X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MPS Noorderzon Reviews

Postbus 273, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
988 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very nice location, very clean, and the staff is very very good. Just a little bit noisy inside when the other room move or take a shower...

  • 12th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Super cozy! The layout of the rooms were well-designed and very welcoming. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Woman who ran the place was very helpful. Wifi here was close to non-existent made me totally turned off from the place considering I'm abroad and need to stay in contact with my family. It's on a boat so quarters are close together and small. Good location but can be kind of sketchy to walk alone at night.


83%

Very well located and the experience to stay in a boat was really good. The fact that there is no unlimited free wifi is the bad part about staying there.


77%

Quiet place, the room is small of course but enough to spend e few nights if not looking for luxury. The location was ok, but we had to walk like 20 minutes carring our stuff..


97%

We booked this room in because of its unique factor - its a boat! absolutely loved it, and everything was great while we were there. The staff were incredibly nice and friendly, and the room was cosy but had everything we needed. As well, you can't beat the location! Thanks for making our stay in Amsterdam a great one, we definitely recommend this


100%

everything about our stay was great!... Ursula is the best! very helpful and funny. Was the first time sleeping on a boat, and i really recommend the experience. Very quiet at night and sooo peaceful at the mornings while u sit on the main room for to drink a coffee watching the beautiful view over the canal. Helped is located very close to the center of Amsterdam also. U can reach almost everywhere by walking! lovely place.. coming back for sure :)


94%

The manager was very helpful and the atmosphere very friendly and cosy. However, I found it hard to sleep on Saturday night due to the noise onboard.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Although free Wifi was claimed, even paying for the 'hotspot' did not yield consistent Internet... but this is a minor blip in an otherwise excellent stay. The room was relatively spacious, well-kept, included a private bathroom and was as quiet as can be, save my next-door neighbours who decided to have a chat at 3am... One of the best 'boat-stels' I've stayed on, thus far!


83%

Really enjoyed the few days we stayed here! great location and also the added bonus of staying on a converted barge which in itself is pretty awesome! Not alot of space but perfect if you just need a base to sleep at for going around Amsterdam city centre, which is only 10/15 minute walk.

  • 26th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

-ve: 1. The boat was not as near as the central station as descripted a minimum of 20min walk must required.  2. It is not recommended for those with big baggages the very narrow ramp to get on the boat and the extremely steep stairs causes a great hesitation for us when we arrived the boat.  3. The lock of the toilet was disorder, I was locked inside the toilet without anyone in the room for half hour until my friends come back to the room. Suffocation and dizzy was

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

When we checked in, our room wasnt cleaned up but they didnt know. Anyway the lady fixed it for us quickly so it was all good. My stay was generally satisfying, the lady was very helpful and friendly.

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place in great area, it's a boat, so the main problem could be the humidity

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

First of all, this is a boat so expect extremely small cabin rooms. We had a pleasant stay here and the twin room made a welcome change to the mixed dorms we had shared throughout our travels. As such we got a great night sleep each night which was for us the most important thing. The boat owners are extremely friendly and helpful and the boat is in a great location. Don't expect too many facilities or huge amounts of space, but it was a fun experience and I would recommend this place.


97%

Felt at home right away. Ursula was a welcoming host. Very cozy. Location was close to the main square. Sleeping on a boat was quite awesome. Only negatives were that the water pressure changed in the shower (but its a boat so I expected as much) the wifi was only valid for two hours which wasn't that great. Fantastic value for the money for Amsterdam.

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Kitchen area (where the fridge is, and tables) is closed off early, so if you put food into the fridge your not going to it until the morning. The kitchen is limited it supplies (cutting board, utencils, etc). This place is good if you are on a budget and strictly looking for a place to sleep.


89%

Really lovely hostel only 10 minutes from the central station and the centre of town. Hostel was clean and well presented and the rooms were a good size for being on a boat! The manager Ursula was very welcoming and helpful giving us maps and directions to whatever you wanted to see, as well as great restaurant recommendations. Only downside was the limit in internet use, 50MB isn't a huge amount and even for checking emails soon ran out. Despite that I would definitely stay again!


100%

Great experience staying on a boat we had loads of fun!


100%

We had a lovely time here and part of that was definitely because of the staff. The owner is a very warm person who will try her best to make you feel comfortable. The atmosphere itself was great and the location perfect. It's close to the city centre but far enough to have a proper rest at night. The room was clean, shower excellent and we will definitely come back one day.

  • 9th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I liked this place a lot. It's very close to the party areas, but it's very quiet at night. Staff is very helpful. It's pricier than traditional hostels though, and you will likely not meet people while here.


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Amsterdam Hotels

Please give us your feedback