X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mad4you Hostel Reviews

Calle Costanilla de San Vicente, 4, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
361 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Wifi a bit dodgy in Female dorm but worked well when I had it. Thank god they have cleaners everyday as well because some people were pigs, so it's very clean. Staff wereovery kind and helpful, rooms warm and comfortable, good location for walking everywhere, but not ideal for late at night by yourself (like anywhere really), as its not in a very busy area as its off the main roads. They had bed lamps, just a bit better if they also had a power socket in more convenient locations for everyone.


83%

Nice Hostel located close to the metro so it is easy to get around to all the sights. Area was quiet . Staff was welcoming and knowledgable about Madrid. They have a large kitchen and serve a decent breakfast in the morning. Not a bad place to stay in Madrid for a few days.


49%

Lockers were too small couldn't fit in our backpacks! Beds were so squeaky that when the 6dorm was full it was impossible to sleep due to the noise. There was only one bathroom for each floor of around 12-13rooms per floor (not sure who had a private bathroom). On our second day two floors ran out of toilet paper and were out for hours. Third day the toilet was blocked we informed staff nothing was done until the following day. There is a bar downstairs but actually nowhere to sit and drink.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you didn´t sleep well, we will get the beds fixed. Regarding the bathrooms, all of the rooms in the Hostel, apart from one 6 bed room, have the bathroom inside the room and the cleaning staff clean all the bathrooms and leave toilet paper every day in all the rooms. We hope we can make it up to you next time yo come to Madrid for a visit! Greetings from the team at Mad4You!

94%

The shower holder in room 18 is broken so you have to keep putting the shower head down to wash yourself. It means that people spend longer than they need to in the bathroom. The bottom bed opposite the door on the right feels like you are sleeping in a hole. I think some of the wooden slats holding the mattress are broken. They need replacing or moving from the middle (where my hips are) to the end where my feet would be. Apart from that it was all great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for rating Mad4You, you really help us improve. We would also like to thank you for letting us know about this little things that needed replacement. We have fixed the shower and the bed. We hope you will be able to see it for yourself next time you come for a visit. Greetings from the staff :)

86%

Great location, although it was quite noisy during the night. The internet wasn't working very well, but the rooms were air conditioned, very clean and nice. A good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, First of all, thank you very much for leaving us a review. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay! I am sorry to read that you experienced noise during the night and had trouble with the internet. Our night receptionist tries his utmost best to maintain quietness at night. We understand that the internet is very important to our guests and we are going to improve its connection immediately. Hopefully we will see you again soon at the hostel! Greetings from the Team

100%

Amazing hostel in lovely ubication. I booked a single room for a decent price and it had an air conditiol and a window. The staff is excepcional and the buidling is preserved Spanish house.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice words and given points! It makes us very happy that you enjoy our location, Malasaña is a modern and young neighbourhood full of cute and fun places. We will let the rest of the staff know about your review :) We hope to see you again soon! Greetings from the team!!

97%

Very nice hostel, great staff, always ready to help you and extremely friendly. The breakfast was the best I ever had in hostels I´ve been, really complete.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review! Your comment makes us very happy, the best way to start a good day of tourism in Madrid is with a good breakfast!! We hope you come back for a visit soon! Greetings from the team at Mad4You! :)

94%

good place to stay, the breakfast could provide more healthy food, like fruit or vegetable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review regarding Mad4You Hostel. We are happy to read that you find the hostel a good place to stay. We also appreciate the feedback regarding the breakfast, we are working on making it more healthy! Best regards from the Mad4You Team

91%

Perfect location in Malasaña, with it's hip cafees and less tourists. nice staff an very good price including free walking tour and breakfast! Enjoy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Mad4You Hostel with others! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon! Greetings from our team! :)

100%

Just perfect...

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Your review made our day!! Thank you very much, we really appreciate it! It makes is very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! :) We hope you come back for a visit soon! Greetings from the team at Mad4You Hostel!!

94%

Was there for 3 nights and had a really pleasant stay, great overall atmosphere. My main concern was my luggage (had a lot of valuables with me) but security was pretty good about that. It's not the nicest looking part of Madrid but the major attractions are a short walk/metro ride away. Would definitely recommend and stay here again myself!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for spending a few minutes writing a review, we really appreciate it. It makes us very happy that you had a pleasent stay with us and that you felt save. We hope you come back for a visit soon :) Greetings from the team!!

