X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus Reviews

Oranienburgerstr. 67/68, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
876 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The hostel itself is very clean with good facilities. Tram stop is literally right outside which is extremely useful to get around the city and see things. As for the atmosphere..there was none. It was very difficult to meet people here, it would've been nice if there was a main common room instead of the reception area where people could sit and chat!

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

All of our stuff was moved rooms by the cleaners without our knowledge, and my phone charger was lost in the process- the staff didn't seem to care and did nothing about it.


80%

Spacious dorm room and beautiful ensuite bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again! :) Cheers your Meininger-Team

89%

A few problems with room allocations were quickly sorted by the staff. Bathrooms were new and clean. Great location on the S Bahn line.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alec Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. All the best from amazing Berlin, the Meininger-Team

77%

The drinks are very expensive, and staff didn't even give a helping hand to open a white wine with their tools since you are only allowed to buy alcohol in the hotel.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really great place that is very secure and clean. Met lots of really cool people staying here. Highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great feedback!! We are looking forward seeing you again at MEININGER ;-) Sunny greetings from Berlin!

71%

Wifi was not working in the room

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Usually our wifi is working throughout the hotel. Next time, just ask our reception staff - we would love to help you all the time! Best regards from Berlin. Your MEININGER Team

94%

A great place, centrally located with fantastic coffee! It could do with air conditioning though- as t was over 30 degrees outside, and not a lot cooler inside!!

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest feedback! Unfortunately, airconditioning is not a standard in our hotel. To get some fresh air, you can ask the staff to unlock the window in your room. The high temperatures are not usual for summers in Berlin - we suffered at reception, too! :) Nevertheless, we hope to see you next time! Many regards from Berlin!

89%

Overall a great hostel, our private room was clean and functional with a great bathroom. The location was is also excellent- right next to the S-Bahn and lots of bars and restaurants. Only things I would like to see differently: a safe deposit box in the room (although you can use lockers in the reception) and fans or A/C in the rooms or windows that opened fully. It was extremely hot and it wasn't until the last night when someone from reception came and unlocked the window we had a breeze.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review :) In all of our dormitories there are safe deposit boxes in the room. If you are staying in a private room, you can use the lockers at the reception for a deposit of 10 Euro. Our rooms are equipped with a fan coil. But as you said there is always the possibility to sign a paper at the reception and we open the window fully for you. We hope to see you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels. Greetings from Berlin :)

94%

Staffs are very friendly esp Sophia, she remember my name :) and always smile, she is fantastic!! Location is great just next to train station and bus station. also can rent a bike there with good deal. I am very happy i stay there. Meet so cool friends there too!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great feedback!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin. We hope to see you again at MEININGER. Greetings from Berlin ;)

89%

Location is excellent, very easy to get to with a metro stop right outside. Good location for people who want to site see. Staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly. The room itself was very spacious. Very good facilities. Would stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for reviewing your stay on Hostelworld! It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our friendly staff and the location. We look forward to your next visit! With best regards from Berlin :)

94%

Very good location. Amazing facilities!!! Everything in the room was great. Comfortable bed, lots of space, excellent showers and toilet. Couldn't really ask for better facilities. The only thing that I didn't like was the price for the breakfast, 7 euros is quite expensive, although I must admit that the service was good and pretty complete. I'd definitely stay again in this hostel.


74%

Very family friendly hostel and lots of couples. Pleasant room with nice bathroom and option for girls only dorm. My room wasn't designed well for storage which caused lots of overlap, and there wasn't anywhere to get to know people as main reception area is more like a waiting room. Very good for getting a decent nights sleep!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback after your recent stay with us. It is our desire to see that you enjoy our service and feel comfortable during your visit at our hotel. MEININGER offers accommodation at very central, exposed locations and all this for a generally low price. For these locations one has to lower one's sights in order not to force up rates. Nevertheless we are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel. Best wishes from Berlin! :)

80%

Good and clean facilities and perfect location! Central and a U-bahn stop literally in front of the door

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for reviewing your stay on Hostelworld! It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and the location. We will share your great feedback with the entire team. We look forward to your next visit in Berlin! :)

89%

Hotel like experience, everything is tidy, rooms are fantastic, but it loses a little in the common area, but the guys I met in my dorm were fantastic. Also, position is top notch

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive feedback - it seems you had a great time in Berlin! See you next time! ;)

60%

Had a comfortable stay. Location wise, around 10 mins from the main station and a short metro to some of the main sites inc Brandenburg Gate. On arrival, we weren't informed by reception staff that there was a guest kitchen or any other facilities inc use of towels and reception staff appeared unattentative. We booked a room of 4 females only online but were surprised to find a 6 bed mixed dorm. Staff could have been better but overall not a bad stay.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest feedback! It gives us the possibility to identify things which we have to improve. We really appreciate it. The female dorm in our hotel has always 6 beds maximum. We are sorry that our staff could not satisfy your needs. Our reception is open 24/7, you can rent there towels and use the guest kitchen, which is a bit hidden in the backhouse. :)

97%

Hostel was so clean and impeccably decorated, facilities included amazing wifi which allowed us to look up what we wanted to do that day, location was slightly out of central Berlin but it was opposite a train station which meant this wasn't a problem- guest kitchen would be ideal for someone staying longer and the staff were super helpful Only negative was that as a 7 group we would have preferred to be put together But would definitely stay again!!! Amazing hostel

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you here as our guest :) We are looking forward to your next visit. All the best from Berlin. Cheers!

89%

Great hostel. Would stay here again. Not the traditional hostel experience with the social room having very little social activity. It was like a hotel with a couple extra guests in your room. Maid was rude an annoying when we were in the room. Location was excellent and it was very easy to sleep. If your gonna be hitting the clubs every night make sure you figure out the train.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are really glad you had a good time in Berlin and enjoyed your stay with us. Just check our homepage for more informations and incredible offers. We wish you all the best and looking foward to your next visit. Cheers, the Meininger-Team

91%

Had a wonderful stay in Meininger Hostel; the staff was extremely helpful in a place where I did not speak the language. Although I'm very harsh on criticising hostels, this one I highly recommend!

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Meininger Berlin Mitte is a good place to stay, regardless of age and questions concerning who you are. It's a very international place with a lot of people from many places in the world. And the mood is relaxed. What ever clothes you'd like to wear is fine. My wife and I had a fine stay, and the place certainly deserves our warmesr recomandations. Jan von Schwanenflügel, Denmark

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review :) Thank you a lot for taking the time! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you all the best for the future from amazing Berlin to Denmark We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, your Meininger-team

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback