Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mamallena Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
Mamallena Backpackers Located at 'Casa 7-62, Calle Primera, Perejil', , Panama City.
Mamallena Backpackers
Panama
Panama City Panama Panama 'Casa 7-62, Calle Primera, Perejil'
80% 596
8.9738472 -79.5365524
Mamallena Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
9.7

I will highly recommend Mamallenna to everyone. What a great experience. Great staff, safe environment, and really enjoyed our short stay. We will return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Oct 2016
7.7

A bit away from Casco Viejo and downtown but taxis are cheap and walking during the day is not too strenuous. Not much in the near vacinity but supermarkets are OK. Fantastic friendly red-lored amazonian parrot adds a bit of amusement.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • EcaterinaThomson
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Oct 2016
7.4

Stayed here only couple of nights to get to San Blas islands. Quite a rundown hostel and nothing more else to offer besides bed to sleep in. Aircon rooms can get very very cold so pack layers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Oct 2016
7.1

Decent hostel, with friendly staff. location not great, felt like the less safe part of town and transport isn't convenient. The pancakes for breakfast were a nice touch though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
21st Sep 2016
6.3

Rooms are a bit all over the place which didnt allow for interaction with other guests.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
6.9

Nice place to chill out at, Tv with lots of channels. They got free make your own pancakes for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
6.6

I have mixed feelings about this place. Pros: interesting atmosphere, good price, and there's s nice and helpful girl who works there. Cons: the location is neither in the old town nor the city centre, so you're far from everything. Also, when I was leaving for the airport, the guy who worked there stopped me and accused me of not paying - I guess he had lost his copy of the receipt and I had to pick mine out of the garbage. As it nearly made me late for my flight at 8am I was not impressed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
9.1

Me and my friend came down from Canada to party in Panama City. You get what you pay for. Place is a great place to stay for cheap. It was very clean and the staff was awesome. The parrot upstairs is a beauty but don't mess with him!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • i_travel
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
8.9

I stayed at the beginning of Sept, 2016. Staff is great - and what needs to be clean is clean (i.e. bathrooms and kitchen). I had a private room which was in good condition. Evidently, they had it renovated recently. The rest of the hostel is pretty chill and easy going. The common areas are a little worn, but the internet was great! The "worst" thing about the hostel is the location, but it's not too far from the metro. FYI - use Uber instead of getting a taxi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
8.3

All members of staff are very helpful and kind. The place is clean. It is a busy central hostel, yet quiet. Information regarding visiting Guna Yala (San Blas archipelago) are very clear.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.