X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Magnolia Porto Hostel Reviews

Avenida Rodrigues de Freitas, n�387, Porto, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
571 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Everybody in the hostel is very friendly! the room we had was great and the hole atmosphere in the hostel is very nice! if i come back to porto i will come back to magnolia hostel. Thank you for this great time!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff is great and very helpful, they'll help you out having a good tour of the city! The hostel also has a nice garden where you can easily chill out and relax after a day walking in Porto(loads of steep little roads here;)). Close by there is a really cool bar / pub with tables outside,music and a nice atmosphere. people are mainly local so it s great to just hang out here and enjoy the vibes! You'll surely have a great time at magnolia!:)

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice hostel and friendly stuff. Absolutely clean. Good company of travelers. Very near to the hotspots.


97%

We stayed here only for one night but it's very great. We come early than the chech-in time but the host said that we can leave our stuff there and go around the city. He is very kind and helpful. He show us where to go, where to eat, what should we try and how to go there. Completely a great guide of us in Porto. Highly recomendation ;)


89%

Great hostel

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

You can't find a better place to stay in Porto. :D

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel. Not much light in the room and it was not possible to open the window. Nice backyard. Staff very helpful!


80%

The staff were really helpful and nice. Thanks Joao for your kind help and tips. We followed your advice and every single place you recommended was worth it! and it helped us make the most of the three days we spent in Porto. The only thing we suggest the hostel to improve is breakfast... it was poor and untasty. The rest was fine! Manu and Laura (the Spanish couple from Cádiz)


74%

friendly staff, clean and comfy room, nice breakfast, near old town, but a bit far away from metro station


83%

very helpfull staff, good breakfast

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We had the private double room on the top floor facing the road,which was clean and spacious.The bathroom could do with a better working fan as it quickly filled with steam when showering.The wifi signal struggles to get through to the top floor and the noise from the buses outside can irritate.The breakfast is basic but fresh and the staff were kind and helpful.Good location in walking distance to centre & sights.Special mention to Diogo who was very friendly.Good pork rolls at the corner cafe.


100%

The staff were very friendly, even the cleaning lady! When the walking tour volunteer came to pick me up, the cleaning lady gave him a hug! It was a community orientated feeling. The hostel was quiet

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

all was fine, thank you very much


91%

The staff is really friendly, let us check in early! Has a very homey feel to it! Breakfast was yummy, bread with cheese and ham! Only thing that could be better is to have the toilet and shower in seperate rooms (a little inconvenient when there's six people using bathroom), and wi fi is a bit bad!

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

If you are renting the room without the window, you should state it clearly in advance, and make sure that the air condition is working. we had to spend a night with open window, without fresh air and with a ventilator working and making the noise.


86%

Gorgeous place to stay while visiting Porto. The staff are incredibly welcoming, full of local knowledge to pass on to you and obliging of all our requests. We stayed in a private room with ensuite which was compact but all you need to be comfortable. Outdoor terrace area was lovely, basic but good breakfast served each morning. Magnolia made our Porto experience a great one!

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It was nice to stay in Magnolia hostel, staff members were very friendly and helpful. It s close to the centre, quite streets around. If you are looking for a quite place where to stay, Magnolia is perfect for you...The only thing I was missingt was an extra bathroom in the hall. I stayed with 7 girls in a room and morning was very busy for using the bathroom and toilet, so extra bathroom in the hall would be handy. Anyway peacuful hostel with lovely garden and smiling members of the staff.


83%

The hotel is run in an very dedicated way and the suff is so friendly & passioneted! After we arrived we got lot of tipps around Porto and the typical food, some great resteurant tipps and even an quick guide to portuguese seafood (Perseves!). As we needed an bike the stuff orgenized that as well. I recommend the nice and friendly hostel to everybody who is searching for unique atmosphere!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I had a very nice stay @ this hostel.Warm welcome with all the info about things to see and visit.I'ts a pitty that the hostal is situated along a very busy road which gives a lot of noise whole day long even during the night. Makes it impossible to sleep with windows open,also because penetrating exhaust fumes.Off course this is not to blame @ hostalowners.Breakfast is good but a bit of variation would be welcome. Already a beautiful hostal, the renewing @ work will even more improve this place


97%

It was an awesome time. The staff was super helpful and the room was super nice. The location is great and the breakfast is a pleasant surprise.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Porto Hostels

Please give us your feedback