Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Macondo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.5
Macondo Hostel Located at Carrera 8 #10 - 35, , San Gil.
Macondo Hostel
Colombia
San Gil Santander Carrera 8 #10 - 35
95% 307
6.5551655 -73.1312388
Macondo Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Wish i gave myself more time to stay here. DONT fall for the hostels with similar names - I did this and lost a night on my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
10.0

Excellent Hostel in San Gil. Owner is fantastic, really friendly and great source of information. Jacuzzi is a great touch after a hard days adventuring. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2016
9.4

Very nice hostel with a great courtyard in the back. Staff was very helpful and made organizing activities very easy. Also took us out to play Tejo (happens every tuesday), which was a lot of fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
10.0

An amazing hostel! I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was very helpful and nice. They will help you with organizing the activities in the area as well as everything else. The beds are comfortable, the showers very clean. The location is very good as well. I was so grateful for the hot showers. The common areas had a relaxing atmosphere and made you feel at home, especially after a day of activities. Totally recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Oct 2016
9.1

Great place to stay, well located, really nice and helpful staff. They will gladly help you in anything you may need, they give excellent recommendations and it is evident that they like what they do. The house is big enough for the people they host, the wi fi connection was stable during my whole stay. The bathroom and toilets are clean most of the time and the ambience is good. I was a solo traveler and I felt safe and at ease all the time. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alexphinizy9362
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Oct 2016
10.0

Great stay. The owner is such a legend. He was extremely helpful in booking trips and also just helping out around the hostel. He would see if the hot tub was the right temp and would even sometimes bring beers down to us at the hottub. What a legend. Rooms were nice and the shower in the 10 bed room is one of the best showers ive had in south america.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
9.7

A fantastic hostel with a great vibe. I would recommend it to anyone. The staff were some of the best that I have encountered anywhere during my travels: knowledgable, friendly, and always ready to help with a recommendation or a question about the facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
27th Sep 2016
9.4

Good location (can walk everywhere in town), good internet, can book tours from the hostel and you get picked up. Very spacious dorms and a huge shower for some reason. Also got a well equipped kitchen. Staff were also all very helpful. Recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Sep 2016
10.0

Two diff travelers both said I HAD TO STAY AT MACONDO. I did and I have since recommended them to 4 other travelers! Sure the facilities are great and the common areas awesome for making friends (feels like a true family) but the SERVICE is phenomenal - the team there is simply AMAZING!!! The knowledge and background info they readily offer on all the tours is unparalleled - so critical to know who is the best trained etc when doing extreme sports. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Macondo Hostel !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Sep 2016
10.0

Great place to stay in San Gill, owner takes care of you and all activities arranged from the hostel are great. Best place I've stayed so far in Colombia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.