X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MINGTOWN Hiker International Youth Hostel Reviews

No. 450 Middle Jiangxi Rd. Shanghai. P.R.China, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1212 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The Hostel has a very nice atmosphere which invites you to know new people. The location is also really good, because your are near to some maine Subway lines. The staff is very friendly and I really liked the breakfast they offered for little money.


100%

I stayed at the Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel for 7 nights. It is a great hostel - location is tops, the staff very helpful, and the hostel has a great atmosphere. I thoroughly enjoyed Shanghai and the hostel contributed to this in a big way. thanks.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Great localisation close to the bund but it was not clean at all ..


77%

We stayed in a 4 mixed dormitory for 3 night and 1 night in a twin room. Both rooms where simple but ok just to sleep ( no windows). Lockers in dormitory are a good point. Staff was kindly and helpful =). Localisation is very good 5 mn walk from the famous east Nanking road and the bund. The only bad point was that it wasn't clean at all in the sanitary facilities. Some flush didn't worked, wet every time..


63%

The location was great but the facilities were generally not the best. We ate here and the food was horrible microwave rubbish, there was no secure room to leave bags which was a standard at all other hostels we vistited and the staff were not very knowlegeable/ helpful about the area. They also turn the hot water off all day so when we checked in after a long trip we could not even have a shower! Good value for money but generally the place was a bit run down and in need of a good clean!


80%

You are great, not only your location, but all staffs were wonderful & helpful. There was never a moment I felt dull at all in your hostel. Tony, Malaysian

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

83%

Very happy with the hostel and the staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

49%

The location is fantastic for exploring Shanghai, but sadly the hostel was not great. While the rooms are clean and spacious, the staff were either rude to us or couldn't speak any English, and the shower took forever to get hot water (if it did at all). Despite the great location, I would highly recommend a different hostel in Shanghai.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve !

66%

A cheap hostel with a little room. Enough but only enough

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

74%

Basically I'm satisfied. 1) I don't like the smell of detergent when cleaner clean the toilet. 2) No hot water after 1am, not so convenient when i was late back. 3) The officer is nice and accepted my request to change the room when I noticed my first room is with dirty room mate.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

94%

A really good place to stay. Really cheap. We had to change the date we arrived. No problem at all, we could also stay one more night than we booked. You get your own locker where there is room for a big backpack, you feel really safe here. Awesome place. Awesome people. If i'm going back to shanghai i'm staying here!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

26%

We did a reservation and I even wrote another mail to their office to tell them, that we will arrive quite late. When we got there our room was not available anymore. We had to take a more expensive one. The room was let's say ok..the bed cloth was that old it was already dissolving. But the worst were the toilets, the one's on the first floor were really really dirty. We thought the one's on the second floor might be better but they were NOT...

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^ Buy the way ,sorry for the inconvenience caused you,maybe the mistakes of our work,We will try to improve,Thx~

80%

Apart from the room being a bitt too cold, everything else were great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

97%

Security- OK. Location- Near a major shopping street Staff- OK. Atmosphere- OK. Cleanliness- OK Value For Money- OK. Facilities- OK. Overall- I spend four days there without much to complain about.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

46%

This place has a good location close to the bund. If you are just going to a party at night, it is a good location. We just stayed here for a short stop before heading to another city and did not really like it here. I have stayed at way better hostels in Shanghai than this one.


86%

The location is fantastic - a few minutes walk from the Bund in one direction, and from a metro station in the other. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly - when I arrived I had lots of questions about different places I was thinking of visiting, and they spent a long time giving me advice and information. As for the accommodation, I stayed in a four-bed dorm, and it was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

86%

Convenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

91%

good location, near popular streets, but not too close.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again

91%

Had a great time at this hostel. This is our 4th time to stay here and we would stay again. They managed to change our booking even though it was busy for the Chinese New Year. Great location, friendly staff, nice room, what more could you want? Thanks again! xx

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again

74%

Good: Clean. Free drinking water. Helpful staff. Friendly atmosphere. Good location next to Bund and Nanjing East Rd. Bad: Bed cushion is TOO SOFT to support the body, feel collapsed. Dorm without window is too dark and stuffy. Weak wifi. No mobile signal in no-window dorm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hotel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again~

« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback