X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Vienna Central Station Reviews

Columbusgasse 16, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2158 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great hostel if you just need a room for the night. staff were extremely friendly and helpful. no lockers in the room though so felt a bit unsafe leaving our bags around. only 2 subway stops from the main centre so pretty close and loads of food shops right beside the hostel. would probably book again


71%

The Menninger is more of a hotel than a hostel, the biggest let down was the "kitchen" there was only a fridge, microwave, and electric kettle. This made our plans to cook much more difficult. There are also lots of families and younger kids so be aware of what you are getting when you book! Very safe and easy but not quite the hostel we were looking for.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Conveniently close to the metro line and a shopping district. It's clean and front reception staff are ok, reasonably friendly and helpful. The area in which the hostel is located can be a little bit concerning at first...I wasn't sure about it on first impressions as a solo female traveller (on first glance I saw a strip club nearby). But once I adjusted to the hostel, the area seemed fine.


97%

Very good hostel, the price is really good! The breakfat is a little bit expensive, but is very good. Staff very kind!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the review. Great to hear you had a good time with us! As a second option we offer a guest kitchen where you can make a delicious breakfast yourself. :) Greetings from Vienna, the M-Team Central Station

83%

I only suggest to change if it is possible the bunk bed from wooden made because it make a lot of noise when someone try to reach the bed on the top even if you try slowly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your suggestions. We are now in process of changing the older, loud beds to provide more comfort. Nevertheless we appreciate you enjoyed your stay here. Sincerely, the M-Team Central Station

80%

Good access to U-Bahn straight into the city, good spacious roons. No atmosphere or advice what to see or do, felt more like a hotel not a hostel. Not good for solo travellers wanting to meet ppl.


69%

The room I stayed in was quite dusty, and the ensuite bathroom (though it appeared to be perfectly clean) smelt bad. Otherwise this hostel was fine, and, considering how inexpensive the room was, I was fairly satisfied with the standard of everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking time to rate us. We're glad you liked the overall package and we are working on a better cleaning supervision! Regards, the M-Team Central Station

74%

It is quite a pleasant stay in MEININGER Vienna Central Station. the staff are nice. it is really nice overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for the feedback. We're happy you enjoyed the time at our Meininger and looking forward to see you again. Sincerely, the M-Team Central Station

94%

İ stayed only one night in this hostel.during my stay in this hostel the stuff were very kind and helpful.they have super nice loby and bar,it was clean and safe hostel.i wish i could stay more there.next time if i visit vienn again i will stay in this hostel for sure.by the way they have very good coffee in the bar you can drink in the moorning :)

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It was one of the best hostels I've ever visited. Great staff, great position, nothing to complain about.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for the feedback! We're glad you liked your stay and hope to see you again ! Cheers, the M-Team Central Station

91%

A very nice hostel, clean, simple.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for the review. We're glad you liked our hotel and would be happy to welcome you again. :) Greetings, the M-Team Central Station

94%

comfy beds, excellent location for cheap food, staff were super helpful and knowledgeable, not a lot of clubs nearby


20%

Honestly I've never stayed in this hostel,because unfortunately I couldn't travel to Vienna, however I've tried cancel my reservation by email about 24 hours before and they didn't want cancel, so they deduced the total amount through my credit card even without answer my email.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I really liked the Hostel. The rooms are very spacious and they have bathrooms inside, lookslike a Hotel but with many beds inside of the room. The bed is very comfortable and they offer clean sheets. The staff are very helpful and the wifi works :). I tottaly recomend this Hostel. It is about 15-30 minutes walking from the center of the city but there is a metro and central station very close to the hostel. The only bad thing is that some of the luggage lockers inside of the room were broken.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the feedback. We will take care of the luggage lockers and as a second option you would also have free locker-boxes in the Lobby to store your articles of value safely. Hope to see you again! Greetings from Vienna, the M-Team Central Station

89%

Malcolm the receptionist is the best and he gave us lots of good ideas for things to do around Vienna.


100%

It is a perfect place to stay. It is very close to the train station. Staff were quite helpful and sincere. I would recommend everyone to stay this friendly hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thanks for the review! We are happy you liked us and our hotel and hope to see you again here in Vienna. Sincerely, the M-Team Central Station

83%

Near to subway station....you need take the subway if you go to the center...or 30m walking...expensive breakfast 7eu

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for taking time and ranking us ! As an alternative to the breakfast we can offer you for the next stay to use our guest kitchen and make food however you want to. :) Best wishes, the M-Team Central Station

80%

only stayed for one night... but Breakfast was awesome! it costed us 7 EUR, but it was a Breakfast-Lunch, so it worth :)


66%

Not fantastic, I'd fork out a few euro more and stay somewhere else. The wifi was spotty, the room was unbearably hot without the windows open, I don't think the toilet was cleaned at all during my time there and if you're unfortunate enough to be stuck with the top bunk there's no personal power outlet (or reading lamps on any of the beds for that matter). But the location was good, and the staff were excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry you didn't enjoy the stay at our hotel but we are thankful for the feedback an will be working on that ! Greetings from Vienna, the M-Team Central Station

54%

I wonder if the bathroom and toilets in the dorm where I slept were cleaned, it didn't look like it! The toilet had this strange smell all the time. There were some really weird people in the hostel (even a guy who didn't stay there!). When I told the staff about this, she said that she knew it, but didn't know what to do. I wouldn't go again because I didn't feel save all the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank your for your review! We are sorry that the cleaning was insufficient, we are working on better inspections. Unfortunately we accommodate all different kind of people and sometimes the interests come in conflict with each other. Hope you are luckier with the fellow travellers next time. :) Greetings, the M-Team Central Station

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(88 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback