X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1864 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The room was very clean - a lot more than I expected - and the beds were comfortable, room was a good temperature. The shower was a bit tiny but about what you'd expect from a Hostel in London, where space is a premium. The staff was 2 girls & both were helpful, although 1 was a bit of a grouch. The only downside is that there really wasn't a social atmosphere at all. There were couches on the main floor for relaxing. But we didn't really meet anyone there. Otherwise, it was a good stay.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It's as clean as a hostel with so many people can be. I liked it to stay there. The staff was very nice and the Lounge is great.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

One of the best hostels in London-Town


83%

Freshly ironed sheets, a comfortable bed, easy-to-use showering facilities and friendly staff. Many thanks.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your recent review after your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback from our customers, and we really want to thank you for taking the time to highight your thoughts. We hope to see you again at Meininger London in the future. Best wishes, Your Meininger team in London.

80%

Staff was perfectly accommodating, room was what you'd expect from a hostel. I had a fine time there and look forward to my next visit. Many thanks.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your positive feedback and for choosing Meininger London Hyde Park to stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon :) Your Meininger Team

71%

Expensive hostel and expensive breakfast. Staffs are good and location is really convenient. A small microwave so no chance to cook anything.


86%

This is my second stay. I came back for the good value for money, excellent location, cleanliness and staff. Atmosphere, not so much. The lobby could do with a makeover. The light is cold, and the sofa area is not particularly cosy, especially with the tv set on football matches etc. The rooms could do with bed lamps and would be cosier with a bit more space btw beds, like taking out a few. The mattress was a bit saggy. On the plus side: excellent staff, excellent customer service!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. We're planning some major refurbishments in the next couple of years which inlcude the lobby and the bedrooms. Our aim is to make it an even more comfortable place to stay. Many thanks about the feedback about the staff - the team really appreciates it :) We hope to see you again!

89%

I liked Meininger a lot. I had already stayed with them in Brussels. Hostel is beautiful, big, lots of spots to be comfortable, free wi fi, really nice staff. The only problem is that they don't serve breakfast, and that's Ok for me, but I think htey could serve a basic breakfast and then charge for the full continental, like they already do. Besides that, the hostel is just perfect, they clean the rooms everyday, and is very secure (i left my laptop, phone and stuff unattended many of times).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your positive feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt safe. We pay a great deal of attention to the safety of our guests and their goods. We do serve breakfast from 6.30-10.30, it's only £5.90 for an all you can eat buffet, you should try it next time you're here :) Your Meininger Team

89%

Great location. The breakfast was good, reasonable price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the lovely review. We hope to see you again in the future :)

100%

The location was prime. The staff was amazing. The rooms were immaculate. The stay was wonderful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for your awesome feedback. It means a lot to us. Do come back to visit us in London for another fantastic stay. Your Meininger Team.

86%

Good location :-)

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic stay! I only stayed the 2 nights, but everything was great.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the amazing feedback - we hope to see you again! Bring some friends for a great weekend in London :) Your Meininger Team

83%

Meiningers is the very byword for German efficiency. Neat, clean, well-run and in a superb South Kensington location. There really is nothing wrong with this hostel save this: No guest kitchen. That's a big in this Queen Mary of a hostel. a pretty good second choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your helpful review. We are happy to be rated as your second-choice hostel :-) and hope to see you again soon!! Your MEININGER Team London

49%

The room was about 6 sqm big and we were 4 people! In my opinion thats bad even for a london hostel.and 2 out of 5 showers for the whole floor werent working.when we asked about alternatives they wanted to downgrade us to an 8bed room.without a refund.never again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your review. We appreciate it. We feel sorry for the experienced inconvinience, but nevertheless hope to see you again. Your MEININGER Team London

89%

It was excellent, the staff, were fabulous and everything was great. However the bathrooms were impracticly small. Thanks for a great stay, I look forward to smoking back

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks a lot for this awesome review. We really appreciate that& hope to see you again soon! Your MEININGER Team London

80%

Nice place with good location. Rooms were small for amount of people in them. Rooms were hot when air conditioning broke down, unfixed for atleast a week.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this review. Nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our hotel's location. We feel sorry for the experienced inconvenience with the A/C. But we nevertheless hope to see you again soon! Your MEININGER Team

89%

The Polish receptionist was very friendly and kept a smile even though the front desk seemed extremely busy that night. The only issue I had was that the AC was either not working or very weak on a hot summer's night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this comment. Nice to hear that our receptionist Anna did a good job serving you with a smile :-) We feel sorry for the inconvenience with the A/C and hope to see you again nevertheless. Your MEININGER Team

83%

I had an excellent stay at Meininger London; clean rooms, good showers, helpful staff. A little lacking in atmosphere as it is also a venue/accomm for Scouts and the lounge area can be very overwhelmed by large groups at times

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this feedback. We really appreciate it. We are happy that you liked the hotel's cleanliness our staff and the atmosphere. Due to we are located in Baden-Powell-House, the former head office of the UK-Scout Association, we have a lot of Scouts traveling to London to visit us :-) We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Your MEININGER Team

46%

I had been checked out from my room while I was away by a staff because they thought I had checked out that day although there was a label on my bad with dates saying I am staying also they could see my backpack, shoes and everything is on the bed, so they moved out everything and I had to take it back in the middle of the night and also make my bad again! It also the only hostel I had ever have to make my bed. The room was unbelievable small-dorm for 4 people. no space for a backpack

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We apologize for the inconvenience, unfortunately there has been a mix up with another guest in the same room who wanted to leave early. Our basic dorms on the 6th floor are smaller but also cheaper than our ensuite dorms as we want to offer the flexibility of cheap accommodation to travellers from all over the world. We do hope that we you give us the chance to convince you of the Meininger concept in one of our other great locations. Best regards

57%

One of the worst hostels I've stayed at. Would not recommend for backpackers as most people staying here are with school or scout groups so it is difficult to meet people. The rooms were very hot and stuffy and the bathrooms very similar to aeroplane toilets with no space to do anything. The staff were not friendly or helpful with the exception of one girl. Location is excellent, close to underground station. Have stayed in much better accommodation for a lot cheaper and wouldn't stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We welcome all sorts of guest types, from Scout groups to senior couples to backpackers. We are not a party hostel but you can enjoy a unique and safe atmosphere. We do hope that you give Meininger another chance, maybe in one of our other great hotels. Best regards Meininger Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback