X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Maison Tordeur Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Rua Stefan Zweig, 117, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
19 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 100%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very nice accommodation in safe neighborhood. The owner (Leia) is very friendly and helpful, really trying to make your stay as good as possible. Rooms nice and big, spacious bathroom. Pool with other facilities. For a private and comfortable stay..


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

We felt comfortable from the first second on! Our host Lea made the stay as fantastic as it was due to her friendly, cordial and always helpful manner. But also the house is great! The rooms are nice and clean and she made great effort to serve a breakfast with a variety of food. When we had questions about Brasil she was always there to answer them and to help us with problems.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing place! We will definetely come back. The house is just extraordinary with a beautiful pool área and clean and big rooms. The breakfast is huge, goog and handmade. The owner is unbeliveable friendly and helpful and made our stay unforgetable. Thanks a lot! Ate logo!

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

We booked this guesthouse a week before Carnival at late notice. We wouldn't normally have booked into a guesthouse but we're very glad that we found this one. Lea (the owner) was so welcoming, friendly and fun. She went out of her way to accomodate us, even getting up at 5am on our last day to serve breakfast. She took us to a "bloco" street party where we partied like the locals! The house itself is very homely and even has a swimming pool and barbecue area on the roof terrace. We'll be back!

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We stayed here for just under a week, and had a fantastic time! the lady (Leah) who lives there is lovely, she could not do enough for you! We had a bbq with her, and also taught her how to make a real Caiprinha! Ha. She was one of the nicest ladies i have ever met, and i will definitely be returning to her place in the future! Love Dr House and the London Guys!


97%

Beautiful place in a calm surrondings!!

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Maison Tordeur isn't really a hostel. It's Leia's private house and she's renting some of the free rooms to guests. So beeing a private house (of course) everything was clean and very well tidied up. We stayed for New Year at Maison Tordeur and had the best beginning of a year you can imagine! Leia prepared breakfasts suitable for kings and queens, we relaxed on the terrace with a swimming pool and had some nice after-dinner-conversations with Leia and other guests. Perfect!!!


94%

Lovely place to stay with a lovely family. The ladies really looked after us and we had a great stay.


91%

Very friendly and helpful with a lovely relaxed family atmosphere.. The owner makes you feel very welcome and with a pool and nice views to enjoy, it was a good find during the World Cup. I would be very happy to return there if I go back to Rio one day!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very beautiful private house on the hill, and VERY-VERY NICE LEA and her daughter! Close to Cristo Redentor. Highly recommend!


43%

My experience in that pousada was pretty bad. It was a quite abandoned house, dirty jacuzzi and pool, a freezer with expired drinks, even the shampoos were expired ... Our room had no air conditioner, and there were cats which are not a good companion if you are allergic to them. I do not recommend this posuada at all, it is not what you expect when you see the rating and pictures on the web site. I am rather dissapointed.

  • 14th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry that this was a bad experience for you, and hope we can make it better next time. The house is never abandoned because the owners live in it. We do have cats at our Hostel as it says in the description box, but they don't stay inside the house. If we know you are alergic we can take action about it. We DO NOT sell beers or offer shampoo in the Hostel. Although we offer our own freezer for the guests to use it. The bathroom might be shared depending on the room tipe you reserve.

74%

The design of the house very interesting, because of the effect of mutiple levels, with a swimmingpool on the top! The rooms clean and spacious. The owner, Lea, is a very friendly woman who wants to make everybody at ease. The ambiance is good but the maisson doesnt have a ‚hostelfeeling’ (meaning that the hostel doesnt do activity suggestions). price/quaity rate: ok.


94%

We had a lovely time here. Lea was so helpful and dropped us off at a couple of places. There is a pool and you have the run of the house. Superb breakfast. Only problem is its position in a quiet residential area which has its pluses but also meant it was a hike to get there and taxi drivers didn't always know where it was, but as I said, Lea was very helpful and overall we enjoyed ourselves and would go back.


100%

Thank you so much Julia and Lea! I had such a wonderful time and am so glad we met




View all Rio de Janeiro Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback