X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2233 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

this hostel has currently some refurbishments. I had to walk near several rooms with a lot of dust and smell of paint to arrive to my room. 2) the elevator was out of service. I had to walk to the 5th floor with my luggage. 3) the bathroom in the room is very small. I almost couldn't move to have a shower. 4) I had only cold water for the shower. the worst hostel I've stayed. 5) only one person at reception so I had to wait. at night I waited some minutes outside before staff open the door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry to hear your stay was not as expected. Yes - we have some refurbishments going on to improve the bathroom size! Unfortunately we cannot close the whole hotel for these works but we're trying our best to work around all other guests, but that means some dust and paint smells unfortunately. But if you visit us again you will see that it was worth it - we're making big improvements to the hotel! Your Meininger Team

91%

A little pricey for me, but had to book it as there were no other vacancies near London. but I'm glad I did, it was a very nice, clean and relaxing hostel. Nice bathrooms and showers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for getting in touch after your stay at Meininger London. We were delighted to read your review, and we are also glad that you stayed with us! We would love to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Your Meininger team in London.

89%

Very impressed, great location.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time at Meininger London. We hope to see you again very soon! Thanks for choosing us. Your Meininger team in London.

83%

The elevator was out during our 4 night stay and our room was on the 6th floor. The staff offered to help carry luggage up, but didn't offer any other anything else to compensate for the inconvenience.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for the review. We tried our best to help as many guests as possible with their luggage as an extra service. Unfortunately it was out of our hands how long the lift fix took - we would like to apologize again for the inconvenience. From your rating we are happy to see that you enjoyed all other parts of your stay and we hope to see you again! Your Meininger Team

63%

the hostel is pretty close to the underground station and there is even a store near by to buy water and such. the restroom was really really small and the elevator did not work when i was there. the guy at the reception desk was really nice which made our stay a little better. you can also store your luggage the before check in and after until 10pm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry about the lift inconvenience - it is definitely fixed now! We are in the process of refurbishing all bathrooms in the ensuite rooms, soon we will have a brand new hotel with lovely big bathrooms. We hope to welcome you again to show you the improvements! Your Meininger Team

54%

The lift was broked for four days and I was in the 6th! The washrooms are not cleaned two times a day.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we apologize for the inconvenience with the broken lift - the part took a few days to get delivered. The bathrooms on the 6th floor get cleaned twice a day but unfortunately it is out of our hands in which state guests leave the bathrooms behind after use. We will nevertheless look into options in having the bathrooms cleaned more often. Your Meininger Team

49%

it is not like in the pictures. Room was small and hot. Bathroom dirty, and the elevator didnt work for 3 days. We need to walk with bags 6 floors. The shower stop every 20 seconds, and all the time u need to press the timer, very small and bathroom dirty. Very different from what We were expecting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. You booked one of our Basic Dorms with shared bathroom facilities which get cleaned twice a day. The shower is a water saving shower which stops automatically every 20sec. Unfortunately this is not to everyone's liking. We hope you could enjoy your trip to London anyway!

43%

The rooms looked nothing like they were shown in the pictures. Lockers were very small. Bedroom had inadequate number of powerpoints. Staff were rude and unhelpful. The lift broke down at the beginning of my stay and the staff seemingly made no attempt to fix it. Some of the guests were creepy. Would NOT recommend. Location was good though.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected. The rooms shown on the pictures, although there's a difference between our Basic Dorms and Dorms (pictures of both can be found on the website). We are sorry that the lift broke down, the broken part had to be ordered and unfortunately took a few days to be delivered. We hope that we can convince you of our service and quality another time in London or one of our other Meiningers across Europe! Your Meininger Team

89%

Very enjoyable stay here. Rooms were spacious and clean. The best location and value around. Conveniently located off Piccadilly line. Bag holding in locked room after checkout.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for sharing your experience after your stay at Meininger London. We are thrilled to hear that you had a terrific stay with us. It's always nice to get feedback from our guests after their departures. We would love to welcome you back again in London. Thanks for choosing Meininger, Your team in London.

94%

Great place to stay. Comfortable. Convenient location next to Gloucester Road Tube stop.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for your great review after your recent review at Meininger London. It's great to hear from you, we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location convenient. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future. Your Meininger team in London.

77%

Hostel is in a good location with short walk to nearest tube station. Doesn't have hostel feel, very much a hotel. Clean, spacious, clean bathroom and free wifi so all good.


80%

Rooms nice and neat after renovation. Just need more wall hooks beside beds to hang up coats, etc.


80%

Very expensive. Toilet is very poor


71%

Helpful staff!!! wi-fi ok. but toilet... bad smell all the time :(


83%

I only have one complaint:There weren't enough power outlets in the female dorm. There were only about 4 outlets in the whole room, which isn't enough for 8 persons. Plus, the outlets were placed behind the beds, so they were hard to reach. Besides that, everything else was great.


83%

Please consider a maintenance check on the lockable drawers underneath the beds. Some are not working, which means you can't lock your valuables in your room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for sharing your experience at Meininger London after your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback and suggestions as it helps us to improve our service. Thanks for your comment regarding the lockers, we will pass it along our maintenance staff. We hope to see you again soon! Your Meininger team in London.

77%

Very clean and centrally located at hyde park. The staff were helpful but it was more of a hotel than a hostel, probably not the best place to stay if you're a backpacker looking to meet fellow travelers.


77%

Some of the staff is very average one of the. Thing they should improve overall good value for your money .and excellent location and confortable clean bed and clean bathroom

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at our hotel in London. We were disappointed to read your feedback about the staff, and we'll pass your comment along the team here. Overall, we are glad to see that you enjoyed staying with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon! Your Meininger team in London.

34%

Nothing like other Meininger hostels in Europe. Room was horrible, bad layout and lighting with small dirty bathrooms. The room conditions and facilities are very old and in need of a good clean and revamp. The cooler made loud noises from midnight and was impossible to sleep. For the price we paid I had very low expectations however expected a certain standard as it is a Meininger or just to even be able to sleep. Would not stay again.


86%

Internet was too slow. From 10pm onwards it was unusable. Floors in the 12 dorm rooms could've been cleaner.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(73 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback