Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,911 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,911 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel Located at 24 Vicar Street, , Kilkenny.
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
Ireland
Kilkenny 24 Vicar Street
86% 1911
52.6567844 -7.2560405
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Sep 2016
10.0

Very small place, makes you feel like you're at someone's home. The staff is extremely friendly and would help you woth anything you need. The kitchen was a very nice place to sit with other people and have meals to together. I came to Ireland alone, and so far this was my favorite place out of 3 hostels I've been to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.1

Great friendly, accommodating staff, especially Fergus! Great guy to have as front man.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
8.0

very friendly- very helpful staff. easy location to get to and from. bathrooms could be cleaner but not bad. good price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
10.0

Hi Had a grand 5 nights @ hostel.clean beds+good showers.breakfasr was not much cop.only cereal+toast. No eggs,yogurt as I have had in other hostels. The hostel was a mile walk from station Regards Ken.p.jones.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
5th Sep 2016
6.6

Great location, parking nearby, close to sights/shops. Building dated. Bathrooms mouldy. Sheets threadbare. Decent cooking facilities. Pincode entry system for building and rooms. No lockers for valuables. Only two security safes for a room of four, bad luck if you miss out. The guy who checked me in was great, other staff were difficult to find and when you did they were indifferent/unhelpful. Cheap but not very cheerful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
9.7

This was one of my favorite hostels in Ireland. The atmosphere and interaction with other Backpackers was very family style. The staff felt like part of the international Vibe and I felt a good connection with everyone at the hostel. Great Value, cleanliness, location and pretty much everything else was really good. I felt like some of the beds and the accessibility to charging stations and little places to put your items we're lacking. Also the air ventilation quality could use Improvemen

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2016
9.1

Great place, really easy to get around to things. Awesome main area with games and stuff. Staff were awesome and mingling always happened. Had an en-suit which was nice but really loud. Not the best place for keeping noise out but still an awesome stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
8.6

Met so many people that 1 night I was there. About 12 of us went out at night and some of the staff joined us, and everyone was super fun and friendly. Loved it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.7

Excellent hostel with friendly staff and a fun atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
9.1

I really loved this hostel it was very nice and homly staff were very nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.