X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Vienna Central Station Reviews

Columbusgasse 16, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2401 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

really good

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The location of this hostel is good if you're stopping over in Vienna for one night, its a long way from the city centre but close to the main train station. Its stated that there is a kitchen, however, its no more than a mere microwave and a fridge in a small box room which is a big let down and a clear lie. Obviously trying to lure you into buying their extortionate breakfast (6.90EU). Staff didn't seem to care that our food was stolen either. Card key dorm access was the only plus for us.


86%

There's real value for money at this hostel! Despite being located a U-Bahn journey away from the centre of Vienna, we thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay here. Staff were extremely friendly, and the usage of the baggage room upon our early arrival was very useful. The mixed dorm was pleasant; with a lovely atmosphere amongst the hostel generally! We would return to another Meininger hostel again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi James! Thanks so much for this nice review! Great to read that you enjoyed the rooms and our facilities! We hope to see you again in one of our Meininger Hotels all around Europe :) Many greetings, Petra

86%

I really recommend this hotel! You will get more than you pay!!!


74%

The only problem was the luggage room, all the suitcases together, everyone has the key for the room, not that safe!


89%

Very hot could benefit from air con/fan. Kitchen was only a fridge, kettle and microwave so couldn't cook much.


71%

The bins were emptied daily but that was all. There was lockers to store our belongings but we needed to have brought a big lock with you as little locks wouldn't work. The layout of the room was nice and a great size.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback! We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with our service, we are always working on improving it, thats why we need feedback from our guests. You can also rent padlocks for just a deposit if you don't have your own :) We hope you had some good days in vienna and hope to see you again soon in one of our houses! Many greetings, Petra

63%

Although it is called central station you have to catch a tube to get from the station to the hostel. Bed was broken and everytime you sit on it the wooden slats fall out. So hot with no air con or fan so had the window open and could hear people talking and throwing up outside in a courtyard all night. Beware, there are NO lockers in the rooms you can ask to put your valuables in a small safe but you cant lock away your bags. However on the positives, its so close to Aldi and the tube station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for taking time and writing this review! We looked into the matters mentioned by you! Since vienna was racked from a heat wave never seen before, we don't provide air-con (with our normal weather conditions it's usually not needed). We are awfully sorry for all the inconvenience this caused, but we hope you had a nice stay in vienna and to see you again in one of our houses all around europe. Many greetings, Petra

97%

I strongly think there should be fans in each room for cooling. Summer in Vienna is too hot to get enough sleep. Other than that, everything was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback! Since Vienna was racked from a heat wave never seen before we don't provide air-con (with our normal weather conditions it is usually not needed). We are awfully sorry for all the inconvenience this caused. Apart from that we are glad, that you had a good stay and hope to see you again soon! Many greetings, Petra

60%

It's a question of overheating and not sleeping or security. The only way to try and cool the room down was to open the window which created security issues. The window backs onto a fire escape which is a verandah joining all rooms together and also joining it to the back alley behind the hostel which is a bit dodgy. Anyone can get into your room and opening it just ajar did nothing for ventilation or to help cool the room down. Also the cleaner came in 3 times when I was completely naked sleep


60%

I've dealt with Menninger before, and have always found them to lack atmosphere. The location Is convenient thanks to viennas compact u bahn design. But the area is not so pleasant, which is difficult to manage what with Vienna being such a lovely city. There is a graphically advertised peep show place outside. Staff were helpful. Kitchen was not a kitchen. It had only a microwave and a Kettle. No aircon. Regular window thefts reported. In summer it was an oven.


94%

Close to the center and the railway station. Rooms are cleaned every day, and the set of furniture is recent.


66%

Does what it says on the tin but zero atmosphere whatsoever. Definitely more a hotel than a hostel, so fine if you just want somewhere to lay your head or if you're in a group happy to keep to yourself, but wouldn't recommend for solo travelers and you will not meet people. Otherwise, near train station and subway so provides everything that you need from a stopover.


89%

5 min walk to the main station. Info is wrong on the description. The station is HBH not Wien Meidling. The station has been completed. Wifi was slow in the bedrooms but other than that the facilities were excellent. Really clean but not much of an atmosphere as it was like a hotel. Rooms did not have AC so it got very hot. Staff were really lovely and helpful. Right opposite a metro line. Would recommend if looking for a comfortable quiet stay.


83%

Average "hostel", more of a hotel. Not many young travellers, staff were very helpful in providing things to do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Marcus! Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedbhack! The idea of Meininger is to mix the hotel/hostel feeling,so we also host a lot of familys, business travellers and also school groups. Thanks tough for your nice words regarding our staff, we are always trying to help as much as we can :) We hope you had some nice days in vienna and to see you again in this or any other Meininger! Many greetings, Petra (Reception)

91%

We arrived really late and had less people with us at last minute but the staff were so lovely about it and gave us a smaller room and refunded us for the others. It's less than a 10 minute walk from the train station/metro and it's close to lots of shops and cafes/restaurants. The only bad thing was that our shower door was slightly broken.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lizzie! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our Meininger hotel. Ill inform our colleagues that they are doing a good job :) Our caretaker also is doing his best to fix all problems as fast as possible, so we hope the shower door din't impair your stay here :) Hope to see you again soon! Many greetings, Petra

94%

The staff is great, so are the conditions, from the guest kitchen to the lounge to the rooms, and you have a bathroom actually in your own room. Just ask any backpacker if that isn't an absolute luxury, especially considering the low price I paid for it.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Helena! Thanks so much for your lovely review! We are always happy to here that our guests had an enjoyable stay here! We hope to see you again soon! Many greetings from vienna, Petra (Reception)

89%

Really good hostel! It was a bit too warm in my room, but still, the bed was comfortable, there were enough plugs and the bathrooms were clean. The breakfast is a bit too expensive and they charge you if you wanna take away a sandwich (!!!) but it was good...the hostel is a bit far from the center but close to the train station and metro station, which was great for me since i arrived late at night. there is a mc donalds nearby and lots of shops.


69%

Nothing special about it, not a really cool vibe or anything. I thing I didn't like was that the dorms had no locker, and on this particular trip I was carrying important documents so I didn't actually have a very safe place to put it. I don't think I'll be back, actually just booked this one because the hostel I always stay in Vienna was packed for the period.


86%

The hostel is pretty basic in terms of looks--good solid bunk beds, comfortable single beds, clean bathroom and toilet ensuite. I got to know the people in my room, but if I had wanted to make friends in the lobby I think I would have had trouble. It's the sort of place where you go to sleep and not to socialize. That can work for some people but not for others. It's just one stop away from the main train station and within easy reach of shopping and places to eat. Would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank your for your comment. It is nice to hear from you, that you enjoyed your time in Vienna. It would be great to welcome you again :) Your M-Team Vienna Central Station

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(133 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback