X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Malabar Reviews

No. 26-28 Lebuh Cintra, Penang, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
91 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

It is a bit far from the jetty if you choose to walk. If you arrive during the peak hour, you can't get a taxi easily. The staff is excellent. They introduced lots of attractions and delicious food over there. The room is small but clean.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

A gemstone! Why? The staff!! Hendrik and Tony are the most helpful and nice people ever!! Its almost rediculous! :) The rest of the place is totally ok, good value for money but nothing special, but it's not important, the staff makes it fell like a 5 star hotel.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Didn't take Visa so make sure you have cash. But overall a great spot!


97%

Brilliant find. Tony and Henrik couldn't have been nicer, really clean rooms and bathroom, new mattresses, great air con, excellent location - an easy walk into the heritage centre or the bus station. More of a relaxing, quiet hostel than a place to necessarily meet people but that was exactly what I wanted - would definitely stay here again!


97%

A nice little hostel tucked along the busy Chulia street. Its prime location means we are mere minutes away from a renown cafés and street vendors.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

nice and clean place, very good location, friendly and helpful staff


83%

The room is clean and the location is within walking distance to most of the tourist attractions. We didn't have to take any taxi to travel around.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

About 10 minutes walk from Komtar Bus Station. Located in the central of George and you can easily walk to anywhere. The single ensuite which I stay was quite nice, perhaps can improve by adding one small table. There is also a nice rooftop where you can relax.


77%

Nice to stay , bedroom is clean .Staff Friendly , Good location . But , If there is a TV will be even better . And provide toileteries such as Shampoo and Shower Gel will be even better .

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely staff, very helpful, well located, very clean. Wifi a tad slow, room quite small. Overall very good.


77%

We got the room upstairs. The room and shared toilet is clean and the location is good. However, the major issue was the Wifi in our room is too unstable for a simple net surfing. The guests in the same floor also encountered same issue. Might not come to this again till the wifi is fixed.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were so welcoming and helpful. They advised us of good resturants to go to and what to do in Penang and even gave some first hand history information about the city. It was very clean and extra security on the main door for the rooms across the street made me feel very safe in the city. The location is also great and close to the main areas in George Town. Would 100% stay there again if I go back to penang.


89%

The hostel owner is amazing! So helpful with great advice.


86%

Really helpful staff, was great to be suggested great things to see. Really enjoyed Penang. would really recommend this place


69%

The room is a bit too small. Especially the toilet, I think is about 1Mx1M only. Can't even hang a towel.....

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

็Helpful Staffs


91%

Great hostel with exceptional staff that were friendly and helpful ! It's within walking distance to the KOMTAR bus terminal just off Chulia street

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel with exceptional staff that were friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and rooms were comfortable.


80%

Friendly and helpful staff, location quiet but still quite central.


83%

Overall we had a great stay at Malabar. The room was okay although bit small. Minus point is no tv in the room but wifi is available. The staff is always available and ready to render any assistance.


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Penang Hostels

Please give us your feedback