel. Great location too just outside the main station. Highly recommend.


83%

Beers in the fridge were stolen at the common kitchen even after my friend wrote down her name on those, and there was no observing cameras. My stuffs disappeared while there was supposed to be no one in the room. I could not find out who took out them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that your beer was stolen from the fridge. But we have to say that putting food or beverage into our common kitchen is always on your own risk, we assume no responsibility. It's the same with our shared bedrooms. We offer lockers and locks to store your stuff savely. You can ask for it at reception. However we hope you enjoyed your stay in Berlin. Kind regards Your MEININGER Team

94%

Fantastic hostel, very hard to find anything wrong with it at all. Great location, easy walk to most of the important sites and close to Hauptbahnhof makes transport easy.


60%

DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU ARE A SOLO TRAVELER. This hostel is really more like a hotel with bunk beds. Very clean and located right by the Berlin Central station. The breakfast was also cheap and delicious. Unfortunately, the atmosphere is not very good. There are a lot of families and pre-teens staying here. As a solo traveller it was difficult to meet people. Not the kind of fun and cool environment you would expect from a hostel in Berlin!


89%

The location is great. It is right next to the main train station and almost everything worth seeing in Berlin is within easy biking or walking distance. The facility is clean and well maintained. There is a very nice bar as well on the property. The only thing that I could even think of complaining about is the staff. It is not that they were terrible, it is just that they were not overly friendly or welcoming. The staff would help you with whatever you needed though.


100%

The location is perfect, and it's quiet in the area, I had a great stay, will definitely come again.


100%

it is not convenient that if I want to get confirmation of hotel for visa, i must pay for full money for my room. I think Ibis do it well.


74%

There is only 1 washing machine and 1 dryer, latter takes more than 3 hrs to dry my clothes while washing takes only 1 hr. there was a group that was waiting for my clothes to dry and in the end they gave up and have to collect their wet clothes and dry it the next day. I'm sure that was unpleasant.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much to taking the time to rate us. That is the only way to improve ourselves. we feel sorry about your unfortunate event. Basically the washing machine is not used in in this frequency. we hope to get a second chance and you visit us in one of our MEININGER Hotels in Europe vibrant cities. best regards Your MEININGER team

63%

We did spend 3 nights in this hostel. The location is the only awesome thing about the hostel: just in front of the main train station (good if u have to catch early trains). the room was very small for 4 people. Breakfast was ok. The hostel was always so croudy and was not so easy to sleep before midnight. The staff was extremely rude and unhelpful! (Kindness is a must when driving a hostel). Wouldn't recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear you like the location and feel very sorry about our rude staff member. Usually all our employees are friendly and helpfull within all guest matters. Maybe you will give us a second chance and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our house. Kind regards Your MEININGER Team

83%

there are no lockers in the room. Others are good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. You can rent a deposit-box free of charge at the reception. We hope to see you soon in one of our MEININGER Hotels :) Warm regards Your MEININGER Team

63%

I've stayed at other Meininger establishments in different cities and this is not one of the better ones. Most of my linen was missing upon arrival, and the staff seemed very indifferent. Not bad if you just need a roof over your head, but not for the price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your hotel experiences with us. We are happy to hear you liked the MEININGER Concept. Our sincere apologies, that the linen was not provided in the room for you. We look forward to welcome you again some day in one of our hotels in Europe. All the best Your MEININGER Team

74%

Located right next to main train station which is great. Kitchen is basic but good. Avoid this hostel unless you don't mind having school kids around all the time. Hostel would be better without all the students. Our room was extremely hot and we had to sleep with the window open which was quite noisy. Facilities are good, room was small but clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your hotel experiences with us. In our MEININGER hotels, our concept is to welcome people from all ages and backgrounds, which can also include school groups. I´m sorry to hear that you didn´t feel comfortable with us, we try our best to make every guest feel at home as much as we can. We hope to get a second chance and you visit us in one of our hotels in europe vibran cities. Your M. Team

83%

Great stay for backpackers and etc...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your honest feedback. You are always welcome to our Meininger Hotels and we hope to see you soon :) Best regards Your MEININGER Team

86%

Good one especially for those go to Berlin for the first time. Right next to HBF so don't worry about the early train. Can easily go to anyplace in Berlin (the S and U, bus are awesome!) generally is good except that the room doesn't provide lock. score:8.25/10


100%

i am honest and berlin is so best city and love it.. as well i really like to berlin the hostel was good sleep and comfy too.. and nice meet new friends around at the hostel :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. :) Best wishes Your MEININGER Team

89%

It will be great to stay if you have an early train next morning. The environment is so far okay and nothing special.


80%

Me and my bf shared a 4 bed room and was a good stay. The breakfast is really good and the staff is helpful. The hostel looks like a hotel than a hostel, if you are intending to make friends easily it's better to look for a smaller hostel. Laundry at the hostel it`s not a good idea once they have only one washing machine and one dryer for the whole hotel/hostel (about 9 floors of apartments).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much for your honest review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Take care and best wishes. Your MEININGER Team

94%

Perfect location. I was able to walk almost anywhere I wanted to go to, or hop on the U/S-Bahn right at the train station. I stayed in one of the 4 bed girls rooms. Even for a 4 bed room, it was on the small side (at least in my experience), but it got the job done. This hostel seems to get lots of families, and groups of students. This isn't a downside, but it made it seem more like a hotel, then a hostel. If you are looking for a "traditional" hostel, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We're glad that you could enjoy your stay with us and we're looking forward to welcome you again at MEININGER, maybe in another city... Best regards Your MEININGER-Team

86%

Staff is nice most of the time. But there was a rude guy in the front desk. Otherwise, everything went awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you could enjoy your trip and the time you stayed with us in Berlin. If you come back, even the "rude guy" will be happy to see you again. Best regards Your MEININGER-Team

60%

Was in a 4 bed dorm. Incredibly small, basically no room to move around. Beds were uncomfortable and the room was very dated - nothing like the images I'd seen prior to booking. Bathroom, although small, was okay. Wifi was atrocious throughout the building, dropping out far too often and requiring the typically complex Meininger method of reconnecting with a series of codes. Positives were it's kitchen and location close to the train station but beyond that I can't think of much more.


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback