Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Makako Chill Out Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1386 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1386 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
10.0

I had a perfect stay at the Makako. The staff was super nice and organized and it was very clean. There was a great atmosphere and I felt almost like home. The air con in the doorms and the common area saved my life. It's awesome to meet other travellers and have a drink. By the way I loved the happy hours :) After having a drink at the hostel there are so many amazing places nearby to enjoy this beautiful city and the great nightlife. The neighborhood is very safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.1

The ladies at this hostel are so lovely, they were always helpful and so friendly. The atmosphere is so chilled and location is great. I'd definitely stay here again however I think there should be more bathrooms as there are only three and they could do with some hooks for hanging clothes. The rooms don't have locks on the doors but the entrance is manned 24 hours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
30th Mar 2017
5.4

Arrived at 9 am and had to leave our bags in the kitchen while we toured the city. Waited until 1 pm to check in only to find another guest sleeping in our newly made bed. The 10 bed dorm only had 1 shower/toilet, very uncomfortable. Weird vibe of people staying in bed all day, but maybe just when we came.. Rooms were hot even when a/c was on. Girls at front desk weren't very helpful. Booked 2 nights, left after 1.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
9.7

Best value for money in town . Clean safe nice staff and best location . Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.7

Everything was great. Perfect location and helpful staff always willing to help you out. Air con in doorms and nice meeting point in the middle of the hostel also with Air con. which is a must in Cartagena . Best value in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Mar 2017
10.0

Very friendly staff! Hostel is located in the heart of the centro historico, everything could be reached by foot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
9.7

Really cool place . The best is the staff and the location . Very safe area inside the walled city. Always clean and near everything. Easy to meet people . All in all very good place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Mar 2017
7.1

Bunks were shoved into a small room and there was only one PowerPoint in our room. Generally quite run down. No staff at the desk spoke English which was hard for us as our Spanish isn't the best. It was fine for one night as it's in a great location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
9.7

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights and every night was lovely. The hostel is clean and has great A/C. It wasnt loud at night but also very social! Definitely a 'chill' hostel! The area can be a little dangerous especially if you leave the walled area in the evening. We also had many people trying to rip us off for food, cab, plus there are crooked cops!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
11th Mar 2017
6.9

Had high expectations for this hostel due to the reviews. The ladies where very sweet and helpful but not extremely knowledgable of the area. The entire hostel has only 3 toilets which have showers in them. Had to wait every time I need to use the bathroom. The plus is that the rooms are super cold which is great at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.