Hostelworld.com

MEININGER Vienna Central Station

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 3,073 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 3,073 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
MEININGER Vienna Central Station Located at Columbusgasse 16, , Vienna.
MEININGER Vienna Central Station
Austria
Vienna 1100 Columbusgasse 16
83% 3073
48.1801518 16.3745427
MEININGER Vienna Central Station
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2016
6.3

It is a good place if you arent staying for long or aren't hoping to meet other travellers. It has more of a hotel feel. Also the breakfast is over priced. The staff however was really helpful, and the hostel itself is close to the metro which makes it easy to get everywhere. There aren't any lockers or any place to put your bags in the dorm rooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd May 2016
9.4

You get hotel-level facilities with the price of a hostel, so I would definitely recommend it! The location is superb, right next a metro station so it is really easy to get around. Additionally, IMO, it is also easy to get there from the railway station. However, we stayed in a "four-person dormitory" which was more like an twin bed room with two additional single beds, so it was a little cramped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Meininger City Center and we are looking forard to welcome you agin. You get a 4-bed room as a free upgrade. Normally the dorm is a 6-bed room. This solution we use when the hostel is full. Nevertheless we hope to see you again. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

18th May 2016
8.9

Location a bit from city center but close to a metro station that will take you close to all the tourist spots. Room and bathroom were cleaned daily.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for rating us. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here in Vienna and we are looking forward to see you again. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th May 2016
5.4

Hasn't been the worst. But it's super hard to socialise and the beds weren't the best or the most clean ones either. Even though I only stayed two nights as a stopover really, I would not recommend it. There was no kitchen.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your review! It's too bad that you don't got a better overall impression. We attach high value on cleanliness, so please feel free to talk to our reception team at any time if there is any isssue. We are currently working on a new guest kitchen, the one we have right now is a temporary solution to offer at least a fridge and a microwave. Anyway, we hope to welcome you back to show you that we can do better. Many greetings, the Meininger Team

  • mismonmon
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2016
6.0

Pretty average place to stay. Breakfast is sparse and if you don't get in early there is even less choice. Bathrooms are moldy, paint is bubbling and peeling in the bathrooms. The particular shower I was using, the shower head could only be used effectively while being held. There was random banging at intervals, and the bin was not cleaned out the whole time I was there. Not the worst, but no where near the best. Oh and you have to make your own bed on arrival - pray you don't get the top bunk!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Hi! Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback. It is too bad that you don’t got a better impression in general. Please always feel free to talk to our reception team about any problem. We are sorry that we couldn’t meet your expectations, but we hope to welcome you back someday! Many greetings, the Meininger Team

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
9.4

I should say Meininger Hostel was one of the best I have stayed in. The staff is really nice and was more than happy to help us with the directions to the main attractions in Vienna and helped us by printing our concert and flight tickets. The rooms are really nice and if you have a long day ahead do catch their continental all you can eat breakfast. And above all the location of the Hostel is perfect. The metro stop Keplerplatz of line U1 is right by the hostel. Thanks Meininger :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for the recommendation. We are glad that you stayed with us and hope to welcome you again. Maybe in another Meininger. Cheers! Your Meininger Team from Vienna

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2016
6.3

Not really a place for meeting ppl so make sure your with friends, kitchen was just a microwave and and fridge no sink or anything else. And the mic was not working when I was there. But room was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for givving us some feedback. We are glad that you stayed with us and looking forward to welcome you again, maybe in another Meininger. We think its always different. It depends wich kind of guests are in our house at the same time. The kitchen is under renovation. So right now we just have a kettle, fridge and microwave. Your MEininger Team from Vienna

10th May 2016
6.6

Too expensive for the quality of the hostel. Wifi was glitchy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for rating us. We are glad that you stayed with us and looking forward to welcome you again.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th May 2016
7.1

The hostel is superb. Excellent management and very clean. Very good security too here. HOWEVER! Location is a way out and difficult to get back to late at night although I was drunk af. The hostel lacks atmosphere!!! You need to sort this out, put some events on or something!! Overall it's good but get out into dam in the evening. This company was a 'go to' for a good nights stat for me. Peace 🇮🇹🏌

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for the feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your time here in Vienna and looking forward to welcome you again. Right now we are in a process of refurbishing. You should check out next time. Cheers! Your Meininger Team from Vienna

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
5th May 2016
6.9

The sheets are really nice and the rooms/dorms are ok. All in all the hostel lacks atmosphere but is located conveniently. Staff was friendly. The homepage says that towels are included but you actually had to hire them (only 1€ but still not ok!!). It's a good choice if you only plan on staying a few nights.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank your the feeback. We are glad that you had a nice time here at our hostel. Towels are just included if you book a private room not in a dorm. Nevertheless we hope to see you again. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.