Hostelworld.com

Makako Chill Out Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
Makako Chill Out Hostel Located at Calle Quero # 9 54, , Cartagena.
Makako Chill Out Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar Calle Quero # 9 54
81% 1116
10.4262594 -75.5466699
Makako Chill Out Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jun 2016
7.7

If you're looking for a no frills place with a great location right in the old city, this is it. It served our purpose just fine. That there are only 3 bathrooms for the whole hostel is a small nuisance. Some of the building could use some repair. However, the staff is great. We enjoyed our stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
10.0

Oooh, The beautiful Cartagena! Summer this days. Great hostel, Air con.in the large living room and all the rooms and dorms, plus a beautiful safe location in the heart of the walled historical city and beautiful balconies facing the tipical streets and near everything. That, and a wellcoming helpful happy staff this is home away from home , what i´m looking for if i go to a hostel, and makako has it all. very clean place . Not a HOTEL , but a HOSTEL . Thanks guys for everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
10.0

I highly recommend this hostel! It has a great safe location very close to bars and the supermarket and is always kept very clean and tidy.All the rooms and common area have aircon which is a must for Cartagena's very humid weather, The staff were AMAZING! Very polite, considerate and went out of there way to help out 24/7!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Paraguay, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
10.0

The hostel was great for me and my friends. The room was spacious, clean and the AC was sufficient for those warm Cartagena nights. Tha bathrooms were always available and clean. The common areas were always clean and organized (besides they have AC too), and the girls from the front desk were so nice and helpful. The hostel is well located, less than 2 blocks away you can find a very complete supermarket and drugstore. Walking distance from the party happenings and restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rvarden3525
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2016
9.4

Great price, perfect location. Friendly approachable knowledgable staff. Great place to meet people but not too noisy. Clean, air conditioned dorms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
16th Jun 2016
6.3

When people say Cartagena is hot, they mean humid. It's like 35 degrees but 90% humidity. I felt like this hostel tried to help out with that, with a cool-ish social area and air con (that worked 80% of the time!) between around 8pm and 9am. The bunks were quite short (I'm 6' and felt that was the limit), the bathrooms were actually pretty good, security seemed a bit dodgy, the kitchen was a bit scummy but ok. The staff were pretty great, very laid back but actually really helpful and fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.0

Nice hostel I enjoyed the stay here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jun 2016
10.0

This was the perfect place for our stay in Cartagena. The location could not have been better - it's on a super cute street in the historic part of the city. The staff spend alot of time cleaning the hostel and were very welcoming. Makako has a large chill out area with couches, tables, a TV, and aircon. The rooms also have aircon which was particularly important given than Cartagena can be so hot. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
8.9

Overall enjoyed my time at Makako. It's in a great location, very quiet at night and away from the noisier party streets but also walking distance to anywhere you want to go in the historic old town. Chill atmosphere and it's small so was able to meet some people to hang out with and travel with. By far my favorite part was all the ladies who work here! They always greet you with a smile and are happy to help you with anything you need. One suggestion I have is more large safes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.3

AC in large communal area during the day. Friendly staff. Kept very clean. Free morning coffee. AC in rooms from 7pm until morning. Wobbly beds. Only 3 bathrooms, shower and toilets in one room. Only 2 out of 4 burners worked on cooker. Good location. Outside gate can be opened by anyone but 24 hour reception.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.