X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Berlin Central Station Reviews

Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2103 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

BED BUGS!!!!


74%

My cousin and I stayed in a 4 person dorm for 3 nights. Thoughts: -Small room, its hard to walk around. Our lockers weren't working -Location isn't very central, but the train station was across the street, which would take you anywhere -Staff was very nice and helpful to me, but I noticed they were rude to others. -AYCE breakfast for 5.90 Euro was OK, but I expected hot foods (bacon, eggs, etc.). We only got it once. -There were a lot of school groups. -Poor wifi connection in the room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for rating us, this always helps us to improve our service.Please note that we cater to all different kind of travellers which results in the typical 'MEININGER Guest Mix' and always try to satisfy everbody's needs. We are looking forward to see you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels. Best regards, your MEININGER Team

86%

Ultimately, this place China down to price. If you can stay cheap, for seventy euro, it's great. If it's a holiday, though, expect to pay up.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Staff was quite rude and Not very welcoming, rooms and bathroom were rather Dirty! Location was excellent though!


97%

It's right next to the main train station. That's hard to beat when you need to catch a train at 5 AM. It is also near the Reichstag and Brandenburg Gate. It is more like a hotel than a hostel but depending on your flat mates it can be social and fun. It was a clean place to sleep and that's what counts

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we appreciate your feedback - this always helps us to improve our service! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin and look forward to welcome you again at one of our MEININGER Hotels in Europe. Best regards Your MEININGER Team

83%

Great hostel close to the main trainstation. Was a bit crowded with schoolkids when we were there.


94%

Very good stay, can make international calls for one euro, close to the station and very helpful and friendly staff. However does attract a lot I school trip visits so can often be very busy when they're all together


86%

Definitely feels more like a hotel than a hostel. May have been just the time of the year, but there were loads of high school kids staying there for field trips.


89%

Great design to the hostel - typical for a MEININGER brand. The atmosphere was just okay, also typical, but you really cannot beat the location! Right next to Central Station!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for rating us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin and look forward to welcome you again at one of our MEININGER Hotels in Europe. Best regards Your MEININGER Team

74%

This is more of a hotel than a hostel but with some shared dorm rooms. The rooms were very nice and clean and it's right next to the train station but there wasn't much of an atmosphere.


71%

Its really next to the train station, rooms are small and the guy at the reception vinczi or sth like that, i was waiting his phone call to finish to be able to checkout and after that eventhough i was first on the queue he ignored me and helped the next guy-even the guy said that I came first- and he said it's OK, i didnt even had a chance to complain since i had a train to catch..


80%

The hotel is good, great location, comfy beds. The only thing I regret, regarding the cleanliness, was that just give us the keys to the room, a trash bin in the bathroom was still in full and there were dirty diapers. You can imagine the smell terrible. In the evening, however, the trash has been emptied.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The location of the hostel was absolutely perfect in terms of access to the train station. As we arrived in the early hours of the morning before our check in the following night the staff were happy to let us sit in the foyer and store our bags until a more reasonable hour.


77%

Thought we would like a bigger company as it would potentially be superior in it's facilities however this did not live up to our expectation. The wifi signal in the room was incredibly poor; the breakfast buffet was sufficient but no-one checked to confirm if we had paid or not which felt like a waste of money. I was also taken aback when I was given attitude by a member of staff after requesting a smaller bike to rent as I felt unsafe on the one they chose. Bigger is not always better.


97%

It was a nice stay and the location of the hostel is simply the best - just beside the main train station! Just a few of comments to make the stay even more enjoyable - to provide towel to the guest. Also, the pillow could have been more comfortable.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

the hostel is located in a good place (beside the Hauptbanhof) and is very clean.


94%

Location was perfect, staff very kind and breakfast was very good. Excellent value for money.


91%

Excellent hostel, felt more like a hotel. Close to many tourist points, but if you're staying more than 1-2 nights, you may want to venture further into E or W Berlin (depending on your night life preferences). Only complaints were that the laundry was broken, the rooftop "bar" was closed/nonexistent, and the wifi was debilitatingly slow. The best wifi is across the street at the train station Starbucks either early in the morning or late at night (when not crowded).


100%

Brilliant hostel in a brilliant city - everything you could want to see in Berlin is on the doorstep of the hostel and with the biggest train station in Europe across the road, anything is only a train ride away. Can't wait to go back to Berlin w/ Meininger!

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is very nice, clean and comfortable, but it feels more like a Hotel rather than a youth hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(99 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback