Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross Located at 34-36A Darlinghurst Rd Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
Australia
Sydney 34-36A Darlinghurst Rd Kings Cross
80% 387
-33.8734948 151.2241996
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Dec 2016
10.0

ONE WORD - AMAZING !! I'm going to miss the mad monkey family so much! They made my Sydney experience the best ever! FREE breakfast everyday, roasting Tuesday and pasta Friday really made me save some $$! Thank you 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are going to MISS you too!! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and can not wait for you to return!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Dec 2016
10.0

Possibly one of the best hostels I have stayed in! Clean facilities, VERY friendly staff and great vibe! Everyone loves to have fun! I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to have fun

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad you enjoyed your stay & the mad monkey family will always be here if you ever want to return! Have safe travels

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
9.1

This place was amazing. I enjoyed everything about it. If you are looking for a crowd that likes to go out, stay at this hostel. They always have events every night. Also the workers are fantastic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
8.9

Had an amazing time would recommend to anyone I meet

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! We are glad you had a great time & we loved having you as part of the Mad Monkey Family!! Have safe travels x

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2016
6.3

Bathrooms were quiet dirty and the kitchen was disgusting. Rooms were good and free breakfast was good. Right next to a train station but it was in a dodgy part of Sydney.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
3.4

Thankfully my stay at the hostel was only one night and that was more than enough! No aircon in the hallways and the aircon in the room was leaking water and dripping everywhere. The rooms were squashed and very unclean. I arrived in the evening and my bed still wasn't ready and changed. I had a quick look in the kitchen and that was just as bad and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in its life! Please do not stay here it was so overpriced for what it was!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Nov 2016
10.0

Great stay, great people, I'll be deffo going back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
8.0

Good hostel with perfect location in Kings Cross. Kitchen was dirty, only one toilet and one shower for a whole floor (5-6 dorms?), and really messy rooms. However, the hostel can't be blamed for the guests mess in the dorms. Own big locker, but bring your own lock. Helpful staff :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
6.0

The checking in and out was very easy without much hassle. The hostel is also very well located, just about 5 mins from the train station. However, the cleanliness of the place could be very much improved. The toilets and showers were messy and looked like they were not properly washed. The toilet also stank. On another note, the beds very clean and comfortable. The place could very much improve with more electrical plugs to allow backpackers to charge their electronics easily and safely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Nov 2016
3.7

A lot of people who stay here, live/work here. The rooms get treated like common areas full of people drinking. The staff weren't overly helpful. Kings cross isn't the nicest area, however just a train/walk away from most places. Wouldn't reccomend this hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.