Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Makuto Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th May 2017
9.1

I definitely recommend for solo young travellers who aren't a princess. Yes it's annoying that there's only one bathroom (with only 3 showers) but everyone at the hostel was really lovely and inclusive. I also really enjoyed the hike to Sierra Nevada that they organised.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th May 2017
9.7

one of the best hostels i've ever been to

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • emma-hepworth366
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
17th May 2017
8.0

Overall I did like this hostel, but there are some things you should consider before booking! Pros: Great free walking tour, delicious hostel dinner, friendly staff, lovely atmosphere (easy to meet people). Cons: Rooms have no air-con so can get stuffy, only 3 showers/toilets for the whole hostel (which you have to walk through the common area to get to). The hostel has a great atmosphere and friendly staff, and that's whatpeople come to stay for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
10.0

My second stay at Makuto's and just as great! Friendly staff and good atmosphere to meet other travelers. Only thing is that there are only 3 showers and 3 toilets for the entire hostel, plus the bathroom is far from some rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
10.0

Makuto bitches! Made amazing friends at this hostel, highly recommend! Free sunset walking tour was lovely and the staff were so nice! Such a great vibe and I LOVE Granada as a city! Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
9.4

Great hostel! Great staff... the walking tour on the evening is the best

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
10.0

This place is fantastic. The staff is incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. There are tons of activities that they provide like walking tours, hikes, etc. Definitely go for the ensuite bathroom, otherwise you have to go outside to the shared facility. Very welcoming, fun experience. Felt very safe, also. Location is also very convenient, near lots of shops and restaurants. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th May 2017
10.0

The outdoor chilling areas are so fun and make it so easy to meet people. Their daily walking tour is incredible and unique, and the weekly hiking trip is something you shouldn't miss. They have great staff who are all extremely friendly and welcoming. The bunks are a bit cramped, but the atmosphere is so great you'll hardly be in your room (also they have hammocks, so you can nap in those during the day). Take the mini-bus up to the hostel when you arrive with your bags, this place is uphill!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
9.4

The location and atmosphere are definitely the highlights here. The vibe is very laid back and creative, and provides a great conduit for meeting fellow travelers. At the same time, they are strict about quiet hours, meaning you're not going to be kept awake by rowdy partiers. The staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities clean and easy to use, and the decor is fantastic. The one downside is that the beds aren't all that comfortable, but it's a small price to pay for the location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
8.3

Located in beautiful, although hilly, neighbourhood. Staff were awesome - friendly, helpful, and responsive. Hammocks and treehouse were great, but hammocks need replacing. Kitchen was small but well equipped. Evening sunset tour highly recommended! Only complaint were the ridiculous bunks. I had read about them before staying, and thought I could deal. I barely could. We were on the 3rd tier of 4 bunks, and even sober I could barely monkey my way in. I think it was worth it for the atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.