Hostelworld.com

Malone's Old Town Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 351 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 351 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
Malone's Old Town Hostel Located at 14 Forrest Road, , Edinburgh.
Malone's Old Town Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 2QN 14 Forrest Road
82% 351
55.9458155 -3.1910151
Malone's Old Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Jun 2016
7.4

We really liked Malones, except for one major issue. Pros: Bar below which they give you discount, cozy feel, center of town. Cons: the magnetic lock door to the hostel was broke so anyone could walk in. We woke up and caught some stranger going through all of our stuff and chased him out into the streets, then lost him. One girl lost a few. If we hadn't woke up we could have lost a lot. Security is a major issue with that door being disabled and no staff is working at night to keep an eye out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
10.0

Just arrived home from a great weekend away in Edinburgh with the lads! Excellent hostel location, staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. We will be back if they will let us return!!! Diolch yn fawr.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
7.1

I stayed there only one night and it was alright. Staff is very friendly and helpful, the wifi worked very well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.1

Good location and the staff are very nice and helpful. Martina was very helpful in giving us tips on what to visit in the city. Would definitely come back if in Edinburgh again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
8.9

Staff are friendly and helpful, and happy to get involved in impromptu outings. Free breakfast is nothing fancy, but gets the job done. Location convenient, though being above a pub makes it quite noisy at night so make sure to bring earplugs. Also not recommended if you have trouble with stairs, but otherwise, I greatly enjoyed my stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jun 2016
7.7

Staff are nice. Some would say place dirty, and musty. But it is ok, cosy. linen is clean and toilets are good. Bar downstairs is nice and there is live music. Lockers in room works. Funny place :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.3

Best hostel shower ever

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
9.4

Awesome location and the staff were great. Everything is within walking distance. The pub downstairs was great and you get 50% off the burgers. Would definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jun 2016
7.4

generally a decent place but there were seceral mice living in the kitchen

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
6.3

Being above the bar is pretty good for cheap food and beer. But the beds were the worst. You could feel the bar under the bed no matter how you shifted. The rooms have carpet which seems to collect the smells of 12 people. The staff were great though. The kitchen was tiny with really just a hot plate for cooking. The breakfast is alright, just toast and cereal. The showers and bathroom worked well. The last thing is that it is over a bar so bring earplugs for the sounds otherwise you won't sleep

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.