Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross Located at 34-36A Darlinghurst Rd Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
Australia
Sydney 34-36A Darlinghurst Rd Kings Cross
81% 317
-33.8734948 151.2241996
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

front desk staff were really nice and open to helping me find my way around town. Meet so many people at the hostel!! Everyone was friendly and outgoing. The weekends are WILD!!! really enjoyed my stay overall!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

Really great hostel. Definitely an old building but you cant beat the atmosphere. Its was a party all the time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

PARTY HOSTEL!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Sep 2016
5.4

Not a good hostel. Lot of long termers who had their stuff literally everywhere, ensuite which had mould and the lock didn't work, and grim floor stains in the main bathroom. The bunk beds swayed and squeaked as you climbed up (no matter what size the person) and the hostel generally was very noisy, worn down, and the corridor stank of weed. Manageable if looking to party, or if only for a night. I gave up after two nights, other hostels are more expensive but definitely worth it!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
6.9

Many people are long term staying here so many have already established friendships. The free breakfast is awesome and the kitchen is useful! Not the cleanest I've ever stayed in but with so many people long term they do their best to do multiple deep cleans a week to keep it up. A bit loud for me as well but great place on a budget

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
10.0

crazy cool people here at mad monkeys. 10/10 would come back again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
6.0

The staffs are super friendly, comfy bed, breakfast is amazing as well. Quite awesome food selections for budget hostel. Also, having an ensuite bathroom for $28/night is a treasure. Unfortunately, the 8-bed female dorm that my friend & I stayed was dirty af. The girls who are long-stayers there put all of their stuffs, including used clothes & undies, all over the floor. There's almost no space to walk!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
8.3

Stayed here for three nights. Sam at the front desk was amazing. She helped me many times find routes and set up a transfer to the other MM on Broadway. Good location. Lots to do in the area and a short 20 min walk to the harbor. Place is older but well kept. Lockers for every bed. They are bunk beds, but comfortable. AC in the rooms keep it comfortable at night. Well provisioned kitchen for easy cooking. I'd have extended my stay, but wanted to see the other side of town. And a max of 28daystay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
10.0

Great hostel family !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2016
10.0

An absolutely marvellous stay at Mad Monkeys. Michael, Ryan and the team really do go above and beyond. I would go as far as to say you will not find many clean and homely hostels anywhere in the world as Mad Monkeys. We have had a lot of laughs and met some friends for life at this place. We are truly greatful for being welcomed into the 'family' and thoroughly enjoyed the time we have spent there! Daryl and Jake x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.