X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel Reviews

24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1351 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I love this place! It is small and friendly but large enough to provide a diversity of guests, far enough away from the centre of town to be quiet but still close to everything you want to go to. Staff go out of their way to be helpful A home away from home!


83%

Spent a night in Kilkenny. Very convenient and close to everything. Its everything you expect from a hostel. Room was basic and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was simple. The building is a little dated, but still well kept.


91%

Great hostel, smaller and cozy with friendly staff. Would stay again and recommend


80%

Nice place for price.


94%

it's a cosy, cute little hostel! The stuff is very friendly and will help you with any question you've got in your mind. You'll feel like home in this hostel :) The breakfast is okay and in the big kitchen it's easy to make new friends. The living room is perfect for watching a film or reading a book to relax.


51%

We booked a room for 5 but only 4 could make it. We didn't mind paying for the extra bed as it was short notice but the guy running the place informed us that if someone did arrive during the night he would have to give them the bed. Even though this person would obviously be paying we wouldn't get a full refund on what we had paid. The hostel is very basic and could do with updating. We forgot the code to the door and he made us stay outside until we got it right!!! We were paying to stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us at our backpackers. You were offered an option of a refund of the price of the extra bed if the bed was sold. As it turned out the bed was not sold so you had a vacant bed in your room and we could not offer you a refund. We always insure that our guests can use the key codes to both front door and bedroom before finalizing check in. Sorry if this caused any inconvenience. Happy travels MacGabhainns

100%

Everything was fine! Thanks a lot! :)


86%

Really good place - no complaints except couldn't catch wifi in my room


89%

It was the best time there :) the people are so nice and lovely :) stay like this ! The atmosphere and the rooms were comfortable :) Thumbs up!!! :D

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel was great. Staff were very helpful! My partner and I felt very safe at all times. Internet is strong at all times everywhere. Facilities and clean and scrubbed daily. The hostel is just around the corner from a Spar and 10 minutes from the downtown centre.The only downside was the cool temperature/consistency of the showers, but that's probably because there were so many people using the showers during the day. :) I would return to Macghabbhain's, and Kilkenny, in a heartbeat!

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Sweet spot. Right near cathedral and 2mins to best pubs! Great little hostel, friendly staff, clean kitchen, good beds! Would definitely recommend, had a great time!

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The grungy edge is completely forgivable for the amazing atmosphere that this place has.


89%

The atmosphere was very friendly, with a diverse and outgoing clientele

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

very good budget hostel staff very good sharp ,conscientious and friendly and very attentive to make stay safe efficient and comfortable was very impressed especially with Fergus and his ability to monitor and make sure all guests are comfortable safe but also making sure everyone is obeying rules of hostel and keeping noise controlled well done to Fergus and all staff keep up good work .I am sure this hostel will expand in future with new road coming by it soon which will make it even more popu


86%

Very nice hostel. Located in a perfect location. Staff was very helpful in suggestions and answering questions.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Macgabhainns was fantastic! I really enjoyed my stay there. The facilities were cozy and comfortable and the location in a convenient but not particularly busy area. All in all wonderful.


91%

We stayed here with 5 persons for 1 night and the hostel was realy nice! Though it is a smaller hostel the rooms and bathroom en suite are spacious. The staff was realy friendly and it's nice when you see how dedicated this people do their job and try to give you a pleasant stay, and it was a pleasant stay. Wish we could have stayed longer then one night :)


89%

Felt like going home in an evening, staff were so friendly and was such a small hostel it was very refreshing


91%

Staff was very helpful. They had good suggestions for dining and drinks. Also gave good driving directions to Kell's Priory.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff are super friendly! Loved staying there, rooms were clean and there is a kitchen and common area. Careful if you are driving though there isn't much parking - we got a ticket! (that's not a criticism the hostel just something to keep in mind!)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all Kilkenny Hostels

Please give us your feedback