Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Makako Chill Out Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th May 2017
9.4

Only bad thing I can say is they didn't have a printer to print my boarding pass. But good hostel, and air con was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
9.4

Very nice hostel where you feel right at home. Free drinks from 7:30 to 8:30. In the heart of the old city. Would definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
8th May 2017
9.1

Great hostel. Excellent location. Big cool aircon lounge. Nice little balcony. Always some music on. Kitchen is ok. Could do with an upgrade on some stuff (doors, bathrooms, kitchen...but it is cheap) Staff were great - funny and always cheerful. They don't speak much english but you get the main idea and it's perfect if you are looking for a place to practice your Spanish.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
9.7

The hostel has nice atmosphere, the staff is great! They made me feel like at home as soon I walked in ! The free drink hour is a plus to stay there !!! Perfect location too next to some of the best restaurant in the old town... I would stay here again ! Highly recommended !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2017
10.0

הוסטל מקאקו הוא עם אווירה טובה, צוות חמוד ומהמם שעוזר בכל דבר ויש במקום גם סוכנות טיולים עם נציג שזמין לענות על שאלות ולקבוע דרכו אטרקציות ואוטובוסים.. ההוסטל נקי ומסודר, יש פעמיים בשבוע הפי האוור, מזגן בחדרים ובסלון כזה נמצא בעיר העתיקה וקרוב לחומות, אזור שבטוח להסתובב בו בלילה ומלא בחנויות מסעדות וברים... בקיצור- הוסטל מדהים!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2017
9.7

I had a great stay here it's in a good location in the old city and very close to a big exito grocery store. It was always clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly, I would recommend especially for the fair price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
8.3

Great hostel for low budget. Nice and chill atmosphire. The staff is awesome. And u get freeee drinks on wedensday and friday. Totally recommended

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
26th Apr 2017
8.9

Epic hostel, super chilled and great vibe. Staff are full of life. Well worth it. The old city is F'ing expensive beware

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laurenctaylor19847033
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
8.3

Great budget hostel. My friend and I stayed in the 6 person dorm, sheets were clean, room was clean, and the AC was god sent. The shared bathroom was clean every time I went in. Nice little lounge area. It's cheap so of course it's not going to be luxury or fancy, you get what you pay for, so just expect that. All together though, friendly and clean. The girls working there didn't speak much English, and I don't speak much Spanish, but we still managed to communicate no problem!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
10.0

I had a perfect stay at the Makako. The staff was super nice and organized and it was very clean. There was a great atmosphere and I felt almost like home. The air con in the doorms and the common area saved my life. It's awesome to meet other travellers and have a drink. By the way I loved the happy hours :) After having a drink at the hostel there are so many amazing places nearby to enjoy this beautiful city and the great nightlife. The neighborhood is very safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.