X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Vienna Central Station Reviews

Columbusgasse 16, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2253 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Clean...secure and very nice staff. Super helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking time to give us feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff would be pleased to help you again anytime! Regards from Vienna, the M-Team Central Station

83%

Stayed there for a day, close to metro which is very convenient. Very good

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your review ! We are happy you had a nice day at our hotel here in Vienna and hope to see you again - maybe for a few days then. ;) Regards, the M-Team Central Station

100%

This place was more of a hotel than hostel. Like other Menninger hostels I've stayed at I had a positive experience. Rooms are clean, people are friendly and I would recommend. Metro is a two minute walk from the place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback ! We are happy you had a good time in Vienna and hope to see you again at a Meininger Hotel. :) Cheers, the M-Team Central Station

77%

Close to the subway and main railway station. Very helpful and friendly staffs.


77%

Location is good, there is a metro station nearby. The room is really big and the shared bathroom is clear. Reception is 24 hours and staff is nice.


74%

This is a good hostel. Everything is comfortable and clean. There are showers and bathrooms in the dorms but no lockers. Staff are great and helpful. Not much atmosphere though. Bar is average and kind of expensive. Pool table but costs to play. Kind of far from the city but the subway station is extremely close and you don't really have to buy a ticket. Wouldn't recommend for a solo traveller but it was a good stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for the review. Glad to hear you liked our facilities. Our reception and bar staff is always trying to accomodate you at their best and we are happy to welcome all different kinds of travellers. :) Sincerely, the M-Team Central Station

83%

Definitely


94%

Good location, comfy bed, nice staffs, clean. Have a kitchen. But 4 beds dorm has no locker. Anyway, it's a good hostel.


97%

I LOVE Meininger Hostels. They offer good service for an affordable price. Hostel was clean staff was helpful and the location was great. 5min walk to the metro and 10 minutes to the centre by metro. Totally recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, WE LOVE our guests too ! We appreciated that you took time to give us feedback and are very happy you enjoyed your stay so much . :) Thanks too for the recommendation, I will pass it on to our staff. :) Regards from Vienna, the M-Team Central Station

89%

Super modern. Shower and bathroom were located in the room which was nice. Located a twenty second walk from the metro which we rode for free all around the city (Dont buy the metro cards...no locals there pay to ride it). Room was very clean. Pool table downstairs you can use for a few euros.


97%

Pretty centally located, 5 mins walk from the main station and 1 min from the metro station. Helpful staff and clean rooms and bathrooms. Recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your recommendation. Our Housekeeping, Service and Front Office Staff is happy you could enjoy your time at our hotel and were satisfied with the facilities. :) Cheers, the M-Team Central Station

57%

Average hostel, what I expected after staying in the Meininger in Brussels. The breakfast is quite expensive and you can get a cheaper one at a supermarket. The only problem I had was that the front desk staff refused to tell me about the City Bike system so I would rent one of their bikes. The hostel is located next to a sex shop with a live peep show, not for the prudish.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for the review. As an alternative to the breakfast buffet we offer an guest kitchen where you can prepare your own breakfast after your personal desires. The city bike system in Vienna is a bit tricky, especially if you want to use it for more than an hour, nevertheless our staff should provide all the information you personally need for your city trip - we will pass on your incident to the front office management. Kind Regards, the M-Team Central Station

80%

Strong wifi in rooms, friendly staff, no lockers in the room but you can get one at reception and you only give a deposit which you get back when you leave! Only steps to the metro which is great. Good stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to give us feedback! Nice to hear you had a good stay at our hotel and the alternative for your locker went so well. Nevertheless all the dormitories should be equipped with lockers, we will take care about it and you will get one in the room next time! Cheers, the M-Team Central Station

86%

The hostel is clean and the beds are comfortable. The internet is good and the stuff is nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for the review ! We're happy you were satisfied with our facilities and our staff would be pleased to welcome you again here in Vienna. Sincerely, the M-Team Central Station

83%

This place is definitely more a hotel with barracks type rooms rather than a "true hostel". That being said, still a great place to stay if you want some place cheap. It's not close at all to the tourist district, but it's less than a 2 minute walk from an underground station and barely 10 minutes to the main train station. Not a lot of young people though; it was mostly middle aged folks with kids staying there, or even older people. Staff were very friendly/helpful, especially Maximilian!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the review. Great to hear you could enjoy your stay in Vienna. Our Hotel offers dormitories as well as private rooms for one up to six people, so we accomodate all different kind of travellers. Of course our staff is trying to satisfy all the different desires. :) Cheers, Maximilian & the M-Team Central Station :)

97%

This was a very nice hostel with very helpful staff, nice facilities and great value for money. Unfortunately some of the people in the area surrounding the hostel were not very friendly, however this is not the fault of the staff. I would recommend this hostel as it is close to the city centre (2 or 3 stops on the metro) and the hostel itself is perfect. However I would advise that you spend your time in the city centre and do not explore the local surroundings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. We are pleased you had a good time in Vienna, even if you were distracted by our neighbors. However you can be sure Vienna is a very safe city without really dangerous areas, but which - of course - also has its strange people. ;) Regards from Vienna, the M-Team Central Station

91%

It was perfect except for one thing. Staffs very nice, helpful, kindly, friendly. Room is clean and big, the bed is in good condition. Everything is good for me. But, i had dome room with other group consisted of 4. They are making racket in the room long time. Definitely they had private room. But it just my experience, i was unlucky. Any way, i will recommend this hostel to all people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for taking time to give us feedback. We are glad to hear you could enjoy your trip mostly. In a dormitory everybody has to consider of the roommates. Next time you can of course ask our reception at day- and nighttime to help getting a balance between different claims in a drom. Regards, the M-Team Central Station

80%

Kitchen was awful that I tought

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for the Feedback. Unfortunately our guest kitchen is in process of planning, the current kitchen is just an interim solution. Maybe you can take advantage of a fully equipped guest kitchen during you next stay. :) Regards, the M-Team Central Station

46%

The building doesn't cope with the summer heat. Lockers didn't lock properly. The rooms weren't clean. Poor wifi connection. Would not recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to rate us. We are sorry you didn't liked our hotel, hopefully you were able to enjoy your stay in Vienna anyway. Right now we are in process of exchanging the broken lockers in the dorms and as a second option you have free lockers in our Lobby at the reception. Regards, the M-Team Central Station

80%

My first hostel stay and I was pleased with Meininger. The hostel is very close to the U-Bahn station and only a ten minute ride to the city center. The room was cleaned every day and the staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the lack of air conditioning which made the room hot at night even with the window open.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for the feedback. We're happy you had a good experience overall. Unfortunatley we are not able to provide air conditioning or fans in the rooms, but I'll pass your complaint on to the responsible person to think about possible solutions. Cheers, the M-Team Central Station

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(109 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback