Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mamallena Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 648 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 648 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
10.0

The staff made my trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Feb 2017
9.4

Great stay! The staff were all super accommodating. When I realized I booked the wrong night, they helped me fix it right away! It was in a great location - walking distance from the sea and from carnival celebrations, $3 taxi from Ancòn hill and restaurant row, and $6 taxi from the canal! Free pancake breakfast, swinging hammock chairs, friendly staff and AC in the bedrooms made this easy to rate highly. Would recommend the walk up Ancòn- it's ~30 min walk with spectacular views and wildlife!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.7

I arrived late/early morning to find there wasn't a bed for me in my dorm. However they did upgrade me to a private room free of charge. Rooms are clean showers are decent. Make your own pancakes for breakfast. Communal chill out spaces. Good WiFi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Feb 2017
8.3

Comfi hostel, little bit out of town but with the cheap taxis it is no problem.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
28th Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel, good location. In the morning you can make your own pancakes, how much as you like :) A lot of places to chill, outside, inside, there is a garden as well, nice staff and rooms. I really enjoyed this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
7.4

Don't really have too many complaints but if I was ever visiting Panama City again I'd be tempted to pay a little more to stay in a better location. Air-conditioning in our private room didn't work, only a fan, so changed to a dorm room after one night. Staff were very friendly but didn't seem overly willing to help, and our room was already given to somebody else when we got there, meaning we were put in a dorm room for our first night. Unorganised, but fine for a brief visit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jan 2017
8.3

Good deal for value. Stayed in double private,clean and spacious. We booked for the beginning of our journey in Panama and Costa Rica then came back twice. Helpfull and friendly staff. Common area are clean toilet and shower always OK just the kitchen should be clean more often. Nice place to start organize your journey. Nice area to getting around and discover Panama City. Markets are close.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
7.7

Mamallenas was a pretty OK place. They got what you need but not what you want. Bathrooms could have been attended to more. Beds were decent. Internet was good enough. Location not the best but taxis and ubers are cheap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Nice pancakes for breakfast, good location, great security

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jan 2017
7.4

I enjoyed it here, place is huge. Complimentary pancakes were wicked and they have a ping-pong table!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.