Hostelworld.com

MEININGER Berlin Central Station

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
MEININGER Berlin Central Station Located at Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9, , Berlin.
MEININGER Berlin Central Station
Germany
Berlin 10557 Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9
86% 2731
52.5240678 13.3682155
MEININGER Berlin Central Station
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
5.1

I booked a mixed dorm room for me + my husband. We arrived early, confirmed that we had our room, but could move in at 2 PM. Coming back at 10 PM we were told, we had now separate rooms, because my room was turned to female dorm and acc. to hostelworld policy it is not guaranteed that we stay together. The staff proposed to me with a cheesy smile to find a room in another hotel (there was football game and I am 6 m pregnant). 2 days later a couple arrived in my room and it was mixed dorm again!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we do our best to please our guests, but if people book dorms there is no garuantee, that the people may stay in the same room. The reason is that they book beds and not the room for themselves. We try our best to leave them in the same rooms, but sometimes if we are fully booked out, it isnt possible. We hope at least you enjoyed Berlin. Kind regards Meininger

21st May 2016
9.4

One of the best hostel experinces in Europe! When I come back to Berlin I most definatley will be staying with this hostel again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks a lot for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are so happy, that you had a wonderful stay at Meininger. So see you soon again. Kind regards Meininger

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
3.4

Right from the moment we stepped in it was full of disappointment except the location. The room that was shown in the picture has 2 neat double beds with a decent enough room area, but the one we entered was soo small that it hardly had enough space to fit in 2bumper beds. The room was stinking and the coil fan was not working. Even after several complains the ac/fan did not work at last the guy opened the window and asked us to manage. that was the worst experience ever in a private room

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we are sorry, that you hadnt a pleasant at Meininger. Hopefully you enjoyed Berlin. We are grateful for your critic and will forward your comment. Kind regards Meininger

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
6.3

Definitely more of a hotel than a hostel. Virtually no socializing and most of the guests were over 30 or families. The rooms were super hot and the beds sucked. I woke up drenched in sweat every morning. Would not recommend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we are so sorry, that you hadnt a pleasant stay at Meininger. We are grateful for your comment and hope at least, that you enjoyed Berlin. Kind regards Meininger

20th May 2016
7.1

Like a hotel. Organized and nice, but not necessarily in the hub of Berlin. Right by Berlin HBF, but in an industrialized area of Berlin. I would have rather had to walk for ten minutes out from the train station and stayed more inside Berlin. Key card access to the rooms- but the lockers under the bed don't lock, tried two different locks, but even when 'locked' all you had to do was turn he nob and the locker would still open. Luckily I stayed in a 4 bedroom mixed dorm & trusted dorm mates.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks a lot for sharing your experience with us. At the reception you may rent a safe for a deposit for 10 Euro, if you arent able to lock your valuable stuff in the rooms. Thanks a lot for rating us and we hope you enjoyed Berlin. Kind regards Meininger

19th May 2016
6.9

This hostel is right next to the central train station, however it feels like it is not at all central. It is a good 15 minute walk to the Brandenburg gate and 30+ to get into an interesting neighbourhood in the city. The staff were helpful but had very little patience unless you knew exactly what you wanted. This did not affect me, although I did see it when standing in line. The hostel is also a "renovated" hotel which threw me off. A 4 bed dorm is very tight so i would recommend larger.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
6.9

The hotel is located right next to the main train station in Berlin which is a plus. Their office staff is lacking though. It took over an hour to check in and it seemed every time I passed the front desk, someone was having trouble with their reservations. Decent price for a decent stay I guess.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th May 2016
9.4

So nice being so close to the hbf! Lots wishing walking and biking distance or can take the trains wherever! Clean and secure. Breakfast is ok. Wouldn't do it everyday though. Staff are helpful but cold.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks a lot for your feedback and we are happy, that you had a nearly perfect stay at Meininger. We will forward your critic and talk with our staffcrew about their mannor. We are grateful and hope you enjoyed Berlin. Kind regards Meininger

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th May 2016
9.4

This is by far the best hostel I've stayed in. The buffet breakfast has a good selection snd variety, location is great right next to Berlin's central train station. The 4 bed female dorm I stayed in looked brand-new and almost like a hotel (hand soap and body wash gel are provided). Each bed has its own individual power socket, which is I was grateful for, as not many hostels have this yet. My only negative was that some staff didn't understand English easily so I had to keep repeating myself

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks a lot for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are happy, that you had a wonderful stay at Meininger. Thanks a lot for your wonderful feedback. Kind regards Meininger

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
8.9

Location is good if you have the day travel tickets as it is literally next door to the Hauptbahnhof, otherwise the Brandenburg Gate, Tiergarten and Jewish Memorial are all still walking distance. Rooms were very surprisingly nice (Stopped in a 4 bed dorm, our dorm-mates were great!) with clean en-suite bathroom, comfortable beds and even a TV which was a nice addition. Staff were friendly and every other guest I spoke to was very nice too. The mobile phone charger at the bar saved my life too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we are so haooy, that you enjoyed your stay fully at Meininger. So hopefully you will book us again. Thanks a lot for your feedback. Kind regards Meininger

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.