Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Malone's Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 410 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 410 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.4
Malone's Old Town Hostel Located at 14 Forrest Road, , Edinburgh.
Malone's Old Town Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 2QN 14 Forrest Road
81% 410
55.9458155 -3.1910151
Malone's Old Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Dec 2016
8.9

As with most hostels situated above a bar/pub, there are lots of stairs involved. Nice location- street is fairly quiet but a short walk to Grassmarket and all the action. 10min walk from the main rail station. Staff is great- I went on an organized pub crawl with two of the work exchange employees and it was loads of fun. Free maps offered. Will stay again- special shoutout to Jeff and Ellie!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
9.4

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very close to the city centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to stay! Very clean, and the staff was very friendly, they offered suggestions on what to see and where to eat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Oct 2016
10.0

Great Place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
9.7

My stay was great. Staff are very friendly and as soon as I was checked in the girl gave me a map, pointed out everything I would need (including a grocery store) and answered my questions about getting around. Room was clean. Kitchen was good. Definitely recommending to friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Oct 2016
6.6

The lockers were too small for my bag and the room stank. Like seriously all my clothes smelled like the room afterwards and that was not a nice smell to be travelliing with. Bathrooms were ok and basic breakfast was ok. I mean it's good for the price you're paying but I'm sure something can be done with that smell... Perfect location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
7th Sep 2016
6.3

It wasn't very clean and had a bad smell, (I would suggest replacing the carpet) It didn't have a common area which meant you had to basically stay in your room. The kitchen was basic, but did the job.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Sep 2016
4.0

This Hostel is disgusting! I traveled through a lot of european countries during the last few years but this hostel was definitely the worst place I have ever been to! The bathrooms and toilets were very dirty, toilet paper was only occationally available and the bedroom was nearly as disgusting as the toilet. I can definitely NOT recommend this place!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.6

It's location makes it a short walk from the main party area but also makes it quiet. The pub underneath made it easy to hang out with people and the burgers were half price. I easily made friends with the people in my room although the small kitchen made it tough to meet people from other rooms. The rooms were a good size for 10 people. I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
6.3

I stayed at Malones for 3 nights before moving on to another location. Though the staff are nice and the location is good, I found the matresses to be uncomfortable and well used. The floors needed some serious vacuuming and the washrooms weren't cleaned while I was there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.