Hostelworld.com

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,800 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,800 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel Located at 24 Vicar Street, , Kilkenny.
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
Ireland
Kilkenny 24 Vicar Street
86% 1800
52.6567844 -7.2560405
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2016
9.4

Very welcoming and comfortable. Had to walk across town to get to though it did not take long at all. Even though there were only a few security lockers the security of the main door and room doors made me feel comfortable leaving my things in the room for the two days I was there. Staff was very warm and helpful when I planned my trip to Dunmore caves and even suggested other things to do in the area. Highly recommend if you are going to be staying in Kilkenny.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Jun 2016
8.3

Nice little hostel in Kilkenny! Friendly staff and Clean rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
10.0

Most adorable and friendly little hostel I've been to in a while. Has everything you need and more, it fits the small and peaceful town of Kilkenny perfectly. The staff were great and helpful and a delight to talk to! :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
10.0

I had a wonderful stay. The hostel is a cozy establishment just outside the medieval mile. From from the start the staff is friendly and helpful. Comfy rooms with electric plugs by bed and comfy beds. Kitchen is fully equipped and they always have free tea and biscuits on hand. Living room area was cozy old school and a great spot to just hang out. There was a review that said the hostel needed to be updates. I disagree I think part of its charm like the rest of the town is that it's old school.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jun 2016
9.4

Great location, a mere 5' stroll into the hustle & bustle of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
9.7

Lovely, lovely place. Very homey and such great, down-to-earth & welcoming staff. Felt like a real "home away from home"! Would definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
9.1

Friendly small hostel, just around the corner from the main party areas of Kilkenny. (the whole of central Kilkenny is party area, really) Didn't check the breakfast, or if there was any as I was craving a full Irish after a night of partying. I will stay here again when I come back to Kilkenny. Only point of criticism: the directions from the rail station to the hostel send you the long way around, rather than through the main street (but not too much, to be honest)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th May 2016
9.7

Had a great stay here! Met a bunch of people travelling through, and had a great night out with them and the staff! My only negative comment is our bunkbeds were a bit dodgy structurally, but the mattress was great so I still slept well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
9.1

This is a cute little hostel in a cute little town. The staff is pretty nice and when the boss is working, he brings in his daughter, Robin, and his 2 dogs. They provide free breakfast and they have a good sized kitchen. The town is pretty small and we easily explored all of it in a day. There are a lot of near by pubs, restaurants, and a grocery store. The internet was okay but for some reason it would not work on my phone (Samsung Galaxy s6) and sometimes worked on my boyfriend's phone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • butsybutler9644
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
19th May 2016
9.1

Pleasant hostel close to the center and with nice polite and friendly staff:) wifi was good and so was the kitchen:)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.