Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mama Waldy Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

I would highly recommend staying at Mama Waldy! It's tucked in the most beautiful, colourful streets of Cartagena's old town with plenty to do and see within a short walk. As a lone female traveller.. with little Spanish.. I felt very safe here and met lots of people. The owners were so helpful- even taking money out for me when my bank card wouldn't work! I'd love to come back one day! 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
10th Jul 2017
5.7

All I have to say is FILTHY. Having travelled the world I have never encountered somewhere so dirty, the mould seeping through the walls, the smell of stale pee in the bathroom, a floor that hadn't been swept let alone mopped in forever. There was also no hammock or jacuzzi as featured in the pictures which is v disappointing when it's so hot. Overall very un impressed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
6.6

Location is great 2 mins to old city entrance. Rooms were good w/ good a/c. No main washroom. Only ensuites so it sucks in the AM if yours is busy no others to use. No bathrooms have soap which is gross. Showers NEED curtains, floor gets wet, then muddy and it's unavoidable. The owner staff were helpful but the other staff seemed miserable and felt like they are only there working for free accommodation. Wifi works good in common area but doesn't reach the room where the a/c is.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
3.1

Most things about this hostel were awful. It was extremely dirty, sheets had stains on it, the walls had traces of dirty feet, whole place smelled bad. Facilities were incredibly bad. Mosquitos were a plague because the window was so old that it didn't close properly anymore. No wifi in the rooms. Fake advertising, no pool. We had airco, but the remote had to stay at the reception (why? "Just because"..) The night staff was nice, but the day staff was rude and dismissive. In short, stay away.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
7.7

While the staff here was fantastic and the hostel it self was pleasant enough we happened to stay on a night that they lost water. So it was incredibly frustrating not being able to shower. I also felt for the price we could have stayed in an Airbnb.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2017
9.4

Lovely and helpful staff, a cool new hostel with a relaxed atmosphere and a nice home cooked breakfast. It's also in a really nice area with lots of bars and restaurants near by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • athorne
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
8.9

We loved Mama Waldy so much, we stayed there two separate times. The staff is very helpful in answering any of your questions. They really helped us navigate the city. It is a chill hostel with a great common area. We spent time playing games and talking with other travelers. The one complaint would be the bathrooms. There are no shower curtains so the entire floor gets wet. Otherwise, we absolutely loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lorimerhan
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

A lovely clean, newly refurbished hostel within walking distance to all the main attractions. The owner was so helpful and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was good. Available at all hours in the day and night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Jun 2017
4.6

We were so dissapointed about this place. Staff seems busy, annoyed and unhappy. In cartagena you can find much better, better location, better atmosphere, cleaner, colder..... If you want to go real cheap and don't care about the stuff I mentioned; it's perfect for you!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.1

Great location, good breakfast, comfortable beds, friendly staff. We'd definitely come back, especially when the pool is finished!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.