Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Maleku Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place to stay if you want a clean, quiet night and easy access to and from airport! Super friendly\helpful staff and a comfortable bed! They offer a free shuttle every hour to sjo airport and breakfast in the morning. I enjoyed my one night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.6

Ideal for being near to the airport, easy to get to with public transport and the free shuttle and bananas and coffee in the morning is great. It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. One big downside was the lack of sleep I got due to noise from the main road outside and the bedroom windows that are essentially partially open slats. In the wind they rattle like mad,among with the metal railings against these windows.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
3.1

AS I WENT TO BED, 3 MIN. LATER I WAS WOKEN UP. I WAS TOLD THAT WAS SOMEBODY'S BED, FRONT DESK HAD NOTHING ELSE. NO REFUND. I CANCEL THE FUTURE RESERVATION WITH THIS HOSTEL AND SPEND THE NIGHT AT THE AIRPORT. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE. I HAVE TRAVEL SINCE 6 YRS. I AM 60 AND NEVER CAME ACROSS ANYTHING LIKE IT. PITIFUL.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Jan 2017
8.3

Excellent if you are coming/going from/to the airpor especially with the free drop off. Quiet atmosphere. Nice pleasant staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
10.0

Best place near the airport. Stayed only 8 hours but was perfect and relaxing. Nice beds and sheets, all very clean. Arrived very late but welcomed me nicely and showed everything. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
7.4

Not a bad place for a night stopover on the way flying into and out of town. Just what I needed. Not anything special and not that welcoming of a vibe from other travellers as everyone is either flying in or out of town. All around good place though, it is close to the airport and the free fruit and coffee in the morning wa a great before the free shuttle.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.4

The over charged me saying that the deposit from hostel world was not included in their price!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • truc_m085019
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.0

Pros: $5 cab ride from airport - hostel provide FREE shuttle TO the airport (they do not do pick up); close distant to major grocery store & to bus stop Cons: $15 is a high price for such a small location, only 2 showers/toilets, tiny kitchen Great place to stop by when you need a place to sleep after landing at the airport. Not good for anything else. Super helpful staff and owner.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
8.6

The hostel is very close to the airport. A 10min taxi drive or 15min by bus and then walk 5min. Buses leave regularly from outside the airport. Clean hostel with friendly staff. Beds were a bit old and not that comfortable but doable for a night or two. The top bunk beds are a bit hard to get up to as no ladders. The Mini breakfast was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
8.6

Staff was friendly! Good location to get your Tico orientation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.