Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Makako Chill Out Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1453 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1453 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jul 2017
7.7

It was unbearably hot in most os the hostel most of the time.. there was one room which had aircon all day the other rooms were like 8pm-9am which seems about average and the AC worked really well when it was on so it wasn't the worst but it took a whole day to get accostomed to the heat of Cartagena especially with the hostel being on the second floor. When anyone cooked anything it was unbelievable hot I couldn't imagine staying at this hostel for more than a few days.. also there were ants.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.7

This was the first hostel I stayed at in Colombia and I really enjoyed it. No frills but that's how I like it, and it's always very clean. Great social area which is the perfect balance for me; not a party place but lively enough with a friendly atmosphere and lots of solo travellers who are keen to socialise. Staff don't speak english so get ready to practise your spanish!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 38 reviews
7th Jul 2017
9.1

Really decent hostel. On the pricey side but I think this is a Cartagena thing. Staff are constantly cleaning. Great lounge to relax in- well air conditioned. Kitchen ok- could do with some new equipment though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay in Makako. Perfect location to enjoy the city with a lot of nice spots nearby. The staff was super nice and gave us great recommendation. The beds are comfortable and the a/c in the dorms and communal area was perfect. The kitchen was well equipped and I loved that they had fresh coffee prepared during the whole day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Jun 2017
9.4

GREAT AIR CONDITIONING! But great location and they run a pretty tight ship! Nice balcony and common room and a aesthetically pleasing streetscape. However there was a guy across the way who is a rookie obo musician and he isn't very good, can be loud. Not the hostels fault really

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gabrubart4866
  • Italy, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jun 2017
7.4

This is not a bad hostel, but not even a great one! There are too many beds in the dorms and the kitchen is old and not well-equipped. The common room is nice, but when we were there everybody was just staring at the phone and not interacting to each other. However, the location is good and the girls who run the hostel are really helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2017
8.6

The room was big and lots of storage. The kitchen was ok. Nice common area. Great location. The staff didn't speak any English. The shared bathroom was clean enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2017
8.3

Great location right in the middle of old town. Friendly and helpful staff. Facilities were very basic, kitchen barely enough supplies. AC in the rooms was nice, and in the common area during the day. Nice stay, but nothing spectacular.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
5.7

The hostel was in a perfect location and the staff was very very nice and the A/C felt wonderful at night, but the pictures were very deceiving and the facilities were not very good at all. Also, there were mixups with the bedrooms and I came back to the hostel with a couple in my bed. This was the worst hostel I stayed in during my 2 month travels in South America unfortunately.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It is Great to know that 99.9% of the people think diferent about us. .

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
21st Jun 2017
9.7

Had a great stay at Makako. Great location for exploring the old town. Lounge room with air con all day which is a must because Cartagena is so hot! Aircon in the dorm room at night so it's not too hot to sleep. Kitchen facilities Only comment is there are no curtains in the rooms so bring your eye mask.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.