Hostelworld.com

Maleku Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
Maleku Hostel Located at 50 mts oeste del Hospital Nuevo Alajuela, , Alajuela.
Maleku Hostel
Costa Rica
Alajuela Alajuela 50 mts oeste del Hospital Nuevo Alajuela
88% 267
10.0087697 -84.2105913
Maleku Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Apr 2016
8.0

good hostel, good atmosphere, comfy beds

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
8.9

Excellent location, close to the airport and La Radial bus station... great for people needing a place to sleep in Alajuela before heading on to another destination. Breakfast was not very substantial - bananas, biscuits, tea, coffee - but there is a supermarket across the street so you won't go hungry. Thanks for the nice stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Apr 2016
10.0

very comfortable, and the staff were helpful and friendly. close walking distance to the largest shopping mall in central america and also a really rad skating rink, which I would definitely recommend (patinas internacional)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
6.3

Place is pretty tiny. Not a hostel where you want to hang out at. It's great if you have a flight to catch in the morning or next day but other than that I wouldn't recommend this hostel as a place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2016
8.6

Only stopped for one night before an early flight out of San Jose, but it's very conveniently located to the airport and the free shuttle in the morning was a huge plus! Missed breakfast, but beds and showers were clean and comfortable and the staff was great. Not much atmosphere, but I was looking for a quiet night before leaving town and this was perfect for that. After having already seen San Jose, it was a huge relief to not go all the way into and out of the city this time. Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Mar 2016
8.6

Really convenient location, very close to the airport. Enjoyed my stay and would stay here again before my flight. Bed was comfortable. Sheets were clean and pillow was comfy. Gated property, felt very safe. There is a kitchen for use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2016
8.6

This is the perfect hostel for people flying in late, or flying out early, as it is super close to the airport (and has a free shuttle to the airport!!). there was a small area for hanging out - but most people were staying here just for the airport, not anything else! We had a HARD time finding it though!!! The hostel staff was in touch before our stay, and emailed instructions and directions, but no one we met in San Jose could follow their directions.....so we wandered for 2 hrs in search

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Mar 2016
9.7

Very basic, but good for one night stopover right next to the airport. Free transfer to airport, good kitchen, right next to big supermarket. Breakfast only starts at 7am so missed out on that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Mar 2016
7.7

Very small hostel. Fine for staying overnight on arrival into SJ - very convenient location for airport and bus station. Staff were helpful. Communal areas didn't feel particularly welcoming but we weren't there long so difficult to comment really. We forgot to mention we'd already paid a deposit on Hostelworld and so we paid more than we should have as they didn't remind us!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2016
7.1

Good location-airport is nearby, and downtown is a short walk. The beds are comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The major downside is that the quarters are cramped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.