X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Macondo Hostel Reviews

Carrera 8 #10 - 35, San Gil, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
122 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The first (larger) private double room was very nice, and good value for money however we then spent one night in smaller double which was considerably less compfortable and less pleasant for only $10 000 pesos less per night... I thought it should have been a bit cheaper compared to the other room. Only other complaint would be mattress in smaller room way too soft, poor quality sponge and so hot to sleep on, and all pillows very thick and lumpy.


91%

The hostel was very nice, its a little bit like sleeping at a friends place. Its nice to have the feeling to sleep in an appartement. The guy at the reception is super friendly and he helps you with everything you need (booking a bus, hostel, activities....)


80%

Nice hostel, lovely garden to relax! Good kitchen. Big room! We enjoyed our stay at this place


94%

Great owner with tons of good advice and info!


80%

Much better than another hostel I stayed in for 1 night. The reception/sitting area is pleasant and a good place to meet fellow travellers and the hot tub is an added bonus. The dorms are hot and 1 fan is probably insufficient for the size of room I stayed in. Security could be an issue as the front door is always open and the dorm room entrance is very close by and is often open - have a lock and chain to secure your bag and fasten it to your bed.


100%

Had a great time in San Gil very much helped by the Hostel staff.

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Really helpful staff

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

ask Shaun for recommendations how to play special Colombian game! it is a fun

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at: -great communal area with hammocks and jacuzzi -Tejo Tuesdays are awesome, don't miss that -the staff is very helpful and will help you set up adventure activities, book bus tickets to your next destination and assist in just about every other conceivable way -the four bed room had plenty of storage space for everyone -super fun place to stay, highly recommend, the san gil area is awesome!!!!!


100%

San Gil and Macondo both surpassed our expectations. Lovely, friendly hostel where nothing was too much trouble, friendly staff, exceptionally clean rooms, kitchen and common areas. Extremely helpful and friendly owner who is always willing to share his knowledge of the area. Made some lovely new friends, the activities from the hostel were excellent, the Curiti parapenting was stunning and San Gil plaza is a nice, safe, friendly place to eat delicious Colombina helados and people watch.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thankyou for your comments, If I could review our guests I'd give you 100%. It was a pleasure having you here.

57%

The hospitality could be better, and please, if hostel have only 3 toilets, keep it clean.

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is our worst review ever so we feel terrible that you did not enjoy the hostel. The hostel actually has 7 bathrooms with 3 shared between the 14 beds in rooms without bath. This is a pretty good ratio compared to other hostels. We find Colombian guests like yourself are not accustomed to sharing bathrooms and we do recommend people not used to hostels to take the rooms with private bathrooms. Saying that, I have talked to the staff about keeping the bathrooms cleaner. Thanks your comments

86%

Good little hostel. The owner is really friendly and helpful. Super easy to book adventure activities in the area. No lockers in the big dorm though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments , we don't find lockers in the dorm rooms very safe as we can't have video cameras in the rooms. We encourage people to lock things at reception where we can keep an eye on them.

97%

Highly recommended. Great atmosphere, lots of nice communal areas, helpful staff with a good range of well-priced outdoor activities. Only drawback : the window or my ground floor private room didn't open (probably for security reason as it was fronting onto the street)


94%

The staff was incredibly friendly at Macondo Hostel. My wife and I had a wonderful stay and very much appreciated the hospitality. When we return to San Gil again, we will definitely stay at Macondo Hostel!

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Live in Bogotá but San Gil is prob my favourite place in Colombia to come to relax. Always stay at Macondo (even ahead of a friend's flat) due to location, jacuzzi, & ease of organising the water sport activities at the hostel. Shaun's local knowledge & contacts make any stay v easy and the hostel is in perfect place to stroll down for a beer in the square or down to the river for rafting etc. Spent NYE here and the owner made a real effort to organise a party emailing each guest in advance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you always enjoy yourself, I hope to have you back soon

100%

Macondo is an excellent hostel. My partner and I stayed there for two nights, added a third because we liked it so much and would have liked to be able to stay longer. Comfort, immaculate cleanliness, beautiful garden with jacuzzi, great facilities, friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable team of staff, wide range of adventure sport activities available- which are also excellent, very well organised and highly recommended- overall, Macondo has it all and is a great place to stay.


74%

A chilled and quiet hostel, and the owner is very knowledgeable about all the activities there are to do in and around San Gil. Beds aren't the comfiest as they are quite thin and hard. Hot water in the shower. Make sure that they do deduct your deposit from the final bill as they didn't for us which (in the flurry of a late night check out and paying deposits for activities) we didn't realise until too late.


97%

Great hostel but would be even better with a complete smoking ban including the garden area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. We have to leave at least somewhere for the smokers though and the garden is the area where they least affect the other guests.

94%

Nice staff, definitly a good choice!!




View all San Gil Hostels

Please give us your feedback