Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Makako Chill Out Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,175 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,175 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
Makako Chill Out Hostel Located at Calle Quero # 9 54, , Cartagena.
Makako Chill Out Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar Calle Quero # 9 54
83% 1175
10.4262594 -75.5466699
Makako Chill Out Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2016
10.0

I stayed in the Chill House Hostel first and switched to the "sister" Hostel Makako. The girls were a great help and organized everything for me. I had an awesome time at both places. The location is super central, beautiful and the area is safe at day and night. During the day I loooved chilling in the common areas with air conditioning and wifi. I definitely loved Makako and highly recommend it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel with great people..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
7.1

Very unhelpful staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Aug 2016
7.1

Overall it was good, except of the kitchen which was during the evenings quite full as there was not much space and in addition the ventilation was not an appropriate one. The cooker did not work properly. Otherwise it was very well placed, safe and a big shop was close to it to please ones needs. the Staff were always kind.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.7

everything was amazing at this place, the only thing ill mention is that the staff should be more informed about transportation options from the places around without using a taxi or a private tour.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
30th Jul 2016
6.6

Pros- This hostel is walking distance to restaurants and bars. Has a kitchen if you want to cook your own meals. Cons- The staff doesn't speak English so there was no assistance with what we should in the city, where we shouldn't go, basic travel advice. The hostel has absolutely no atmosphere, theres no bar or restaurant so people didn't really socialize. The rooms weren't very clean. After a night we switched to El Viajer Hostel and were SUPER HAPPY we did.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2016
8.3

awesome hostel! right in the historic centre, very clean, bright, with nice common areas with terrace and hammocks. kitchen is big and ok equipped. room of ten is a bit small,but with a/c, bathroom and wardrobe. staff is friendly and helpful. cons: lockers are small and only in the reception, but the hostel is pretty safe anyway

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
8.3

The staff are very nice but they do only speak Spanish. The location is great! While I was there it was quiet. Not much of an atmosphere but it was clean and the had A/C that they turned on at nights so that was a plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
8.3

Good hostel. Air con in the rooms witch is essential in Cartagena. Staff were fun and friendly. Location is great. There were ants in the kitchen but it was clean enough. Booked mud volcano tour through this hostel and was fine. Can't speak for the other tours

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
7.4

You won't find much cheaper in Cartagena. However any atmosphere you'll have to create yourself, kitchen facilities could use updating and there was often no bathrooms available. Beds don't have ladders so you kind of have to just jump down and scramble up if you're on the top bunk!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.