X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1848 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Apart from the female member of staff at night who sort of looked annoyed and placed my 2nd cup of water at the other side of the desk because i asked for a 2nd one if possible as the cup was so tiny. It was good. On floor 6 was a noise that started about 6am like a motorbike starting up over and over every 10 seconds but stopped on sunday and monday so i'm not sure what that was, it was near the lift anyway. Internet didn't really work on the 6th floor or the ground floor but did on the 1st.


66%

The staff are excelent, beds are ok, one pillow, Bathrooms are TERRIBLE, tiles missing in toilet,Dirty showers/toilets, Excellent location. A little more attention to cleaning would make the staff a great hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for leaving a comment here! Next time you encounter a dirty shower or toilet, please let us know so we can fix that for you. Our bathrooms and showers are cleaned twice a day but sometimes messy dorm guests don't keep it that clean. Maybe next time try a private room! :) We are happy to hear that despite the bathrooms you seemed to have enjoyed your stay here. Warm regards, Meininger London

57%

Bathroom felt like I was on a plane and got crazy dirty really easy. The shower was horrendous: it was either scoulding hot or ice cold. Place had zero atmosphere but was secure and was decently located if you just wanted to catch an early tube to Heathrow. It has a small book exchange and very expensive Internet terminals. Hostel is mostly occupied by small children/scouts, which is concerning if you did not know and were terrified by small children.


57%

I liked the place overall, however, bathroom is so small, and shower does not work well (water pressure is really low, temperature does not change well, like too hot or not hot at all). We could not use it early morning like 7-9 cuz it's inside the room And we don't wanted to let ppl wake up. but overall it's alright

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your helpful comment! We are sure that people choosing to sleep in dorms are pretty used to waking up now and then so don't let that stop you next time:) Otherwise choose one of our basic dorms where you can use the showers on the corridors! Hope you enjoyed your stay here despite the showers and maybe see you again in one of our Meininger hotels! Cheers, Meininger London

91%

I had a great stay at the Meininger. Rooms were quite big and spacious, which made me feel very comfortable in a room with 8 beds. The location is great, close to the tube and neaby attractions like hyde park and natural history museum (which happen to be free of charge) . Staff was helpful and polite. Unfortunately the drawers below the beds could not be properly locked. I recommend this place and would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for the nice review. We are really sorry for the drawers, but we hav also at reception small lockers, which you can rent. We ask a £5 deposit for the key. So the next time just ask us :) See you soon, your M yeam

83%

Close to the tube station. Maybe about 15-20mins into the Soho area, which isn't too bad. The bathroom in my room was pretty tiny and got water all over the floor and into the bedroom also... The shower curtain wasn't very effective. Wifi in the rooms is great, beds are comfy. Not a party type hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks a lot for the nice comment. Yep our bathrooms are a bit small, but where else you can use the toilet, wash your feet and brush your teeth an the same time - just in our house *haha* Hope to see you soon, your M team

97%

Excellent hostel, very well located, good value for money and competent staff, well what could you say !! Oh yes, please change your mattresses and pilows. Excellent breakfast. A good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comment! And yes our matresses will be changed soon :) So the next time you will feel more confy :) See you, Your M team

83%

Justin was great! He was very helpful and fun to talk to while leaving for the day. He had great suggestions of what to do. Was unaware that it is not a "youth hostel" wish that had been advertised. Bathrooms resembled airplane bathrooms, not very comfortable.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey hey - thanks for the nice comment!!! Nice greets from Justin :) Cheers, your M team

49%

This hostel felt like a hotel. The staff was not relaxed as other hostels. There was no laundry service, no kitchen, aren't those the basics to call yourself a hostel? The lounge had a cold atmosphere. There is no way that you get to talk to another traveller by those seperate benches. It also felt like a lot of families were staying at the hostel instead of fellow travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for your honest comment. We are a mix of a hotel and a hostel, that means we welcome backpackers, groups, families and business travellers. We have a laundry room, with a washing machine and a dryer. Nevertheless thank you a lot for yhe comment :) Your M team

100%

JUst missing for us a place to park our cars

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, please the nect time ask at reception we can give you some informations about the parking garages in our area. Kind regards, your M team

89%

Right in the centre, pretty cheap and clean. No triple bunk beds like other places, just double ones. Mattress was worn in the middle but no springs like other places so it wasn's so bad. Feels more like a hotel than a hostel place. Padlock is for free for your locker, just against a small deposit. We had a guy in our room who snored like a giant bear no matter what position so he ruined our night, otherwise everything was very good. That's of course nothing to do with the hostel :-).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ahoi, thanks a lot for your nice comment! And we are really sorry for the sleepless night :) hope to see you again here! Chhers, your M team

89%

Great price, great location. Right next to the Natural History museum and very close to the metro. We had a TV in our room, and there were very good common areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks a lot for the review. Around this area are quite a lot of museums, like the Science museum - a really good one :) Hope to see you again, your M team

80%

The room was clean, tidy and warm an had all the basics, but could have done with a few more power points/extension leads. On the downside, we found the mattresses on the single beds very uncomfortable - they need replacing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey hey - nice comment, thanks! We are working already on the replacement of our matresses! So next time it will be more confi for you :) See you soon! You M team

66%

I did have a slight hiccup when I was here this time round with my booking, however I e-mailed head office in Germany whom sorted it out very nicely for me (and promptly). Since the problem has been sorted out , I don't want to bad-mouth anyone! Still a good hostel, clean, good location , great value for money especially when you can get the room below £15...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, we aplogize again for the inconveniences with your booking!!! But still thanks for the honest comment :) Kind regards, Your M team

89%

The bus stop outside can get you to Oxford St in about 15min in good traffic, very pleasant area with nice staff. Rooms are spacious and clean (one of the cleanest hostels in my opinion). The bathrooms are small but spacious shower. Wifi in the rooms is a good plus and the rooms are bright. When you can get this hostel 'cheap' it's very good value for money. I was happy with my stay here...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, wow thanks you so much for the review and the high ranking. See you soon, your M team

74%

Near enough to the city(it is in the bike sharing area so very in the heart), very cheap and a place to put your luggage in. Good for the price :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for the review! True - almost everything is walkable from our hotel :) Join us on Facebook, your M team

91%

My third time staying at this hostel. The price and location are simply the best in London. For solo travelers it's not really the best hostel to meet people though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey hey, waiting for the 4th time to welcome you here :) Your M team

77%

breakfast is not included but the hostel is really clean and has comfortable rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, we offer an all you can eat and all you can drink breakfast for £5,90. Which is I think a good deal for this area :) Nevertheless I hope you enjoyed our stay wit us. Your M team

100%

Haven't found a hostel that beats this place yet in terms of comfort, facilities and location. And it has the feel of a decent hotel. Top marks!


97%

It's worth the money. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • 15th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


(1211 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback