Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Maleku Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 368 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 368 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lo-madison
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Apr 2017
5.7

I would say the only good thing about this place is that it's close to the airport, and that you get a shuttle there. Sketchy part of town, beds were dirty with stained sheets, couldn't get out fast enough in the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mswytink1326
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Apr 2017
8.6

The main thing I didn't like about this hostel is that it said breakfast was included, when really it was one piece of fruit. That was misleading. Other than that it was a great hostel, and I appreciated the shuttle to the airport.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
4.6

Very loud - next to a very busy street. Bed was hard and bathroom was dirty. Staff was cranky.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
9.4

The kitchen is very well equipped. The bunk bed was comfortable (6-bed dorm). Noise from traffic on busy street quiets down after 10 PM. Timed fan in room provides some heat and traffic noise relief. Fridge is a little small but accommodates whatever is placed in there. Free computer to use. WiFi works well. Free drive to airport is quick and on time! Warning Maps.Me users: there are two pins for Maleku - choose the one across from the hospital !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
10.0

This hostel was perfect for an early morning flight to the airport, if you are looking for a quiet place to stay. The shuttle to the airport is very convenient. Other than early morning flights, I can't see much of an appeal to staying though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Mar 2017
8.3

Came in from the airport after 2 am and a staff member was waiting up for me. When the taxi stopped in front of the hostel, he already opened the door and greeted me by my name. Felt very safe in the middle of the night. Cab took me 5 min from the airport. Furthermore clean bed and towel is provided.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
6.0

Location is good for a night stay near the airport, though people arrive late and leave early. but good enough for a couple hours of sleep. Atmosphere nothing to write home about. I did expect, that the deposit I paid through Hostelworld would be applied to the rate and that I'd pay the difference as usual. But the guy at the front desk insisted it was just to make sure I would get a bed and made me pay the full rate. Too tired to argu,e, but seriously?? Free shuttle to the airport is nice!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
8.9

Overall a perfect hostel when spending a night before or after the flight. When wanting to stay in Alajuele itself, there might be other hostels better located.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.1

Exactly where you want to stay if you have a flight in the morning!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
8.0

It is only a good place for people arriving from the airport or those taking off. Close to airport, and bus stops. A supermarket a block away. Receptionist was bilingual, and very helpful. I'll be staying there again on the way back out of the country for another night. Only complaint is the incredibly loud street noise from the busy road right outside the windows. Sleep with earplugs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.