X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel Reviews

24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1325 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Everything was fine! Thanks a lot! :)


86%

Really good place - no complaints except couldn't catch wifi in my room


89%

It was the best time there :) the people are so nice and lovely :) stay like this ! The atmosphere and the rooms were comfortable :) Thumbs up!!! :D

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Sweet spot. Right near cathedral and 2mins to best pubs! Great little hostel, friendly staff, clean kitchen, good beds! Would definitely recommend, had a great time!

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The grungy edge is completely forgivable for the amazing atmosphere that this place has.


89%

The atmosphere was very friendly, with a diverse and outgoing clientele

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

very good budget hostel staff very good sharp ,conscientious and friendly and very attentive to make stay safe efficient and comfortable was very impressed especially with Fergus and his ability to monitor and make sure all guests are comfortable safe but also making sure everyone is obeying rules of hostel and keeping noise controlled well done to Fergus and all staff keep up good work .I am sure this hostel will expand in future with new road coming by it soon which will make it even more popu


86%

Very nice hostel. Located in a perfect location. Staff was very helpful in suggestions and answering questions.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Macgabhainns was fantastic! I really enjoyed my stay there. The facilities were cozy and comfortable and the location in a convenient but not particularly busy area. All in all wonderful.


91%

We stayed here with 5 persons for 1 night and the hostel was realy nice! Though it is a smaller hostel the rooms and bathroom en suite are spacious. The staff was realy friendly and it's nice when you see how dedicated this people do their job and try to give you a pleasant stay, and it was a pleasant stay. Wish we could have stayed longer then one night :)


89%

Felt like going home in an evening, staff were so friendly and was such a small hostel it was very refreshing


91%

Staff was very helpful. They had good suggestions for dining and drinks. Also gave good driving directions to Kell's Priory.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff are super friendly! Loved staying there, rooms were clean and there is a kitchen and common area. Careful if you are driving though there isn't much parking - we got a ticket! (that's not a criticism the hostel just something to keep in mind!)


80%

The staff was excellent and took time to show us around the hostel instead of just giving us the information straight. The atmosphere they had set up really allowed for mingling with other travellers and meeting new people. Great location in Kilkenny, only 2 minutes from center of the town.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

This little hostel is very nice, ideally located near the center but not noisy. There is a little terrace and a big kitchen. We met a lot of people. The staff were very friendly !


97%

Best hostel in Kilkenny! The rooms are very nice and very clean, and there are free to use lockers in there for your valuables. The staff is also great and very helpful, eager to help with anything. The only comment would be that the internet connection is not very good, but as soon as you ask for help with this it is taken care of :)


86%

Super nice staff

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

This was overall a good hostel, if a little tired and worn down. Our main complaint was that the bunk beds in our triple room were SO SQUEAKY. Anytime someone moved the rest of the room was awake. It made for a long and sleepless night. However the staff was friendly and very accommodating in allowing me to use their phone and computer when trying to locate my lost luggage.


80%

pretty good place... just a bit far from the center. But is a good option if you have a car.


100%

Hostel was very clean and in a great location. It was very nice having free breakfast and tea too! The only negative aspect was the internet was slow at times.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all Kilkenny Hostels

Please give us your feedback