Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,950 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,950 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel Located at 24 Vicar Street, , Kilkenny.
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
Ireland
Kilkenny 24 Vicar Street
86% 1950
52.6567844 -7.2560405
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Nov 2016
8.0

Quiet and clean hostel, good location. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was really cold in the kitchen and in the room during the evening, also the shower was cold.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, glad your were happy with how clean and quite our hostel is, Your right it was dam cold when you were here -6 Decrees outside that week. The shower in your room was electric, you have to turn the switch on for hot water. Happy travels MacGabhainns crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Nov 2016
10.0

Staff very friendly and very helpful. Had a good stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pinkdresses
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Nov 2016
6.9

I really wish they took the time to inform backpackers that the main road to the hostel was closed and offered an alternative route to the hostel on their website or on HostelWorld. It created a large problem when attempting to drive to the hostel, locate it, and find parking. The building was dated with minimal lighting, the overhead light barely lit the private room we stayed in. The window did not seal shut so we heard cars and drunks running up the alley by our window all night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We sent every booking for 14th thru 19th Nov 2016, to tell our guests about road works going on that week on Vicar st, You didn't receive an email because you were a last minute booking about 2hrs before arrival, sorry you weren't informed. Happy travels MacGabhainns crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
9th Nov 2016
10.0

Great location, close to shops, pubs and sights. Staff were welcoming on arrival and took the time to explain and go through the hostel. They offered tips on places to eat and where to see live Irish music on in the area. Bathrooms were always clean, rooms tidy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
9.4

Excellent place,worn,clean and very pleasant staff. Near city amenities,good pub's and all best about people that work there. If you think of visit Kilkenny stay at macghabians

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
5.7

No secure lockers inside the room which I was sharing. No curtains, lots of light entering into the room in the morning. Sink taps were broken with extremely small sinks and bathrooms went the cleanest eg cobwebs on windows.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We have push button taps on our sinks and security lockers under all our beds, it's funny you missed them and found a cobweb or two in the window😁. Happy travels macgabhainns crew.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2016
9.7

Brilliant! The staff are so friendly and give you maps, ideas about where to visit, and let you know the best venues for live music. My one night here turned into three!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
7.7

The location was very good, close to the medieval Line and everything at a good walking distance. The staff was very helpfull and nice with good advice. But on the negative side, there were no security lockers in the room and there were only 2 showers for the whole floor, which was too few. Also, the showers reaked humidity and there was no hot water.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2016
10.0

Very small place, makes you feel like you're at someone's home. The staff is extremely friendly and would help you woth anything you need. The kitchen was a very nice place to sit with other people and have meals to together. I came to Ireland alone, and so far this was my favorite place out of 3 hostels I've been to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.1

Great friendly, accommodating staff, especially Fergus! Great guy to have as front man.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.