Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Vienna Central Station

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 4341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 4341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • indiahackworth1856
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2017
6.9

Good beds, good location to train station, but far out for tourists. The room was clean didn't have breakfast. No locker in the room. The power cut caused no hot water and I didn't get an apology, FREEZING COLD SHOWER

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your feedback. Apologies for the inconvenience. We tried to fix the problem as fast as possible, unfortunatelly it was a holiday so things worked a bit slower than usually. Anyways we hope you had a good time in Vienna and we would be happy to welcome you again at MEININGER. Many greetings, the Meininger Team

  • wytsoi31
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.9

the toilet was too stinky, and lack of power outlets, i need to charge in the toilet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for any inconvenience, we will hava a look at your mentioned issues to fix it immediately. We hope you had a good time in Vienna and we would be glad to welcome you again at MEININGER. Many greetings, the Meinigner Team

  • annafents
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Aug 2017
4.9

This is not a hostel! Really disappointed that I found this via hostelworld. It's a hotel which lets out a couple of rooms to multiple travellers. So no atmosphere and no hostel benefits. I found this to be pretty lonely and disappointing. Made even worse by the fact the location is so far out I couldn't find a nearby bar or travellers pub to have any conversation. If you're looking for a short stay in a group, you would probably have no issues here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you haven't got a better impression. The idea of MEININGER is to host families as well as business travellers and backpackers. Since right now everywhere are school holidays we have a lot of families staying. We would be happy if you choose MEIINGER for your next trips so we can show you that it definitely can be different. Many greetings, the Meininger Team

  • yan52
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
7.4

The place so near metro The room so hot ,no fan, I lived up top so really hot . But everything is okay .thank you

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for the feedback. We are happy that you stayed with us and will welcome you again. As we do not have an AC you can get a fan at the reception. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Aug 2017
7.7

Pretty good hostel but slightly basic really. Lockers won't lock if your padlock is of the wrong size which is annoying but apart from that no problems! Location is pretty good and it is very close to Wien HBF.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for the review of our hostel. We are happy that you enjoyed your time and wait to see you again. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

  • poppympearce
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
8.9

Good stay in an ideal location with nice staff!! Thank you

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for the review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and will welcome you again. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

  • curtis_grant926626
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2017
7.4

A very safe, clean, well run hostel with great helpful staff. Rooms were great which allowed a lot more space than other hostels. No locker in the room but a small one in reception was acceptable. Minutes away from the train station but a distance away from town. The underground is easy enough to use to town and all other attractions. Just a shame it really lacked atmosphere, common area was empty most of the time making it difficult to socialise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for the feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here in Vienna and looking forward to welcome you again. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Aug 2017
6.0

The room was nice except the fact our toilet room smelt like a litter box the entire time. No kitchen facilities, just fridge, kettle and microwave. Interesting location far away from most things. Mediocre at best.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
4th Aug 2017
4.0

DON'T stay here. Although it's named 'central station' (and is a short walk to the station) it's actually a 50+ minute walk from the hostel into the centre of town. The 'kitchen' is a room with a fridge and a microwave - no sink, stove, oven. Cutlery is rarely available. Dorm walls covered in a weird white residue and the doors slammed shut at an almighty volume. The large school group slammed doors 2-3 times per minute from 0730-0900 so don't expect a sleep in. 2 outlets in a 6 bed dorm.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Right now we are in a process of renovation. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

  • SimonFish99
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Aug 2017
7.4

The room was tidy, clean and nice. The only downside was that the room had no A/C and was incredibly hot. Overall though, a great place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for the comment. We are happy that you stayed with us and will welcome you the next time. As we do not have an AC you can rent a fan at the reception. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.