Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Makuto Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 2507 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 2507 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jul 2017
7.7

Stay here for the people. Staff is like a family b/c of so many long-term volunteers. They treat everyone like family. Only problem is that the place is messy because the long-term volunteers have their stuff everywhere. Plus, the lockers are not large enough for a backpack. Finally, the chill-out room has no wi-fi nor AC, so it is hardly a 'chill-out' space. That said, the place has a great community. Highly recommend the sunset walking tour. Also check out Sierra Nevada Nat'l Park trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
9.7

By far the best hostel I have stayed at in Spain, and I've been to quite a few. Such a welcoming environment, staff were so friendly, little things like showing you to your room personally and inviting you out on the (free!) events like the walking tour and the pub crawl make a world of difference. Also the dinners were incredible, really top notch stuff. Thank you Makuto, I'll probably be back x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jul 2017
9.1

What makes this hostel special are the staff who are also backpackers and know what a difference a smile, a chat and home cooked meal can make. They take you out for free and the walking tour is very cool. Air con was a big plus, though not all rooms have air con!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jul 2017
9.1

The staff are the absolute best here and go out of their way to help you make the most of your experience in Granada. Bathroom situation isn't great but atmosphere makes up for it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • GloryGzz
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.7

Amazing place to find new friends and to relax while you visit a beautiful place like Granada. ❤️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th Jul 2017
7.7

Enjoyed my stay at Makuto hostel. The staff were helpful and friendly, the free walking tour each night was fantastic and the hike (although the day was too hot) was fun. There's not a lot of space for luggage in the rooms and you cannot sit up in the bunk as it isnt high enough but overall i really liked this hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
10.0

I had such an amazing stay at Makuto hostel. The hostel itself has such a calm and relaxed atmosphere, with a very chilled out vibe. The volunteers are extremely friendly and passionate about making sure you have an amazing stay, and their recommendations were always great. I met plenty of really cool guests here too who are all on the same wavelength. This has definitely been my favourite hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nellyhon
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2017
8.9

Fantastic place, fantastic people and very hard to leave

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
10.0

Best Hostel experience I've had. Special thanks to the volunteers for a great time: Alain, Dale, JP and Lucy!! You guys were awesome!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Amazing atmosphere. Only down was pillows weren't great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.