Hostelworld.com

Mamallena Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
Mamallena Backpackers Located at 'Casa 7-62, Calle Primera, Perejil', , Panama City.
Mamallena Backpackers
Panama
Panama City Panama Panama 'Casa 7-62, Calle Primera, Perejil'
80% 544
8.9738472 -79.5365524
Mamallena Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
10.0

Regrettably only stayed for one night while waiting for a flight to Bocas. I enjoyed the one night stay and felt very safe, comfortable, and secure. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.9

Good Atmosphere, spacious rooms and really nice and helpful Staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
7.7

Stayed here just for booking my San blas trip. Actual hostel has a very nice chill vibe if you just want to relax not if your looking for a party. Staff are really helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2016
9.1

Staff were super helpful with a room when we turned up early at 5am. They organised our San Blas tour really well and were always pleasant to deal with. Really quick laundry service. Stayed in a private room which was basic but comfortable. Toilets and showers were clean (no hot water for showers). Comfy areas to relax in. Really liked being able to make breakfast pancakes. The location wasn't bad or sketchy- that's just what the city looks like! Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2016
6.6

Very hot! Needs more fans! Great staff very helpful. Not located close to the casco viejo and very long walk.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
8.0

Staff were helpful in booking a trip to the San Blas Islands. It was a good stay as there are different areas to hang out in and the kitchen was well equipped. Pancake breakfast is a nice idea. The aircon in the dorm made sleeping in the heat of Panama comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alicegeorgie
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Apr 2016
7.4

Decent enough for a night before San Blas. Would perhaps stay in the old town if we were to visit again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2016
5.4

In general, the hostel is okay. But the bathrooms and the kitchen were always very dirty. Besides, a Panamenian told us that the regiob where the hostel is is not supposed to be safe and he advised us not to go out during night time. some of the staff was unfriendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
19th Apr 2016
4.6

Location is horrible and hostel has a v weird vibe, it also feels v unclean. We paid for an 8 bed and were put in a 13 (some on matresses on the floor). We went on San blas tour and noone came to pick us up from island- we waited for 3 hours then 10 of us were crammed into a jeep which broke down, again we were left stranded in the jungle, were picked up by locals who were paid to drop us off on side of road in middle of nowhere. We got back 6 hours late. Checked into los mostros which was great

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
9.7

Good location, on the central road Espana. The evening staff of guys are great - super friendly and helpful. Stayed in a private which was decent size and clean. Facilities were also clean; no hot water though. Lots of lounging space and a fairly large kitchen. Wifi works well. Would recommend to others. Bus directions from international airport that was given with booking were not the best though. You need the bus that says "Albrook-Via Espana". Then get off at the stop named "Perejil" only.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.