Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Makako Chill Out Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
Makako Chill Out Hostel Located at Calle Quero # 9 54, , Cartagena.
Makako Chill Out Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar Calle Quero # 9 54
83% 1315
10.4262594 -75.5466699
Makako Chill Out Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
2.0

They completely lost our reservation. I even spoke to someone a few says before arrival and they confirmed our arrival date. When we arrived they had no idea who we were. I showed them my reservation email and the email coordinating with their staff member. We were turned away. I still have not received my deposit back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry for the misunderstood. Maybe was caused because our receptionist was new and it was high season. But You should remember the staff offerded you to stay in a departament five minutes from the hostel ( beach and pool included ) but you refused it. Anyway you were in your right but we did what the rule says: To find a place for you instead, we did it. It was our first time making this mistake and it won´t happen again. .

22nd Dec 2016
10.0

I don't have any complaints for this hostel the staff is amazing and the location is perfect. Everything was clean and very good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
21st Dec 2016
7.7

Good location with friendly staff. Beds are ok. Kitchen ok. Showers are bad with no hot water and one of them doesn't even have a spray, just water coming out from the pipe which i think goes against their belief of saving water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
9.4

Awesome place! Great location in the beatiful streets of Cartagena. In the historical centre, few minutes to walk to the places of interest. Easy to find, close to Plaza Fernandez, big sign hanging outside. Nice dorm, beds comfortable. Othere big rooms for everyone to hang out and talk. Cleaniness superior. Everything gets cleaned daily. Great staff! Always someone you can ask. Air always good, day and night. Computer to use. Internet is top. Definitely one of the best hostels I have seen!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lew1517198
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.4

We stayed in a (the?) private room, which we found very comfortable. Spacious and clean, and most importantly a modern, working, quiet air conditioning unit that works all the time. Nice chill out area. Decent coffee at all times. Quite laid back, and quiet at night. A nice atmosphere - probably not the best place to meet people if your travelling alone but great if you're a couple or small group. Staff were all super friendly and helpful. Bed a little creaky.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.1

Bastante recomendable, su ubicación es excelente y el staff es muy amable. La cocina está bien equipada y los dormitorios tienen Buen aire acondicionado.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
6.0

Average hostel. Better around Cartagena

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Dec 2016
8.3

This place boasts the best staff in Colombia. They are very friendly and outgoing. Facilities are ok, great air conditioning , good wifi. It also felt like no atmosphere was between the people at the hostel most of the time. If you want the best atmosphere for backpackers head towards Trinidad square about a mile away

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
8.0

Definitely worth a look if you're interested in staying inside the walled city itself. The hostel is perfectly located in the old own and is only a minute's walk from a supermarket. The staff only speak Spanish but are friendly and easy to get along with. Rooms are cleaned daily and are well air conditioned at night, which is a must in Cartagena. No breakfast provided but the fridge and cooking facilities are adequate. Lockers are plentiful but too small for anything laptop-sized.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
6.6

Its a cheap hostel, don't expect the world here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.