Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Cologne City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 2,701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 2,701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
MEININGER Cologne City Center Located at Engelbertstrasse 33-35, , Cologne.
MEININGER Cologne City Center
Germany
Cologne 50674 Engelbertstrasse 33-35
79% 2701
50.9333345 6.9382309
MEININGER Cologne City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
4.6

I booked a 4 Bed Mixed dorm Ensuite room, but the staff arranged the 8 bed dorm for me without asking. After I ask them and they did give me back the 4 bed room for me, but the room is so small and smelly, and even don't have locker in the room (I have to carry my bag to sleep). Also, location is not very good, need 30-40 mins walk to Cologne hbf. But one of the receptionist (male) he is very nice and helpful. Anyway, I don't recommend this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
8.0

Stayed here when visiting Cologne for Photokina 2016. The hotel is well situated, with the closest tram link being a 5 minute walk. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff are incredibly friendly/helpful. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
9.4

Meininger Cologne was a fantastic place to stay. We spent one night in a four-bed, mixed dorm. The room was small but not overly cramped and our private bathroom was clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely return to a Meininger hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Sep 2016
9.1

Stayed in a 4-bed room, felt like a hotel room- clean, great beds and even TV.. staff were very helpful. Not much of atmosphere created by the hostel, so you will need to create one for yourself..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Sep 2016
10.0

excellent company. i stayed with meininger in munich also and was blown away by the quality and consistency at all of their hostels. there was a room next door that was super loud all night, but other than that i had no issues what so ever. the lady at check-in was amazing and the beer in the bar... amazing. even after a weekend bender at oktoberfest!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Sep 2016
6.6

Staff were nice. Laundry took about 1:40 for a small, full load. I stayed in 4 bed mixed ensuite and liked that 2 were single beds and 1 bunk bed. The problem for me is location, sure it's close to the student district but at almost 2kms from the HBF and all the nice sights I wouldn't stay here again. Also the price varied wildly for no reason I could see. €16 the first night, €18 the second and €32 the third. If I didn't have a pre booked train, I wouldn't have stayed in Cologne all 3 days.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
8.0

I only stayed one night & it was adequate for the price I paid. Staff were VERY helpful & they were the best thing about the place. All in all, I'd recommend staying at this place. Good location too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Sep 2016
5.7

Quite safe, not very central. Really quite dirty rooms, but very friendly staff, checked us in at 10am and the luggage room was free. No atmosphere though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Sep 2016
7.7

Good hostel , good location , does what it should do. My only gripes are that the shower head didn't fit in the shower holder so you had to hold the shower head and wash yourself and BE CAREFUL with your room card that opens your door... I managed to break two in 4 days , they seem so fragile , €5 to replace each !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Aug 2016
5.7

The wifi did not work, it was terrible and the room was so small I could barely fit my suitcase and myself in. However staff were nice, but I wouldn't stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.