Hostelworld.com

Mama Naxi`s Guesthouse

  • NO.22 kangzhong ,Rd LiJingwang, Old Town Zone, Lijiang, China
Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 674 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 674 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
Mama Naxi`s Guesthouse Located at NO.22 kangzhong ,Rd LiJingwang, Old Town Zone, Lijiang.
Mama Naxi`s Guesthouse
China
Lijiang 674100 NO.22 kangzhong ,Rd LiJingwang, Old Town Zone
89% 674
26.8589639 100.2331852
Mama Naxi`s Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lillato1806
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel just south of the old town (5 mins walk). Beds comfy, each with own light, electric socket, electric blanket and shelves. We were in the 8 bed dorm which had one ensuite, clean but a faff if everyone wants to use it at the same time. Great dinner cooked by Mama Naxi, good breakfast too but slightly reluctantly served by the daughter. Lovely, modern 4 floor house, unlike anywhere I've been in China. Good information about activities in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
4.0

Beware! Mama Naxi has opened a second location, and it is nowhere near as good as the original. The original is in old town, but this one is in the middle of a residential apartment complex in Lijiang city, close to nothing at all except a long-distance bus station. However, even if you're planning on taking an early bus out of town to Tiger Leaping Gorge or Shangrila, I still wouldn't recommend this hostel. Take a taxi from old town instead. This one is difficult to find and charmless.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
8.6

Don't pay attention to the reviews over the years that are negative. Notice there are many many more positive, and I have been here in 2008 twice as well as this year. Its as good as it gets for what you want in Lijiang. Go to Mama's, its always worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 53 reviews
12th Mar 2016
7.1

Why oh why can't they possibly give directions? It's only a 5min walk around the corner from the bus station, yet I eventually had to pay 10RMB for a taxi because there was no way to find it otherwise. Dinner was good and beds were nice but bathroom was dirty and they don't provide paper.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
9.1

The hostel was very cozy and had a homely feel. Mattress heaters were provided and we did not have problems with the cold at night. The hostel owners were very helpful to provide advice and we had a great time chatting with her. One should definitely try the hostel owners's cooking as it is really nice. We ended up eating with the family multiple times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2016
10.0

Loved our time at Mama Naxi's. Room (double private) was clean and quiet. Staff was wonderful and very helpful. They helped us with our trek to Tiger Leaping Gorge and around town. We also loved their dinners and recommend eating there! Would stay there again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Feb 2016
8.0

Great stay. Awesome bed & helpful and friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2016
9.4

Beautiful rooms with stunning views of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, a great location far enough away from the craziness of the Old Town but close enough to walk to it. The staff were kind, helpful and informative about the local area. Mama Naxi is also an excellent cook!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2016
9.7

Mama Naxi is located about a 15 minute taxi ride from Lijiang Railway station. The staff was very hospitable. The hostel is located about a 10 minute walk from Lijiang Ancient City. There is a convenience store located just outside of the hostel. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. If you can join a family dinner, it is well worth the 25 yuan. Delicious home cooked food. The hostel also helped us with booking our Tiger Leaping Gorge tickets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2016
9.1

The staff was incredibly helpful and kind, willing at any time to chat with me, problem-solve about travel, and offer their opinions and advice. I was especially touched when, arriving at the hostel ten minutes before the family's dinner, I asked if it was still possible to join for the "family-style dinner," and because no other guests had requested the dinner that night, they invited me to join their family to eat. It was so kind, and a highlight of the visit for me!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.