Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mama Waldy Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
9th Mar 2017
6.6

This hostel is OK, I'm sure there are better hostels in Cartagena. Pros: free breakfast, location and air-con is good, good kitchen and common area, and very cute puppy lives in the common room too! Cons: dirty rooms and bathrooms (no shower curtain or hook to hang items), no atmosphere, washing fairly expensive (and they don't fold it), you have to pay to store bags, no clear activities or information on offer. Main qualm was the dirty room and bathroom. This hostel has potential to be great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.6

Great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.6

Loved my stay here the staff are lovely it's in a great location and is much cheaper than a few of the other hostels in the area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
8.9

It was a nice place. Dorms were very small, with an even smaller bathroom. However, it is located right by a big plaza and breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and willing to help as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
9.7

I would definitely recommend this hostel. It is still under construction right now but the dorms and kitchen are great and well equiped, the atmosphere is very enjoyable and Dora, the Hostel owner, and her husband are very kind and helpful. Also the location is perfect in Cartagenas most interesting and artsy neighborhood Getsemani, 5 minutes away from the Centro Historico. Thank you a lot! We really enjoyed our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.0

In renovation so it wasn't great but I'm sure it's better usually

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jan 2017
4.6

We had a double room. The bathroom was dirty (e.g. hair in the shower) and had a very bad smell (maybe a mix from moist and chemicals?). Also the room needs still some work to be done. One part of the hostel is still under construction which means dust an noise the whole day (which was not mentioned!). In conclusion, it seems that mama waldy is overstrained.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
5.7

The staff were nice, and the hostel was in a good location near nice restaurants and bars. We used their laundry service and they lost a few of our things and broke other things, in which they couldn't have cared less. there was no one around to check us out so we just gave the cleaning lady the amount we thought we had to pay (she had no idea and we didn't really either) Super unorganised, weird stay

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
4.3

Great location. Internet connectivity is good only in main space, don't expect to connect in rooms. It's dirty! Very dirty. Free breakfast is nice but kitchen and fridge are dirty. You have to pay for towels and water. I paid same price at hostel down the street where everything was included and all was very clean. I DO NOT recommend this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • daniabianuni7419
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Jan 2017
6.0

We arrived after a long bus ride and days of camping. We really needed a bit of comfort, but when we arrived at 5pm, first our room wasn't ready, second the whole place was being under construction. I understand major works need to be done, but I booked well in advanced and would've expected at least an email to inform us of the works, and a choice to cancel or receive a discount. Neither was offered. Im sure with the renovations the place will look great, but I consider this bad service.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.