X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Berlin Central Station Reviews

Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2237 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

20%

The worst hotel in Europe....


83%

everything was good, staff was polite and friendly. The rooms were clean and nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Best regards Your MININGER Team

83%

Looks more like a hotel, a lot of young groups, great location, breakfast expensive, room and toillet are small but ok.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking time to rate us. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at MEININGER Hotels, in Europe’s vibrant cities :) Your MEININGER team

74%

Nice regular hostel to spend the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your good and honest feedback. You are always welcome at MEININGER Hotels :) See you in Vienna, Amsterdam or Munich. Take care and best wishes, your MEININGER Team

94%

This hostel looks more like a hotel than a hostel, the facilities are very good and it's located literally right beside the central station. We only shared the room with 3 other people and both the bedroom and the bathroom were very clean and they even had tv and hair dryer. The only thing bar is that it doesn't have lockers, so you can't leave your valuables there. The atmosphere is not as good because there are a lot of teenagers and families, so it's not easy to meet other travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your hotel experiences with us. We are happy to hear you liked the location and our hotel facilities. In our MEININGER hotels, our concept is to welcome people from all ages and backgrounds, which can also include school groups. I´m sorry to hear that you didn´t feel comfortable with us, we try our best to make every guest feel at home as much as we can. We hope to get a second chance and you visit us. Your M. team

77%

Location is great - right at the Central station. Rooms were clean and simple - you get what you pay for. Staff at reception was a bit slow and looked like they are not enjoying their work. There was lot of kids/teenagers when I was there so it was very loud at the lobby all the time and at the breakfast time too.


77%

More like a hotel than a hostel, not very easy to meet other travelers, but very clean. Very frustrating that they didn't have sockets by top bunks and pillows were super uncomfortable. If you're catching a train, stay here. If not, try somewhere else.


91%

Literally right as you walk out of Central Station so it was super convenient to stay the night here. If you are trying to be a good tourist and see all the sites, then stay here! I rented a bike for 24 hours only costing 12 euro, and I ended up riding for 6 hours. I saw everything by the 2nd hour anyways but I ended up going into the park that's right next to the hostel, also there's like a hundred really cool statues and sculptures throughout. Wouldn't recommend if your traveling alone to big!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank your for taking the time to rate us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you point out our very central location :) We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards your MEININGER Team

80%

Hostel was pretty good. Great location. Right by the train station so you can get around anywhere you want In the city. Staff were not the most helpful but not awful. Breakfast was pretty good but I thought it was kind of pricey. Also our room was on the 7th floor and the outside bar is on the 9th so we had a lot of trouble falling asleep due to the noise. The only reason I'd go back is because of the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking time to rate us. we are very happy that you like our location and we are sad about to hear about your unfortunate event and apologize for our staff-members. We will talk to our team about it internally. We hope to get a second chance from you to visit us again in the future. warm regards Your MEININGER Team

80%

It was really good hostel , BUT I booked a room in FEMALE dorm , and in the first night , a guy came and left in the next morning , next day another guy came too!!!!

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback. to better understand your request, please send us an E-mail to: welcome@meininger-hotels.com to find the reason. We need more informations for respond. However, we hope that you enjoy the time in berlin and visit us again in one of our MEININGER Hotels in Europe. Best regards Your MEININGER Team

80%

The hostel/hotel offers a great atmosphere with a nice bar and breakfast area. The staff are professional and the room was clean and functional. The location was ideal for me as I was travelling by train (Berlin HBF is 1 minute walk away) It was a 15 minute walk to the Brandenburg Gate and if you fancy a night out you can jump on the train and within a couple of stops you will find many bars and restaurants.


94%

Stayed in a 4 person dorm. A little bit small for a 4 person dorm but no complaints, the rooms were spotless and the beds were comfy. Only setback is that it feels more like a hotel than a hostel. Great location too just outside the main station. Highly recommend.


83%

Beers in the fridge were stolen at the common kitchen even after my friend wrote down her name on those, and there was no observing cameras. My stuffs disappeared while there was supposed to be no one in the room. I could not find out who took out them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that your beer was stolen from the fridge. But we have to say that putting food or beverage into our common kitchen is always on your own risk, we assume no responsibility. It's the same with our shared bedrooms. We offer lockers and locks to store your stuff savely. You can ask for it at reception. However we hope you enjoyed your stay in Berlin. Kind regards Your MEININGER Team

94%

Fantastic hostel, very hard to find anything wrong with it at all. Great location, easy walk to most of the important sites and close to Hauptbahnhof makes transport easy.


60%

DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU ARE A SOLO TRAVELER. This hostel is really more like a hotel with bunk beds. Very clean and located right by the Berlin Central station. The breakfast was also cheap and delicious. Unfortunately, the atmosphere is not very good. There are a lot of families and pre-teens staying here. As a solo traveller it was difficult to meet people. Not the kind of fun and cool environment you would expect from a hostel in Berlin!


89%

The location is great. It is right next to the main train station and almost everything worth seeing in Berlin is within easy biking or walking distance. The facility is clean and well maintained. There is a very nice bar as well on the property. The only thing that I could even think of complaining about is the staff. It is not that they were terrible, it is just that they were not overly friendly or welcoming. The staff would help you with whatever you needed though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your hotel experiences with us. We are happy to hear you liked the location and our hotel facilities. We are very sorry that you experienced our staff not welcoming enough. We take all guest feedback very serious and try to improve our staff and services constantly. Hopefully our staff can convince you the next time you stay here. All the best Your MEININGER Team

100%

The location is perfect, and it's quiet in the area, I had a great stay, will definitely come again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We are really glad that you had a great time at MEININGER. Satisfied guests are our aim, so great that you are really happy with us! We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you a nice day. All the best Your MEININGER Team

100%

it is not convenient that if I want to get confirmation of hotel for visa, i must pay for full money for my room. I think Ibis do it well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. When you book a room, there are always several booking conditions. We recommend you to read the terms carefully when you book online. A full prepayment is mostly connected with a special room rate or a special date or e.g. when you book last minute. If you book directly on our homepage or call our service center to book you have the option to make a 6pm booking where you don't have to prepay. Kind regards Your MEININGER Team

74%

There is only 1 washing machine and 1 dryer, latter takes more than 3 hrs to dry my clothes while washing takes only 1 hr. there was a group that was waiting for my clothes to dry and in the end they gave up and have to collect their wet clothes and dry it the next day. I'm sure that was unpleasant.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much to taking the time to rate us. That is the only way to improve ourselves. we feel sorry about your unfortunate event. Basically the washing machine is not used in in this frequency. we hope to get a second chance and you visit us in one of our MEININGER Hotels in Europe vibrant cities. best regards Your MEININGER team

63%

We did spend 3 nights in this hostel. The location is the only awesome thing about the hostel: just in front of the main train station (good if u have to catch early trains). the room was very small for 4 people. Breakfast was ok. The hostel was always so croudy and was not so easy to sleep before midnight. The staff was extremely rude and unhelpful! (Kindness is a must when driving a hostel). Wouldn't recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear you like the location and feel very sorry about our rude staff member. Usually all our employees are friendly and helpfull within all guest matters. Maybe you will give us a second chance and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our house. Kind regards Your MEININGER Team

« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback