Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mamallena Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jul 2017
8.0

Wifi didn't reach my bed but over all good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
8th Jul 2017
7.7

It's alright to stay there and get everything organised before you leave to Colombia. But I wouldn't stay there again. The rooms are tiny, ok though. The pancakes didn't taste great. But the issue we had was the smell of cat, while you sit on the sofa.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
10.0

I was immediately welcomed and made to feel at home. My stay was longer than most but that wasn't a problem. They offered to do my laundry and gave me linens whenever I needed. They're located in the Perejil district which is pretty much city center and very Panamanian. Three thumbs up...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
9.1

Great first experience at a hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Guam, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
9.4

They've done a bit of renovation since our last stay. Love the coffee in the. Ironing and pancakes. You cannot beat this deal!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jun 2017
7.7

Make sure you don't mind dogs - dogs were free to roam the hostel including eating meats and foods on sofas and chairs which were not cleaned afterwards. Location wise it is a bit out of the nice area of town so you need to be careful / don't go out at night,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
8th Jun 2017
6.6

Our private room out in the courtyard smelled SO bad of mould/mildew. Kitchen was filthy. Staff were ok, it's fine here for 1 night but I wouldn't recommend longer here to be honest.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2017
8.6

Friendly and welcoming staff, very happy to help. Private rooms quite close to communal areas but there wasn't too much noise during our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback, the staff appreciate it, safe travels

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
8.6

Really enjoyed our stay here! The staff make such a difference! So helpful, informative and friendly. Made such a difference to the atmosphere here. Clean rooms, bathrooms and nice big communal kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the positive feedback, we do try our best to create a friendly/family atmosphere.

1st Jun 2017
9.4

**read full review, warning at end** Mamallena was an amazing hostel. The staff was great, the facilities worked, they had great common areas and a functioning kitchen, and they took security seriously. My warning is for booking a trip to San Blas through the hostel/Panama Travel Unlimited. It is an amazing experience on the islands so I do recommend it, but all female travellers should keep there distance from a Kuna man named Germain who acted sexually inappropriately toward me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback, we really do appreciate it, also thanks for the warning regarding Germain. Panama travel unlimited also contacted you about this directly. He has nothing to do with either the hostel or the agency and we have advised our contacts to keep him away from any guests going to the San Blas. You should complain to the Kuna congresso as people like this should not be aloud to be on the islands where there are tourists. We unfortunately cannot do much apart from let everyone both here and on the islands know what you have said and hope someone takes action. Safe travels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.