Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Macondo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • cdarangoc
  • Colombia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.4

The hotel was so good!! recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • nikjacobson3766
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.4

Really chill place, has everything you need for a fun few days in San Gil. Comfortable, clean, helpful staff, jacuzzi, great location, social atmosphere. Would definitely recommend. Go to Tejo Tuesday!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
10.0

I had a fantastic time at Macondo Hostel! I booked a private room to share with my sister and we were surprised at how much space we had. Macondo is a great place to meet traveler's from all over the world, but it's not a party hostel--TV turns off by 11 pm to respect the guests who want to sleep (which we really appreciated since we were across from the lounge). The jacuzzi is also great after a day of adventure sports, and they have staff that speak Spanish and English. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
9.4

Great hostel, all the activities I did were fantastic and good value. The staff were great, especially Sean who is probably the most helpful owner I've ever met travelling. Always happy to help anyone with any questions they have using his experiences in Colombia. Tejo Tuesday was great as well and the place had a good atmosphere for meeting other people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome staff. Awesome place. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Staff are amazing, cleanliness is superb, huge range of activites offered and advice available for anything and everything. The thing that most stands out for this hostel is Shaun - by a distance the most helpful, available, down to earth, knowledable owner I've ever met. He makes the place. Knows exactly what help travellers will need and provides it. Helps everyone have fun. Has a great team and has a laugh. Fantastic environment to stay in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexdgeorge
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.7

Amazing hostel. Owner Shaun is far and away the most clued-in man in San Gil, easy to chat to and full of very useful information about everything, be it the local towns, activities, sketchy Venezuelan border crossings, volunteering opportunities etc. Other staff also all very kind. Hostel is very clean, beds very comfortable, cheap beers, great jacuzzi and all round fantastic vibe for an unbeatable price. Wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in San Gil!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
10.0

A great place to meet people because it has a really nice open and friendly vibe. Great facilities and everything was super clean. The staff were amazingly helpful in organizing activities and making reservations. Shaun obviously has put a lot of love into the place and has made it into a home away from home fof travellers. Overall one of the best hostels I've stayed in and I would highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Feb 2017
10.0

great staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
10.0

Shawn is an awesome guy and runs a great hostel. Definitely the place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.