Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2017
8.3

Rooms were small but lockers were great, and very useful to have plug sockets by each bed. The lady at reception was so friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was amazing. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • RubyBarnett
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
8.6

Overall a good, affordable hostel. Great location, literally a minute walk from Kings Cross Station. The free breakfast is a big plus, comfortable beds, fairly clean showers and toilets. The only little issue is that the communal areas available are quite small, but if you're not fussed about that then I would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.3

Enjoyed our stay, everyone staying seems to have been there for months and knows each other so this makes it more difficult to make friends but everyone was nice. Good free breakfast, and good promotions/nights out. Free goon one night and free toasties another. Area is a bit dodgy but a very central location. Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Mar 2017
7.7

My stay at Mad Monkeys was good. The free breakfast is great! It is probably the best I've had since backpacking in Australia. The pancakes are really good. My room was an ensuite 8 bed girls dorm. It was handy to have a shower in the room and the free wifi was really good. The hostel is in a good location and is only a short walk to the train station where you can visit all the sights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Feb 2017
7.7

All in all a good hostel, but on the weekend very noisy. If your want to party that a good hostel for you. The bed was very comfortable and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

One of the best hostels ive stayed in Australia.. Good atmosphere, friendly staff, breakfast was great.. No complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
7.4

Great and fund place. Aircon can be an issue at times as it blasts all the time, but didn't bother me too much. Fun staff too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
6.9

I stayed here for a very long 7 nights.. I was in a 10 bed dorm and the people we're great! But rooms were filthy and I never went back during the day to chill out just literally to sleep. Lady in reception only friendly when she likes you! But overall I love Sydney so that makes up for it, good area too!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel. Friendly staff, good location, free wifi and breakfast. Beds were and comfortable and our air conditioner worked so Well I was almost cold in the room. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.1

Really nice place, even extended our stay because we loved it here so much. Location is good, just a quick train ride to Circular Quay/Bondi etc. Air con and wifi is also amazing. The free breakfast is the best hostel breakfast we've had on our whole trip

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.