X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2231 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Customer service is terrible and site has glitches. Ended up having to pay for a full extra night due to a problem with the booking website. When asking for a refund was responded to rudely and was not offered any compensation. A nice hostel but will never be booking with this company again.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This was a nice hostel in a great location. Staff were really helpful with everything. Only downside was one of the showers in our room, the drain wouldn't drain properly so if you had a shower for more than 3mins then the shower would potentially over flow and this wasn't fixed after I had reported it. Other than that it was great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Meininger Hotel Hyde Park and for your review. we apologize for the inconvenience with the shower. we hope to welcome you soon back in our hotel and exceed your previous stay! Your Meininger team.

86%

Great location due to the nearby tube stations (Gloucester & South Kensington), friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel and giving a lovely review! we hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel. kind regards, Your Meininger team.

89%

The staff was really amazing, we had a lot of trouble getting there beacuse a strike in the airport and the staff was really helpfull. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review! we hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel and this time with less trouble getting here. kind regards, Your Meininger team.

69%

Good location, but that's about it


100%

The staff is helpful in giving us directions when the road is closed for bike events where it affects our transportation to the airport on our checkout day. They helped to print our e-boarding pass as well. Thank you!


86%

Great neighborhood (safe, close to the underground, supermarket, Hyde Park), with a great space to hang out in the lobby. The staff is always available to help and friendly.


69%

This is a pretty normal large hostel, though less well equipped that many I've stayed in. The wifi is advertised to work throughout the building but does not work at all near the top of the hotel and works barely in other parts, which is unacceptable. There's also only en suite bathrooms for all of the rooms, which means one bathroom (toilet, shower, sink) in a tiny cubicle behind one door in each 8+ bed room. Not enough space for so many people, & the bathroom had no ventilation and was moldy.


74%

Very centrally located, price ok, ensuite bathroom bit cramped but was ok, room/beds very clean, overall a good experience


71%

I loved the German breakfast and the location is amazing! However, the toilet seat was broken in the en suite bathroom and the shower just water was way too hot to shower in. In addition, a woman who snored kept waking me up for snoring. This is totally unacceptable. Their are ear plugs at reception.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Wifi was down most of the days and the bathrooms were clogged two of the days (I have stayed with Meininger London many times, but have not had these issues in the past).


94%

As this was my first hostel experience, it was absolutely amazing. I had the chance to meet new people visiting London while being accommodated as if I were family. All in all this hostel is the best 'value for the money' hostel and provides all the amenities you need.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your amazing review after your stay with us! We are so happy to hear that we could meet your expectations, and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Thanks for choosing Meininger, Your team in London.

43%

Bathrooms are tiny and water floods the floor everywhere, makes doing anything after the actual shower really hard. Lifts are painfully slow, plus they have an additional load of the other building users, we had to take the stairs nearly all the time. The wi-fi doesn't reach into the rooms, and there is no throughput control so if one or a couple of people watch netflix/videos downstairs, it barely works for anyone else. Feels clinical, not friendly.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a comment after your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us wasn't as good as expected. We are currently going through a big refurbishment of our rooms and bathrooms. We have quite few people working on it inside the hotel, and we are sorry to hear you found it difficult to use the lift during your stay. We hope you'll have the chance to stay in one of our new room in the future to see the difference. Your team in London.

71%

Rude male staff members. Bathrooms in rooms were dirty, tiny, and constantly smelled like a ruptured septic tank. Wifi didn't work in rooms, pay phone didn't work, staff unhelpful. Overpriced breakfast. Could not have been more excited to leave. Only upside was it was close-ish to some attractions and to some nice food and shopping areas, thought it took me a few days to find them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review after your stay at Meininger London. We are sorry to hear we couldn't meet your expectations on this occasion. Your comment regarding the staff is here disappointing, and we would like to apologize if you felt our staff was rude towards you. This is obviously not the level of service we are aiming and we will pass your feedback along the team here. Thanks again for your comments, Your Meininger team in London.

80%

Need to sort out lights in dorms. switches hidden behind bunk and totally inadequate. Please consider individual small LED lamps over each bed, and curtains around bunks to enable privacy and keeping light away from everyone else who is trying to sleep! Your lovely toilet/shower pods NEED to have light pulls or switches outside each one to enable them to be used in the dark without disturbing whole room!

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for sharing your thought after your stay with us. We appreciate feedback from all our guests, and we will be sharing yours to the team here. We are currently renovating many of our rooms and bathrooms, like bed lamps and sockets for each bed. As you might understand it's quite a long process to get all the rooms and toilets refurbished. We hope you'll have the chance to stay in one of our new room during your next visit. Your team in London.

91%

Lovely clean place with lovely staff in ideal location! Only not so great thing was that the bathroom in our 8 bed ensuite was so tiny that it was impossible to not get absolutely everything in it wet while taking a shower- not that bad, but staff should make sure to provide tools to clean away the mess, which will make for less people trying to dry things off with paper towels and will also be a blessing to the walls, which were starting to show that they are practically always damp.


83%

The woman who greeted me was not friendly at all and seemed annoyed when I asked her a question about the tube, but the other staff were nice.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for getting in touch after your stay with us at Meininger London. We are sorry to hear that we couldn't quite meet your expectations in some areas, especially your comment about the staff here is disappointing. This is really not the level of service we are aiming, and we would like to apologize. We will be sharing your comment to the team here in London and we hope we can see you again in the future. Your Meininger team in London.

60%

The beds we had were extremely uncomfortable and the 4 person bunk room was extremely crowded. The wifi also did not work in our room. Overall, a subpar experience.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great stay! Rooms & bathrooms were very clean! Location was very nice and convenient to the Tube.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for dropping a comment after your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you had a terrific stay with us, and found the place very clean. We would be so glad to welcome you back very soon! Your Meininger team in London.

49%

this hostel has currently some refurbishments. I had to walk near several rooms with a lot of dust and smell of paint to arrive to my room. 2) the elevator was out of service. I had to walk to the 5th floor with my luggage. 3) the bathroom in the room is very small. I almost couldn't move to have a shower. 4) I had only cold water for the shower. the worst hostel I've stayed. 5) only one person at reception so I had to wait. at night I waited some minutes outside before staff open the door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry to hear your stay was not as expected. Yes - we have some refurbishments going on to improve the bathroom size! Unfortunately we cannot close the whole hotel for these works but we're trying our best to work around all other guests, but that means some dust and paint smells unfortunately. But if you visit us again you will see that it was worth it - we're making big improvements to the hotel! Your Meininger Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback