Hostelworld.com

Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel. Friendly staff, good location, free wifi and breakfast. Beds were and comfortable and our air conditioner worked so Well I was almost cold in the room. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
2.9

The guy at the desk was awful

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.1

Really nice place, even extended our stay because we loved it here so much. Location is good, just a quick train ride to Circular Quay/Bondi etc. Air con and wifi is also amazing. The free breakfast is the best hostel breakfast we've had on our whole trip

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.0

It's not the worst hostel I've stayed in, but not the best either. The aircon and wifi were good, and location was ok, you could walk into town or a few stops on the train to Bondi Junction. I was disappointed that the kitchen wasn't very clean and the vibe wasn't great. A lot of long term backpackers there that didn't make you feel too welcome. Overall it was ok, but wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jan 2017
8.6

A party hostel with a great crowd of people. Staff were amazing and very helpful. Happy with the overall stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Macwilliam1
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
8.6

Location is awesome you can get everywhere from the train station or just a short work away. It's located from what I can gather in the red light district of Sydney so locals are a bit off but never had a problem with them. The hostel itself is regularly cleaned a bit small but the staff are great and know how to have a good time often updated about up coming events. Breakfast is good and travel agents are everywhere and really helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jan 2017
10.0

I have been coming to this hostel for the past 3 years. Let me tell you something, If you are looking to have fun, meet other people, and receive the best customer service then this is THE PLACE. The rooms are a little basic, but everything else is SUPERB!!! you come here to make experience you will never forget!! Thank you Mad Monkey ... I'll BE BACK!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.1

Had a really great stay here at Mad Monkey. Wi fi is good in the common area and free breakfast and toasties is great value!! Easy to meet other travelers. Nice and close to the city center. Also good close shops if you are on a budget and plan on grabbing a sandwich or something for lunch. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Kings Cross.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.1

Decent bedroom size, but noisy. Ok bathrooms, Lockers in the room, but you should bring your own lock. if you are looking for free food, they have a full breakfast. Great location, friendly staff,and great atmosphere. Really a nice place if you want to meet new people and partying :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.4

Fun hostel with good atmosphere and great crowd. Nice that they have nights out everyday too so you can always have something to do. Thank you :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.