Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mamallena Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 754 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 754 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Ronan47
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2017
8.3

Clean rooms, near the bus stops, staff were all very helpful good value overall. Not close to many bars more convenient to drink in the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2017
8.9

Pancakes for breakfast were lovely. Staff were nice and location was decent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Sunsearcher
  • Poland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Sep 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel, good facilities and lots of community areas. Staff is amazingly helpful and their dogs are the cutest. you have lots of cheap places to eat and public transport around. Would definitely recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Sep 2017
8.9

Really well informed hostel with really friendly staff. Free pancakes and coffee for breakfast is great too. Location is ok but a bit scary at night. This hostel brings in a great crowd and provides good entertainment- ping pong, good chilled area and tv room. Although my dorm room door was left unlocked all day we didn't even get a key, when I went to the San blas islands I asked them to store my bag when the room opened at 7am and 4 days later my bag was still left under the stairs in the open

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
1st Sep 2017
7.4

Excellent value for money not the best area in Panama City but the place is pretty well secured once inside and not the cleanest rooms but the kitchen is well equipped and it's pretty cheap compared to other hostels

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Aug 2017
9.4

Mamallena Hostel was our first stay in panama and we really enjoyed it. It is easy to reach and the staff is super friendly, relaxed and helpful! The dorms are great and have a A/C at night! We also booked our trip to San blas with them. It was no problem to leave our backpacks there while our trip to San Blas. We would recommend it :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2017
8.3

Well set up hostel that offers just about everything a backpacker could need. Dorms have comfy beds and are air conditioned overnight so sleeping well isn't a problem. Lots of nice communal spaces inside and out and the make-your-own pancakes breakfast means you won't go hungry. The only downside is the location, which is neither near the old town or the new Miami-lite bit of the city. At least Uber is really cheap in Panama City, half the price of a regular cab.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • singingcarols6123
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
9.7

Ricardo is the best!! Too bad he only works the night shift but you will be guaranteed an awesome welcome if you catch the night bus here! If your beds are ready you can sleep when you arrive even if check in is later in the day! Really loved the 6 bed dorm with the individual outlets/light/lockers for each bed. Book online to ensure you get these rooms as the 10+ dorms cost the same but don't have the same amenities. San blas tour will cost ~164 for 2 nights. Cheapest we heard was $155. Clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2017
9.7

Perfect place to stop in Panama City, great hostel with good facilities. Awesome lounge area and good people too - would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.6

Very good hostel, comfortable bed (we were in a private room), good kitchen facilities and the make your own pancakes was a great breakfast. Only complaint was the air con, it was freezing and set by the hostel so you can't adjust it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×