X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Vienna Central Station Reviews

Columbusgasse 16, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2110 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

its been good location and the receptionists are all knid and helpful.


80%

More an hotel than an hostel, it's not the best place to meet people. Limited common areas. Close the the underground station, it's quite easy to go everywhere but nothing is at a walkable distance. Still is good value for the price everything is very clean. Lockers underneath the bed are big and practice.


100%

Excellent hostel. Clean facility, super friendly staff, and I was even given a map of the city and some extras. I also got a discount for having a rail pass too! Good stuff.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Felt like a hotel more than a Hostel, asked for a 6 bed got a 3 bed dorm. The 3rd bed was a couch. No atmosphere


91%

Overall good place to get some rest. The internet works well, but the kitchen is minimalist, i.e. no stove. This is a large hostel/hotel chain and often hosts large groups, including school-age groups. It is not a party hostel, so don't come here to drink and go wild.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your nice feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna. We are still working on a better solution for the guestkitchen. We hope to see you again soon! Greetings tje M-Team Central Station

80%

good hostel but only problem is location you have to buy transport ticket when you travelling facilities and staffs are very nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to welcome you in our hotel again. Kind regards the M-Team Central Station

69%

This is my third stay at a meininger and it'll be my last - this is not a hostel!!! Rude unhelpful staff, kids everywhere,no atmosphere,you will not meet people here despite the "bar and games area". The only thing 'hostel' is the dorm aspect. Dorm toilet centre of room - I don't wanna hear my roommates using the toilet all night! Location not great, 40 min walk to centre but tube u1 right outside, 5 mins to town. Only stay here if you need a secure, sterile environment. Not for lone traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your honest feedback. We are very sorry that for you the hostel was not the right one. It is nice to hear from you that you was happy about the cleanliness. See you next time :) Greetings, the M-Team Central Station

89%

The hostel is very good, but the wifi was terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and you was happy about the hotel. We are very sorry for the inconvenience with the wifi, this is not our standard. We hope to see you again. Greetings, the M-Team Central Station

86%

there were some noisy kids on the same floor - we couldn't sleep, maybe the hotel staff could try to control them.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry for the noise. Next time just come down to our 24/7 reception and we will help you :) We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, the M-Team Central Station

60%

Got tricked

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best. Sincererly, the M-Team Central Station

29%

This hostel has the worst management ever. It looks nice, secured, and friendly at first. But after there's a case of room intruding 'when we were sleeping inside' and something were stolen, they denied all responsibility. Security system is a toy everybody can access to the any place in this hostel if using some trick. Cameras are not for record and it is our fault being robbed or killed in this property! Manager was hiding behind the desk all the time of hardship. It's like sleeping on street

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your detailed feedback. We are really sorry that your stay didnt go like expected because of the intruder brought along by another guest. Due to the Austrian regulations for security cameras in public areas our security system is just monitoring. Unfortunatelly there has been a misunderstanding about the incident since the manager got in touch with the injured party as well as the police during the report procedere. Please contact the hotel for further assistance.

100%

Very friendly staff and excellent facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your very nice feedback. We are so happy to read that your stay in Vienna was great and you enjoyed our staff :) See you next time! Best wishes, the M-Team Central Station

71%

One of the room next door was quite noisy, except that, everything was good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank your for your comment. It is nice to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna. We hope to see you again in of our hotels again. Greetings from Vienna the M-Team Central Station

97%

It was basically a hotel, so it was a pleasant surprise for us when we arrived. Get place to stay at and even had a great breakfast daily. Definitely worth it.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and you was happy about the great breakfast. We are looking forward to see you again soon. Kind regards the M-Team Central Station

71%

It's quite an affordable place that is located near the city centre. However, the toilets can be a bit run down. There are only 2 toilets for everyone to share so sometimes it may be a bit hard to use the toilet in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. We are happy that your stay with us was good and you liked the location of the hotel. We would like to welcome you again in one of our hotels. Greetings the M-Team Central Station

100%

We had a really nice stay in Vienna! The Meininger is really close to the next Metro/Underground and it's just 3/4 stops away from Stephan's Square. Also the staff was very friendly and have US nice ideas where to go. The rooms were very nice for just 13 € and Totals clean! Every time again.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy about your fantastic stay in Vienna. It is nice to hear from you that you liked the location of the hotel and you recommend our clean rooms. We are looking forward to see you again soon. Best wishes, the M-Team Central Station

74%

The room was not as nice compared to Salzburg, but the staff was much friendlier. Check out time was at 11am, but the cleaning staff came before that which was unnecessary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and you was happy about the friendly staff. We are sorry for the cleaning women, who came in before eleven, this is not our standard. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards the M-Team Central Station

80%

We would have liked to cook one night but the "kitchen" didn't have any facilities for that. Just 1 toilette for 6 girls in our room and no other on the floor so we had to run down to the reception several times! Otherwise nice and clean, comfortable beds and spacious. Good location by the hauptbahnhof and close to a u-bahn stop so we easily could go into town!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback. It is nice to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay and you was happy about the location. We hope to see you again soon :) Greetings the M-Team Central Sation

97%

It's more an hotel than an hostel! But it's really big and nice :) good wifi, clean, good and cheap breakfast, nice staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and you like the breakfast :) We hope to see you again soon. Greetings from the M Team Central Station

69%

The hostel was okay, bit it's a shame that breakfast is a little expensive en the don't have personal lockers in the rooms!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have lockers to rent in the lobby as well. We would like to welcome you again :) Nice greetings the M-Team Central Station

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback