Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2039 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2039 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
4.3

Everything seemed to be an issue and was treated very immaturely. Was informed about the zero alcohol tolerance on versions occassions before we checked it! The rooms are gross. Underneath our bed was a paint can and the rollers used to paint the room. I could see and touch the instillation for the walls. Not to meantion the slaps of paint on the wall to cover up dirty. The fire exit was in our room which was opened by a light touch on the door. I will never recommend staying in this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
10.0

Absolutely awesome hostel. Best one I've been to so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th May 2017
9.1

Great location! Only complaint was there was no cooker and microwave was out of order but there's lots of places a short walk away to get food :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
9.7

Great location, friendly staff, and an abundance of power outlets!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
8.9

Really cute little hostel. It was very quiet when I stayed, but I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
28th Apr 2017
8.6

Great little hostel in the gorgeous town of Kilkenny. Fergus was very friendly and welcoming. Good wifi and great security. Bathrooms basic and don't have soap/hand towels/bin/bath mat, which could be improved on. Kitchen also basic but has main necessities as well as simple free breakfast. Overall would highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.3

Really friendly staff in a good location, really enjoyed my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
9.1

Friendly staff, nice common rooms! Maybe lacking a bit of storage room in the dorms, and the timer on the showers are a bit annoying. Other than that, superb!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Apr 2017
9.1

Cracking hostel just on the edge of the centre. Breakfast was a welcome addition.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.7

I really liked my stay at Macgabhainns at it is pretty close to the city center and the atmosphere in the hostel was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.