X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Berlin Central Station Reviews

Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2416 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

I thought this hostel lacks style, and also it lacks comfort..i didnt enjoy it as a single traveller..

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sad to hear you felt not comfortable with us and really apoligize what ever happened. Even more we hope you enjoeyed Berlin and maybe you will give us a second chance for enjoying also our Hotel. All the best to you Your MEININGER team

80%

Very close to the train station, convenient to get around everywhere. Not the best place if you're looking to meet other young people... But clean and safe and overall had a good experience here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for spending time to give us a feedback about your stay here in berlin. we are happy you liked the location which is next by the central station and give you the possibility to reach everything in a short time. Maybe you visit us in a peek time of schoolgroups but we also welcome people from everywhere no matter which backround. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and wish you all the best Your MEININGER team

94%

Fantastic location as it is right next to the station (Berlin HBF) and sights such as the Brandenburg Gate, the Reichstag building and the Holocaust memorial building. My friend and I (18 and 19 years old) were interrailing and this hostel was great value for money. Excellent wifi (which is so helpful), clean rooms and bathrooms, but you need to bring your own padlocks for the lockers if you're staying in a dorm room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your great and honest feedback and top rate. You are always welcome and we can´t wait for it. Best wishes Your MEININGER team

94%

Me and my boyfriend have been very welcome, the hotel is extraordinary and extremely cleaned made himself available for any problem that we had during the stay

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are so happy you had a good trip and stay during berlin. Your Top rate give us the feeling for doing everthing the right way. We looking forward to see you soon. Best regards Your MEININGER team

63%

I was given a single room as the female dorm was fully booked, and I was so glad that I extended an extra 2 nights. I do like the cleanliness and location of this hostel-hotel, but I hope the staff could be friendlier. There were times they just felt intimidating especially to non-German-speaking guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are so happy you liked our location and upgrade service and share your experience with others. Even more we are sad you didn´t felt comfortable with our staff. To be polite and friendly should be standard in each hotel over the world and we really want to apologize for that. We hope you had a good trip anyway and maybe you will give us a second chance to see we can improve ourselves in the future. Best regards Your MEININGER team

83%

This is more of a hotel than a hostel. So picture a small hotel room packed with beds. I stayed in a 4 bed room. There was not enough space and I felt cramped. The location is good. It was right across the street from Berlin's HBF main station so that was added convenience. It was super HOT. I don't particular care for this chain of hotels but it works if you have a short stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your time to give us a feedback. We are so sorry that you didn´t felt cmfortable with us. We know this summer was abnormal hot but its just for a couple of days and give us not enough reason for install an AC. Our rooms are small but we adviced the size in all our information we have. However, we hope you enjoyed your trip during the city. Best wishes Your MEININGER Team

86%

Good hotel really close to the berlin main station

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are more than happy to see you liked us and give us a such a top rate for your stay. Your are alway welcome and looking forward to see you soon. Warm regards Your MEININGER team

74%

Noisy!!!!!! Could not get a full nights sleep because of trains coming in brakes squealing etc way too close. We had to keep window open because of the heat. Room clean and had large modern bathroom. This is not a traditional youth hostel but like a budget hotel .. Lots of families etc . 10 min walk to Brandenburg gate which was good. Staff at front desk hit and miss but it was always very busy. Prob would not stay again because of noise

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking time for sharing your experience with us. We feel sorry to hear you had trouble with the noise from the central station. We have soundproof windows to keep the noise down for a comfortable stay during the nighttimes. unfortunately this summer was very hot and the only option to handle it is to open the window. We feel with you and want to apoligze for the trouble you had. We hope you enjoyed the rest and wish all the best to you Your M team

97%

The location is great and it is a little bit more like a hotel than a hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your good rate and honest feedback you gave us. We can´t wait to see you in the near future in one of our Meininger hotels in whole Europe. All the best to you Your MEININGER team

80%

Matise (may have his name wrong) worked behind the bar, he was FANTASTIC! Introducing people who travelled alone encouraging new friendships. So convenient if travelling by train as it is right there. Close enough to walk to main attractions. Only let down was how hot it has been the fan didn't work in our room and having the window open so really loud. Great roof top area would happily stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are so proud and happy to hear you liked our bartender. We definetly will inform him about your honest feedback. This summer was too hot and we have no many option to solve this problem, just waiting for less temperatures. We hope you enjoyed your stay anway and really hope to get a visit from you again. Best regards Your MEININGER Team

