X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2382 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

This is a great location for a hostel. Easy to get to the underground or walk into the city or through Hyde Park. I was really frustrated by the no wifi during my stay. It worked the first day and then did not work for the rest of my trip, and for people who need to rely on it when traveling it was difficult to get wifi in the evening.


83%

Clean and quiet place if that's what you're looking for. There's not a big party atmosphere about the place. The staff were very good and helpful and the location is great, right near tubes, 2 big museums, Hyde Park and beautiful South Kensington area. There's no kitchen, so you're limited in what food you can bring and cook yourself. If you're like me and over 6 foot tall then you might have trouble fitting in the dorm beds, the're made so your feet can't hang over the edge of the mattress.


100%

Couldn't have asked for more!


97%

One of the best hostels I've used on my trip. It was very much like a hotel, which I liked a lot. It felt very clean, very safe. Location was good - in a very posh area very close to two train stops and lots of restaurants and museums. I would highly recommend this hostel to anybody staying in London.


100%

Members of the staff were really friendly! The room I stayed in was clean at all times. This hostel has everything you need to be comfortable. Also it is located at less than a minute walk to the tube station, and you just cross the street and there it is the amazing natural history museum!!! I really enjoyed my stay :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for the amazing review and for choosing our hotel to stay in. we would love to welcome you back again some other time! Kind Regards, Your Meininger Team.

66%

Pros: We were upgraded from a 6 bed mixed, to a 4 bed mixed. Young guy and young lady at reception were nice. Looks nice, clean, nice area, short walk to south kensington station, bus stop across the street. Cons: tried to print bus passes and it was an unnecessary process of e-mailing the document to the reception desk computer, waiting 20 minutes, then being told the system is down. our whole floor was under construction. not much space for 4 people's stuff in the room. bathrooms are small.


94%

Great price for a great location


100%

It is a perfect place. All details are taken car e of. Just be aware that at some periods they host hundreds of children from scouting movement, so at some point it can get suddenly crowded and also the lobby can be flooded with scout children.

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Very clean hostel, ideally located for museums, Royal Albert Hall and shopping. Free wifi, small cafe and lovely lounge. My 8 bed dorm was ensuite. Helpful staff.


77%

The toilets could be cleaner and the breakfast für 7 pounds is poor compared to breakfast just arround the coner for the same price.


100%

Great place with comfy beds! Looked more like a hotel! It's just a shame about my annoying room mates! The main light is dimmed too which was good for those who rudely turn the light on in the middle of the night! I'd definitely come back! Staff were great too

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you so much for the lovely review! we are very glad that you are planning on coming back to our hotel. untill then! Best Regards, Your Meininger Team

91%

For such a busy hostel, I was surprised at how few staff were available at reception, most of the time only 1 staff member was available and he/she was working reception and bar at the same time. When checking out this could be a problem, especially if someone had a train/flight to catch. More Staff please!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we appreciate that you have taken the time to write us your review, for the last few weeks we have been having more middle-shift staff. we hope you have enjoyed your stay with us! Best regards, Your Meininger Team

77%

Nice modern hostel with good shower/toilet facilities. Great location for museums. Not sure why they have to charge so much for alcohol though!! Lacks traveller atmosphere, but i've noticed that in many london hostels!!


71%

This hostel (hotel is probably a better word) is located in a lovely part of town. I enjoyed going for walks in Hyde Park and around South Kensington. I always had a good night's sleep thanks to the peaceful 4-bed dorms. The lobby is comfortable, especially after a few hours in windy London. Even though there is no kitchen, Meininger provides a microwave, plates and cutlery. If only one thing could change, I would hope for cleaner bathrooms. If two could change, I would recommend new mattresses

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we appreciate that you have taken the time to write us your lovely review! about facilties, at the moment we are very busy on refurbishments and some rooms have went through a huge improvement! bigger bathrooms, new design in the rooms. and also new mattresses arrived yesterday! we hope we can welcome you once again in our hotel Best Regards, Your Meininger Team

83%

Having a TV in the room is not ideal in a 12 bed dorm as people watching TV were not at all considerate to those sleeping (should have an auto shut-off at midnight). Wifi would not work in the rooms. I didn't have the optional extra breakfast, however from hearing from other guests it was not very good, and its a bit pricey at £6.50. Bathrooms were quite small - reminiscent of a airplane bathroom. A suggestion would be to have additional communal bathrooms in hallway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we appreciate that you have taken the time to write us your review, about facilties ; at the moment we are very busy on refurbishments and some rooms have went through a huge improvement! bigger bathrooms, new design in the rooms. we hope we can welcome you back again in our hotel where we can exceed your expectations. Best Regards, Your Meininger Team

74%

If you forget that there are 7 other people in the room , it feels like a hostel. Clever locker space, very nice bathroom, reading lamps on the beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we appreciate that you have taken the time to write us your personal review! we hope the stay was enjoyable and that we can welcome you back again soon in our hotel best regards, Your Meininger Team

54%

Way overpriced for crappy facilities.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we appreciate that you have taken the time to write us your review, about facilties ; at the moment we are very busy on refurbishments and some rooms have went through a huge improvement! bigger bathrooms, new design in the rooms. we hope we can welcome you back again in our hotel where we can exceed your expectations. Best Regards, Your Meininger Team

86%

Clean and comfortable bed

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time giving us a review. we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to welcome you back again soon to exceed your expectations! Kind Regards, Your Meininger Team

86%

Amazing location, great staff and good value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! Thank you very much for that good review. We hope to see you again at MEININGER

74%

Small lockers in rooms (byo padlock) but security boxes near receptions for more important valuables a good idea. Unfortunately the shower and basin didn't drain properly, so looked very dirty once water finally subsided. (I guess not a problem for those first to shower). Beds all sank in the middle, so not the most comfortable of sleeps. Otherwise a great location in London and has all the essentials of a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! Thank you for your review. We're glad that you liked your time in London. In all dormitories we have lockers which you can lock with a padlock that you can get a the reception for a small deposit. We're very sorry that we didn't had inform you about. As we are in a process of refurbishment we are changing all our matrasses and bathroom facilities at the momemt. Come back soon and enjoy our refurbished rooms. Your MEININGER Team

(79 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback