X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Vienna Central Station Reviews

Columbusgasse 16, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1801 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice hostel very cleaned. I had good time there. Very close from the metro station. I recommand Meininger hostels!


97%

Hostel prices , hotel facilities. Couldn't ask for more really. 3 train stops from the centre, shower was lovely, breakfast was great and only €6.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your comment! It´s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here so much! We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes Your MEININGER Vienna Team

89%

It's a little out of the way but near enough to the metro station that it wasn't an issue for us. The room and bathroom were lovely and so clean, the staff always willing to help. Overall we had a great stay here


89%

Had a lovely stay at the hostel. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. No kitchen facilities only a fridge, kettle and a microwave. Trams run very frequently and you could get into the city in 10 mins.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks a lot for your feedback! We´re happy to hear that you had a good time and the staff was nice to you. It would be great to see you in a MEININGER again soon - perhaps in Salzburg or Munich? Greetings from Vienna Your MEININGER Team

86%

Meininger Hotel was a very beautiful and cheep hostel. I stayed in a six bed room and I think it is interesting because you can find new friends and know different culture. I think i'll returned to this hotel because it was a great experience!

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for taking time and writing this kind review of our hotel. We´re happy to hear that you liked it so much - we hope that youll return soon! Best wishes Your MEININGER Vienna Team

83%

I truly appreciate the helpfulness of the staff, and the general standard (the elevator is a bliss). However, I missed self-catering facilities and a communal spirit normally associated with having a communal kitchen

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your feedback! It´s great to hear that you had a nice stay with us here in Vienna! Sorry about the atmosphere - our communal kitchen is currently under construction but we´ll have a new one soon! Maybe the atmosphere will get better then! We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes Your MEININGER Vienna Team

77%

Large hotel ,large rooms friendly staff and was very close to metro station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you for your comment! It seems that you enjoyed your stay here - which is always good to hear! We would be happy to welcome you in a MEININGER again soon! Best wishes Your MEININGER Vienna Team

69%

The hostel was very far from the center of Vienna, but luckily theres a metro station nearby as it's a long walk. There was also no lockers in the room I stayed in. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms have hand wash and shower gel provided. Good cheap price though especially for Vienna. The floorboards in my room were ruined and sticking out of the floor everywhere that we all kept tripping over them, the floorboards seriously need fixing before someone breaks a leg.


80%

Good hostel, it is part of the Meininger hostel chain. That's why the atmosphere is more like a hotel than a hostel. Everything they offer is very good though and relatively cheap!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your review! You are right - we are a mix of a hotel and a hostel so the atmosphere differs from the classical hostel one, but then you find a hotel quality for hostel prices. We hope to welcome you in one of the MEININGER Hotels again! Greetings from Vienna Your MEININGER Team

77%

a bit hard to find at first as it is quite a walk from the train station but overall, good facilties and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your comment! We´re happy to hear that at the end you found our hotel and had a nice time here! Now you know the way - so you can easily find us in the future as well! Best wishes Your MEININGER Vienna Team

91%

Quite far away from centre by walk but near subway station, therefore , we can achieve to centre by subway easily, only three stop! Reception are very friendly and provide useful information. And a lot of restaurants nearby and not expensive.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and our staff was friendly to you! We would be pleased to welcome you in one of our hotels again! Best wishes Your MEININGER Vienna Team

97%

A nice place to stay. The building is modern with everything working as necessary. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast costs as half of the night, but it's quite nice. It's a bit far from a city center, but public transportation is readily avaliable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your great rating! We are happy to hear that you had such a nice time here in Vienna! We hope to see you in one of our hotels again soon! Greetings from Vienna Your MEININGER Team

83%

this is pretty much a big hotel block with dorms for rooms. good for a cheap place to stay but the location isn't that great. near the Ubahn though.


74%

Very clean and comfortable but definitely not a hostel as we first thought. Definite hotel feel but with shared 'dorm' like rooms. Strange mix of travellers and families resulting in poor atmosphere communally but still a nice, affordable place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that you didn´t enjoy your stay here so much. As a mix between a hotel and a hostel we have a variety of guests - from backpackers through families to school groups. That might be why the atmosphere is not the same as a in the classical hostels. On the other hand you find a hotel comfort for hostel prices. Best wishes Your MEININGER Vienna Team

97%

I have to say that it was a great experience .. the staff were really helpfull and nice .. and always had the time to answer my questions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for this great rating! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here and especially liked our staff! It was nice having you here and we hope to see you again soon! Greetings from Vienna Your MEININGER Vienna Team

49%

Where do I start... first of all the room was too small for 6 beds and we kept hitting our heads on the ceiling (we were in bunk beds). Also the kitchen was completely rubbish: it had a microwave and a very small fridge but NO SINK and NO STOVE.there were no lockers in the room and no air conditioning so at night the room was boiling!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your comment! We are sorry to hear that you didn´t enjoy your say here so much. We are sorry about the kitchen - the real one we offer is currently being reconstructed that is why we now offer only some of the most important facilities but maybe the kitchen is done the next time you decide to stay with us! Best wishes Your MEININGER Vienna Team

80%

Room is spacious. Windows can open. Area is oke, a bit cheap skate. Pitty that there is some kind of female dance club next to it, makes it a bit uncomfortable to walk from the metro to the hostel.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that all in all you enjoyed the stay here, even though the location might not be the best - that is something we unfortunately cannot influence much. Still, we would be happy to see you in a MEININGER again! Greetings form Vienna Your MEININGER Team

69%

I stayed in the female room which was a but cramped and stuffy. It's not a place I would hangout but it was alright for sleeping. The beds are firm. Personally I prefer more cushion but I know some who like firm mattresses. Sheets were clean. Bathroom was a lot worse the first day than the second so maybe it was just sloppy girls or they clean them every other day. Overall I would stay here again but it was definitely not the best hostel I've stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that you weren´t so convinced of our services. We will definitely try to improve the cleanliness of the rooms and we would be still happy to welcome you again! Best wishes from Vienna Your MEININGER Team

94%

This hostel is conveniently located near several grocery stores, a public transit line, and the famous Schonbrunn palace. They have multiple working computers, though they are not free. Their wifi is good and the staff are very nice. The one thing I missed was a working kitchen. The cooking supplies are limited to a fridge, micrwave, and water kettle.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks a lot for your feedback! It ´s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. The kitchen is unfortunately under construction, that is why we only offer the most necessary facilities now. We are sure though that it will be done the next time you decide to stay with us! Best wishes Your MEININGER Vienna Team

97%

Quite next to the city centre, the staff is always kind and ready to satisfy the customer's requests. I was really impressed by the hostel, especially because of the low price! It's located in Favoritenstrasse, in a pedestrian and catchy zone.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your review! We are really happy to hear that you had such a nice time here in Vienna! We hope to see you in a MEININGER again soon! Best wishes from Vienna Your MEININGER Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(75 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback