Hostelworld.com

Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.0
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross Located at 34-36A Darlinghurst Rd Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
Australia
Sydney 34-36A Darlinghurst Rd Kings Cross
76% 263
-33.8734948 151.2241996
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th May 2016
10.0

Best hostel I have been to in a while! Great atmosphere and people. Staff really goes out of their way to help you!! Really amazing breakfast!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
10.0

I love this place, it is home from home and the staff are awesome! 😁

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th May 2016
8.3

Stayed in a 8-bedroom female dorm and it was decent. The dorm did not have airconditioning, and the windows were opened, which caused a little bit of noise at night, but not a major issue unless you're a very light sleeper. Place was clean and facilities were good. Receptionists were really nice and helpful. It's a place worth staying!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Apr 2016
10.0

I had the best stay ever at Mad Monkey Kings Cross! Stayed their a week and everything was perfect, ths staff is amazing, you can tell they love their job which makes this place feel like home. A lot of facilities, an awesome TV room and a big kitchen. Cleaning is done 4 times a day which keeps this place always clean and tydie. I've been to many hostels but this one is the best so far! Definitely recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

My first hostel experience and I wouldn't change it! Since arriving my friend and I have had the best time. Everyone is extremely helpful and friendly. Raimi was so helpful at the front desk when we had questions about where to go and where to see. Lovana has taken us out many times since arriving and every night just gets better! I would recommend this Hostel to ANYONE! We've already made amazing friends and it will be hard to leave because everyone feels like family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
4.9

Its quite far from the centre of town. the rooms were small, messy and loud (because of noise from the clubs and strip bars on the streets. The kitchen was tiny and always too busy to cook in. The only good thing was the nice staff and the free wifi.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
7.1

Mad Monkeys has the best breakfast out of any hostel I have ever stayed in. It was fairly dirty while we stayed, which was a downer, the breakfast does make up for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Apr 2016
4.9

Really bad atmosphere all over the hostel, a mot of long termers staying. The kitchen was tiny and at dinner time hardly everyone could sit down to have their meal. Rooms were a bit smelly and it wasn't enough toilets. Though the breakfast was amazing, and the location was alright with walking distance every where

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Loved my stay here, really good vibes and all the staff are SO lovely!! would definitely stay here again!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Apr 2016
8.3

Ended up staying here for an additional 2 weeks very good value for the money, there are cheaper hostels in Kings Cross but not by much and the few extra dollars are worthwhile. The travel bar round the corner had a good couple of social events with great value good and drinks. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.