Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,968 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,968 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel Located at 24 Vicar Street, , Kilkenny.
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
Ireland
Kilkenny 24 Vicar Street
85% 1968
52.6567844 -7.2560405
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.4

Had a great time. I really like Kilkenny. Was my second trip to this hostel in 8 months and it was great to see Fergus again. His local knowledge and tips made the trip that much better and was great chatting to him on his own travel experiences. 10/10. Highly recommend a stay. Rooms, showers and security was fine and the wifi was good. The common room provided a good end to the day with a fire and the kitchen facilities were also good. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
7.1

Location is close to the center and conveniently behind one of the main attractions in Kilkenny. Rooms and beds seems clean. Bathrooms and toilets were shorthanded only 2 showers for an entire floor which was hard to get in without either of them being busy. Bunk beds were super squeaky to the point were in was uncomfortable to move at night without making too much noise. Also the entire hostel was abruptly awoken at 5 AM by a false fire alarm which the staff need not know how to handle.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for reviewing our backpackers. We have 7 rooms in total 5 are Ensuite and 2 rooms share the communal bathrooms. We have new beds on order, so no more squeaking in MacGabhainns. With regards the alarm we had it sorted in less than 10 mins. Happy travels MacGabhainns crew

2nd Jan 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved this hostel! It's quite small bc it's in an adapted house but this was perfect for me. It felt so homey and I instantly felt comfortable there. It's just around the corner from St Canices, which is beautiful, and easily walkable everywhere else--Kilkenny isn't exactly huge! But oh man is it charming! And the staff were all lovely. This was the first hostel I was ever sad to leave. Would definitely recommend and come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
9.4

Macgabhainns was a great little place, situated right around the corner from the High Street of Kilkenny. Staff were excellent especially Fergus, who was really helpful and informative about the hostel and Kilkenny. The place was spotless and cosy! There were no lockers for personnel belongings which wasn't great and also the common rooms closed too early in my opinion at 11 or 12 at night. All that said, I would definitely recommend to a friend and I would for sure stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • WanderingCanadian1994
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
8.3

A good hostel in Kilkenny!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
9.7

Comfortable and friendly hostel. It was a bit chilly but otherwise great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Nov 2016
8.0

Quiet and clean hostel, good location. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was really cold in the kitchen and in the room during the evening, also the shower was cold.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, glad your were happy with how clean and quite our hostel is, Your right it was dam cold when you were here -6 Decrees outside that week. The shower in your room was electric, you have to turn the switch on for hot water. Happy travels MacGabhainns crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Nov 2016
10.0

Staff very friendly and very helpful. Had a good stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pinkdresses
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Nov 2016
6.9

I really wish they took the time to inform backpackers that the main road to the hostel was closed and offered an alternative route to the hostel on their website or on HostelWorld. It created a large problem when attempting to drive to the hostel, locate it, and find parking. The building was dated with minimal lighting, the overhead light barely lit the private room we stayed in. The window did not seal shut so we heard cars and drunks running up the alley by our window all night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We sent every booking for 14th thru 19th Nov 2016, to tell our guests about road works going on that week on Vicar st, You didn't receive an email because you were a last minute booking about 2hrs before arrival, sorry you weren't informed. Happy travels MacGabhainns crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
9th Nov 2016
10.0

Great location, close to shops, pubs and sights. Staff were welcoming on arrival and took the time to explain and go through the hostel. They offered tips on places to eat and where to see live Irish music on in the area. Bathrooms were always clean, rooms tidy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.