X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2077 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

I stayed at Hyde Park meininger hostel for 6 days with 2 other friends of mine. The rooms were as they're shown on the pitcrures and they were clean enough. The only problem was the bathroom cause it was way too small! Same as a airplane's toilet really, which i definitely think needs to be improved. The staff was most of the time nice to us. Also the whole atmopshere wasn't the best to meet new people if you travel alone. The location was perfect, close to 2 tube stations which is great.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do have a major bathroom refurbishment planned over the next 2 years so hopefully you'll come and visit again to check out the amazing new bathrooms :) Your MEININGER Team

74%

I was in this hostel for 7 days. Cons ; Toilet was dirty "everyday" even if there is housekeeping. My booking room was "12 mixed dorm" but hostel changed my room without permission to 4 mixed room. and the room was so small. Laundry machine was dirty and smelled bad. There is just one machine for washing and one machine for drying. Pros ; Lobby is nice and easy to get along with others. Breakfast was nice(about 6pounds). Location is really good, going to the tube station takes just 5 minutes.


74%

Things this hostel doesn't have: secure lockers for everyone, powerpoints on top bunks, a self-catering kitchen, a common room suitable for meeting other solo travellers, actual solo travellers. Things this hostel does have: spacious rooms, excellent location that is very accessible by tube and bus, wifi in the rooms, regularly cleaned dorms and bathrooms, comfortable bunks that don't squeak, families and large groups of young Europeans.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We do cater for all kinds of travellers and are happy about the nice guest mix. We do offer secure lockers in the lobby - some of them have sockets so you can charge your phone securely - and they are free of charge. We also have a safe where we can store all your valuables for you to make your stay as safe as possible. Unfortunately we do not have a guest kitchen but there are lots of nice places to eat around the hotel. We hope to welcome you again!

100%

Meininger London is a favorite place when I am in London. I hope to stay many times in 2015.


86%

The location couldn't be better! Had a great experience and would definitely recommend it. The only tiny problem is that the wifi was not good in my room, since I was on the top floor. Other than that, all great!

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the great review. The wifi works best in our lobby but we're working on more hotspots to ensure the signal will also be as strong on the top floor :) We hope you come and visit again! Your MEININGER Team

66%

Great location, easy to get anywhere from Gloucester station and literally across the road from the museum. There were no hostel vibes so don't count on meeting people. The room and showers were clean. Wifi everywhere. Only small lockers for valuables. Staff nice and helpful.


86%

Awesome...!!!


86%

Great location, free lockers in the lobby with power outlets, decent internet speed are the perks. The internet doesn't reach a few of the rooms on the 6th floor, and some of the 4 bed rooms are very spacious, and some can barely fit your luggage. I've stayed here three time prior, and this property occasionally has ridiculous price swings if you need to extend your stay once you arrive. All said though, when in London, I usually stay here when the price isn't ridiculous.


49%

The rooms were small. There were only 3 lockers and there were 4 people in the room. The lockers were so small. The bathrooms were gross. The toilet did not flush. The staff did not know anything about the area we were in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, Thank you for dropping a line after your stay with us. We are very disappointed to read your review. This is obviously not the level of service we are aiming at Meininger London. Feel free to contact us directly so we can discuss the issues you experienced during your stay. Best wishes, Your Meininger team in London.

89%

Very clean. Guests quiet and respectful. Really nice, modern, clean, quite large seating area near reception. I often had to queue when I went to the reception desk, even for small queries. Great location near the museums and South Kensington station (nice bunch of restaurants/cafes there). Soap/shampoo provided in bathroom. Bathrooms only in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, Thanks for sharing your thoughts after your recent stay at Meininger London. We are thrilled to hear you had a good stay with us. We are sorry that you found the service slow. We always try our best to avoid customer queuing at reception. We are glad you found the location charming. Best wishes, Your Meininger team in London.

91%

Overall, the stay was very nice. The location was great, being only a few blocks down from Hyde Park and a major tube station. The only real complaint I have is that the bathroom in the dorm was kind of gross. I stayed there for four days, and it was probably only cleaned twice, if that. They were also really small, but I suppose that's to be expected. Other than that, everything else was really clean. You could even smell how clean it was when you walked in.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. All the rooms are cleaned daily. If the cleanliness is not to your liking we kindly ask you to report it to our reception team next time you're staying with us. Unfortunately the bathroom cleanliness is not completely in our hands. In shared dorms we need the help of everyone staying to ensure the cleanliness is given at all times. We do hope to welcome you again! Your MEININGER Team

77%

It's clean, it has spacious rooms with enough luggage storage place. It's just not a regular hotel. It also has group accommodation and apparently also some hotel rooms. Location is nice, it's in the middle of a nice neighborhood. Had to change rooms during my visit. This was compensated with one free breakfast. Nice gesture. Breakfast itself isn't spectacular. All in all a decent place. Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for posting a review after your recent stay. We are glad to hear that overall you had a good stay with us. We hope to see you again! Your Meininger team in London

94%

Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. Missed there being even basic kitchen facilities Very clean Thanks for a great stay

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are very happy to hear you had such a good stay with us. We would love to welcome you back again here! Thanks for choosing Meininger! Your team in London.

83%

Hostel rooms were clean and beds were comfortable, Bathrooms were clean. some of the toilet stalls were tiny and your knees touched the door Wifi worked well

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you so much for your comment after your recent stay. We are more than happy to hear you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed our free wifi. We would love to welcome you back again very soon! Best regards, Your Meininger team in London.

100%

Very nice place to stay in London. Highly recommend!!!

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for dropping a line after your recent stay in London. It is really nice to hear you had a terrific stay with us! We hope to see you again very soon, thanks again for choosing Meininger. Your Meininger team in London.

71%

Stayed here with my little sister. Our locker was broken into and passports and electronics were stolen. Had to report to police but unlikely my belongings will be found. Now that I am home, I must report passports stolen and pay to have them replaced. Very disappointed.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry to hear that you haven't made use of our secure lockers in the lobby, which are free of charge. We do advise guests not to leave any valuables in the rooms as these are shared rooms, however we do provide secure storing facilities for valuables in our safe or the lockers. Your MEININGER Team

80%

清潔でロケーションも良かったです。

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for dropping a line after your stay in London. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again! Best wishes, Your Meininger team in London.

94%

The bathroom is the size of an airplane bath. I merely fitted in the bed, I am 1.95cm

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you very much for sharing your thought after your stay with us! We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the bathrooms, we are planning some refurbishments very soon. We hope to see you soon! Your Meininger team in London.

60%

Was woken up at 12:45 pm by someone arriving late into the dorm, and then at around 7:30 am by a fire alarm - not a very good nights sleep. The bed was nice and everything was clean but the shower was a bit weak. There is a nice cafe area downstairs which is pretty good to work. The breakfast was pretty awful with bananas that has been refrigerated - and therefore went grey- with white bread (no brown) and some cheese. Not exactly a 'continental breakfast' and not worth £5.95.

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to drop a line after your stay. We are sorry to hear that we couldn't meet your expectations this time. Unfortunately, when you book a bed in a dorm you are likely to get people coming in and out at any time. We are offering ear plugs at reception. It's also very unfortunate that the fire alarm sounded in an early morning, this is very much unpredictable. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the city of London. Your Meininger team in London.

89%

Very clean hostel, confortable. Very good located. Everything is very good just a little bit quiet is you are trying to experience bars and more fun activities in hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you very much for your lovely review after your stay with us! We are very happy to read your comment, and hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, we are currently working on making the place more fun by offering activities through the week. We hope to see you back again very soon! Your Meininger team in London.

(81 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback