Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Makako Chill Out Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
Makako Chill Out Hostel Located at Calle Quero # 9 54, , Cartagena.
Makako Chill Out Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar Calle Quero # 9 54
83% 1154
10.4262594 -75.5466699
Makako Chill Out Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Jul 2016
8.3

awesome hostel! right in the historic centre, very clean, bright, with nice common areas with terrace and hammocks. kitchen is big and ok equipped. room of ten is a bit small,but with a/c, bathroom and wardrobe. staff is friendly and helpful. cons: lockers are small and only in the reception, but the hostel is pretty safe anyway

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
8.3

The staff are very nice but they do only speak Spanish. The location is great! While I was there it was quiet. Not much of an atmosphere but it was clean and the had A/C that they turned on at nights so that was a plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
7.1

Nice place, great location, lovely staff. AC in the rooms at night was necessary and we were thankful for it. Would definitely recommend for a comfortable and affordable stay in the centre of where you want to be in Cartagena.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
9.7

Great hostel but book all your nights before you get there as can only book online. We had to move second day. Really chilled and clean, not s party hostel but don't mind if you go out and come back late

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.9

We stayed 3 nights in a private room at the Makako Hostel. The location was great and the staff was friendly. The kitchen however is pretty basic (plastic dishes etc.) and needs some modernization. The stove is half broken and there are ants running on the counter top. We wouldn't go there again but if you're looking for something simple and relatively cheap it works fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
10.0

amazing staff, excellent location, really clean, lili y lenis are "super buena onda"!!! i can definately suggest this place if you are searching for an easy going place to stay in cartagena ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
9.7

I had a great stay at Makako Hostel. It´s in a beautiful street in the old town and everything important was in walking distance. The air conditioning in the living and bedrooms saved my live in a city that hot. The staff was amazing and really helpful, ask them for recommendations where to go. They are very attentive all the time and keep the place really clean. I loved that the hostel had hammocks and a balcony to chill in the afternoon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
6.6

Makako is in a fabulous location. Had one the worst experiences staying there but if you avoid certain services you could have a good stay. Their luggage storage is also the kitchen unless you pay 1.000 a day to have it crammed in an armoire. Do not book the playa Blanca your through them. Do not use their laundry service. Ignore the fact that the sheets look like someone has already slept in them. However you can't beat the location and the price so take it how you will.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.1

A great staple place to stay, and you can't beat the location! The staff were very friendly and had many helpful recommendations. The sleeping situation is a bit cramped, but what can you expect in the middle of the historic district? I would recommend this hostel to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2016
9.1

Good hostel for stay in Cartagena. Happy, helpful, hilarious staff, good kitchen and social area and incredible location in the centre of town. Dorm slightly cramped but airconditioned.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.