X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1847 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Really nice rooms. Free n fast wifi. But be aware if ur staying at a 12 person dorm bcuz the noise can be quite annoying

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this helpful comment. We are happy that you liked your room and the free WiFi. Just to let you know, we also offer 4bed basic dormitories if you do not want to stay in a 12bed room again ;-) Looking forward to welcome you again! Your MEININGER Team

77%

Very quiet place, not for people looking for party

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this reply. We appreciate it! Our hotel is located in South Kensington, a nice and quite residential area, but it only takes 15minutes to go to soho, leicester square and picadilly circus, where you can party all night long :-) Cheers, Your MEININGER Team London

97%

It´s a really good hostel, great location. The staff was nice with me and helpfull. I would like to back there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for this nice comment. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay that much! We looking forward to welcome you again! Your MEININGER Team London

69%

The place was great and centrally located, but the staff were very rude the few times we interacted with them.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with our staff members during your stay but i ensure you it will be better next time around. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

89%

Each time I've used Meininger I've been completely satisfied by the accommodations and service. Easy-to-find location, literally next to the Natural History Museum and convenient by 2 close-by Tube stop, good facilities and wifi, friendly staff, could not be happier with the experience. Price is higher than some other hostels in London, it's true, but you get what you pay for. If looking for a nicer hostel stay in the nice neighborhood of Kensington, the Meininger is for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We are very happy you had a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

89%

Spent here just one night: really nice, perfectly clean, a little bit noisy (room fronted to the street). I read reviews earlier, so I knew I had to bring a padlock with me! Kind staff, thanks :)

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your positive response, We also have padlocks at reception free of charge for you. we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Justin

89%

The staff members were friendly and helpful . The location of the hostel is just perfect, the price is just right and the facilities are OK. Nice place to stay :).

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. Our location is very close to many major attractions in London. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

77%

Really well maintained hostel. Bathrooms are incredibly small though. Some staff could be friendlier there was a young woman who yelled at me for not returning a key immediately when I was storing my luggage which I thought to be rather inappropriate especially because she failed to inform me that's what she wanted me to do. Area is quite expensive so you have to venture out if you don't want a 30 pound dinner or go to a bar. Overall good experience, would probably stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We are in the middle of upgrading our bathrooms to keep them in excellent condition. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

66%

Hostel was well located however didn't have a 'vibrant hostel atmosphere' or really anywhere to hangout bar a few seats in reception. Nil kitchen facilities and only 'bar snacks' type food available onsite. As a solo traveller I didn't meet anyone and think you would find it hard too. The ensuite bathroom for a 6 person dorm was smaller than an airplane toilet and was impossible to have a shower without the entire thing becoming sopping wet (even with a shower curtain. Wouldn't stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this comment. We are happy that you liked our hotel's location, but we are sorry, that you missed the "hostel atmosphere". We nevertheless would be happy to welcome you again another time. Your MEININGER Team London

83%

Nice wee atmosphere, pretty central, rooms are up to a decent standard. only downfall for me was the staff; they could have tried more to be a little friendly.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and we can assure you the staff members will be a lot more friendly. Your Meininger staff

66%

The cleanliness of shower room can be improved. The key card to the door did not work at all......

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest We have upgraded our showers so you will see a big improvement next time you return to Meininger. We hope to see you again in the future Reception.

91%

hostels should work with hostel booking sites to provide "real-time" information regarding availability and réservations so everyone knows in what bed is booked, for how long, which room, etc - especially regarding the inability to book a bed in a hostel that needs a minimum of two nite stay yet won't let you book because only one nite is avail in each of two different dorm rooms - this hostel was actually one of the better regarding this problem but might be better able to raise this with hoste

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your review. Thank you very much on outlining the issue with booking.com. We will get a hold of them and sort this problem out. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

77%

Everything in the hostel is quite good. Just a little but far from the tourist spots, and the bathroom is a bit small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this comment. Nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again for your next trip to London :-) Your MEININGER Team London

97%

Excellent location and modern building with superb comfortable beds.Lift and small coffee shop is available and friendly smiling staff. Big breakfast room is really impressive and you can enjoy Kensington atmosphere. You can visit Natural History Museum and mammoths literally "next door". Have had wonderful stay and really enjoyed it. Could watch TV in the room! Clean, comfortable,safe and recommendable - I would love to stay there for longer!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your positive review. We do our best to maintain the quality of our rooms. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

89%

location is perfect!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your positive comment regarding our accommodation. We are glad you were able to visit all the tourist locations around our location. Regards Meininger Staff

49%

I've never experienced such poor customer service in my life. I was a returning customer however due to staff negligance I was unable to check in and pay for my room leaving me stranded in the middle of the night.Don't bother staying here there are plenty of better hostels in the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir or Madam, We are sorry that your visit was not as expected but as explained in a number of private emails to you your presentation of what happened is not correct. Regards Meininger Management

89%

Depends which side of the building you stay in. The road side was very noisy at night, but the other side was great! very quiet, spacious rooms with good beds. Showers and bathrooms were nice and clean. It also has a nice space with plenty of couches, pool table and a TV. They also sell coffee. If i can get in il always stay here when in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for this nice feedback. We really appreciate it. We are happy to welcome you soon again here in London! Your MEININGER Team

89%

everything is good but expesive brecakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this comment. We really appreciate that. We hope to see you soon again here in London, Your MEININGER Team

71%

Very convenient location! Room was clean enough.. The bathroom is tiny! Morning staff was really nice. The buffet breakfast was good. If you do not like children, I suggest you find other accommodation as there are lot of children about due to the scouts.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your positive review. We do our best to maintain the quality of our rooms, we also are in the process of upgrading our bathrooms. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

74%

Place is nice new and clean. Make you pay AND leave a deposit to use a towel. Showers are an absolute JOKE. Too small. Not to mention we had 4 drunk British dudes decide to talk at 3 am woke us all up. Had to tell them to shut up. Overall ok for the price. It's london, shits expensive...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your positive feedback, we are in the process on upgrading our showers. Hope to see you again at Meininger. Reception

(65 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback