Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Berlin Central Station

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th May 2017
8.9

Stayed a few nights at Meininger. The hostel is very much hotel-esque. It is literally right outside the Central Train Station which is extremely convenient. (A big reason of why I booked this hostel in the first place) It was extremely clean, great facilities. Small rooms with only 2 bunk beds so 4 people total to a room with a bathroom. It wasn't as social as some of the hostels I have been at, but it was one of the nicest and most modern I have been at. Would definitely recommend and stay aga

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your kind review. Indeed our "hostel" is not only a hostel it is also a hotel. So we claim it as a hybrid, trying to combine the benefits of a hotel like the private restrooms with some hostel elements like the guest kitchen. Sometimes the "hostel"-atmosphere is a bit lacking due to this, but you can always find some nice travelers or even employees when you hang out at bar. We hope you had a great time in Berlin and would be happy to host you again on any future stay in the city. Sincerely your MEININGER team

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
11th May 2017
9.4

Very high quality 'hostel'. Stayed in a 4-bed ensuite. Room and bathroom was very clean. Hair dryer in bathroom. Building is in hotel style. Very organised. Staff are polite but not very friendly. Breakfast was above average but missing hot food like eggs and sausages for quite a high price. Location is 1 min away from train station. And the area is very nice. Modern architectures around and a river. Good experience over all and would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for the nice review. We are indeed not just a hostel, but a hybrid between a hostel and a hotel. We try to combine all the benefits of either of those. We hope you had a great time in Berlin. Sincerely your MEININGER team

9th May 2017
8.0

Super location, couldn't be any easier to find. Because this isn't onlya hostel (the rest of the floors are Hotel) there were loads of school kids on trips. Loads. They would take over all the seating/bar/breakfast areas meaning no othe backpackers were to be found to chat to. Super clean (slight design flaw with bathroom tho! Shower curtain doesn't reach the floor so bathroom gets flooded after every shower)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. Indeed our house is not a pure hostel it is a hybrid in between a hotel and a hostel. So we try to connect the benefits of a hotel, like TV and private restroom on the room, with the advantages of a hostel, like the fair prices for shared bedrooms and guest kitchen. Indeed we also work with school groups, which is sometimes getting annoying due to the overload at certain times. We hope you still had a great time in Berlin. Sincerely your MEININGER team

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
7.7

The cooking facility is excellent. The costs of using the washing machine and dryer are too high. Guests are not allowed to bring alcohol from outside; this rule is unheard of in other hotels. Suggest to drop this house rule.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you liked our offer of the guest kitchen. Unfortunately we have to keep up the rule of the house since we already bad experiences with excessive drinking sessions for example on the rooftop terrace and that even with the rule set up. We hope you had a great time in Berlin though. Kind regards your MEININGER team

29th Apr 2017
10.0

Friendly staff and great location. Reminded me more of a hotel. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. Indeed our house is a hybrid between a hotel and a hostel. So we combine the comfort of a hotel room with the benefits of a hostel, like the guest kitchen. It's good to hear that you as our guest appreciate it. We hope you had a great time in Berlin and would be happy to host you again if you ever come back to the city. Kind regards your MEININGER team

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
9.7

Nice and clean hostel room with all of hotel comfort, friendly staff and good location, easy to find. Great value for money, thank you for a nice time in Berlin!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your kind review. Indeed our hotel is a hybrid in between a hostel and a hotel. So all the rooms offer the same standards for a hotel room like an individual restroom and a television, but also the benefits of an hostel like a guest kitchen and the possibility to make your laundry. We are very pleased to hear that you liked our house. Feel free to give us another visit anytime you come back to Berlin. Sincerely your MEININIGER team

20th Apr 2017
7.7

The staff were VERY rude to me. I asked if I could borrow a marker to label my items for the fridge and the guy said no and gave me a pen. I explained to him a ball point pen would not write on my items as they were in plastic containers. He said go try. I told him I knew already it wouldn't work. He told me. Why rudely just go try. So I went to try and big surprise, it didn't work so I came back and asked if he had found a pen. He walked away & wouldn't help me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your honest review. We are really sorry for the issue with that person at the reception. We cannot explain that, there is no excuse for a behavior like this. Usually our staff is kind and helpful. We hope you still had a great time here in Berlin. Sincerely your MEININGER team

  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
10.0

It's right next to Central Station. How better than that can it get? Well, if you are travelling by train. If you travel by bus, look for something closer to the bus station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for the amazing review. The connections from the bus stations, because there are several in the city, are pretty easy as well, and also from the airports. We hope you had a great time here in Berlin. If you ever come back to the city we would be happy to host you again. Sincerely your Meininger team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.4

I had a great stay! The staff were very helpful and polite, even when I had to ask for a bag of ice for my ankle. The beds had drawers underneath where you lock possessions, but unfortunately they weren't big enough for even a small rolly bag. I met friendly folk in the rooms and common areas. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for the nice review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the time in our house. We hope you had a great time here in Berlin. If you ever come back to the city we would be happy to host you again. Sincerely your Meininger team

12th Apr 2017
8.9

As it's name says it's very close Berlin Central Station, walking distance, and that makes it easy to find and to be well connected. The staff was ok and the atmosphere is good in general, there are plenty of families and people of all ages. Cleanliness and facilities were good. Yes, I'd return here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.