Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Makako Chill Out Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Staff is very helpful with everything, very good location for everyday activities and night life as well. All in all good value for your money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Feb 2017
6.9

The hostel was fine. A couple of comp

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
8.0

we liked makako the staff was nice, it had a great location and the great common areas. we did think that it needed a little love, the bathrooms seemed pretty run down,the mattresses and sheets were really old. we paid the same amount or less for other hostels in cartagena that included breakfast. we wanted to store some luggage but they only have a really small storage space (closet) that was full. they did allow us to keep luggage in a dorm closet but said that it would not be secure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
8.9

The staff were excellent, but the beds and bedsheets are very old and need to replaced.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
6.9

Definitely used to be a good hostel but they have an urgent need to renovate and change of management! Everything feels like falling apart! They give you the password of the wifi of the restaurant downstairs! No wifi in the room! No clear answers sometimes! Do you do laundary? Mixed answers depending on staff member! I would not go again until I hear some reviews about renovation. Location is great though!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
9.7

This hostel is quiet and simple, very nice staff and everything from stores, clubs, restaurants and visiting areas are within a few minutes walks. The rooms and living room has Ac and a balcony + hammocs to chill wich makes it a super good place to stay within the walled area. The streets around are safe with gards patrols often. From airport taxi said 10$ us and finally didnt give me back any change on a 20$. Make sure to have the right amount in col pesos to make is easier Enjoy your stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Great place ! Air conditioner in the living room and all the dorms. Perfect location and the best staff . Near everything i need: Local culture, nightlife and supermarkets. In the heart of the old town surrounded by the ocean and the beautiful walled area. I´m still here and don´t want to leave. Higly recommended .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Dec 2016
10.0

I don't have any complaints for this hostel the staff is amazing and the location is perfect. Everything was clean and very good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Dec 2016
7.7

Good location with friendly staff. Beds are ok. Kitchen ok. Showers are bad with no hot water and one of them doesn't even have a spray, just water coming out from the pipe which i think goes against their belief of saving water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
9.4

Awesome place! Great location in the beatiful streets of Cartagena. In the historical centre, few minutes to walk to the places of interest. Easy to find, close to Plaza Fernandez, big sign hanging outside. Nice dorm, beds comfortable. Othere big rooms for everyone to hang out and talk. Cleaniness superior. Everything gets cleaned daily. Great staff! Always someone you can ask. Air always good, day and night. Computer to use. Internet is top. Definitely one of the best hostels I have seen!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.