Hostelworld.com

Mamallena Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 531 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 531 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
Mamallena Backpackers Located at 'Casa 7-62, Calle Primera, Perejil', , Panama City.
Mamallena Backpackers
Panama
Panama City Panama Panama 'Casa 7-62, Calle Primera, Perejil'
80% 531
8.9738472 -79.5365524
Mamallena Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th May 2016
8.0

Staff were helpful in booking a trip to the San Blas Islands. It was a good stay as there are different areas to hang out in and the kitchen was well equipped. Pancake breakfast is a nice idea. The aircon in the dorm made sleeping in the heat of Panama comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2016
5.4

In general, the hostel is okay. But the bathrooms and the kitchen were always very dirty. Besides, a Panamenian told us that the regiob where the hostel is is not supposed to be safe and he advised us not to go out during night time. some of the staff was unfriendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
19th Apr 2016
4.6

Location is horrible and hostel has a v weird vibe, it also feels v unclean. We paid for an 8 bed and were put in a 13 (some on matresses on the floor). We went on San blas tour and noone came to pick us up from island- we waited for 3 hours then 10 of us were crammed into a jeep which broke down, again we were left stranded in the jungle, were picked up by locals who were paid to drop us off on side of road in middle of nowhere. We got back 6 hours late. Checked into los mostros which was great

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
9.7

Good location, on the central road Espana. The evening staff of guys are great - super friendly and helpful. Stayed in a private which was decent size and clean. Facilities were also clean; no hot water though. Lots of lounging space and a fairly large kitchen. Wifi works well. Would recommend to others. Bus directions from international airport that was given with booking were not the best though. You need the bus that says "Albrook-Via Espana". Then get off at the stop named "Perejil" only.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
8.0

Bit of a funky neighborhood, staff was great... Lots of common hang out space, comfortable beds (newer mattresses, not mildewed) I would stay there again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
27th Mar 2016
8.9

The hostel was great, you'll have to get up early if you want the free pancakes as the kitchen gets very busy. It's about a 40 min walk from the old town. The private room we stayed in was great and the aircon worked great, it was the first decent night sleep we'd had in a while. Atmosphere was good and there were plenty of areas to chill out. Only downside was a creepy old dude who lingered around out in the back garden but I'm sure he has left by now. Would definitely recommend this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.3

A place people come back to and stay long term. Good community. A good price, and everything you need. The 12 bed dorm especially is spacious. Kept clean with a proactive and engaged staff. I found the wifi a bit ropy at times in the outside common areas. And I could have used more tables within reach of power for a laptop. But the basics and community were good. My second visit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
8.0

good hostel with great staff, toilets/bathrooms could be cleaner but for this money it's fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
5.7

There is no A/C. Only between the hours of 9.00 am and 9.00 pm. It gets super hot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
8.9

An oasis of young , active world travelers in a run-down neighborhood near the skyscrapers and beaches. I had a short overnight here so I chose a private room to be sure of sleep. The little garden area was a pleasant spot to eat, drink and meet others and hear birdsong. The AC can only be used at night, the kitchen and fridge are overcrowded, the toilet seat fell off, and cats tried to share my food, yet the experience was good. The staff were helpful and cheerful despite constant demands.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.