Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mama Waldy Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.0
Mama Waldy Hostel Located at Getsemani Calle la Sierpe No 29-03, , Cartagena.
Mama Waldy Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 130001 Getsemani Calle la Sierpe No 29-03
79% 340
10.4211101 -75.5465090
Mama Waldy Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
9.7

I would definitely recommend this hostel. It is still under construction right now but the dorms and kitchen are great and well equiped, the atmosphere is very enjoyable and Dora, the Hostel owner, and her husband are very kind and helpful. Also the location is perfect in Cartagenas most interesting and artsy neighborhood Getsemani, 5 minutes away from the Centro Historico. Thank you a lot! We really enjoyed our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.0

In renovation so it wasn't great but I'm sure it's better usually

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jan 2017
4.6

We had a double room. The bathroom was dirty (e.g. hair in the shower) and had a very bad smell (maybe a mix from moist and chemicals?). Also the room needs still some work to be done. One part of the hostel is still under construction which means dust an noise the whole day (which was not mentioned!). In conclusion, it seems that mama waldy is overstrained.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
5.7

The staff were nice, and the hostel was in a good location near nice restaurants and bars. We used their laundry service and they lost a few of our things and broke other things, in which they couldn't have cared less. there was no one around to check us out so we just gave the cleaning lady the amount we thought we had to pay (she had no idea and we didn't really either) Super unorganised, weird stay

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
4.3

Great location. Internet connectivity is good only in main space, don't expect to connect in rooms. It's dirty! Very dirty. Free breakfast is nice but kitchen and fridge are dirty. You have to pay for towels and water. I paid same price at hostel down the street where everything was included and all was very clean. I DO NOT recommend this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
5.7

I wouldn't recommend this hostel, maybe if you are on a very tight budget and not planning on spending any time there except to sleep. They are under renovation which should be advertised because most of it is like a construction sight. It is a very small hostel as it is so this leaves almost no room for sitting and chilling for a little bit and therefore makes it almost imposible to socialise. Do not stay here if you are a solo traveller.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
9.1

Went to Mama Waldy for 2 nights but stayed for a week. At a few steps from Plaza de Trinidad, the location could not be better. Dora, the girl at the reception, was very nice. Everyone was very helpful and the breakfast was great. Felt at home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Dec 2016
3.4

We were not notified the facilities are currently under renovations with a tremendous noise starting at 8am through late evenings. The rooms smell of heavy mold and dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Oct 2016
6.0

No hot water during our stay! There was also a large hole in our bathroom that allows mosquitoes from the outside in. AC was super cold though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
6.6

This was perfectly fine for the money we paid, but I was glad we were only here for one night. We stayed in the cheapest 4 bed dorm, which was through a shutter door right next to reception, which didn't feel very private at all. If the door was left open, the whole entrance could see right into the room. I'm used to sleeping with just a fan in the coast, but because the dorm had no windows it felt like an oven, and while I did manage to sleep, next time I would pay the extra 5mil or so for AC.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.