Hostelworld.com

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,749 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,749 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel Located at 24 Vicar Street, , Kilkenny.
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
Ireland
Kilkenny 24 Vicar Street
85% 1749
52.6567844 -7.2560405
Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
8.6

Advantages: pretty nice location, very friendly staff, free breakfast, clean Disadvantages: beds are noisy, rooms are pretty cold, very weak Wi-Fi in the rooms, you have to go downstairs to get a good connection Overall, a nice hostel, fair relevance between price and quality

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

I would highly recommend this hostel, its in a great location just a few minutes walk from the center. The staff are incredibly friendly, especially Fergus, he really does a great job at running a very warm and friendly hostel. He also keeps on top of the noise levels which makes our stay a lot more enjoyable. Codes for accessing the front door and rooms are much better than keys/cards. Extremely good value for money and a thoroughly enjoyable weekend made so by Fergus and his staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
9.1

Pretty good hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's definitely a quieter hostel, but a good base for exploring Kilkenny.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
9.1

perfect location and good staff I'll be back !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
6.0

Wasn't really impressed with this one. Not enough lockers for everyone in the room. Breakfast was lacklustre and not a fan of how the kitchen and common rooms were locked at 23:00. I understand the issue with noise but it left no place to hang about. The staff were nice enough but it was a bit of a walk to the centre.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us and your understanding of no noise after 23.00. Each bed has its own locker and breakfast is self service. Happy travels MacGabhainns crew

21st Mar 2016
8.6

Very nice hostel and staff! My only problem was with the squeaky beds - very comfortable beds, just very noisy. You couldn't really move without making a loud noise. But other than that, the staff was amazing and very helpful with ideas of what to do in Kilkenny. The free breakfast was a wonderful touch as well :) would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
10.0

This was my first hostel stay and it couldn't have been better. It's a small, very homey feeling hostel. Fergus and his staff make you feel like a member of the family. It's located a bit away from the city center but easily walkable in 10 minutes or so. I liked it because it was a nice quiet reprieve. Rooms were fine. Bed VERY comfortable. Showers/Toilet were clean with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was enough for a good start. This is a great place to meet others. I highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
7th Mar 2016
6.6

Good location to walk into centre of town and sights. Car park approx 5 minutes walk away for €2/day. At check in the lady wasn't able to provide recommendations on places to eat in town however she did provide a map of the town. For us it appeared that the main hostel worker was in the middle of a workout in the living room so she was not able to provide advice on eating venues. Door to hostel and dorm rooms have number code. Cereals, bread, tea and coffee included for basic breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
9.1

Very pleasant stay. Staff very friendly, especially Megan. I appreciated the efforts to keep the rowdy late night disturbances by drunk folks to a minimum. Easy walk to city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2016
5.1

A very poor service. I just arrive and a very stressed man tells me that the cleaner had a misunderstanding with my bed. It's at the top of a bunk bed, all messy and not clean. He came into the women bedroom, gave me new sheets and said that sorry but that I had to do my own bed. Later we went to buy food for dinner and by when we came back a worker woman told us in a rude way that we had to leave the hostel before 9.00pm if we wanted to go out. No the proper manners to treat a new customer

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.