Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Cologne City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2,806 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2,806 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
MEININGER Cologne City Center Located at Engelbertstrasse 33-35, , Cologne.
MEININGER Cologne City Center
Germany
Cologne 50674 Engelbertstrasse 33-35
80% 2806
50.9333345 6.9382309
MEININGER Cologne City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Jan 2017
6.0

This place is just okay comparing same chain hostels in other cities like Brussels or Frankfurt. They hv strange policy of not bringing outside alcohol n u hv to buy from them for higher than normal price. As drinking outside alcohol wasn't allowed in rooms as well, this rule made no sense to me at all and it was just to charge the guests more considering their Bar is more like waiting area. location was bit away from attractions. Water was not draining properly in Bathroom :(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
8.9

This is a nice hostel with a mellow, friendly vibe to it. I had a good stay. They could use more outlets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
9.7

I like Meinenger. I loved that there was a kitchen. I got scolded for bringing alcohol in, but nobody told me I couldn't when I checked in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

Hostel is 2 km from the central railway station. But if you want to walk you will pass through city center. Surrounding environment is good, you will find a lot of eating outlet, pub and bars because there is one college close to it. Apart from location, facilities are good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
4.3

Our 1st room, directly off the main stairs, had a number of issues: no lock on bathroom door, top bunk was broken & close to collapsing, if you had a bedside lamp only 1 plugged directly in to a socket, the others had trailing extension cords hanging in mid air,bathroom floor and had hairs over it, the shower had hot water the size of unit &flow of water was inadequate, Insufficient storage, the door closer had been removed on the main door - fire hazard. The second room was not much better

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • briarkathryn
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Dec 2016
7.7

Good hostel and really good location, walking distance to everything. Only down fall is there's just a small communal area but it's not very comfy and there's limited plug sockets in each room making it hard to charge electronics.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Dec 2016
6.3

The hostel is well located and staff were really nice and helpful to us; however, I found trash (an empty water bottle and pieces of paper) on my bed, and the shower drain was clogged.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • William1227
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Dec 2016
7.4

The staff was amazing

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
8.0

This is more of a hotel than a hostel. The room we had was pleasant and cleaned everyday however the shower was pretty dreadful and lacked water pressure. We stayed over the Christmas period and made use of the cooking facilities. Pretty basic and the kitchen could be cleaned more regularly as the bin was overflowing with rubbish most afternoons. The staff were really friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
7.1

Definitely felt more like a hotel than a hostel, there was almost no atmosphere, and the location was just OK. Not to mention my 6 bed room only had 4 lockers, and 2 of them were broken and could not be locked. Fortunately no one stole any of my stuff, but they could have. The rooms are clean and the facilities are decent though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.