X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2019 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Not so bad a hostel. Has everything you need and right in central London. But no atmosphere as the building shares with a scouts centre and a baby daycare downstairs so there's always people coming through all day and night. Hard to socialise in the lounge area. It could do with a proper kitchen too as the cafe is a bit pricey seeing as it's London. Solid place if you just want somewhere to sleep but if you want more livelihood best try somewhere else.


91%

good place


100%

Very good experience. Central location near Hyde park, can walk to Natural History Museum, tube, and notting hill, etc. I got a free upgrade to 4 person dorm room on Sunday night, and turns out that I am the only one in the room. Good service at reception, secured (ID check after 1130pm), feel safe and clean throughout the hostel.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review after your recent stay at Meininger London. We are thrilled to hear that you had a terrific stay with us and felt safe here! We would love to welcome you back very soon. Thanks again for sharing your experience with us. Your Meininger team in London.

89%

Tiny bathroom for eight people, and only two power outlets in the whole room. Comfortable beds and great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, Thank you for writing a comment after your departure. It's always nice to get feedback from our guests after their stay. Regarding the size of the bathrooms, we are planning some renovations to improve their comfort. We are glad to hear you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the location. Thank you very much for choosing Meininger! Your team in London.

100%

1st class cleanliness, comfortable beds and a great lounge to relax in and watch the world go by when the weather is miserable outside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you so much for your awesome review! It's nice to hear from you after your recent stay in our company. We look forward to welcoming you back to London! Thanks for choosing Meininger again! Your team in London.

97%

We were very happy to be uprgraded to a private room upon arrival! Staff was helpful, nice to have a cafe and sitting area in the main lobby.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you very much for writing a review after your stay with us. We are delighted to hear your feedback and that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for all the positive comments again, and we hope to see you back very soon! Your Meininger team in London.

74%

I really like the location! Very safe with lots of great places to eat nearby. With two tube stations withing walking distance, it made it very easy to get around. The rooms and facilities were kept clean; however, the cleaning staff kept remaking bed (even beds that were claimed by stayers). I stayed for a week, and I had to move beds twice bc the staff at made my bed ( even though my tag was in the name plate and I had clothes on the bed) and a new stayer thought the bed was free and took over

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts after your recent stay. We are glad to see that overall you had a good stay here at Meininger London. We have passed your comment regarding the issues you experienced with your bed to our Housekeeping team. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and we hope to see you soon! Your Meininger team in London.

97%

Friendly staff & services. Will definately go back again. Strongly recommend. Rooms are neat and clean.


94%

really helpful staff and perfect location! love this place!

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, Thank you very much for posting a review after your stay at Meininger London! It's so nice to hear you enjoyed the location and found our staff very helpful. Thanks for all the positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you again here. Your Meininger team in London.

83%

The location of the hostel is the best! It's no more than a 5min walk from the nearest tube station, so it was super easy to get to and from. The staff was very nice, but they are a little slow to get to things whether it be checking in or getting a drink. The atmosphere of the place isn't the greatest -- it's more of a family friendly environment than a youth hostel so it's not the best for socializing and meeting people. But overall, it's great. I'll be back.


54%

I stayed in a 10 bed mixed dorm for 7 nights. The 'ensuite' (shower, sink and toilet) was no bigger than an airplane toilet and smelled terrible even though it was cleaned daily. There were 3 power points in total for the entire room, and 2 of those difficult to access. The bunk beds are tiny and the pillows are uselessly thin. Wifi was only really useable in the foyer/lounge area downstairs. Nearly impossible to connect in the rooms. Would not stay again or recommend to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you taking the time to write a review after your stay at Meininger London. We are very disappointed to read your review, and that we couldn't meet your expectations this time. We are going through a major refurbishment very soon in order to improve facilities in the room. As you might understand, this is quite a long process. Feel free to contact us directly so we can discuss the issues you experienced during your stay. Best wishes, Your Meininger team in London

91%

Meininger is a beauty among hostels. It's clean, it's bright, and it has a nice common room with a good atmosphere. The wifi only works on the first two floors, the ensuite bathrooms are small, and the £5.90 breakfast really isn't worth it. However, those are the only negative things I can say. The beds are big and comfortable with clean linen. The staff are very friendly. The lobby is great for meeting people. The location is amazing. Most importantly, everything is clean.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for dropping a review after your stay. We are happy to see that overall we've managed to meet your expectations. We apologize for the issues you experienced with the WiFi connection. Thanks again for all the positive feedback! Hope to see you again, Your Meininger team in London.

