X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1869 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The hostel looked very nice on the pictures.. and the reception really looks nice. But when we got to the room it wasn't like in the pictures. It was old and smaller. The sink drain was clogged. The mattresses were terrible. Two of the toilets were clogged. The bins in the bathrooms were always full. I made a reservation in a four bed room and one night when I arrived there was a fifth bed squeezed into the room. There was barely room for our backpacks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thanks for this honest comment. We really appreciate for all this inconvenience, Please always inform the receptionists about any maintenance issues - so we can try to fix them :-) We hope to nevertheless see you again! Kind Regards, Your MEININGER Team London

77%

It was a very nice hostel. The location was amazing!! In between two underground stations and right next to the museums! The atmosphere was a little dull compared to some other hostels mainly due to the fact that it used by plenty of school groups rather than backpackers. All the basic facilities are available and the toilets were clean although extremely cramped but it didn't bother me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear , thank you for your nice comment. Nice to hear, that you liked our hotel's central location and the cleanliness. You are right, we have a lot school groups here during the week, but on weekends often a lot of backpackers stay with us ;-) We would be pleased to welcome you again here in London! Cheers, Your MEININGER Team

74%

It is a Good Hotel Hostel The facilities are fairly good & the WIFI is good on 1st Floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear , thank you for your honest comment. We really appreciate that. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you again soon! Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team London

83%

really friendly staff enjoyed my stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for this friendly review :-) Looking forward to welcome you again soon! Cheers, Your MEININGER Team London

60%

The mattress was uncomfy... I was accommodated in an en-suite dorm and it was so small that I needed to squeeze myself in it. ;; The only thing I approved this place of was its location, which was near the grocery and the metro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for this feedback. We unfortunately only offer European standard sized beds - we have to apologize for that! We would nevertheless be happy to welcome you again! Kind Regards, Your MEININGER Team London

63%

Shower room is very small.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for this review. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team London

49%

Booked this hostel in a hurry mainly going on the high rating + location... I wish I done my homework a bit better as there is NO KITCHEN and there is no hostel atmosphere at all. Very clinical, more like a hotel, although with lots of screaming little kids, it's more like staying at a kindergarten. The rooms are cramped. This place has security issues; no locker for suitcases. It's not a hostel after all. It's a Meiniger. A word charged with negative associations as far as I am concerned.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for your feedback. You ate right - unfortunately we cannot offer our guest's a guest kitchen - but you can use a microwave in the breakfast room all day. During the week we have a lot of school and colleague groups here - on weekend you can also meet a lot of individual travellers and backpackers. Too bad, that MEININGER evoke now any negative associations - we hope you give us a second chance and come back another time! Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team London

80%

Great location - straight across from Natural History Museum and 5 mins to South Kensington and Gloucester Road tube stops. Small lockers - not really big enough for rucksacks. Wi-fi worked well in reception. The bunk bed was too short for me (6'3"). Also, the room has a small shower. The lift can be a bit temperamental. There seemed to be a lot of school trips staying here. Breakfast is a standard hostel all you can eat, not bad but not great either and costs extra. Fairly clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for this detailed comment. Nice, that you like our hotel's location and the hotel's cleanliness. Sorry for the beds being to small for you, but we only offer standard size beds. Cheers, Your MEININGER Team London

69%

The wifi doesn't work

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear , please always let the receptionists know if you have problems regarding the Wifi - we can than try to fix it :-) Looking forward to see you again! Kind Regards, Your MEININGER Team London

74%

I stayed at Meininger hotels before, in Germany, and I came back here, knowing that it would be clean.. It wasn't. The bathroom (airplane size!) gets filthy really quickly because the water sprays everywhere. The staff are sweet, if a little confused (I had to check out, mid-stay and check back in, only to go back to the same bed. It's very LOUD, from early morning, all traffic will wake you up. It's more a hotel, or a very big dormitory, than a hostel. Not great for vibing or meeting people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank your for your comment. Nice to hear, that you made good experiences with our hotels in Germany and liked our staff :-) We would be pleased to welcome you again! Your MEININGER Team London

1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(70 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback