Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2059 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2059 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jun 2017
10.0

Perfect location, nice and clean, and the staff were very welcoming and helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
8.6

Did the job.for a short stay as was gone early morning and back late night. Friendly staff bar one. bed and pillow a bit on hard side. But i would be happy to stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
9.7

The place is very clean and organised, staff is very friendly. The only thing I think they should change is to not keep the kitchen closed from 11:00PM to 08:00AM.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your kind words. The kitchen is closed from 11 pm to 8 am for safety reasons but if anybody would like to use the kitchen between those times they can ask at reception and we are happy to do that. Happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jun 2017
8.9

Very happy with the convenient location and room facilities were adequate. The bathroom was good enough, overall generally happy with this accommodation

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th May 2017
10.0

Loved this hostel! Staff were amazing and I instantly felt like I was at home. Great location and fell in love with Kilkenny! Chill at the Hole in the Wall when you are there :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th May 2017
10.0

Great, fantastic, stupendous hostel! Simple, but tasty free breakfast. Good placement of power outlets (and there were lots of them). Very neat common room and communal kitchen! All of the staff there were absolutely terrific, and I enjoyed talking with each of them. Hostel was just a short walk away from the city center and the main attractions; it was especially close to St. Canice's Cathedral (2 min. walk). I enjoyed my stay immensely; it was very comfortable, and I wish I had stayed longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
4.3

Everything seemed to be an issue and was treated very immaturely. Was informed about the zero alcohol tolerance on versions occassions before we checked it! The rooms are gross. Underneath our bed was a paint can and the rollers used to paint the room. I could see and touch the instillation for the walls. Not to meantion the slaps of paint on the wall to cover up dirty. The fire exit was in our room which was opened by a light touch on the door. I will never recommend staying in this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to see your group were so unhappy with our backpacker's hostel. We are not a party hosted and had to ask your group a few times not to be drinking and playing loud music in your bedrooms. Happy travels Macgabhainn​s crew

  • ame_chap
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th May 2017
6.3

Met some nice people, but the place wasn't really nice. The rooms were small but overall okay. The bathrooms were awfull: because the floor was always wet so I guess that's why it was warp. If I had known I would have stayed somewhere else or only one night (I stayed there for 3 nights).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
10.0

Absolutely awesome hostel. Best one I've been to so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th May 2017
9.1

Great location! Only complaint was there was no cooker and microwave was out of order but there's lots of places a short walk away to get food :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.