X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Malinbeg Hostel Reviews

Malinbeg, Glencolmkille, Donegal, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
193 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

just as friendly advise; heating was not needed at night, especially in the hall as it is August, why waste the money?

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Very cozy friendly place to stay!


100%

We loved our visit to Malinbeg and wished we'd planned on a longer visit to this beautiful area. The hostel owner was friendly and helpful. It was nice meeting other travelers and everyone took very good care to leave the kitchen clean and orderly. Also, the owner made sure the rooms and common areas were well kept and enough kitchen supplies were available. Although the hostel was full, the two big kitchens and large dining area allowed everyone to prepare and eat there meals without problem.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean and secure. The location was remote and quiet. There are no restaurants or bars nearby so be sure to pack your own food. There is a full kitchen available. Access to the north end of the Slieve League trail is accessible.


77%

Basic rooms but very friendly staff and excellent kitchen facilities. Well worth it and good value. Would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

A magnificent location on the Atlantic. Following the route of the Wild Atlantic Way. 2 very clean and manageable kitchens. The fire was lit for us in the lounge room in the evening. The host was great company. All round excellent.


94%

Frank the owner could not have made our stay better - location excellent - hostel spotlessly clean

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

You need your own means of transport to get there. Once there, the feeling is of being at home rather than at a hostel. Frank looks very well after the premises. He's even got a little shop with a few basicnon-perishable items. The kitchen is good, the sitting room is really cosy, the turf fire is on every evening. The surroundings are beautiful, spectacular beach and mountains are within a short walk from the hostel. We've been going for a weekend the last three years and hope to keep on going.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great atmosphere in a beautiful location. Thank you Frank!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

We admired very much that there was no TV, neither in the rooms nor in the commom living room!!!

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

In love with the views. Great value, rooms lovely clean and comfortable. Friendly atmosphere....will stay again for sure.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved the place, Frank is a very good host. We enjoyed our stay and definitely go back.


100%

That's an excellent place to stay. I don't consider it as a hostel, for me that's a hotel, very comfortable, staff is polite, and it's located a 5 min walk form a beautiful beach. It's clean and it's a good place to rest.


100%

Excellent hostel picturesque location Very good facilities Love the open fire in the evenings!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly with great atmosphere. Lots of room in kitchens and dining areas. Real fire a big plus.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Well My Mum and I and a very good time, frank was a very nice man and event though there was a problem with our booking through hostel world, he managed to put us up. Lovely open fire lit and the service of a pot of tea to welcome us was priceless, especially after a very long drive from Bushmills. Thanks Frank.


100%

The hostel owner has welcomed us warmly in his hostel. There was a great gathering area with a fire place and sofas where we could get in contact with other travelers. Our room was pretty and quiet. We really enjoyed the stay in this hostel situated right next to the sea and beautiful green hills.


100%

Paradise on earth I don't have enough words to say how this place is the perfect place to stay. We spent the best moments of our Irish trip. Everything was wonderful, especially Frank's welcome, certainly one of the nicest and most hospitable person you will ever meet. Thanks to him for all his advices, all his attentions like tea and biscuits on arrival. We would gladly have spent our entire trip there and would come back with a great happiness if we go again to Donegal.


80%

Friendly & helpful owner/manager; good location & facilities

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Donegal Hostels

Please give us your feedback