Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2000 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2000 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.7

I really liked my stay at Macgabhainns at it is pretty close to the city center and the atmosphere in the hostel was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Went down for St. Paddys weekend couldn't give the place high enough rating. Fergus and the rest of the staff were great to us over our stay. Along with its location and great atmosphere its the perfect spot to take in Kilkenny!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Mar 2017
8.3

I stayed in this hostel over the weekend with 5 friends. The location is perfect. It's about a 10 min walk, so not to far away. But you can also enjoy your night's sleep. We were greeted very nicely on arrival. The facilities were small, but good. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Mar 2017
5.1

Bed was very poor with the mattress in bad condition, showers either didn't work or didn't have warm water, kind of a dingy place. Also, a private double room was just a double bed slotted in at the base of a bunk bed. This hostel is fine if you get a bed for 10euro; we paid 50. Definitely not worth that.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Very sorry and surprised to read your review of our hostel. You seemed happy during your stay and didn't inform us of any issues you may of had. When we were giving you directions to Dunmore Caves on check out you thanked us for everything?. Beds are all resentlly upgraded and our showers are working perfectly. Happy travels macgabhainns crew

  • hopewallen
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Feb 2017
10.0

This hostel is amazing! Kilkenny is the sweetest city and the people here are very welcoming and nice. I wish I could have stayed longer :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Feb 2017
7.4

It was good and easy to get to. Parked on the street and because it was the weekend didn't have to pay. There was no light breakfast as mentioned on the booking but otherwise it was clean and the staff were friendly. Booked it last minute so was lucky to find somewhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us while in Kilkenny. Free breakfast is available every morning self service, sorry you missed out. Happy travels macgabhainns crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Feb 2017
9.1

Fergus is an extremely friendly and amazing host. We booked two single beds in a dorm and on arrival Fergus upgraded our room for the same price to a double room when he found we were a couple. He also recommended a really cool pub with live music which was only 5 mins walk away. The hostel is in a great location, walking distance from the main strip of shops and pubs/bars. Nice big kitchen area, a chill out room with a fire and some really good showers. What a hostel should be!! Recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

Brilliant staff ..really friendly enjoyed my stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.4

Nice hostel close to the main sites. Friendly and helpful staff. Great kitchen. Average bed and bathroom. Everything clean. Good communal areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
8.0

The hostel was fine. Had no problems with the staff or the facilities and most of the other guests were friendly. The only problem I had was on the Thursday night to Friday morning. I was kept awake all night by one of the other guests who shook the bed violently all night long. I didn't get a wink of sleep. I protested with the man the following morning and his apology was insincere. I was exhausted for the whole of the following day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.