Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Maleku Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
Maleku Hostel Located at 50 mts oeste del Hospital Nuevo Alajuela, , Alajuela.
Maleku Hostel
Costa Rica
Alajuela Alajuela 50 mts oeste del Hospital Nuevo Alajuela
85% 316
10.0087697 -84.2105913
Maleku Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
8.6

Staff was friendly! Good location to get your Tico orientation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2016
10.0

Cheap, clean, quiet, close to airport and interesting things to do in Alajuela. Staff are super helpful and very nice. Great family owned business.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Flora_Aliss
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
9.4

Maleku is exactly what it needs to be for an airport hostel. Everywhere was clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming which is always needed after a long flight. They went over an above to help with issues with my shuttle over to Santa Teresa. Definitely use as a stop over for the airport!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

Wonderful! Clean Relatively quiet Great all you can eat breakfast Good wifi Beds have curtains for privacy Absolutely wonder receptionist named Daniela. She was so kind and helpful and did everything with a smile. Also the cleaning ladies were fantastic and everything was as clean as I would keep my own home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
8.3

I came there right from the airport and it was a nice way to strat my trip. Alahwella is a nice twon and the Poas is really cool to so I am happy I started ther. They gave me a clean towel, there where hot water but the pressure was ok. The kitchen is great. For breakfast is banana and oj and crackers. The stuff was great! Always with a smile helping for all my questions. The guy even woke up at r 4Am to open me the door when I left.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
9.7

Close to the airport and helpful staff. When I get back to CR I will probably start my journey here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Aug 2016
7.1

Great for airport transfers, not much else to it really!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.6

Lovely staff! Nice social area. Quiet little hostel mostly used for transfers to other places I think. Showers were really hot and good! Shops etc nearby and right by airport. Clean, comfy beds and nice linen. Only issue was that it's right by a main road and you need earplugs to sleep, as soon as it's 5am buses and loud lorries are going by. Let me hang around until the evenin after i checked out because of my flight :) staff beyond helpful

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
8.9

Great little hostel convenient for people just getting into Costa Rica or just about to leave! The atmosphere and common area is only so-so, but the convenience for starting and ending your trip only 5 minutes from the airport is terrific. Oh, and they give you fresh sheets and a towel, which is a nice bonus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
6.3

It's very bland. The location is perfect for being near the airport but overall the neighborhood feels uncomfortable. The room was clean, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean but I wouldn't stay here again. I didn't feel comfortable leaving out rental car outside at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.