Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 517 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 517 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
10.0

it was my first time at a hostel and I wasn't disappointed . Wasn't bad at all. Right in Kings Cross most interesting area in Sydney. Close to everything. Staff is nice. Always have something planned for the week with great discounts to get inside bars or clubs. Overall good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
10.0

Great location. My first trip to Sydney couldn't have been better. Crowd was awesome. Kings Cross, bars, restaurants, grocery stores - all at walking distance. Staff was nice. They do quite a few hostel parties for a fairly cheap price. So that is a great plus too. Also, they were pretty clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel if your looking to party and stay close to the city. The rooms are clean but the bathrooms need to be upgraded but your staying in a hostel, so it was good enough for us! Breakfast was amazing, they had hot and cold options! Toasties twice a week and nights out every night. Staff was friendly and welcoming! Overall I would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
10.0

Loved stayed at this hostel! Such a great social life! Staff rock my socks & very clean for a hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
10.0

Great party hostel, as they organise bar and club events every night - for a reasonable price. Always predrinking and a party bus, which is all sick. Staff were fun and some were very knowledgeable about Sydney.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
9.7

There are a few things to improve, for example, bathrooms are old and really small. Beds are comfortable and the hostel and bedrooms are clean. If you want party and meet people, this is the place. The party bus was just incredible, and the clubs we visited too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Apr 2017
6.6

Only stayed one night in a room with 8 beds. Couldn't sleep due to drunk people doing what drunk people do. Still a nice hostel I guess. You get your free breakfast at happy travels around the corner, it's very good (pancakes, eggs, ...).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Apr 2017
7.1

Friendly staff and a really good location. The room was average and had a funny smell to it. Each floor only has two showers and one toilet on it which was annoying, that's a lot of people sharing it. And the showers were always dirty. However the breakfast is brilliant. A lot of people here are long term so aren't very friendly, but they do seem to have a lot of opportunities for people wanting to work for accommodation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Mar 2017
8.0

Great Hostel in a good central location. If you like the party scene I highly recommend this hostel for that vibe. The majority of travellers staying here were permanents (Working for 2-4 months), which wasn't great for me as I was just travelling through. Overall, if you can get over the untidiness and dirty showers it's a good one to stay in for however long you're in Sydney.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Mar 2017
6.3

First thing I did upon arrival at this hostel is shorten my booking. The whole place felt so grimy and unclean and the road & area it's in is definitely dodgy- luckily it's a only short walk to the station. Atmosphere was ok and good breakfast but otherwise I was happy to leave. There are definitely better places to stay in Sydney for around the same price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.