X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Berlin Central Station Reviews

Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2011 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Good location next to the central station and very nice facilities with a bathroom in the dorm. But the temperature was extremely hot, get some air condition working!


54%

As we visited Berlin during the Summer - temperatures would soar to 35 degrees. There was no air conditioning which left us feeling extremely uncomfortable. The wifi was extremely poor as well. I visited the Meinnger in Vienna and absolutely loved it which spurred me to wanting to book with them again in Berlin but was extremely disappointed. The beds were small and it got extremely uncomfortable to sleep at night as it was so hot. The beds felt quite old as well.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I cannot rate security or facilities as I wasn't told anything about facilities on arrival and didn't witness any security. To submit this review I went with average.


89%

I was very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for rating us :) Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay ! Try out MEININGERs in Europes vibrant cities :) See you soon, best regards, your MEININGER Team

54%

Booked a 4 bed mixed dorm and they through me in a 2 bed mixed dorm which didn't sound bad at first. Then I get into my room and the "two beds" are combined to make one big bed with a couch on the side. Asked the guy at reception what the deal was with that and he said "oh looks like you'll have to sleep on the couch." Wouldn't recommend this place one bit.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks a lot for your feedback and help. The room which you got was a double room, where it is possible to move the beds, we completly understand it feels more comfortable to have his own bed in a mixed dorm. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again and assure you another time. Best wishes, your MEININGER Team

60%

Unfriendly staff. No wifi in dorm room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback! Please be sure technical work in already in process. Regarding our staff, we feel very sorry - this is not how it should be! We hope to assure you next time. Take care and best wishes, your MEININGER Team

91%

So close to the train station so really easy to find after a long train journey! A bit out of the centre but only a ten minute walk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for rating us :) Glad that you enjoyed your stay! Best wishes and see you soon, your MEININGER Team

63%

It is a hostel in a hotel structure. So you will find a lot of people in the hall, stairs... all spaces in the hostel. Because of this the staff needs to work hard and a lot. This will contribute to in the reception someone ask you "what is the problem?" than "May I help you?"... Maybe in the same situation I could do the same... On the other hand, the location is amazing. The room is really small, but clean. So if you need good location this is the place to stay in Berlin. But in other case..


60%

The hostel had such terrible wifi it was effectively useless. It was also inhabited by LOADS of school children who pestered one of my friends, and couldn't believe that we were actually 20 years old not 15. Several times as well we opened our door and there were groups of school children hanging around in the hallway sitting directly outside our door! My friend also received poor service at the bar being told by one member of staff that it was closed and then they went and served someone else.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, many thanks for your feedback, it helps us to keep improving our product. We apologise for inconvenience at the bar - usually it is 24/7 open as our reception desk. WE hope to assure you another time. Take care and best wishes, your MEININGER Team

80%

Excellent location, right next to Berlin's Hauptbahnhof, Perfect place if you need an affordable place to sleep. Only major criticism is that the dishes for the breakfast, that was paid extra, were unclean. It was hard to find a plate, mug, and silverware that was not covered in food remnants. Would recommend to stay here but avoid the breakfast.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for helping us with your feedback. Of course this is not our standard of quality, therefore we apologize for the inconvenience. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again und assure you with our all you can eat breakfast buffet :) Best regards, your MEININGER Team

80%

Everything was perfect, except that the toilet was a bit dirty even if we were just 4 People using it, and the Wifi doesn't work in the whole building.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for much for your advice. Pleasure be sure technical work is already in process. We would like to welcome you again at MEININGER Hotels :) Kind regards, your MEININGER Team

94%

Great location (close to shops, trains,tours,buses etc), excellent facilities in the hotel, clean, secure and fantastic value for money! Info was very close to hand and free wifi was an added bonus! Would definitely go back here again, highly recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, thanks a lot for rating us :) It would be a plaesure to welcome you again ! Best wishes, your MEININGER Team

49%

Dear sir As I spent 4 nights here, I don't like your hotel at all. There are a lot of noisy student who have no respect another peoples. Your staff have poor information, they are so busy all day long. Hope this can help to improve the next coming. Thank you Mimi, Thailand

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for rating us. It is to bad that you didn´t enjoy your stay. You are right at MEININGER you find people every age from all over the world. I feel sorry that we could not help you during your stay, THe guests well-being is our main aim. We hope we can assure you next time - feel free to contact us! All the best, best regards, your MEININGER Team

86%

Excellent location & friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you :) Glad to read that you feel well during your stay! See you next time at MEININGER - in Europes vibrant cities :) Best wishes, your MEININGER Team

100%

Interesting design, nice staff - to cut a long story short, excellent! If I visit Berlin again, surely will choose Meininger!

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much :) Really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward welcoming you again. Best wishes, your MEININGER Team

63%

Location is good to access Berlin Hauptbanhof. Some lady staff was not so friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for rating us. Feel sorry for my colleague - hope we can assure you next with exemplary staff. Best wishes, your MEININGER Team

94%

Great hostel, second time back. I was disappointed the roof top bar was in function while I was there, I am not sure why. The WiFi away from the main area was terrible, we where on 3rd floor and didn't seem to work properly at all but still I love this hostel overall, great location, rooms, value for money etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, many thanks for rating us :) The maintenaice work is runnig regarding the wifi connection, we hope we can assure you next time. Thank you for your help! Best wishes & kind regards, your MEININGER Team

80%

If you're looking for a mainstream hotel feel this is exactly that. It doesn't have the vibes of a hostel because it is to large. For us, there really wasn't too much association outside of the people you met in your room and some individuals here and there. Besides that I can't complain; perfect location right outside of central station, clean and bathroom for each room of 4 individuals, and a good guest kitchen.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for your honest feedback :) MEININGERs are always different, some of them are smaller, some offer a big game zone area, other start a "cook-together" :) Feel free to contact us, best wishes and hope we see you soon :) your MEININGER Team

91%

Except of the noise outside which really can be a problem in the summer, the hostel itself is great, my room was clean, fresh, very comfy. Location is excellent and it's very easy to find.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for rating us :) Let see us in more MEININGERs , what about Amsterdam, Bruessels or Vienna! Best wishes, your MEININGER Team

100%

Can't knock anything by the hostel but don't bother with the 'free walking tours'!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your´great feedback :) It´s to bad that you didn´t enjoy the free walking tour, wish we could help you during your stay. See you next time :) Best wishes, your MEININGER Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(78 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback