Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,874 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,874 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel Located at 24 Vicar Street, , Kilkenny.
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
Ireland
Kilkenny 24 Vicar Street
86% 1874
52.6567844 -7.2560405
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
9.1

I really loved this hostel it was very nice and homly staff were very nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • olgacoxcameron2189
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Aug 2016
10.0

Lovely place.Comfortable and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 70 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.6

Very nice hostel; I have stayed here before. I was in Kilkenny for a gig. Comfortable place to stay. Beds bigger than average; basic breakfast included. Bedroom was too warm at night but I always find that everywhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
6.3

A fine place to stay and you get what you pay for. Just an old building and not much atmosphere, staff were nice enough and it was clean. Beds not great but we only stayed a night so no big drama there. The free breakfast was only cereals like cornflakes and porridge but again, I wasn't expecting a fry up. Average abd definitely was just a place to stay the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
7.7

This was the first hostle I ever stayed at which locked all the common areas at 11:00 p.m. Or midnight. The staff was friendly and nice, but the hostle itself was less than comforting. There was zero intermingling amongst guests which was a first for me. The beds and street are extremely noisy. Children are allowed so expect to be sharing the space with families. The location and price are it's best selling point.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
9.1

Nice small hostel close to attractions in Kilkenny. Ray was very friendly and helpful. They don't have lockers for everyone in the room though FYI so be careful. Clean cheap place, good for passing through the town. Check out the games in the common room they're quite unique.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
7.1

Small but nice hostel, close to city center, friendly and helpful stuff. Breakfast was normal, toast and cereals, beds (at least the upper ones in one room) were uncomfortable, not the usual hostel beds, shower was a little bit moldy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
8.3

The hostel is quite centrally located and very clean. My only gripe is that my room didn't have a window, leading to stuffy air, and perhaps three bathrooms for the whole floor are not enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • arwynroberts13696
  • Wales, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
29th Jul 2016
6.0

Not the best hostel I've seen but in a convenient location close to town centre. Insects were a problem in our room and although we were only there for a night, we didn't get much sleep because of lingering flies. Shower and toilet was so small you could hardly swing a sock in there neber mind a cat! Staff very friendly and helpful. If you're arriving by car, expect to have difficulty finding a carpark close to the hostel. Wifi wasn't working in our room. An OK hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review our backpackers hostel, Our rooms are cleaned thoroughly each day but as it is summer time you may have a insect flying around if you had to ask a member of staff we would of gladly opened a window an let the fly free??. Our bathrooms are standard size with plenty of space to swing a normal size sock???. There is ample parking beside the hostel €2 per day. Happy travels MacGabhainns crew

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
10.0

Really great value! Would stay here again. Fergus at the front was awesome :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.