Hostelworld.com

Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.1
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross Located at 34-36A Darlinghurst Rd Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
Australia
Sydney 34-36A Darlinghurst Rd Kings Cross
75% 252
-33.8734948 151.2241996
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Apr 2016
10.0

I had the best stay ever at Mad Monkey Kings Cross! Stayed their a week and everything was perfect, ths staff is amazing, you can tell they love their job which makes this place feel like home. A lot of facilities, an awesome TV room and a big kitchen. Cleaning is done 4 times a day which keeps this place always clean and tydie. I've been to many hostels but this one is the best so far! Definitely recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
4.9

Its quite far from the centre of town. the rooms were small, messy and loud (because of noise from the clubs and strip bars on the streets. The kitchen was tiny and always too busy to cook in. The only good thing was the nice staff and the free wifi.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
7.1

Mad Monkeys has the best breakfast out of any hostel I have ever stayed in. It was fairly dirty while we stayed, which was a downer, the breakfast does make up for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Apr 2016
4.9

Really bad atmosphere all over the hostel, a mot of long termers staying. The kitchen was tiny and at dinner time hardly everyone could sit down to have their meal. Rooms were a bit smelly and it wasn't enough toilets. Though the breakfast was amazing, and the location was alright with walking distance every where

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Loved my stay here, really good vibes and all the staff are SO lovely!! would definitely stay here again!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2016
6.0

I stayed for one night, because it's cheap and central. Generally the hostel is filthy, in particularly the bathroom and kitchen. Also there's only one bathroom and two showers for the 14 bed room dorm (evtl for the whole floor). The staff is friendly, there are a lot of long-term stayers, which dominates the atmosphere. Possibility to lock your luggage in the room, if you have your own lock. Overall it served the purpose for a convenient and safe stay, but I wouldn't recommend it nor stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Stayed at this hostel whilst in sydney an had the best time ever! Nice and clean with a great vibe! Staff are super friendly especially Raimi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
6.9

Really good atmosphere. Cleaned every day and each floor is deep cleaned twice a week. Also found the kitchen to be pretty clean for a backpackers. Main issue was the en suite in our dorm. There was no lock on the door and the wall was glass so all your dorm mates could see you on the toilet/ in the shower. There was also no blind and open window so everyone on the street or in the buildings opposite could also see you. This could easily be fixed with a lock and a blind :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Apr 2016
8.6

Stayed here twice, both times in 14bed dorm. Room gets very messy but that is to be expected! Nice vibe, staff kept it clean, 2nd time we were there seemed to be more evening events which was good. Staff were all really friendly. the first time we were there my boyfriend broke his thumb on a night out and the night guy wasn't the most helpful when I was trying to get him cleaned up/ to hospital . to be fair to him he was dealing with a group of drunk guests at reception at the same time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Apr 2016
6.3

Friendly hostel but not enough bathrooms/toilets. Kitchen not big enough but a fabulous free breakfast of eggs, pancakes, toast etc.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank-you for taking your time for the review we really appreciate it! We will take into consideration your points :) Hope you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Mad Monkey Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.