Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Malone's Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.5
Malone's Old Town Hostel Located at 14 Forrest Road, , Edinburgh.
Malone's Old Town Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 2QN 14 Forrest Road
82% 418
55.9458155 -3.1910151
Malone's Old Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
7.7

Rather noisy at night as it overlooks a busy street. I did not sleep well at all!! Also mattress far too soft

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
5.1

This place has no community room so your stuck in your room or you can sit in their kitchen which has very uncomfortable chairs. Kitchen is open during certain hours as well.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
8.9

Comfortable beds, spacious rooms, bathrooms were clean most of the time. Friendly atmosphere, doesnt really feel like a hostel, more like staying in a private home with a bunch of strangers :D only stayed for two nights but all of the staff I met during my stay were really friendly and always willing to help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Dec 2016
8.9

As with most hostels situated above a bar/pub, there are lots of stairs involved. Nice location- street is fairly quiet but a short walk to Grassmarket and all the action. 10min walk from the main rail station. Staff is great- I went on an organized pub crawl with two of the work exchange employees and it was loads of fun. Free maps offered. Will stay again- special shoutout to Jeff and Ellie!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
9.4

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very close to the city centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
7.4

Very nice hostel, lots of stairs, small locker in the rooms, extreme rude staff member (1 guy specifically), no living room, clean and big bathroom

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to stay! Very clean, and the staff was very friendly, they offered suggestions on what to see and where to eat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Oct 2016
10.0

Great Place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
9.7

My stay was great. Staff are very friendly and as soon as I was checked in the girl gave me a map, pointed out everything I would need (including a grocery store) and answered my questions about getting around. Room was clean. Kitchen was good. Definitely recommending to friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Oct 2016
6.6

The lockers were too small for my bag and the room stank. Like seriously all my clothes smelled like the room afterwards and that was not a nice smell to be travelliing with. Bathrooms were ok and basic breakfast was ok. I mean it's good for the price you're paying but I'm sure something can be done with that smell... Perfect location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.