Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Malone's Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 377 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 377 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.5
Malone's Old Town Hostel Located at 14 Forrest Road, , Edinburgh.
Malone's Old Town Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 2QN 14 Forrest Road
82% 377
55.9458155 -3.1910151
Malone's Old Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
6.0

This was a very basic hostelry in the centre of Edinburgh above a pub. We booked last minute for the Fringe Aug19 and 20. Even given this, the accommodation was massively overpriced and bore no resemblance to its on line write up. Staff refunded our second night and we stayed at a travel lodge to be near to the airport for our return flight at a cheaper price! We wanted hostel accommodation but objected to being ripped off.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
10.0

I had a wonderful stay, there was a small problem with my booking but the staff quickly fixed it and compensated me for my wait. They were incredibly attentive, friendly and the hostel itself was nice and clean. The location was a huge bonus too for the very affordable price I paid during the Fringe Festival! Would definitely recommend and will definitely be coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
10.0

The experience that I had at Malone's - with the incredible staff, convenient location in town, and lively bar down below - was one that I'll never forget. I felt welcomed as a solo female traveler, and I'll be sure to return again soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
9.7

Good place. Clean, comfy, nice staff. I will definitely stay here when I come back to Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
9.7

Absolutely loved it! Staff was super friendly and played beer pong with the guests. Great location if you want to go out at night. The place was small, but had good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
10.0

Enjoyed my stay heaps, very friendly staff, even to the older visitors.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jul 2016
7.4

Staff were super nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
6.3

The location was Excellent, unfortunately there are lots and lots of stairs , the staff were friendly and helpful, If you happen to go by car thee are no parking facilities near the Hostel You have to try to double park unload and then find some sort of parking somewhere. there are no laundry facilities. the Kitchen for me was not very clean . the hostel is in a older building so some maintenance issues .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.9

Great hostel to stop at, location was brilliant with subsidised bar down stairs sieving excellent food and not too far away from the main part of the city,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
5.1

There was a leak in our room from the ceiling above, although the staff were aware, nothing was done about this. The bar downstairs is loud. The rooms have no ventilation and really smell after a while. And I'm pretty sure that the lockers there are for decoration. Regardless of what lock we tried, you could still open them. Definitely a Very BUDGET hostel. Wouldn't recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.