X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1728 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

No kitchen! Not enough showers.The 4 bed dorms are too tiny with no lockers.No air con and you can hear the traffic from your window :( Excellent location though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are sorry that we do not have a guest kitchen, but we have in our breakfast area a microwave and cutlery you could use. We have in every room lockers and also at the reception we have some small lockers!!! Nevertheless we are very sorry. Kind regards, your M team

89%

I chose this hostel because of the wonderful location next to the Natural History Museum. Great location in the centre near bus stop, underground and supermarkets is bought off by little bit noise from traffic. But windows are almost soundproof. I was very positively surprised by kind, friendly and understanding staff. I particularly appreciate, that we could use the luggage room even after check-out. Dorms were clean and comfortable. So I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey hey, THANK YOU for the really nice comment! Please join us on Facebook, so you can get the newest Meininger information about our new projects :) See you soon, your M team

80%

Toilet and shower are uncomfortable because it's too small. However excpet that, Everything is perfect. Room is clean and comfortable. Especially Staffs are very kind. I'm really satisfied.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

very very good hostel....excellent location,clean. I have only good words to say !!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks a lot for the nice words. Hopefully we will meet again!!! Your M Team

86%

I got abit shock when I saw the room inside.as it's not the same in the photos on your web site.And the upper bunk beds weren't made.Additional to this,the baths in the room were too small.However all the other things were good.And we enjoyed our trip and stay in London and also in your hotel.Thank you very much.

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey hey, shock? We are very sorry for that! Anyway it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Join us on Facebook!!! See you, your M team

31%

Staff are very rude and unhelpful especially one lady who usually works at night. They help to create an uneasy atmosphere. Also the wifi does not work and the staff look at you as if you have two heads when you complain. Stayed forn2 weeks and bed sheets were not cleaned once

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I have stayed in a lot of hostels, and this is by far one of the nicest with regards to facilities. My wife and I were able to store our luggage in the luggage room for three days, with access long after we checked out on the day of our departure. The free WiFi was strong both in the lobby and in our room. One point to make is that the "ensuite" bathrooms are quite small (picture a fiberglass closet with a toilet, sink and shower, all-in-one), so there is no room for luxury. Location's great!

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Everything was good except the shower that is not clean.


86%

This place was great. It was a great location and had really nice staff. The elevator was terrible, but everything else was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, *haha* sorry for the elevator situation! But thank you a lot for the nice comment. Hope to see you soon in one of our Meininger!!! Cheers, M team

89%

The staff were very friendly, the location neext to Hyde Park is ideal for touring Central London, Museums, Buckingham palace, shopping tours etc. The price is extremely generous considering the location. I would stay in Meininger hostels again

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow nice to hear that you will stay with us again!!! Join us on Facebook, there you will find interesting news about us. See you, M team

46%

Very filthy dirty. No one makes the beds. My bed didn't have enough sheets. The "pod" bathroom does not work for women! for example if someone showers, no one can use the toilet. So you have it worse than 1 toilet and 1 standalone shower. In a room of 6 or 8 women, this leads to insanity. When I finally got in the toilet/shower pod, it was disgustingly dirty. Never going back. Not to mention, I think for the money they should at least make the beds, I'm not the maid here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
First THANK YOU on reviewing our Hostel. Second we have to apologize that you did not feel confy in our Hostel. Anyway, we have a 24/7 reception, please let us know the next time if there are any proplems. We really try to solve it immediately!!! Nevertheless thank you for staying with us, and again sorry!!! M team

94%

Very clean and very central hostel.i recommend everyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, nice that you made a coment on our Hostel. Join us on Facebook!!! See you there, M team

89%

The hostel is in a great location and the dorm was very clean. The en-suite toilet and shower room was very small, but adequate, and there were lockable drawers under the beds (although the reception had run out of padlocks). The luggage room was available even after I checked out, and was only accessible using a key from reception, for people who'd stored luggage there.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

One of The Best Location in London, close to many attraction, Especially 3 minutes walks from Tube. Very clean and new room, value for money, Recommend!!!


66%

The bathroom is really small


100%

Meininger Hostels are a firm favorite now. It's one of a couple if places I look for when book online.


94%

Room was clean, staff was really friendly, Everything was great except one thing. It is better to have guest kitchen there..Then I can have my own food.....Hmm..anyway I didn't mind though. Thank u for having me!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for you nice comment and the great rating :) We are sorry for the guest kitchen problem, but we have a microwave in our breakfast room for the next time :) Greetings from London - M team

69%

Good location, but poor and not friendly staff. Not much place, but it's all over London like this.”


80%

Near Metro, airport and road. Noisy at night as it is next to a main road. But close to restaurants and supermarket, which is a nice choice if you wear an ear plug at night or if you don't mind traffic noise. The washrooms and shower rooms are in rooms only, which can be a bit dirty after a few people using. Only 1 washing and drying machine, but it is rather inexpensive compare to other hostels, hence I have washed my clothes twice during my stays.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey - uh this area can be very busy, but you are in the center of London :) Still, thanks on reviewing us, and hope to welcome you again here! Cheers - M team

66%

Fairly good for the price. Air condition would be needed during the summer. Unfortunately it's located next to a busy road, but if you do London you should be tired enought to fall asleep anyway. It's probably time to change matresses... it was well used. Toilets and showers are really tiny. but.... it's still fairly good and it feelt fresh compared to many other places in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing us! Greetings from London - M Team

(1158 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback