X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Berlin Central Station Reviews

Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2120 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It was great having this right beside the train station. The best part was their walking tour! Mark our guide was amazing! A must do if you want to know the culture of Berlin! Overall a great place to stay.


94%

I like to stay here and once again I think meininger hotel has a great business overall, but there's one thing they need to improve in this location is the WiFi is so terribly hard to connect or use, other than that is fine I like it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks a lot for rating us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the WIFI we can assure you usually it is a stable connection but at peak times it tends to be a bit slower. All the best your MEININGER Team

97%

Stayed in a 4 person dorm 2 nights. Cheap if were to think as a hostel. And great bar downstairs, very helpful staff. Atmosphere good but affected by poor wifi in rooms, meaning people hang out in lobby by bar. Location super, shows EPL too. Its a Daycent spot


80%

Great location, very close to the main station. And a short walk from the Bundestag, Reichstag, Brandenburg Tor, Potsdamer Platz, etc. Loved it!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we appreciate your rating very much and thank you for pointing out our very central location :) All the best from Berlin your MEININGER Team

91%

The cleaner took or threw away my carrier bag of toiletries and changed my sheets the last day before I left. Up to that point the stay had been great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your rating and feedback! We apologize that your personal belongings got lost and assure you that this is not common. We would be happy to welcome you again at one of our MEININGER Hotels in the future. Best regards your M-Team

80%

Great location when you need to catch an early train or the early TXL bus to the airport. Literally across the street from the hauptbahnhof. Great facilities, very clean, towel provided. Wifi doesn't work in room so I had to hang out in the hallway outside my room for a bit to get some things done. There is no vibe though. Definitely a hotel with some dorm beds, but I knew this from my stay at Meininger in Brussels. Clean and convenient. That's what it's got going for it.


94%

very nice


94%

It is a nice place. Excellent location for whoever need to catch a train or arriving from the main station. Also nearby to some points of interest. Clean and efficient, perfect for my needs this time, would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much for taking the time to rate us! We are happy to hear that you had a good time in Berlin and look forward to welcome you again :) Best regards your MEININGER-Team

86%

The location is a few seconds (!) walk from the Hauptbahnhof (main train station), so that's really convenient! A short walk from the Bundestag, Reichstag, Brandenburg Tor, Potsdamer Platz, etc. The bar doesn't serve Berliner Weisse, but does serve a lot of other drinks and some interesting cocktails. If you want to extend your stay, do it via hostelworld, as it can be cheaper than via the front desk.


89%

The hostel is great great location to main station, only gripe was the shower was a bit blocked and the shower well filled up making me take a short shower or it would have over flowed

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

My cousin and I stayed in a 4 person dorm for 3 nights. Thoughts: -Small room, its hard to walk around. Our lockers weren't working -Location isn't very central, but the train station was across the street, which would take you anywhere -Staff was very nice and helpful to me, but I noticed they were rude to others. -AYCE breakfast for 5.90 Euro was OK, but I expected hot foods (bacon, eggs, etc.). We only got it once. -There were a lot of school groups. -Poor wifi connection in the room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for rating us, this always helps us to improve our service.Please note that we cater to all different kind of travellers which results in the typical 'MEININGER Guest Mix' and always try to satisfy everbody's needs. We are looking forward to see you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels. Best regards, your MEININGER Team

86%

Ultimately, this place China down to price. If you can stay cheap, for seventy euro, it's great. If it's a holiday, though, expect to pay up.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Staff was quite rude and Not very welcoming, rooms and bathroom were rather Dirty! Location was excellent though!


97%

It's right next to the main train station. That's hard to beat when you need to catch a train at 5 AM. It is also near the Reichstag and Brandenburg Gate. It is more like a hotel than a hostel but depending on your flat mates it can be social and fun. It was a clean place to sleep and that's what counts

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we appreciate your feedback - this always helps us to improve our service! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin and look forward to welcome you again at one of our MEININGER Hotels in Europe. Best regards Your MEININGER Team

83%

Great hostel close to the main trainstation. Was a bit crowded with schoolkids when we were there.


94%

Very good stay, can make international calls for one euro, close to the station and very helpful and friendly staff. However does attract a lot I school trip visits so can often be very busy when they're all together


86%

Definitely feels more like a hotel than a hostel. May have been just the time of the year, but there were loads of high school kids staying there for field trips.


89%

Great design to the hostel - typical for a MEININGER brand. The atmosphere was just okay, also typical, but you really cannot beat the location! Right next to Central Station!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for rating us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin and look forward to welcome you again at one of our MEININGER Hotels in Europe. Best regards Your MEININGER Team

74%

This is more of a hotel than a hostel but with some shared dorm rooms. The rooms were very nice and clean and it's right next to the train station but there wasn't much of an atmosphere.


71%

Its really next to the train station, rooms are small and the guy at the reception vinczi or sth like that, i was waiting his phone call to finish to be able to checkout and after that eventhough i was first on the queue he ignored me and helped the next guy-even the guy said that I came first- and he said it's OK, i didnt even had a chance to complain since i had a train to catch..


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(88 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback