Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Makuto Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2601 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2601 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Sep 2017
9.7

My *ONLY* complaints are that my room had 2 power ports for 10 people - not great - and the dinner was kind of over priced. I mentioned these to them and they said they'd look into it, so I literally have no other complaints!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
16th Sep 2017
8.6

Location is ok, but a bit of a challenge if you're carrying a bit of luggage! Staff were helpful and nice - evening walking tour was great. Facilities were ok, but breakfast was disappointing. For a solo traveller, great place to meet new people, so would recommend on that basis.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
8.0

Really nice staff and good communal areas so V good for solo travellers! 10 bed dorm was very squashed in and cold for people on higher bunks near to AC. Also possibly the worst breakfast I've ever had in a hostel (sorry) - very cheap Sliced white bread with basic jam and margarine and chocolate spread with tea and coffee. Would have been nice to have some decent bread or fruit or cereal etc. Walking tour amazing don't miss it!! Overall staff and vibe made up for some poor facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Sep 2017
8.3

Great hostel, the beds are packed in but are comfortable. Great area with hammocks and chill out area. Kitchen is small but functional. The nighttime walk is highly recommended. They also do a day trip to the Sierra Nevada which is highly recommend. Communal bathroom with only 3 showers but amazingly didn't have to wait ever. Nice car area. Staff are super helpful. I had some clothes stolen that were drying on the window grill (from non guests) so we wary of that!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2017
8.6

Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2017
9.4

Wonderful, wonderful spot! There's an atmosphere that is incomparable to anywhere else I've stayed. Has a family feel, cheap Sangria that you'll drink daily while chatting with fellow backpackers and wonderful activities like a guided hiking tour. Love this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2017
10.0

Loved Makuto! Such a great friendly vibe, would have stayed much longer if possible. The best walking tour I've been on!! Great outdoor area and hammocks. Bit of a hike up the hill but really great to be in a more legitimate Spanish area rather than total tourist trap. As a solo backpacker it was so easy to meet people. Staff were more like family and so helpful. Thanks for a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2017
10.0

Super nice. Beautiful city. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2017
10.0

Just the best atmosphere of any of the hostels i've been to

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
10.0

The best hostel I've ever stayed at!! The staff are so nice and everyone else who stayed there was really social and easy going. Definitely go on the walking tour at night it was the best experience ever 😁

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×