Hostelworld.com

Makuto Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2277 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2277 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th Feb 2017
6.6

Staff at reception are friendly and helpful. Common areas, bar and dinners are good however the facilities are very bad. Only 3 showers and 2 toilets, showers need turning on every 30 seconds. Wifi never worked! My bed was horrible, felt like I was sleeping on springs ! The top bunks need shelving ! Constantly phones, portable chargers ect we're falling on my pillow from the 3rd + 4th bunk in the night which is so dangerous ! Never had a good nights sleep here!! Nice staff bad but bad faciliti

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

This was the most incredible Hostel experience. The atmosphere is welcoming and the staff is so kind and wanted to help you with every need. There are a lot of common spaces and people were able to meet each other and hang out. The free walking tour was beautiful and Maputo is located in the coolest neighborhood of Granada. Absolutely a MUST if you are going to travel to Granada.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
10.0

I've stayed in many hostels throughout Europe and this place is by far my favorite! The staff is incredibly friendly, and as many of them live here, go above and beyond to make you feel at home. The atmosphere encourages people to hang, and many nights we all sat around playing guitar and telling stories or going out and getting Tapas together. Totally ideal for a solo traveler. Cannot wait to come back here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cozmik_faerie
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
4th Feb 2017
10.0

This was my second stay at Makuto, & it was as good as I remember the first time. The new layout of the girls dorm is awesome. The treehouse and its hammocks are so easy to spend a day laid in. There's a decent kitchen to make food in, or get a dinner from. Everyone is so friendly, and chilled out. Its the perfect atmosphere and it's a great place to meet people & a perfect base to explore Granada. No doubt I'll be back someday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

Great place to stay in Granada. Bit of a hike to get to if you aren't used to climbing big hills

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
9.4

Awesome atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
10.0

Makuto was one of my best hostel experiences and I definitely plan on coming back. The staff and volunteers are fabulous, the location unbeatable, and the hostel itself cozy. Definitely do the free walking tour for the best views and to hangout in the Sacromonte caves.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
9.4

This was a great place to stay. The set up of the hostel makes it so easy to meet people. This is a great place for solo travellers. Dinner was good. Staff was great - super friendly and chatty with all the guests. Loved the walking tour! I was kind of sick and the staff helped me out so much without me even asking. Beds are pretty comfortable no complaints there. Honestly don't really have any complaints at all. Walking up the hill was a pain but my butt could use it! Would def stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
10.0

Makuto is an amazing hostel in an amazing city. It's a little hard to find at first but I had the best time here! I stayed in the 4-person standard room, which was worth it because we had a private bathroom and didn't have to go cross the courtyard in order to use one. The evening walking tours are a great time, as is being in Granada in general. Volunteers stay with them so the property is always clean and maintained. 6 euro dinners w/ drink were good too! Go to Granada and stay at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
9.4

Makuto has a super chill vibe and I've met some great, like-minded travellers here. Conveniently located, yes it is a short hike to get there so if you can avoid it, don't bring a suitcase! Bathroom and bed were both clean, cheers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.