X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER London Hyde Park Reviews

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1849 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

This is my second stay. I came back for the good value for money, excellent location, cleanliness and staff. Atmosphere, not so much. The lobby could do with a makeover. The light is cold, and the sofa area is not particularly cosy, especially with the tv set on football matches etc. The rooms could do with bed lamps and would be cosier with a bit more space btw beds, like taking out a few. The mattress was a bit saggy. On the plus side: excellent staff, excellent customer service!!


89%

I liked Meininger a lot. I had already stayed with them in Brussels. Hostel is beautiful, big, lots of spots to be comfortable, free wi fi, really nice staff. The only problem is that they don't serve breakfast, and that's Ok for me, but I think htey could serve a basic breakfast and then charge for the full continental, like they already do. Besides that, the hostel is just perfect, they clean the rooms everyday, and is very secure (i left my laptop, phone and stuff unattended many of times).


100%

The location was prime. The staff was amazing. The rooms were immaculate. The stay was wonderful.


100%

Fantastic stay! I only stayed the 2 nights, but everything was great.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Meiningers is the very byword for German efficiency. Neat, clean, well-run and in a superb South Kensington location. There really is nothing wrong with this hostel save this: No guest kitchen. That's a big in this Queen Mary of a hostel. a pretty good second choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your helpful review. We are happy to be rated as your second-choice hostel :-) and hope to see you again soon!! Your MEININGER Team London

49%

The room was about 6 sqm big and we were 4 people! In my opinion thats bad even for a london hostel.and 2 out of 5 showers for the whole floor werent working.when we asked about alternatives they wanted to downgrade us to an 8bed room.without a refund.never again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your review. We appreciate it. We feel sorry for the experienced inconvinience, but nevertheless hope to see you again. Your MEININGER Team London

80%

Buena ubicacion..tranquilo y limpio . Estan dispuestos a orientar siempre. El desayuno no esta incluido y me parece un poco costoso. Por lo demas es un buen sitio para pasar un par de dias.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

It was excellent, the staff, were fabulous and everything was great. However the bathrooms were impracticly small. Thanks for a great stay, I look forward to smoking back

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks a lot for this awesome review. We really appreciate that& hope to see you again soon! Your MEININGER Team London

80%

Nice place with good location. Rooms were small for amount of people in them. Rooms were hot when air conditioning broke down, unfixed for atleast a week.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this review. Nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our hotel's location. We feel sorry for the experienced inconvenience with the A/C. But we nevertheless hope to see you again soon! Your MEININGER Team

89%

The Polish receptionist was very friendly and kept a smile even though the front desk seemed extremely busy that night. The only issue I had was that the AC was either not working or very weak on a hot summer's night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this comment. Nice to hear that our receptionist Anna did a good job serving you with a smile :-) We feel sorry for the inconvenience with the A/C and hope to see you again nevertheless. Your MEININGER Team

83%

I had an excellent stay at Meininger London; clean rooms, good showers, helpful staff. A little lacking in atmosphere as it is also a venue/accomm for Scouts and the lounge area can be very overwhelmed by large groups at times

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for this feedback. We really appreciate it. We are happy that you liked the hotel's cleanliness our staff and the atmosphere. Due to we are located in Baden-Powell-House, the former head office of the UK-Scout Association, we have a lot of Scouts traveling to London to visit us :-) We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Your MEININGER Team

86%

Ubicación perfecta. Familia de 2 adultos y 3 niños en habitación privada con baño. Desayuno pobre y a partir de las 9 - 9'30 no reponían los productos por lo que si el horario era hasta las 10'30 h....

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

I had been checked out from my room while I was away by a staff because they thought I had checked out that day although there was a label on my bad with dates saying I am staying also they could see my backpack, shoes and everything is on the bed, so they moved out everything and I had to take it back in the middle of the night and also make my bad again! It also the only hostel I had ever have to make my bed. The room was unbelievable small-dorm for 4 people. no space for a backpack

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We apologize for the inconvenience, unfortunately there has been a mix up with another guest in the same room who wanted to leave early. Our basic dorms on the 6th floor are smaller but also cheaper than our ensuite dorms as we want to offer the flexibility of cheap accommodation to travellers from all over the world. We do hope that we you give us the chance to convince you of the Meininger concept in one of our other great locations. Best regards

57%

One of the worst hostels I've stayed at. Would not recommend for backpackers as most people staying here are with school or scout groups so it is difficult to meet people. The rooms were very hot and stuffy and the bathrooms very similar to aeroplane toilets with no space to do anything. The staff were not friendly or helpful with the exception of one girl. Location is excellent, close to underground station. Have stayed in much better accommodation for a lot cheaper and wouldn't stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We welcome all sorts of guest types, from Scout groups to senior couples to backpackers. We are not a party hostel but you can enjoy a unique and safe atmosphere. We do hope that you give Meininger another chance, maybe in one of our other great hotels. Best regards Meininger Team

71%

총 2박 3일 동안 이 호스텔에서 묵었는데 8인 도미토리 룸에 에어컨이 고장 나 있었습니다. 몇 번을 컴플레인 해서 직원이 올라와서 온도를 재 보고 다음날 오전에 고쳐놓겠다고 했는데 똑같았습니다. 저희는 에어컨을 꺼 보았고 창문을 여는게 차라리 낫다고 생각해 꺼 놓았습니다. 결국 3일동안 한 여름에 에어컨 없이 생활해야 했습니다. 저희 숙박비에는 당연히 에어컨 비가 포함 되어있다고 생각했고 선풍기를 가져다 주든 뭔가의 보상을 바랬으나 3일동안 숙소는 아무 것도 저희에게 해주지 않았습니다.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Located right next to the Natural History museum and not far from the Victoria bus station or Heathrow by metro. Bathrooms are small, but clean and the rooms are clean. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Great place to return to after a day of sightseeing in London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for this nice feedback. We really appreciate it! Nice to hear, that you felt welcomed and enjoyed your trip to London! We looking forward to welcome you again soon! Your MEININGER Team London

80%

Nice relativity new hostel ran by a good chain/company MEININGER. Stayed in their Salzburg one once too which was good also. I would say these hostels are more family orientated. I booked a 12 bed mixed room but on arrival had been 'upgraded' to a 4 bed family room. Unfortunately they conveniently forgot to tell me at reception that these family rooms don't have any lockers! So nowhere to put my laptop safe. Back to reception & £5 deposit they gave me a key for a lobby secbox & laptop was safe

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the nice feedback. We do have lockers in all room s from 6+ beds. For the smaller rooms and all valuables we do provide the safety deposit boxes free of charge (just for a key deposit as you said). We hope to see you again in one of our 16 Meininger's all over Europe :-) Best regards Your Meininger Team

83%

good value for money, no complains

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the lovely feedback, hope you gonna visit us again in London :-) Best regards

80%

Good stay. Friday night can be noisy, but it was a quiet one. The only problem is when you switch the lights on in the dormitory the very powerfull lights go on in both rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. We're working on improving the light situation in the rooms and apologize for any inconvenience. We do hope to see you again! Best regards Your Meininger Team

97%

I loved. Everything is clean, the staff really helpful and the location amazing. If I come back to London definitely I will back to this hostel.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for the great feedback, we're looking forward to seeing you again :-) Best regards Meininger Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(89 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback