X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1875 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Location is good, close to tube station and 2 museums - natural history museum and V&A museum. Staff is ok, a female reception staff seems act like the school principle. A little bit rude a little bit serious, but still fine for me. However, the wifi connection there is really really BAD, i lived in 6/F, but i couldn't connect to internet, so I have to go to the lobby to use it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for this review. Nice to hear, that you like our hotel's location and surroundings! Please always let us know, if you have problems with the WIFI connection - so we will try to fix that for you ;-) Kind Regards, Your MEININGER Team London

83%

I liked my stay in this hostel generally. The location is very good and safe to walk around even late night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for this comment. We appreciate that and hope to see you again here in London :-) Your MEININGER Team

77%

The place itself is very nice, the location is amazing. Though fixing broken bathrooms is not the staffs strengh and the wifi could be a bit better. But alltogether i liked it and think its worth the money as the price is pretty low considering the location. Two more advices: keep updated on (free) walking tours and please change the matraces if you can, cause mine was hurting me. ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for this nice comment. We really appreciate that :-) Nice that you liked the location and enjoyed your stay. Guess what we just exchanged - the mattresses! So your next stay will be even more comfortable ;-) We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Your MEININGER Team

63%

The hostel looked very nice on the pictures.. and the reception really looks nice. But when we got to the room it wasn't like in the pictures. It was old and smaller. The sink drain was clogged. The mattresses were terrible. Two of the toilets were clogged. The bins in the bathrooms were always full. I made a reservation in a four bed room and one night when I arrived there was a fifth bed squeezed into the room. There was barely room for our backpacks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thanks for this honest comment. We really appreciate for all this inconvenience, Please always inform the receptionists about any maintenance issues - so we can try to fix them :-) We hope to nevertheless see you again! Kind Regards, Your MEININGER Team London

77%

It was a very nice hostel. The location was amazing!! In between two underground stations and right next to the museums! The atmosphere was a little dull compared to some other hostels mainly due to the fact that it used by plenty of school groups rather than backpackers. All the basic facilities are available and the toilets were clean although extremely cramped but it didn't bother me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear , thank you for your nice comment. Nice to hear, that you liked our hotel's central location and the cleanliness. You are right, we have a lot school groups here during the week, but on weekends often a lot of backpackers stay with us ;-) We would be pleased to welcome you again here in London! Cheers, Your MEININGER Team

74%

It is a Good Hotel Hostel The facilities are fairly good & the WIFI is good on 1st Floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear , thank you for your honest comment. We really appreciate that. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you again soon! Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team London

83%

really friendly staff enjoyed my stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for this friendly review :-) Looking forward to welcome you again soon! Cheers, Your MEININGER Team London

60%

The mattress was uncomfy... I was accommodated in an en-suite dorm and it was so small that I needed to squeeze myself in it. ;; The only thing I approved this place of was its location, which was near the grocery and the metro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for this feedback. We unfortunately only offer European standard sized beds - we have to apologize for that! We would nevertheless be happy to welcome you again! Kind Regards, Your MEININGER Team London

63%

Shower room is very small.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for this review. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team London

49%

Booked this hostel in a hurry mainly going on the high rating + location... I wish I done my homework a bit better as there is NO KITCHEN and there is no hostel atmosphere at all. Very clinical, more like a hotel, although with lots of screaming little kids, it's more like staying at a kindergarten. The rooms are cramped. This place has security issues; no locker for suitcases. It's not a hostel after all. It's a Meiniger. A word charged with negative associations as far as I am concerned.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for your feedback. You ate right - unfortunately we cannot offer our guest's a guest kitchen - but you can use a microwave in the breakfast room all day. During the week we have a lot of school and colleague groups here - on weekend you can also meet a lot of individual travellers and backpackers. Too bad, that MEININGER evoke now any negative associations - we hope you give us a second chance and come back another time! Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team London

80%

Great location - straight across from Natural History Museum and 5 mins to South Kensington and Gloucester Road tube stops. Small lockers - not really big enough for rucksacks. Wi-fi worked well in reception. The bunk bed was too short for me (6'3"). Also, the room has a small shower. The lift can be a bit temperamental. There seemed to be a lot of school trips staying here. Breakfast is a standard hostel all you can eat, not bad but not great either and costs extra. Fairly clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for this detailed comment. Nice, that you like our hotel's location and the hotel's cleanliness. Sorry for the beds being to small for you, but we only offer standard size beds. Cheers, Your MEININGER Team London

69%

The wifi doesn't work

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear , please always let the receptionists know if you have problems regarding the Wifi - we can than try to fix it :-) Looking forward to see you again! Kind Regards, Your MEININGER Team London

74%

I stayed at Meininger hotels before, in Germany, and I came back here, knowing that it would be clean.. It wasn't. The bathroom (airplane size!) gets filthy really quickly because the water sprays everywhere. The staff are sweet, if a little confused (I had to check out, mid-stay and check back in, only to go back to the same bed. It's very LOUD, from early morning, all traffic will wake you up. It's more a hotel, or a very big dormitory, than a hostel. Not great for vibing or meeting people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank your for your comment. Nice to hear, that you made good experiences with our hotels in Germany and liked our staff :-) We would be pleased to welcome you again! Your MEININGER Team London

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

I would have wished that the bathrooms are not cleaner and more clothing-hooks or shelves. Not much space for luggage and putting belongings in the room too. The breakfast is quite overpriced 5.99 and dreadful (cold ham, toast) - lucky I didn't order.

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for your review. We offer different kind of dormitories with different room sizes - if you have a lot of luggage you may book a 8- or 12-bed dormitory. We also offer a luggage storage room (free of charge), which you can also use during your stay! We hope to see you again another time! Kind Regards, Your MEININGER Team London

77%

Staff were friendly and the hostel was clean. The location was great, letting you access to central London quite easily via tube and also the hostel is literary across the road to the natural history museum and other great museums.

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for leaving your positive feedback. We also proud of our central location in London! Hope to see you soon in one of our hotels across Europe. Cheers from London

83%

The hostel is clen and tidy; staff member at the reception was polite, efficient and helpful. Shower, toilet were in good shape. The room was smallish and street noise at high level. I recommed hostel for short or longer stay in London.

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for leaving your feedback with us. Greetings from Meininger London

89%

The hostel has everything you need. Great location...near Gloucester Rd. metro station...restaurants and stores.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We are also very happy with our central location! Greetings from you Meininger team :-)

97%

Top location, cool architecture and cool chill out area in reception area, relaxed atmosphere yet appears well run,plenty of hot water in the clean and efficient en - suite bathrooms. Would be nice if breakfast was less expensive or included but there are no shortage of places outside.and has no bearing on whether I would stay again because it is a really nice place to stay in a top location ........

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your positive feedback. Hope to see you again soon! Meininger London

74%

good location and cleanliness

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! Greetings from your Meininger team

97%

The only thing that annoyed me was the top bed is never made when you arrive so you have to make it and touch the mattress underneath. (maybe the cleaner could have a step platform or easier steps that go up to the bed like in hong kong) Good place to stay definitely, been here 2x now

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi guest, Thank your for the great rating! We are aware of the problem with the bunk beds - unfortunately our housekeeping company doesn't allow the making of the top bunks due to health&safety reasons :( but we're are working hard on a solution (and will get new mattresses, duvets and pillows soon!). See you soon! Your Meininger Team

(1227 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback