X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Maison De Julie Reviews

Via Palermo 67, ground floor, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
403 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

We stayed at Maison De Julie for 3 nights and did not have access to wifi, we had to sit in the entrance way downstairs to have any form of internet access which I was not impressed with. We had to share a bathroom as well with 3 other rooms which was very annoying and quite cramped.


89%

Very clean, very comfortable. Shared facilities were in very good condition, room is better than most hotel rooms. Highly recommended

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The Manager Teresa is very helpful. The double room with ensuite is spacious and clean. The location is handy to a bus stop, metro & trains. Breakfast is a little small but it's what the locals have for Breakfast - coffee & pastry. When in Rome! I would stay at Maison De Julie again.


57%

Had to move rooms after one night as no electricity/ hot water in our ensuite. This was blamed on recent storm and despite getting small discount on second night it didn't make up for all the exposed wires. DO NOT TOUCH signs on water boilers in both bathroom and bedroom. V poor and looked nothing like ad. Moved to much nicer room w hot water and electricity swiftly. Still no wifi tho, despite advertising it. Staff very friendly and helpful tho.


100%

Our stay in Rome was perfect. Theresa, Maria, David and Luigi made us feel welcome and provided us with many great tips. The food at the restaurant was excellent but pricey for some people. After travelling through Italy and eating out always, I noticed that many have a page dedicated to pizza in different varieties all in the 8 - 10 Euro range. Maria, you may want to add a page such as this to attract more people. A group of 4 will spend 40-50 Euro easily! Loved meeting all of you! Peter!

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

great for the price, owner was a lovely individual

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

We thought we had our own bathroom but it was shared with three other rooms. The toilet seat was broken and we asked for it to be fixed but they didn't. It was 35 degrees and no air conditioning or even a ceiling or floor fan. There is a kitchen but no tea or coffee or anything. The breakfast was a tea or coffee and one croissant at their coffee shop and the staff were really rude. Good location but wouldn't stay there again.


100%

It was our the best experience so far, hotel is excellent located, everywhere 10 min walk. The room was huge, clean and quiet. I truly recommend to anyone of you. Thank you very much and hope to see you again.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Teresa and her mum were exceptionally helpful during our stay, printing out tickets so we could skip the lines and letting us store our bags after checkout. Clean, safe and a good location for the money this quite little B&B made up of a collection of rooms in one of the numerous city apartments comes highly recommended.


100%

My brother and I stayed at the Maison de Julie for three nights and had an amazing time! Teresa greeted us upon arrival and immediately made us feel right at home! She was extremely helpful, answered all our questions, and gave us a great map of the city. The location also played a huge part in making our trip so amazing. We had very little time in Rome and were pleasantly surprised that almost everything was literally a 10 to 15 minute walk away. I will definitely be returning on my next trip!

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very friendly owners, perfect location near all main attractions (It is within walking distance of just about everything)! Room is spacious, clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It was the best choice we could make for visiting Rome and I recommend it to everyone. The staff was very friendly and always helping with everything you need, the rooms were big and very clean. I was in many hostels,but this one was the best until now. Also the staff recommended us some of the most important and interesting places in Rome,by the way they speak very good English. The hostel location is just PERFECT and they have a really delicious breakfast. So choose Maison De Julie !!!


100%

very clean and spacious room. Kind, friendly and thoughtful staff. checked out at 1000am but we were allowed to leave our luggage till late evening as our flight wasn't until late at night. located in a very safe area, walkable distance to all the attractions...definitely recommended!


94%

It was a very nice stay and the location is just great. 10 minutes to the Colosseum and you can take a nice walk to the Vatican and pass by the fountain of Trevi, the Pantheon and the Piazza Navona with no problem!


83%

Had stayed at another of Maison de Julie's places several years ago, so we anticipated a small hostel. Instead we were given a private room down the same street. The room was very clean and comfortable. My only suggestions for improvement would be some cups/glasses in the bathroom and better communication regarding departure procedures (we left early and didn't know what to do with room keys).


97%

Very nice!!!


100%

The owner is a very nice person that owns several B&B. We've stayed in Maison de Marylu and we were very lucky! We booked a deluxe db bedroom w/ shared badroom, but for the 5 nights we were placed in a super nice bedroom with badroom. The location is really good: close to the metro station, peacefull and is a 5min walk from a restaurant area. The kitchen facilities can be used 24h/day. The cleaning was just perfect, with made bed for 3 times. It was like a 3 or maybe 4 star Hotel...

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The water of the shower wasn't too hot, we told it to the owner but nothing changed during the whole week we spend there, she neither ask us about it more; furthermore 3 of the 7 days we spend there there was no milk neither toast for the breakfast.

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Spacious, clean room, good location. Lovely hot shower. Only negative was that the room was a little cold on some occasions. Would visit again when in Rome.




View all Rome Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback