Hostelworld.com

Mama Waldy Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7
Mama Waldy Hostel Located at Getsemani Calle la Sierpe No 29-03, , Cartagena.
Mama Waldy Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 130001 Getsemani Calle la Sierpe No 29-03
74% 240
10.4211101 -75.5465090
Mama Waldy Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th May 2016
5.4

While it is in the old city with a decent location, it lacks in a lot of areas. It did not have air conditioning, which was fine, except they only had 1 fan for 4 people in a tiny room, making it unbearable for the night I stayed there. They didn't have many connections for the tours and what not, but were willing to call to figure it out, but it wasn't as readily available as it is in other hostels. I ended up moving after the first night because of the lack of travelers, wifi, and fans.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Apr 2016
8.0

Ottima location vicino al centro storico e la zona con maggiore night life. Le stanze un po piccole e la colazione molto limitata. Comunque raccomando.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.0

Good overall hostel. Showers are cold but you need it. Good sized lockers. Comfortable beds. Cute dog lives there - kept pushing our dorm door open in the morning. Some might find this annoying so it probably needs fixing. Great location, close to everything. Can take your own alcohol in and breakfast is very good. Lots of fruit. Staff not always available but usually somewhere in the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Mar 2016
3.4

Both my dorm, the bathroom and the kitchen were FILTHY. Loud music and TV playing until late, only watched by staff (right outside our room). Staff did not have change when I paid and then disappeared so I lost money. Inefficient and unbothered staff. Our door did not close properly and had to be locked from the inside to close-useless in a shared dorm. Dirty animals with ticks and fleas wandering around into rooms. I don't understand how the ratings were not lower - its disgusting!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
7.4

Breakfast is not included, although on line they said it was. Great location, tv with Netflix, laptop and kitchen you can use. The staff does not speak English. Not much going on, so of you want to make new friend consider another hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2016
8.3

Great hostel! When you want to relax after party hostel time, mama waldy is the best idea! Its calm and owner is really nice?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Feb 2016
8.3

Nice place, different setup and building to other hostels. Friendly and helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2016
8.9

Great location, nice people, rooms are a bit tight.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2016
7.1

Loved the location and overall atmosphere of the hostel. It was a great place to meet peopl and the staff were really personable. Security was kind of an issue, as the lockers for most people were missing keys or broken and none of the doors locked. It was clean-ish for the most part and the free coffee was a big plus! Wifi worked well too. Overall, would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel, had a great time! The staff was very friendly and they could answer to all my questions. The hostel has a great location near the old city ( like 3 minutes walking distance) and restaurants , stores, and the very special square called plaza de la trinidad where people gather and have beers, play music... Stayed in a dorm with A/C, liked it cause it was clean and had the bathroom inside the dorm. I recomend it to everybody!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.