83%

Pros: 1- Staff are very friendly and helpful 2- Location is absolutely fantastic, right in the heart of London. 1 min walk to Gloucester tube station. 3- Generally clean and room service is decent 4- Nice ground floor lounge. Cons: 1- Beds not very comfortable for tall people 2- Lacks personal lockers in rooms, although security was never a problem 3- Room bathrooms could be a bit bigger. No floor bathrooms 3- Not a lot of power outlets in rooms 4- Only one lift means long wait times

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, First of all, let us thank you for sharing your thoughts after your stay with us in London. It's nice to see that overall you enjoyed your stay here. As you mentioned it in your review, we are planning several changes to the rooms and bathrooms in order to make them more comfortable. We are delighted to read that you loved the location and found our staff friendly enough. We hope to see you again in 2015! Your Meininger team in London.

91%

We stayed in a 12 bed mixed dorm for 2nights. It was a spacious, bright and clean bedroom. Bathroom was a bit too small, felt like those toilet on the plane. But overall was good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the great review, we hope to see you again! And we are going to refurbish the bathrooms so your stay will be even more enjoyable. Your MEININGER Team

54%

Was disappointed it looks good in the lobby and the facilities outside the rooms. Yet, the room was old and the electric plugs are not allocate independently or next to your bed, instead, you need to pull the bunk bed out for charging your devices.The bath room was TINY. You can not turn around easily once you get in, especially when you are taking the shower.If other hostels I preferred were not fully booked, I would have spent the same amount of money in other hostel with higher rating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations. We do have some refurbishment planned (sockets, bathrooms) and hope to have the chance to show you the improvements in future. Your MEININGER Team

71%

I stayed at Hyde Park meininger hostel for 6 days with 2 other friends of mine. The rooms were as they're shown on the pitcrures and they were clean enough. The only problem was the bathroom cause it was way too small! Same as a airplane's toilet really, which i definitely think needs to be improved. The staff was most of the time nice to us. Also the whole atmopshere wasn't the best to meet new people if you travel alone. The location was perfect, close to 2 tube stations which is great.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do have a major bathroom refurbishment planned over the next 2 years so hopefully you'll come and visit again to check out the amazing new bathrooms :) Your MEININGER Team

74%

I was in this hostel for 7 days. Cons ; Toilet was dirty "everyday" even if there is housekeeping. My booking room was "12 mixed dorm" but hostel changed my room without permission to 4 mixed room. and the room was so small. Laundry machine was dirty and smelled bad. There is just one machine for washing and one machine for drying. Pros ; Lobby is nice and easy to get along with others. Breakfast was nice(about 6pounds). Location is really good, going to the tube station takes just 5 minutes.


74%

Things this hostel doesn't have: secure lockers for everyone, powerpoints on top bunks, a self-catering kitchen, a common room suitable for meeting other solo travellers, actual solo travellers. Things this hostel does have: spacious rooms, excellent location that is very accessible by tube and bus, wifi in the rooms, regularly cleaned dorms and bathrooms, comfortable bunks that don't squeak, families and large groups of young Europeans.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We do cater for all kinds of travellers and are happy about the nice guest mix. We do offer secure lockers in the lobby - some of them have sockets so you can charge your phone securely - and they are free of charge. We also have a safe where we can store all your valuables for you to make your stay as safe as possible. Unfortunately we do not have a guest kitchen but there are lots of nice places to eat around the hotel. We hope to welcome you again!

100%

Meininger London is a favorite place when I am in London. I hope to stay many times in 2015.


86%

The location couldn't be better! Had a great experience and would definitely recommend it. The only tiny problem is that the wifi was not good in my room, since I was on the top floor. Other than that, all great!

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the great review. The wifi works best in our lobby but we're working on more hotspots to ensure the signal will also be as strong on the top floor :) We hope you come and visit again! Your MEININGER Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(89 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback