Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel Located at 24 Vicar Street, , Kilkenny.
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
Ireland
Kilkenny 24 Vicar Street
87% 1821
52.6567844 -7.2560405
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.3

It's a small hostel but cozy and friendly. The bathroom in the ground floor dorm does have quite a lot of mold as the ventilation is nearly non existent. The garden outside is a great place to chat with others staying at the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Jul 2016
7.7

Really friendly staff. Facilities were good, had everything you needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jul 2016
9.4

Very nice hostel! The rooms were small but it wasn't a problem. Kilkenny's town center was within walking distance and the hostel owner gave us some nice tips about where to get the best fish & chips.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
9.1

Great location and friendly staff. Just what we needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2016
7.4

Older hostel in Killkenny. At first the hostes was very nice but apparantly some bookings were messed up and you just hear him yelling into the phone. There really wasn't much vibe in the place. Nice place to sleep and then move down the road.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

Stay here every year with a big group, always look forward to it, great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
9.4

Very welcoming and comfortable. Had to walk across town to get to though it did not take long at all. Even though there were only a few security lockers the security of the main door and room doors made me feel comfortable leaving my things in the room for the two days I was there. Staff was very warm and helpful when I planned my trip to Dunmore caves and even suggested other things to do in the area. Highly recommend if you are going to be staying in Kilkenny.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Jun 2016
8.3

Nice little hostel in Kilkenny! Friendly staff and Clean rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
10.0

Most adorable and friendly little hostel I've been to in a while. Has everything you need and more, it fits the small and peaceful town of Kilkenny perfectly. The staff were great and helpful and a delight to talk to! :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
10.0

I had a wonderful stay. The hostel is a cozy establishment just outside the medieval mile. From from the start the staff is friendly and helpful. Comfy rooms with electric plugs by bed and comfy beds. Kitchen is fully equipped and they always have free tea and biscuits on hand. Living room area was cozy old school and a great spot to just hang out. There was a review that said the hostel needed to be updates. I disagree I think part of its charm like the rest of the town is that it's old school.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.