Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Makako Chill Out Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
Makako Chill Out Hostel Located at Calle Quero # 9 54, , Cartagena.
Makako Chill Out Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar Calle Quero # 9 54
85% 1266
10.4262594 -75.5466699
Makako Chill Out Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Nov 2016
6.3

Honestly this hostel is average. The facilities are not great (there are 3 bathrooms in total so if it happens that it's fully booked, you might need to wait an hour or two for your turn to take a shower), but could be worse (the AC is working all the time and that is crucial to your survival in Cartagena; lockers that will fit your phone and a passport but not your bag). Definitiely not a party hostel - it's possible to meet some cool people though. Some staff members are a little bit rude.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
6.6

I was stolen at the hostel. My wallet was in the locker, combination padlock was opened and money was taken from my wallet.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
9.7

First , Thanks ta all the staff for all the help . This hostel is located in one of the safest and more beautiful streets right in the meddle of old Cartagena where EVERYTHING ( not only the bars and party happens ) If you want to be near the beautiful real colonial balconies , romantic streets , ancient churchs , walls , museums, night life and culture for a great price , feeling yourself safe and happy; This is the hostel to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Nov 2016
4.9

The staff doesn't speak a single word English but more than that, when trying to communicate with them in Spanish the lady kept acting as if she was annoyed at her job and wished that she had no guests at all. She was no help at all in planning a trip or getting info about the city. The air-conditioning was broken and I could only check-in 4 hours after the designated check-in time. Also there is no atmospheres in the hostel, also because of the staff..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Nov 2016
7.1

No idea how they have such a high rating. Toilets are clean enough but there's mold on the walls & mattresses look pretty old & yellow when the sheets are off. Staff are pretty blasé especially the main woman working reception although she did warm slightly by the end. Have to have a booking. Can't just rock up & book. If you do they'll make you go online there & book. If you want to extend (can't see that being a common choice) gotta go online. Zero atmosphere. Spend P5000 more & go elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
9.7

I've stayed at this hostel on 2 separate occasions. I like it! There is a lot of common area and 2 balconies. I met people every night I stayed here. The staff is willing to push through a language barrier to help you with whatever you need no matter how long it takes. It's clean. It seems they're constantly sweeping and mopping throughout the day. Occasionally there isn't available locker space but I'm not sure if that has to do with guests not consolidating their things. Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Oct 2016
9.4

Great location, lovely staff. Small hostel and easy to meet people. Nice big common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
18th Oct 2016
8.6

Not bad for a night or 2. The dorms are quite cramped though. AC in the dorm at night which is nice, yet not during the day. Staff don't speak English. Wifi wasn't great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
17th Oct 2016
6.9

Ifs fine for one night but it's a bit of a dive. Staff speak very little English but the girl on the desk in the day was helpful. Their tours are very expensive as well. There are far nicer places for a few extra £/$.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
10.0

Makako was a wonderful hostel, we loved our stay there! The staff was so helpful with everything we needed (even laundry) 😁 theyre all super friendly and accomdating. It was quiet enough even in 10 bed dormers that we slept well every night and its located close to everything you need in Old Central(beautiful) Cartageña! Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.