X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MPS Noorderzon Reviews

Postbus 273, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
839 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Perfect location - about a 15 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal and very easy to find. The boat has a homey feel and the rooms are just the right size. Plus, we needed to print a ticket that we left at home and the hostess let us use her printer.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really original, I enjoyed sleeping on a boat! The personnal is welcoming and kindly giving you advices on what to do if you ask. The location is good, 10min of walking from train station and close to the city center (10-15min) but still in a quiet place. The room was of course not big (we are on a boat!) but it was clean and with a bit of organization it s ok. I appreciated the free coffe/tea.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A tiny but nice and well equipped room. Since the weather was terrible we really appreciated good heating system. Both the room and bathroom were very clean. Negative: noisy fan that switches on around 8 AM. I think 9 AM would be more welcomed by visitors.


66%

Check in is not available throughout the whole day although they pretend they are.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Not a good place

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Overall: I really enjoyed our stay at the Norderzoon. Positive: The owners were absolutely lovely and welcoming Location is great Negative: Fan in the bathroom has central switch on the boat which is turned on early in the morning and is quite noisy. Access with luggage is difficult, as narrow gangway onto the ship and extremely steep stairs to the rooms. Tiny cabins with little space for luggage (ours was ok, as there was an extra bed) Quite expensive - but probably normal for Amsterdam.


91%

a really lovely place - would like to stay there Again NeXT time i am in Amsterdam

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very warm welcome. Rooms are small but clean and complete. Boat is as expected somewhat noisy

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The boat is nice, well kept and the rooms, small as expected from a boat, are clean and comfortable enough. The staff is ready and helpful and very clear about the boat's rules. We were in 5, me and my girlfriend slept extremely well, but the other three had more "noisy" neighbours, so ended up sleeping a bit less well, but I guess that's as much as can be expected in Amsterdam. The position is very good even if it is not "central", but it is extremely convenient to/from the train station.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A great little place to stay if you are after something a bit different to a regular hostel! The bedrooms and ensuites are small, but have enough space for all the necessities. Great shower pressure and awesome heating in the rooms! We had a great night staying here, and the staff were very friendly. It is about a 10-15minute walk from the Red Light District, and about 20mins from Jordaan but with the walk you see some very beautiful parts of Amsterdam!


89%

The boat has everything you need to have a nice stay in Amsterdam! It's close to the centraal station and you can go by walking to the center. The staff is nice and everything is clean, they don't offer breakfast but you can bring your own food and eat it in the loung! The rooms aren't big but they are comfortable and they were clean, so it's not a problem.


97%

Was a wonderful experience in the heart of Amsterdam. The owner of the boat with a dutch name I cant remember (she says its common to forget ;) ) was very nice and gave us many suggestions that we could fit in our short schedule in Amsterdam. They all were great suggestions and spot on as to the goings on in the city. Room was small as expected on a boat, but comfortable and the bathroom facilities worked perfectly. Thank you!!

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you for the warm welcome and the kind attentions !

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Wij hadden 1 nacht geboekt in de mps noorderzon. Wij hebben heerlijk geslapen en de eigenaars zijn heel gastvrij. Voor een volgend verblijf boeken wij zeker weer de mps noorderzon. De locatie is top 2 minuten lopen van centraal station. Dus lekker kortbij het centrum van Amsterdam. Parkeergelegenheid ligt op 4 minuten lopen van de mps noorderzon en ook nog betaalbaar. Ons verblijf was super. Onze complimenten aan de mps noorderzon.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I stayed one night on the Noorderzon during a stopover on the way back to Canada from Kenya. It was a tremendous place to stay. The boat access was very secure and I was confident in leaving my belongings in my room. It was also a quiet, clean place to sleep. It's not a party place, but you can easily walk to nearby pubs and bass in Amsterdam, and then walk back for a good rest. The quarters are small but it's a boat and that's to be expected. Overall very good.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The room was a bit small,but everything was clean and the atmosphere is great. 10 minutes from the central station, and the hosts offer tea and coffee for free. great stay.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff reallt excellent !

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great experience! Staff polite but could be more friendly and helpful.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, tidy and quiet hostel, free coffee and tea. Rooms were compact and neat, had all you need. We certainly recommend to stay here.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all Amsterdam Hotels

Please give us your feedback