Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mama Waldy Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lorimerhan
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

A lovely clean, newly refurbished hostel within walking distance to all the main attractions. The owner was so helpful and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was good. Available at all hours in the day and night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.0

Great location close to everything you will want to see in Cartagena. AC in the rooms which is a must. If I were to change anything I would add shower curtains and shelves in the showers so that the entire bathroom doesn't get wet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.4

Amazing hostel. The staff are so lovely, they are very helpful and friendly - especially the couple who run it. The dorm room was very spacious, with nice beds and lockers; we stayed in a standard 6 bed. The hostel has a common room with Netflix and a well equipped kitchen. The location is perfect - a short walk to the old town, supermarket and beach. Also their daughter is super cute! We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it, very good value for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.1

Stayed here for two nights. The owners are lovely and there daughter is adorable! Stayed in the 4 bed basic dorm which had fans and it wasn't too hot. Slightly cramped though. My friends in the bigger dorms were better sized. Good sized kitchen. Would be cool if it had a bar on the roof top terrace. Rooms and bathrooms are very clean and theres a decent breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Jun 2017
7.7

Overall a nice hostel, as long as you can put up with a teething baby. Location in Getsemani is great, right across from the Old Town. It has a nice kitchen, laundry, and good AC in the rooms. Bathroom could use a shower door and possibly a wall free of gaping holes. I liked it but the grand-daughter is very loud beginning around 6am and carrying through until about 9/10 when I assume she goes down for a nap. Also her and staff frequently barge into dorms without any notice, door knob could help

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ncollig
  • Luxembourg, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
9.7

Great place, great location, great vibe (let us not forget great hosts)! Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th May 2017
9.4

Fantastic hostel! Great location, near to the square, shops & restaurants and beach - everything is walking distance. We stayed in a twin private ensuite, planned on staying 2 nights and stayed for 5! Bilingual staff, clean rooms, great aircon (needed on the Caribbean coast), roof balcony, good internet, warm showers and comfy beds. What more could you ask for! Definitely recommend this hostel, well worth the dearer cartagena prices

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
24th May 2017
8.6

Very nice little hostel. The location is perfect. Right around the corner are some delicious restaurants and to get into oldtown its just a short walk. The couple that owns the hostel is very friendly and helpful. The other staff (at night/breakfast) could be friendlier...they never smiled. Rooms are pretty small but they have everything you need. A/C is so necessary in Cartagena and it worked perfectly. Breakfast is basic, for the price of the room okay though. recommended hostel!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
9.7

Great staff that comes with an adorable baby! Hostel is in an awesome location- 5 min walk from the walled city & right down the street from another very lively part of town. Beaches are no more than a 10-15 minute walk. Come to Cartagena you won't regret it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
9th Mar 2017
6.6

This hostel is OK, I'm sure there are better hostels in Cartagena. Pros: free breakfast, location and air-con is good, good kitchen and common area, and very cute puppy lives in the common room too! Cons: dirty rooms and bathrooms (no shower curtain or hook to hang items), no atmosphere, washing fairly expensive (and they don't fold it), you have to pay to store bags, no clear activities or information on offer. Main qualm was the dirty room and bathroom. This hostel has potential to be great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.