Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mama Waldy Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 313 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 313 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
Mama Waldy Hostel Located at Getsemani Calle la Sierpe No 29-03, , Cartagena.
Mama Waldy Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 130001 Getsemani Calle la Sierpe No 29-03
84% 313
10.4211101 -75.5465090
Mama Waldy Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Oct 2016
6.0

No hot water during our stay! There was also a large hole in our bathroom that allows mosquitoes from the outside in. AC was super cold though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
6.6

This was perfectly fine for the money we paid, but I was glad we were only here for one night. We stayed in the cheapest 4 bed dorm, which was through a shutter door right next to reception, which didn't feel very private at all. If the door was left open, the whole entrance could see right into the room. I'm used to sleeping with just a fan in the coast, but because the dorm had no windows it felt like an oven, and while I did manage to sleep, next time I would pay the extra 5mil or so for AC.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Oct 2016
8.0

Nice place to stay, but only for one night. Dirty bathroom, no windows in dorm room, very high bunk beds - You're not able to sit if You have upper bed, becouse is very close to ceiling. Friendly and helpfull staff, good location, fans in room, 24h guarded entry to hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
7.7

Not a very nice hostel, tiny private room and a hole in the bathroom wall. However renovations were underway so unfair to knock it too much. Good kitchen to use and a good atmosphere in the lobby. Amazing location and was the cheapest option I found in Cartegena, unfortunately that doesn't mean much. The town in beautiful but too gentrified at times to enjoy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
10.0

perfect location you are just five minutes walking to the center, in getsemani, everything is near, and the staff can give u good advices about where to go and how, theres a nice breakfast with fresh fruit, clean bathrooms and great staff, you will enjoy it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2016
8.9

Great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
8.6

Nice hostel. The private room was very basic, but enough for only a couple of nights. The breakfast was very simple; some fruit and plain toast. Air-conditioned rooms, which was a plus as Cartagena can get extremely hot. Walking distance to the OldTown, Fort and some shopping malls.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Sep 2016
7.7

Pros: Met some cool people, staff was nice. Liked using their kitchen. I definitely recommend AC, it's SO hot, and they only turn on AC at night. Personal lockers were great. Option for laundry, and they did it quickly. Breakfast was fresh fruit, toast, and coffee. Not bad. Location is GREAT. Cons: Common area isn't very big. Our door didn't close all the way, wasted AC. There was a hole in our bathroom and saw a few rats. Which was deterring. But saw none in our rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bhabgood81
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
21st Sep 2016
7.7

Very helpful staff and great location were the commendable aspects of the hostel. Facilities themselves could do with some work.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
10.0

I was supposed to stay for 2 nights, but then i ended up staying a week there. The Staff is really nice and the Hostel is really cozy! I got in good contact with the owners and also with the guests, so going out or gaining information was pretty easy. I didnt even wanted to leave at the end. The Hostel is in a really good location between turistic are and old town and you can get everywhere very fast. I really enjoyed it!!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.