Hostelworld.com

MEININGER Cologne City Center

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2,540 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2,540 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
MEININGER Cologne City Center Located at Engelbertstrasse 33-35, , Cologne.
MEININGER Cologne City Center
Germany
Cologne 50674 Engelbertstrasse 33-35
81% 2540
50.9333345 6.9382309
MEININGER Cologne City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th May 2016
9.1

Although just a tad off the beaten track when comparing it to the vicinity of the Dom, this hostel sits in a fantastic location close to several bars and a college life atmosphere. The rooms themselves are a tad small for 6 people, but not bad. The bar area is never seems to be staffed or utilized as an actual bar, more of a lounge/common area. Staff were great only downside was the cost of the breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
6.0

The staff is great and really helped me out with the laundry and stuff, but their facilities need an upgrade. After laundry, my clothes got some black strains and the bed was completely unbalanced which caused the mattress to curve and make some noise. The neighborhood great and you have bars and grocery stores nearby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
12th May 2016
8.3

Great hostel. Central location. Friendly and helpful staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
8.6

Great location only a short walk from the underground and only about 15 minutes walk from the town centre. Really friendly staff and ensuite bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • spasmgazm
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th May 2016
4.6

Bathroom was in shocking state. Black mould everywhere,shower head didn't fit into the holder. Bunk bed was broken, and there was more black mould near my bed. Kitchen was handy, but the bar area was completely dead. However there were plenty of places to go to around the hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
10.0

It was great place and people are so polite. Room was clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
6.6

Decent hostel. Location isn't bad as it's quite transit accessible. DO NOT DO LAUNDRY AT THIS HOSTEL. We arrived at 8pm and put laundry in immediately. The machines are so bad that it took until after midnight for our clothes to finally be dry taking away hours from what could have been a solid night out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Apr 2016
4.0

The hostel itself is fine, our room was extremely tiny. There were no lockers or anywhere to store your stuff. Their advertising is also completely false...the room looked absolutely nothing like the picture (the nice one with red pillows) and instead was a cramped, old and extremely minimalistic.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.0

Great location, long but easy walk to the central station and the Cathedral. The staff were very nice and the rooms were clean. Could do with more plugs and bedside lighting though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2016
6.0

Although the staff were friendly and the location and price were not bad, the size and security of the rooms leave much to be desired. I was disturbed in the middle of the night by a loud pounding on my door; there were complaints of flooding on the floors adjacent to mine. I would rather not repeat this experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.