X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Malone's Old Town Hostel Reviews

14 Forrest Road, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
260 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Wi-do was the best i had in a long time. It was overall pretty good. More space to have breakfast would have been nice though.


83%

Great staff with really nice rooms.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Staff were really nice but the beds and the room werent really clean (my bed had hairs).. At night I didnt sleep anything because I could here people from the pub downstairs and the room upstairs talking and partying until 5am.. Very poor breakfast. Im sorry is the first time I put a bad comment on a hostel but I hope they are constructive comments. Regards

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent location and very nice to have breakfast in the morning! 12 to a room can mean a bit noisier, especially being above a bar, but I still had a good stay in Edinburgh!


91%

Real bummer: The Irish pub downstairs. As good as it is to have a drink just downstairs, as loud it gets in the middle of the night when you're trying to sleep.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Location was great, and the room was spacious. Breakfast was basic and the kitchen small, but just fine for what we needed. The pub downstairs was great, and we got discounts! Seemed very popular with the locals too.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The kitchen was kind of dirty. The rooms were nice and tidy.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

great location, very good staff ,highly recommended.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly staff, spacious dorm, lots of plug sockets, big wide window to let light in. Bedding very fresh and clean comfy. Room was always warm. Not much noise from bar downstairs and had a really nice couple of discounted drinks in the bar. nice breakfast! main negatives: only one toilet for everyone on the first floor, this toilet was very dirty. Kitchen very small for everyone to have breakfast. Staff woke me up to accuse me of stealing someone else's bed?? Maybe need an allocated bed system.


100%

Brilliant place with exellent staff. God bless the irish and germans!!!

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The stairs at this place are absolutely ridiculous. If you have big bags avoid staying here at all costs. Three flights of steep stairs for a one night stay is not worth it. The bedding looked like it hadn't been cleaned and there was hair all over the mattress. Squeeky doors, lockers don't lock. There are plenty nicer hostels around that friends recommended eg. St Christophers.


94%

Great hostel with a great bar underneath. The staff were friendly and helpful and the discount at the bar was a great extra benefit. Beds were comfy and kitchen was clean, great hostel.


83%

Everything was alright and definitely good value for the money. Many programs in the pub downstairs with good deals for guests. Kitchen is pretty small, but for the amount of people staying was alright.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback