Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
10.0

Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
9.4

The location was great! The hostel was clean and breakfast was provided, nothing fancy but adequate. Use of the kitchen was provided and available all day long. The hostel had a nice back porch. Fergus and the staff were wonderful, very kind and gladly provided a map with an introduction to the city upon arrival. Thanks for the nice stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
6th Aug 2017
9.4

We only stayed one night, arriving late and leaving early, but suited our needs. Helpful staff, great location, comfy beds Only drawback was breakfast was rammed (not their fault, as everyone was leaving at the same time)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
10.0

Great little hostel for a night away, really friendly staff and very clean. Great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Aug 2017
5.7

Kitchen didn't have basics for "included" breakfast which is already minimal. Living room is terrible and stuff piled everywhere and not very tidy. The building smells so musky and almost moldy. Bathroom lights wouldn't stay even stay on and showers were tiny and didn't use them!! Staff wasn't very friendly and had a crazy curfew like we were 16, ridiculous!! Location is pretty good and close to pubs and shopping. Unfortunately I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to others.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We close the kitchen and living room at 12 midnight for safety and noise. You were very unhappy about this and decided to slate us. Happy travel MacGabhainns crew

25th Jul 2017
9.4

A great location and staff was very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2017
7.4

Cosy friendly hostel. A little bit difficult to park, and no access to the kitchen nor common spaces before 8am was pretty inconvenient - (especially when needing to move the car/pay the meter by 9am).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jul 2017
10.0

The best place to be in Kilkenny. The staffs are amazing , so sweet and we are pleased to were there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
8.6

Such a lovely hostel. The staff are extremely nice and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
7.4

Great little spot for the money. Misleading about "locker storage." Stayed in room 1 and the locker was big enough for my shoes and small purse, definitely not enough for my backpack. The host was incredibly accommodating and showed me all of the facilities and how to operate lock codes before I left. He also gave me lovely recommendations about local pubs for live music. Kilkenny is a delightful town, small so one night was plenty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.