66%

First of all when we arrived it was 35 degrees + only to be told that there was no air con in our room. We booked a three bed room and it was literally the size of a box. It was clearly a double room with a single bed forced inside. This with the lack of air con made for a very uncomfortable stay as there was very little room to do anything. Had to leave window open which was dangerous + also no luggage room for when we checked out so had to stay with our cases all day which ruined our plans.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry but unfortunately there was a missunderstanding. We never adviced that we have an AC in our Hotel thats not a secret. We also let you detailed know in all our information tools how big our rooms are and at least for sure we have two luggage rooms free of charge. However, we hope you enjoyed your stay and had a good time in berlin. All the best to you Your MEININGER Team

77%

The location is great, and the people in the hostel are cool. I stayed in a four person dorm with no A/C and the window wouldn't open. Outside it would have been 35 Degrees but inside could have been worse. It was ridiculously hot!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are happy you liked our location and share your experience with others. Even more sad that you didn´t feel comfortable with us. This summer was abnormal hot and we can understand your displeasure but we never adviced that we have an AC in our rooms. We can open the windows but just in case you sign that you will take the responsibilities. We hope for understanding. We wish you had good stay in Berlin and maybe you visit us again in the future Your MEININGER Team

69%

Washing machine was broken, very long wait at the bar no staff on

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for spending time for a feedback. we are sorry for having such a bad experience during your stay. We always try to make the stay comfortable as much as possible. Even more we are sad that you didn´t expired that with us. We hope you had agood trip anyway and maybe you will give us a second chance in the future and visit us again. Best to you Your MEININGER team

86%

A pleasant hostel with good clean rooms and a reasonable, if small, kitchen. Breakfast pricey but location convenient for station and within walking distance of most sights. No air conditioning in very hot weather, but I guess it's not often as hot as it was when we visited!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your nice and honest feedback. We are so happy for understanding that a city like berlin is with, just a couple of days summer, not hot enough for giving a reason to install an AC. We absolutely know it was abnormal hot and can feel with our guests. We really hope you had a great time in Berlin and looking forward to welcome you back :) Your MEININGER Team

74%

A good hostel in an excellent location unfortunately let down by some missing facilities, most notably the lack of lockers to securely store valuables. The lockers that there are were small and very expensive to use, the only alternatives being to leave bags in shared dorms or an open luggage room. In addition the staff were unhelpful at best and downright rude at worst. I would not recommend for anyone staying in Berlin; find a smaller hostel with better facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are sad to hear you was not satisfied with our facilities. For the next time we recommend to rent a locker at the reception for free of charge (just 10,00 euro deposit). We are also very sorry for our staff, thats definitely no standard and we have to talk to our team. Even more we hope you had a good trip and maybe you will give us a second chance for a vistit. Best to you Your MEININGER Team

83%

The guest kitchen was often used as a luggage room & locked from mid-morning until very late. This was very inconvenient for those wanting to use it. Other than that it was a comfortable stay.


63%

Great location and solid wifi. I stayed in a 4 person dorm with my girlfriend. Reading a few reviews I saw comments on how small the rooms were and how hot it was in the rooms. I tend to think most people who review are a little precious but the size of rooms and lack of air con/fan's should not be understated. The heat was basically unbearable. It didn't matter what time of day it was, outside was always cooler than inside. You can't even spread your bags across the floor its that small


60%

Our stay was in a cramped dorm room with two bunk beds. There was no proper AC during the 90 degree F weather we experienced. Some of the staff was not very attentive, almost lackadaisical, and knowledgeable. For the cost, I think I could have gone to a better hotel.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I only stayed here for one night, it is super close to the train station, but this is hardly the most interesting part of Berlin. The reichstag and Brandenburg gate are a pleasant walk away, although it isn't close to the good nightlife hotspots. Like all other meiningers, it is a hotel first and hostel second, so everything is very well appointed, but you do run the risk of not really having a great atmosphere, which is something to bear in mind if you're flying solo


71%

The hostel has luggage storage and a kitchen which were nice. Everything was clean, and it is located right next to the train station. Our only problem was that the fire alarm went off at 3 am and we all had to evacuate, only to be told that it was a 'mechanical error'. Would have liked some sort of apology at checkout or something but nothing happened.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are very happy that you liked our location and want to thank you for your feedback. Security has top priority in all our Hotels in whole Europe, also the fact that we are so central located, next to the central station, is the reason for our very sensitive firealarm system. We are so sorry that you expired an alarm 3 am in the morning but we just want to let you know, its just four your own security. Your MEININGERs

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback