Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Maleku Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Maleku Hostel Located at 50 mts oeste del Hospital Nuevo Alajuela, , Alajuela.
Maleku Hostel
Costa Rica
Alajuela Alajuela 50 mts oeste del Hospital Nuevo Alajuela
85% 332
10.0087697 -84.2105913
Maleku Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
10.0

Best place near the airport. Stayed only 8 hours but was perfect and relaxing. Nice beds and sheets, all very clean. Arrived very late but welcomed me nicely and showed everything. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.4

The over charged me saying that the deposit from hostel world was not included in their price!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • truc_m085019
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.0

Pros: $5 cab ride from airport - hostel provide FREE shuttle TO the airport (they do not do pick up); close distant to major grocery store & to bus stop Cons: $15 is a high price for such a small location, only 2 showers/toilets, tiny kitchen Great place to stop by when you need a place to sleep after landing at the airport. Not good for anything else. Super helpful staff and owner.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
8.6

The hostel is very close to the airport. A 10min taxi drive or 15min by bus and then walk 5min. Buses leave regularly from outside the airport. Clean hostel with friendly staff. Beds were a bit old and not that comfortable but doable for a night or two. The top bunk beds are a bit hard to get up to as no ladders. The Mini breakfast was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
8.6

Staff was friendly! Good location to get your Tico orientation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2016
10.0

Cheap, clean, quiet, close to airport and interesting things to do in Alajuela. Staff are super helpful and very nice. Great family owned business.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Flora_Aliss
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
9.4

Maleku is exactly what it needs to be for an airport hostel. Everywhere was clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming which is always needed after a long flight. They went over an above to help with issues with my shuttle over to Santa Teresa. Definitely use as a stop over for the airport!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

Wonderful! Clean Relatively quiet Great all you can eat breakfast Good wifi Beds have curtains for privacy Absolutely wonder receptionist named Daniela. She was so kind and helpful and did everything with a smile. Also the cleaning ladies were fantastic and everything was as clean as I would keep my own home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
8.3

I came there right from the airport and it was a nice way to strat my trip. Alahwella is a nice twon and the Poas is really cool to so I am happy I started ther. They gave me a clean towel, there where hot water but the pressure was ok. The kitchen is great. For breakfast is banana and oj and crackers. The stuff was great! Always with a smile helping for all my questions. The guy even woke up at r 4Am to open me the door when I left.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
9.7

Close to the airport and helpful staff. When I get back to CR I will probably start my journey here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.