X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1824 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Excellent location and modern building with superb comfortable beds.Lift and small coffee shop is available and friendly smiling staff. Big breakfast room is really impressive and you can enjoy Kensington atmosphere. You can visit Natural History Museum and mammoths literally "next door". Have had wonderful stay and really enjoyed it. Could watch TV in the room! Clean, comfortable,safe and recommendable - I would love to stay there for longer!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your positive review. We do our best to maintain the quality of our rooms. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

89%

location is perfect!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your positive comment regarding our accommodation. We are glad you were able to visit all the tourist locations around our location. Regards Meininger Staff

49%

I've never experienced such poor customer service in my life. I was a returning customer however due to staff negligance I was unable to check in and pay for my room leaving me stranded in the middle of the night.Don't bother staying here there are plenty of better hostels in the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir or Madam, We are sorry that your visit was not as expected but as explained in a number of private emails to you your presentation of what happened is not correct. Regards Meininger Management

89%

Depends which side of the building you stay in. The road side was very noisy at night, but the other side was great! very quiet, spacious rooms with good beds. Showers and bathrooms were nice and clean. It also has a nice space with plenty of couches, pool table and a TV. They also sell coffee. If i can get in il always stay here when in London.


89%

everything is good but expesive brecakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this comment. We really appreciate that. We hope to see you soon again here in London, Your MEININGER Team

71%

Very convenient location! Room was clean enough.. The bathroom is tiny! Morning staff was really nice. The buffet breakfast was good. If you do not like children, I suggest you find other accommodation as there are lot of children about due to the scouts.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your positive review. We do our best to maintain the quality of our rooms, we also are in the process of upgrading our bathrooms. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

74%

Place is nice new and clean. Make you pay AND leave a deposit to use a towel. Showers are an absolute JOKE. Too small. Not to mention we had 4 drunk British dudes decide to talk at 3 am woke us all up. Had to tell them to shut up. Overall ok for the price. It's london, shits expensive...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your positive feedback, we are in the process on upgrading our showers. Hope to see you again at Meininger. Reception

83%

The beds were comfortable, showers had hot water and it was pretty quiet so I was able to have a good nights sleep. But there was much more of a hotel vibe to the place. Not really the kind of place where you would meet other travellers and there are always lots of children running around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks a lot for this honest comment. We appreciate that! We would be pleased to welcome you again another time:-) Your MEININGER Team London

77%

When one books a FOUR bed dorm room, one would expect to be placed in a FOUR bed dorm, I didn't book a 12 or 8. It's a shame really that you even have the option to book a smaller sized dorm when it doesn't really matter what you've booked if it says 'dorm' you could be placed anywhere from 4 to 12 beds.. However, I would like to thank Anna for arranging it so that we all ended up in the same room eventually. Huge thanks. other than the dorms issue everything was excellent except for the Wifi.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear , the trouble with this "four bed room"-description was caused by some misunderstandings, which we sorted out straight away. Nevertheless you as our guest should not suffer due to this. So we are happy that Anna was able to find a satisfactory solution :-) Nice to hear, that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We would be pleased to welcome you again! Your MEININGER Team

97%

Overall excellent, although disappointing that I booked a 4-bed dorm and was put in a 6-bed one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for your comment. Nice to hear, that your stay was "excellent" :-) We feel sorry for your disappointment with the room. There was due to a misunderstanding with the room's description. We nevertheless hope to see you again quite soon! Cheers, Your MEININGER Team London

89%

Very good location and quiet in the night. friendly staff whom readilly assist. Clean and with personal space to store away stuff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for this nice comment :-) Great, that you enjoyed your stay that much! Looking forward to welcome you again soon! Kind Regards, Your MEININGER Team London

100%

Thank you for everything, :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for this review. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team London

100%

A very good hostel, I had a pleasant stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for this review. We really appreciate that and hope to welcome you again soon :-) Cheers, Your MEININGER Team London

71%

Location is good, close to tube station and 2 museums - natural history museum and V&A museum. Staff is ok, a female reception staff seems act like the school principle. A little bit rude a little bit serious, but still fine for me. However, the wifi connection there is really really BAD, i lived in 6/F, but i couldn't connect to internet, so I have to go to the lobby to use it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for this review. Nice to hear, that you like our hotel's location and surroundings! Please always let us know, if you have problems with the WIFI connection - so we will try to fix that for you ;-) Kind Regards, Your MEININGER Team London

83%

I liked my stay in this hostel generally. The location is very good and safe to walk around even late night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for this comment. We appreciate that and hope to see you again here in London :-) Your MEININGER Team

77%

The place itself is very nice, the location is amazing. Though fixing broken bathrooms is not the staffs strengh and the wifi could be a bit better. But alltogether i liked it and think its worth the money as the price is pretty low considering the location. Two more advices: keep updated on (free) walking tours and please change the matraces if you can, cause mine was hurting me. ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for this nice comment. We really appreciate that :-) Nice that you liked the location and enjoyed your stay. Guess what we just exchanged - the mattresses! So your next stay will be even more comfortable ;-) We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Your MEININGER Team

63%

The hostel looked very nice on the pictures.. and the reception really looks nice. But when we got to the room it wasn't like in the pictures. It was old and smaller. The sink drain was clogged. The mattresses were terrible. Two of the toilets were clogged. The bins in the bathrooms were always full. I made a reservation in a four bed room and one night when I arrived there was a fifth bed squeezed into the room. There was barely room for our backpacks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thanks for this honest comment. We really appreciate for all this inconvenience, Please always inform the receptionists about any maintenance issues - so we can try to fix them :-) We hope to nevertheless see you again! Kind Regards, Your MEININGER Team London

77%

It was a very nice hostel. The location was amazing!! In between two underground stations and right next to the museums! The atmosphere was a little dull compared to some other hostels mainly due to the fact that it used by plenty of school groups rather than backpackers. All the basic facilities are available and the toilets were clean although extremely cramped but it didn't bother me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear , thank you for your nice comment. Nice to hear, that you liked our hotel's central location and the cleanliness. You are right, we have a lot school groups here during the week, but on weekends often a lot of backpackers stay with us ;-) We would be pleased to welcome you again here in London! Cheers, Your MEININGER Team

74%

It is a Good Hotel Hostel The facilities are fairly good & the WIFI is good on 1st Floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear , thank you for your honest comment. We really appreciate that. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you again soon! Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team London

83%

really friendly staff enjoyed my stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for this friendly review :-) Looking forward to welcome you again soon! Cheers, Your MEININGER Team London

(63 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback