Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Macondo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3
Macondo Hostel Located at Carrera 8 #10 - 35, , San Gil.
Macondo Hostel
Colombia
San Gil Santander Carrera 8 #10 - 35
94% 291
6.5551655 -73.1312388
Macondo Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Sep 2016
9.7

Owner and the rest of the staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. They offer cheap tours for all the things you want to do in San Gil with experienced companies. Would stay again definitely

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Aug 2016
9.7

Really great hostel, with hot showers and a hot tub! Staff were great and the rooms were clean with comfortable beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
10.0

Arrived at Macondo and immediately fell in love with the place. The staff was very welcoming and friendly and helped us book all of our adventures in San Gil with ease. We were booked in for 2 days and extended our stay 3 more days and enjoyed every day at the hostel. Very clean and social atmosphere. Met a lot of great travellers at this place. Shaun the owner was great, came out with us one night and showed us about San Gil. I would highly recommend this hostel too anyone visiting San Gil!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Aug 2016
10.0

Macondo has been one of the best hostels we've stayed in around the world! The double room is huge, big bed, great ensuite! Sean the owner is awesome! Been living in Colombia for 13yrs and has so much insider knowledge about the country it's great to sit and chat with him & hear his stories! Staff are super helpful booking tours & Taxi's for great prices. The main area is a great chill space to watch tv, beers & chat. 2 streets over Gringo Mike's has the BEST food...loved this hostel & San G

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Wild-free
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.9

This place was better than I expected from the photos. Really nice vibe with a awesome outdoor area. Good kitchen. The staff are amazingly helpful and nice. Big spacious rooms and good wifi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.6

Great hostel, great location. The beds are pretty uncomfortable in the 10 bed mixed dorm, the top bunks are squeaky and old and move a lot. Also there aren't any bath mats so when a group comes from rafting, the entire bathroom and dorm floors are wet, dirty and slippery

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry about that, We have fixed that bunk bed you slept in. It is actually the newest bed in the hostel as we bought it 3 months ago but one of the bolts had become loose. Its a quick fix and if guests let us know we can fix it in a few minutes. It only takes one guest after mountain biking, caving or rafting to dirty the dorm room bathroom. I have talked to staff in regards to making sure that during the period that people get back from activities that the floor is cleaned as quickly as possible. Thanks for your comments and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Shaun

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2016
10.0

Such an amazing hostel. I felt so safe here, ended up extending my stay for one night so I could go to tejo Tuesday, definitely worth it! Good area of San Gil, the people that work there literally do everything for you when it comes to organising activities so it all runs very smoothly and easily. Could not recommend more!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
9.7

So good. Helpful staff and cool activities you.coukd book there. Friendly and laid back atmosphere and the outdoor jazucci is just what you need after a full day trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
10.0

The owner and staff were so hospitable. They took their time to speak to us and were extremely efficient in helping us choose excursions. I can't wait to go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
9.4

Best hostel in South America. The owner and staff routinely go above and beyond to ensure you have a good experience in San Gil. Don't miss Tejo Tuesday. Thanks for a great time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Best hostel in South America and we didnt get a 10? You're a hard man to please. But thanks for the great comment and we hope you continue to enjoy your travels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.