Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Makuto Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.1

Really great place. The girl at the desk in the evening is one of the nicest ladies I've ever met. She was so helpful and not to mention she was a total babe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.3

Overall a great place to start in Granada, with a Fab location in the heart of old city. Friendly and informative staff. Excellent tour of city-a must for newbies to Granada. Good atmosphere: warm staff welcome. Got the feeling there were quite a few long stayers, meaning a little clic was present. Majority of travellers outgoing and friendly and inclusive. Thought evening meal was a bit pricy €6. Quite cramped dorm room and wi-go was a little unreliable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Amazing atmosphere and great location! One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.1

Told to come here by several previous guests and was not disappointed. Staff and volunteers make you feel like family, the atmosphere is amazing and the home cooked dinners are great. I will never forget my time at makuto. Bathroom facilities are not the best however. lights in the toilet turn off after 30s, showers are not warm enough, low pressure and have to stand against the wall. Some bunks are also very high (4 beds high) and quite dangerous to get to after a night out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th Feb 2017
6.6

Staff at reception are friendly and helpful. Common areas, bar and dinners are good however the facilities are very bad. Only 3 showers and 2 toilets, showers need turning on every 30 seconds. Wifi never worked! My bed was horrible, felt like I was sleeping on springs ! The top bunks need shelving ! Constantly phones, portable chargers ect we're falling on my pillow from the 3rd + 4th bunk in the night which is so dangerous ! Never had a good nights sleep here!! Nice staff bad but bad faciliti

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

This was the most incredible Hostel experience. The atmosphere is welcoming and the staff is so kind and wanted to help you with every need. There are a lot of common spaces and people were able to meet each other and hang out. The free walking tour was beautiful and Maputo is located in the coolest neighborhood of Granada. Absolutely a MUST if you are going to travel to Granada.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
10.0

I've stayed in many hostels throughout Europe and this place is by far my favorite! The staff is incredibly friendly, and as many of them live here, go above and beyond to make you feel at home. The atmosphere encourages people to hang, and many nights we all sat around playing guitar and telling stories or going out and getting Tapas together. Totally ideal for a solo traveler. Cannot wait to come back here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cozmik_faerie
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
4th Feb 2017
10.0

This was my second stay at Makuto, & it was as good as I remember the first time. The new layout of the girls dorm is awesome. The treehouse and its hammocks are so easy to spend a day laid in. There's a decent kitchen to make food in, or get a dinner from. Everyone is so friendly, and chilled out. Its the perfect atmosphere and it's a great place to meet people & a perfect base to explore Granada. No doubt I'll be back someday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

Great place to stay in Granada. Bit of a hike to get to if you aren't used to climbing big hills

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
9.4

Awesome atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.