X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1824 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Nice relativity new hostel ran by a good chain/company MEININGER. Stayed in their Salzburg one once too which was good also. I would say these hostels are more family orientated. I booked a 12 bed mixed room but on arrival had been 'upgraded' to a 4 bed family room. Unfortunately they conveniently forgot to tell me at reception that these family rooms don't have any lockers! So nowhere to put my laptop safe. Back to reception & £5 deposit they gave me a key for a lobby secbox & laptop was safe


83%

good value for money, no complains


80%

Good stay. Friday night can be noisy, but it was a quiet one. The only problem is when you switch the lights on in the dormitory the very powerfull lights go on in both rooms.


97%

I loved. Everything is clean, the staff really helpful and the location amazing. If I come back to London definitely I will back to this hostel.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We booked a room thinking it would look like the photos did, and were sadly mistaken. But, after complaining, we were upgraded for our week to a 4 person room with single beds and then a dorm that resembled the pictures. Place is super safe, great and easy location with a tube station and 3 of the best museums around the corner. No aircon was a bit hard in the summer but asides from that no other complaints; would recommend/stay again. (Make sure you don't book a "basic dorm")

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you much for this review. We really appreciate that! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the end and that you would stay with us again! Hope to see you again soon! Your MEININGER Team London

80%

A fine (albeit a little pricy) hostel located well in London. Staff were very nice to give us an "upgrade" to an 8-bed females-only dorm to keep me and my travel companion in the same room; however, the A/C didn't work at all (although it was mentioned as an amenity of our new room) and there were no outlets to charge our phones in the room!! It seems absolutely ridiculous to have to waste precious time in London charging our phones in the lobby, which is what we ended up having to do.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this comment. We appreciate it! We feel sorry for your experienced incnvinience and we nevertheless hope to see you again here in London! Your MEININGER Team

83%

Good hostel, more like a hotel. On the directions it says to get off on Gloucester but it's closed until Dec. You actually need to get off on S. Kensington. It's not far, still only a 5-10 minute walk, but makes it difficult when you don't have phone access and you've got instructions from a different location. I let the front desk know but they didn't seem to care - said it's only closed until December. So I guess it's ok if people get lost for the next 6 mos. other than that, no complaints

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your bad exprience. I would like to thank you for letting us know about the closure at Gloucester road. We have informed our guest this information. We are glad you had a pleasent stay and look foreward to seeing you in the near future. Your recpetion team. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

89%

Really nice rooms. Free n fast wifi. But be aware if ur staying at a 12 person dorm bcuz the noise can be quite annoying

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this helpful comment. We are happy that you liked your room and the free WiFi. Just to let you know, we also offer 4bed basic dormitories if you do not want to stay in a 12bed room again ;-) Looking forward to welcome you again! Your MEININGER Team

77%

Very quiet place, not for people looking for party

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this reply. We appreciate it! Our hotel is located in South Kensington, a nice and quite residential area, but it only takes 15minutes to go to soho, leicester square and picadilly circus, where you can party all night long :-) Cheers, Your MEININGER Team London

97%

It´s a really good hostel, great location. The staff was nice with me and helpfull. I would like to back there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for this nice comment. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay that much! We looking forward to welcome you again! Your MEININGER Team London

69%

The place was great and centrally located, but the staff were very rude the few times we interacted with them.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with our staff members during your stay but i ensure you it will be better next time around. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

89%

Each time I've used Meininger I've been completely satisfied by the accommodations and service. Easy-to-find location, literally next to the Natural History Museum and convenient by 2 close-by Tube stop, good facilities and wifi, friendly staff, could not be happier with the experience. Price is higher than some other hostels in London, it's true, but you get what you pay for. If looking for a nicer hostel stay in the nice neighborhood of Kensington, the Meininger is for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We are very happy you had a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

89%

Spent here just one night: really nice, perfectly clean, a little bit noisy (room fronted to the street). I read reviews earlier, so I knew I had to bring a padlock with me! Kind staff, thanks :)

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your positive response, We also have padlocks at reception free of charge for you. we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Justin

89%

The staff members were friendly and helpful . The location of the hostel is just perfect, the price is just right and the facilities are OK. Nice place to stay :).

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. Our location is very close to many major attractions in London. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

77%

Really well maintained hostel. Bathrooms are incredibly small though. Some staff could be friendlier there was a young woman who yelled at me for not returning a key immediately when I was storing my luggage which I thought to be rather inappropriate especially because she failed to inform me that's what she wanted me to do. Area is quite expensive so you have to venture out if you don't want a 30 pound dinner or go to a bar. Overall good experience, would probably stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We are in the middle of upgrading our bathrooms to keep them in excellent condition. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

66%

Hostel was well located however didn't have a 'vibrant hostel atmosphere' or really anywhere to hangout bar a few seats in reception. Nil kitchen facilities and only 'bar snacks' type food available onsite. As a solo traveller I didn't meet anyone and think you would find it hard too. The ensuite bathroom for a 6 person dorm was smaller than an airplane toilet and was impossible to have a shower without the entire thing becoming sopping wet (even with a shower curtain. Wouldn't stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this comment. We are happy that you liked our hotel's location, but we are sorry, that you missed the "hostel atmosphere". We nevertheless would be happy to welcome you again another time. Your MEININGER Team London

83%

Nice wee atmosphere, pretty central, rooms are up to a decent standard. only downfall for me was the staff; they could have tried more to be a little friendly.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and we can assure you the staff members will be a lot more friendly. Your Meininger staff

66%

The cleanliness of shower room can be improved. The key card to the door did not work at all......

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest We have upgraded our showers so you will see a big improvement next time you return to Meininger. We hope to see you again in the future Reception.

91%

hostels should work with hostel booking sites to provide "real-time" information regarding availability and réservations so everyone knows in what bed is booked, for how long, which room, etc - especially regarding the inability to book a bed in a hostel that needs a minimum of two nite stay yet won't let you book because only one nite is avail in each of two different dorm rooms - this hostel was actually one of the better regarding this problem but might be better able to raise this with hoste

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. Thank you very much on outlining the issue with booking.com. We will get a hold of them and sort this problem out. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

77%

Everything in the hostel is quite good. Just a little but far from the tourist spots, and the bathroom is a bit small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this comment. Nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again for your next trip to London :-) Your MEININGER Team London

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback