Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Cologne City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2,617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2,617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
MEININGER Cologne City Center Located at Engelbertstrasse 33-35, , Cologne.
MEININGER Cologne City Center
Germany
Cologne 50674 Engelbertstrasse 33-35
80% 2617
50.9333345 6.9382309
MEININGER Cologne City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jul 2016
8.3

This hostel was nice and the staff were great. Rooms are kept very clean. My complaints are that the rooms had no AC and it was extremely hot and difficult to sleep. Also the wifi connection wasn't very good. My room was very small but you have to expect that kind of thing from a hostel dorm

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
6.0

This Hostel was surprising at how average it was. Security lockers unable to be locked, terrible wifi - completely offline my last night, broken or non existent wall sockets, bathroom leaked water from 'somewhere' and the room in general was really hot and stuffy. staff were ok, seems to cater for 18-22 year olds. Does location and price make up for it? Not for me. Kitchen and laundry are good, although I couldn't find a bowl. Definitely a youth hostel. Maybe the other room are better..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jul 2016
7.4

Good hostel with friendly and helpful staff. Kitchen lacked bowls, plates and cups. In fact there weren't any bowls. Slightly dirty but was okay for a one night stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Jul 2016
6.9

We booked into an 8 bed mixed dorm but the room was split into two separate halves and our group had to split up. Ensuite was modern and clean. Large kitchen and common area but not much of an atmosphere. Not located in the centre of Cologne. Alright hostel but not really worth the money in anyway.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2016
9.4

Generally okay. Very helpful and friendly staff. Only had two issues: - Bathroom and beds were very clean but under the table in the room there was some stuff like dried old contact lenses. - There is free WiFi but it would require re-connection almost constantly or be unable to stream low quality videos at times. Good WiFi is a must for a lot of people, and would probably prefer to have a paid option available if that would be what it takes to get a reliable connection.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2016
6.0

Generally okay hostel but lockers that didn't lock and very dodgy wifi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
10.0

Definitely one of the best hostel I was staying in - really good location (Lidl 200m from entrance), staff is very helpful! Had few problems with the light above the bed, but that was the only thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
8.3

Great staff, very accomodating and helpful. Had a private room and absolutely no complaints, everything was well looked after, and there were zero hassles. Nice location, still walkable from the city centre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
6.3

Terrible wifi connection. Always dropped and was never actually use able. Facilities were dusty and dirty. With all that said, the staff was great and extremely friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Afghanistan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Jun 2016
6.0

It was good at all.near to student street and easy transport to city center.rooms and stairs were so small.that is it :) .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.