77%

I had a single private for one night. The bathroom was shared and you had to go almost outside through the cold to get there. And it wasn't even heated.

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. All the rooms have heating system and we also have single rooms with private bathroom for the next time you come for a visit :) Greetings from the team!!

100%

A very nice place, friendly staff, I definitely can recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for giving us the highest score! It makes us extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!! We hope to see you again very soon :) Greetings from the staff at Mad4You!!

77%

A good hostel. Basic but clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Unfortunately there is no elevator, and the top bunk is so low that you can't sit up in bed if you have the bottom bunk. The hostel was pretty quiet when we were there, off season, which meant that it lacked atmosphere. This might be different at other times of year though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, It makes us very happy that you liked the Hostel. We don´t have an elevator because the building is a typical 15th century Madrilenian house and we can´t modify its structure, but that is part of its charm :) It is low season at the moment but there are pub crawls during the weekend which are really fun, we hope you visit us again soon so you can check it out!! Greetings from the team!!

63%

This hostel was an alright place to stay for a few nights. The included breakfast was nice. There wasnt a place to lock up our bags in our rooms and we had a window that opened into the hallway so someone else could have gotten in. The bathroom stall in the bathroom did not lock. My friend did laundry but the dryer barely dried her clothes. It was very cold as there is an open roof courtyard, which is kind of cool. It was quiet and no one really interacted much.

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. It makes us very happy that you liked breakfast. We would also like to thank you for your suggestions, they help us improve. All the rooms have lockers inside the room and if the window is closed, they can´t open it from the outside. All the rooms have heating, and we will take a look at the dryer for the next time you come for a visit :) Greetings from the team!!

91%

The major highlights of this hostel are the friendliness of the staff and the facilities. I enjoyed my stay here due to the fact that the staffs are friendly and very helpful (esp. the Spanish-Iranian staff, I wasn't able to get his name, Thanks!). The facilities are great esp the kitchen, however, the double-deck/ bunk beds weren't that stable and created creaking sounds with the slightest move you make hence disturbing the other person sleeping on the same bunk.Generally, nice hostel though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. It makes us extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the Hostel´s facilities. We would also like to thank you for your suggestions, they help us improve little by little. We hope you come back for a visit soon :) Greetings from the team!!

94%

Lovely hostel with really kind and professional. They were so relaxed and really made it convenient for us to check in and out and leave our bags as we explored Madrid. TheThe showers were in the room. The con's were the location was convenient to get to the puerta De Sol, and to metro stations. But it was such a dfficult place to find that even locals couldn't point us to the street. The space between rooms and the office was outdoors making the mornings freezing to leave.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it!! It makes us extremely happy that you liked our team and the facilities. We hope you come back for a visit soon :) Greetings from the team!!

77%

Forgettable would be the best way to describe our experience here. We didnt know there was a common room until the last day because there was no introduction to the facilities. Good kitchen though. Pub crawls every night but they cost €10. Cleaners were excellent. Cleaned the rooms everyday. Biggest downfall at the hostel was the lack of atmosphere. There wasnt anything to facilitate socialising. Friendly front desk staff willing to help when you ask. The wifi is dodgy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We will let the cleaners know about your nice comment. We are sorry to here about the atmosphere though, November is a little quite, but there is great atmosphere in the weekends. The pubcrawls do cost 10€ the first night, but then it goes down to 5€. We hope you come for a visit again soon!! Greetings from the team :)

80%

Good location, I had a private room, and it was kinda clean. Air-condtitioner that you can use for heating too was useful. Abundant breakfast, though only sweet stuff: jam, chocolate spreads, muffins, etc. Nice hostel overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review, we really appreciate it! It makes very happy that you liked Mad4You and our location. We hope you come back to Madrid for a visit soon :) Greetings from the team!!

100%

Mad4you Hostel is a really nice place to stay and as the metro station is only a few minutes away, you can easily get anywhere in Madrid. The staff is friendly and gives good advices regarding food, travel and clubs. They also provide you with usefull information about free walking tours and pub crawls. The rooms are clean and nice. And there is a really good kitchen you may use and the inclusive breakfast is really good, too. I would totally stay at Mad4you Hostel again.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion regarding Mad4You Hostel. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon! :) Warm greetings from the entire team!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Madrid Hostels

Please give us your feedback