X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1728 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

This is a very good hostel to stay. I enjoyed living here and will return when having a chance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for the nice comment :) Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our house!!! Looking forward to welcome you here again one day :) Cheers, your M - team

89%

I had a good experience with this hostel. They are located in a good place, really close to grocery stores and a tube station. The atmosphere and the rooms are alright, nothing to fancy but they did the trick. Also, the staff is friendly and helpful. Finally, a special mention to the breakfast they offer, you have to pay 6 pounds or something like that but you really get all-you-can-eat quality food. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to London.


100%

The hostel is well located! Kensington is one of the best neighborhoods of London. Very close to the museums and other attractions. And also near the metro station. The staff was very helpful and nice! Breakfast for 5.90 pounds, and it is very good. The rooms are spacious, and the toilettes and the showers were always clean.


77%

It was nice but the toilets in the room were a little small


89%

I would come back here again. Clean and felt safe. Was lucky to have other nice people in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice to hear that we will see you again!!! Thank you on reviewing on us. We would be happy if you join us on Facebook. There you get new informations about our Meininger houses!!! See you, your M-team

74%

Good, basic hostel. Bathroom not ideal, got very wet and dirty after only one night. Also walls very thin, school group next door made a lot of noise into the early hours of the morning. But overall a good night's sleep, helpful staff and a great location for a tourist-y trip to London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thanks that you left a nice comment!!! Please come the next time to reception if there are any problems in- or outside the room!!! Nevertheless, nice to hear that you had a good night sleep :) Hope to see you soon!, Your M - team

74%

Since this is in the Baden Powell house I expected staff to be a little more scout like, but otherwise my stay was nice. Staff is always there and they are pretty nice. I was in a really nice room with 7 other people and we shared a really tiny bathroom which is´t so bad, because when you shower no water goes out of the shower cabin.

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Hey, thank you for taking time to give us a review. Yep - we are sharing the house with the Scouts, just ask us the next time for more informations :) Take care and visit us soon! Your M-team

57%

Uncomfortable beds

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are very sorry that you feel uncomfortable in our beds, any way we hope you had a nice stay with us! Kind regards, your M team

86%

Great location, everything is good, but some staff but me feel a little rude. The staff in the 1st midnight and 2nd day morning are very nice.

  • 14th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • allena59
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a really nice place, and it was not too expensive.


77%

The room is okay, but the toilet+shower room is really too small ! The room I stayed is next to a busy street, so it's very noise if the windows were kep opened, especially at night. Except these two points, things are alright.

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

My stay at the Mein was short and was out most of the time. The atmosphere at the Lobby of the hostel was a little quiet on a Thursday night. The bathroom was clean, but a little small. This is an average quiet hostel. Definitely not a party house. The proximity to the Museums makes this a good place to stay if you are into that kind of thing, in which case partying is not what you wanna do at night anyway.


74%

Bathrooms are very small - smaller than a phone booth. Lack of common toilets/bathrooms is an issue.


74%

Not mentioning the size of the bathrooms everything was really perfect for me. Location was probably the best as getting from and to the airport was really easy.


94%

The Hostel is like a Hotel, it is very nice building and clear areas, but the most important is the room is perfect because it is big rooms and has a toilet inside the room, the unique problem is the breakfast because you need to pay 5pound per day but is good.

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey hey, thank you very much for the nice review!!! Hope to see you again here!!! Join us on facebook! And let us know if you visit us one day again! Your - M team

77%

Cleanliness should be improved.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for your feedback. We will have a deeper look into it and regret that your stay was not as satisfied as i could have been. Nevertheless we are hoping to welcoming you again at any other time. All the best Your MEININGER Team

100%

No problems. Good location and good facilities for the $$$. Friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, THANK YOU for the nice comment!!! We are all happy that you enjoy your stay with us :) See you then...your M team

91%

Everything was perfect, except I wouldn't come here if travelling alone. For some reason the environment isn't right for meeting people, more for friends to meet. Everything else great though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking time to comment on our hostel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Meininger London!!! See you soon!

83%

The ensuite was too tiny for 8 women! Because everyone was showering and coming and going, the floor and toilet were always wet from the shower. I also didn't like how anyone could go and get the key for the security locker. How did you know who owned which bag? There was no tag system. Everything else was great and the staff were very helpful. I enjoyed my stay.

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks that you made a comment :) We are sorry for the tiny rooms, but it is in the middle of the city, so actually everything is small and tiny here *haha* Nevertheless hope to see you again. You M team

80%

Nice clean and tidy hostel close to museums, Hyde Park, cafes and restaurants in a fancy part of the city. The hostel itself was swarming with kids as it is also a scout centre, and the communal areas weren't well set up to meet people. The hostel is cheapish for London but the breakfast isn't free and you can't use the kitchen to cook meals, so that makes it a more expensive stay. You can use the microwave though!


(1158 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback