X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MPS Noorderzon Reviews

Postbus 273, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
810 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Was a wonderful experience in the heart of Amsterdam. The owner of the boat with a dutch name I cant remember (she says its common to forget ;) ) was very nice and gave us many suggestions that we could fit in our short schedule in Amsterdam. They all were great suggestions and spot on as to the goings on in the city. Room was small as expected on a boat, but comfortable and the bathroom facilities worked perfectly. Thank you!!

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Wij hadden 1 nacht geboekt in de mps noorderzon. Wij hebben heerlijk geslapen en de eigenaars zijn heel gastvrij. Voor een volgend verblijf boeken wij zeker weer de mps noorderzon. De locatie is top 2 minuten lopen van centraal station. Dus lekker kortbij het centrum van Amsterdam. Parkeergelegenheid ligt op 4 minuten lopen van de mps noorderzon en ook nog betaalbaar. Ons verblijf was super. Onze complimenten aan de mps noorderzon.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I stayed one night on the Noorderzon during a stopover on the way back to Canada from Kenya. It was a tremendous place to stay. The boat access was very secure and I was confident in leaving my belongings in my room. It was also a quiet, clean place to sleep. It's not a party place, but you can easily walk to nearby pubs and bass in Amsterdam, and then walk back for a good rest. The quarters are small but it's a boat and that's to be expected. Overall very good.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The room was a bit small,but everything was clean and the atmosphere is great. 10 minutes from the central station, and the hosts offer tea and coffee for free. great stay.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff reallt excellent !

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great experience! Staff polite but could be more friendly and helpful.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, tidy and quiet hostel, free coffee and tea. Rooms were compact and neat, had all you need. We certainly recommend to stay here.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good location, 15minutes walk from most attractions. Staff were very helpful and informative. A microwave would have been handy for customer use. The rooms get really hot which is expected on a boat but a small desk fan should be put in every room for those hot nights. Otherwise it was a great place to stay and we would definitely come back.


89%

Great place to stay if you're mostly looking for a place to sleep at night. Very convenient location. We enjoyed the novelty of sleeping in a boat.


91%

The hosts were friendly and helpful! Free Wi-Fi, good location (you dont need a bike to go to the city). The room was clean. we would stay there again


86%

Very helpful hosts, giving useful information about Amsterdam and where best to visit. We ate at two recommended restaurants and both were extremely good. Clean, well maintained accommodation.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very helpful and friendly staff. Extremely clean facilities and a lovely atmosphere. A short walk to the city centre. Highly recommended.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

A very nice houseboat in a good location for a great price. The owners do not tolerate excessive partying so if you're headed to Amsterdam for this reason I recommend staying elsewhere. The quarters were fairly small, which is to be expected on a houseboat, but very nice and clean. There is no air conditioning so if you cannot sleep in hot weather, another location would be recommended during the summer.


91%

WiFi not present but will be incoming


100%

Very friendly


69%

The room was really small. Only one person can change clothes each time. But it was clean and bed was good. It may be hot during the night because there are 2 small windows. The location is fine, 10-15 min walking to train station.


94%

A thoroughly enjoyable and quirky venue within easy reach of the centre of Amsterdam

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice accommodation with comfortable, clean rooms and excellent facilities. The owner was extremely friendly and went out of his way to help his guests, giving us several great suggestions for sights to see and places to eat without us even asking. The view of the city from the boat is fantastic and is in a great location in walking distance from the city centre and Centraal Station. Next time I go back to Amsterdam I would certainly consider staying at the MPS Noorderzlon again!

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a lovely stay on the boat. The owner as lovely and very helpful showing as places to go and things to do on the map on arrival. It was a nice, quiet, secure place to stay that was a comfortable walk to the train station and city centre and was a bit different to your typical hotel or hostel room - would definitely recommend. It is a boat with steep steps and small cabins so be realistic with what to expect.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Worst night ever in a hostel (been to 20 so far). The room was freakingly hot and had no windows and no AC either. Couldn't open the port as it was big and opened directly to the street with no security. Expect an utterly small room, 3 of us couldn't stand at the same time in the 4-bed one. Expensive place and charges 2.5% more if you pay with card. Owner couldn't give tourist information and was very rude. No wifi, breakfast or kitchen. Location OK. Long story short, bad value for money.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Amsterdam Hotels

Please give us your feedback