Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Maleku Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 389 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 389 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
9.7

Non-party hostel close to everything. Excellent stopping point before/after JSO. Kitchen, fridge, clean everything, nice bathrooms (2 common, both w hot showers). Lots of eats, local mall. In town, near hospital (NEVER HEARD A SIREN, seriously this was something awesome about almost all of Costa Rica). Busy outside with dozens of taxis always nearby, typical city bums walking around. Whole house gated and vibe was easy going and quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
9.1

This hostel is excellent as a place to go to/from the airport and the free shuttle in the morning was really nice. The man at the desk seemed very nice as well and understood my first time traveler's confused Spanish very well. (Thank you very much to the three people staying at Maleku Hostel the night of May 31st, 2017. I was terrified over having lost my suitcase and your support and encouragement to continue traveling was incredibly kind and thoughtful)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th May 2017
9.7

Great, easy spot for an early flight the next day. Free shuttle ride to the airport starting each hour at 5 am. Friendly and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marzia98260
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
10.0

AMAZING. BEST HOSTEL EVER!!! Is run like a small house, so it look comfy, with a living room, a pc always available, cleaned bathrooms, someone is always cleaning, quite hostel, reception and staff amazingly nice and available. Is very easy to reach (ask to the bus for the new hospital), it has a huge supermarket at 20 meters. THEY HAVE FREE SHUTTLE TO AIRPORT WHENEVER YOU WANT.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lo-madison
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Apr 2017
5.7

I would say the only good thing about this place is that it's close to the airport, and that you get a shuttle there. Sketchy part of town, beds were dirty with stained sheets, couldn't get out fast enough in the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mswytink1326
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Apr 2017
8.6

The main thing I didn't like about this hostel is that it said breakfast was included, when really it was one piece of fruit. That was misleading. Other than that it was a great hostel, and I appreciated the shuttle to the airport.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
4.6

Very loud - next to a very busy street. Bed was hard and bathroom was dirty. Staff was cranky.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
9.4

The kitchen is very well equipped. The bunk bed was comfortable (6-bed dorm). Noise from traffic on busy street quiets down after 10 PM. Timed fan in room provides some heat and traffic noise relief. Fridge is a little small but accommodates whatever is placed in there. Free computer to use. WiFi works well. Free drive to airport is quick and on time! Warning Maps.Me users: there are two pins for Maleku - choose the one across from the hospital !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
10.0

This hostel was perfect for an early morning flight to the airport, if you are looking for a quiet place to stay. The shuttle to the airport is very convenient. Other than early morning flights, I can't see much of an appeal to staying though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Mar 2017
8.3

Came in from the airport after 2 am and a staff member was waiting up for me. When the taxi stopped in front of the hostel, he already opened the door and greeted me by my name. Felt very safe in the middle of the night. Cab took me 5 min from the airport. Furthermore clean bed and towel is provided.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.