X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Madras Hotel Reviews

No. 28-32 Madras Street, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
130 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Room was smaller than it appered in the photo. Pub/club near gets noisy. Staff were helpful.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Convenient location, highly walkable from both Bugis and Little India. Nice staff, comfy room and clean en-suite toilet at such price. Also comes with simple yet fulfilling light breakfast. Sounds of karaoke from nearby pubs merely audible til 1 or 2am, but won't disturb your sleep if you are tired enough for whole day trip


83%

The room is comfortable, the location is good, near to supermarket and MRT station. we enjoy our Room~~ lastly, an overnight Bar is so near, so noise at night


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

The staff answered every question I had but seemed inexpert at the restaurants around the hotel itself.


83%

Very good hotel for a family room with good location. Only issue was with noise from the next door pub. Overall, worth money.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was neat but there were some dirty hand prints and scuff marks on the walls that I thought should have been cleaned off before we arrived. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the location was just great for experiencing Little India and the area. Easy walking distance to other locations as well as the metro.

  • 4th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Room is ok, not really clean, staff service is only the receptionist guy friendly, helpful. Location is good, but too noisy at midnight because the pub next door sing karaoke untill 2am, we couldn't sleep till they stop making noise.

  • 27th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

staff lacking in PR skill. Asked a young male staff permission to use their SELF SERVICE KITCHEN to prepare our coffee and tea ( OUR OWN) because early morning flight to catch was refuse in rude manner. there is no effort from them of trying to accomodate this group . we are over 60 yrs of age all of us.will not stay there again and will not recommened.


91%

Safe, clean rooms, friendly staff and maid service,

  • 19th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff were very kind and accomodating! Apart from the noise comig from surrounding music lounges at night, and perhaps a suggestion that carpets should be vacuumed under the beds, we were very happy and even extended our stay. The Madras Hotel scores top points for hospitality!

  • 4th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hotel itself is quite nice, very clean and the facilities are just right--simple, no frills. The guy at the reception was quite helpful. The breakfast is just right. The only downside is the environment around the hotel, there are bars around that might keep you awake at night, good thing we were dead tired every night. No loud fights could wake us up. Location is central, near bus stations and mrt. Walking distance to bugis junction and arab street.

  • 28th Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location and good staff.


69%

It's a bit far from the transportation, however, it's very good, clean and convenience.

  • 5th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice wifi


70%

It's a good hotel. Quite a walk from the nearest subway station but not too bad. The room for 5 people is a bit too small and not what I'd expected. I think it might be better to book two rooms instead of just one room next time.


73%

Close to Little India metro station, 5min by walk. Maybe not the closest and most friendly treatment, but correct. They kept our luggage for free the whole day we checked out till the time of the flight. All the bags were at he sight of everybody in the hall during the day but it didn't seem to be a problem,. Free Wi-Fi.


53%

Room was all I needed. Staff were extremely rude and tried to rip me off when I paid. I won't be back.


63%

Nice and clean. Appreciated the free wifi in the room which was quite fast. Good room service as well. Location is great and the subway isn't too far. Only negative thing is the club downstairs is noisy and plays music until late hours. Also, our first room smelled like paint or some chemical so we had to transfer. Good overall though and reasonably priced.


70%

GOOD JESTURE FOR CALCULATING ROOM RENT DURING STAY INCLUDING EARLY CHECKING. REQUEST DURING BOOKING MARK CVV NO OF CREDIT CARD AS XXX.


80%

It is a sort of Ginger Hotel with no staff disturbance. We dealt directly with the Management and found the support good. We would have enjoyed more fun if the TV had cable connection as we got only 7 local channels. The service has been good and neat overall.

  • 14th Jun 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(101 results)


View all Singapore Hotels

Please give us your feedback