Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mamallena Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 610 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 610 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.7
Mamallena Backpackers Located at 'Casa 7-62, Calle Primera, Perejil', , Panama City.
Mamallena Backpackers
Panama
Panama City Panama Panama 'Casa 7-62, Calle Primera, Perejil'
77% 610
8.9738472 -79.5365524
Mamallena Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.7

Very nice, clean hostel. Lots of showers and toilets that are always clean. Nice sitting area out back and lots of lounge spots around the hostel. Decent kitchen as well. Doors are almost always locked to get in and out (just ring the bell and staff will open the doors). Very safe feeling. Comfy beds and ac that turns on at night. Would stay again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Dec 2016
8.9

The staff and atmosphere at this hostel is great met some lovely people there. Only problems was the cleanliness the kitchen and floors are a bit grubby and the sofa made me ithcy might need a Hoover. The bathrooms however where clean but the broken toilet seat was not fixed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • crawling_nina
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
7th Dec 2016
6.0

We stayed at Mamallenas in Panama for one night due to the fact that we had our pickup to SanBlas from there. Our room (double) had a really bad smell and the staff was not really concerned about it. The Hostel seems to be in an area that is not that safe for foreigners. When in Panama City I would not stay there again. Anyways the breakfast was tasty and the comon area is cosy, wifi works well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
3.4

Worst experience ever! We only stayed here coz we booked our sailing trip with them. Complete disaster. Just long term people in here who don't want to be social and rather be rude to you. Also completely dirty, cleaning ladies only change bed sheets. Internet is slow and doesn't work in the common areas, location is bad too. Definitely go and stay somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry you feel this way. We have great internet from two different companies, with some of the fastest speeds available, that said when 55 people are all online and some streaming it will be slow. Not much we can do about that, unfortunately we do not have speeds like Japan, but then again your only paying $13 a night so cant expect you own 100mb internet slot. Also it does work in the common areas, not 100% of the time though, welcome to the developing world. Not sure who the long term people are your talking about, we only have 4 out of 60 that I know off, unless you know better. Our cleaning ladies clean all day and we clean at night as well in all areas, admittedly with the renovations the hostel has been dirtier than usual with the dust, but we are almost complete now. Apologies for that. Location is a residential neighborhood near all travel links around the city, cheap food and supermarkets near by. Can't please em all that is for sure.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
9.7

I will highly recommend Mamallenna to everyone. What a great experience. Great staff, safe environment, and really enjoyed our short stay. We will return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Oct 2016
7.7

A bit away from Casco Viejo and downtown but taxis are cheap and walking during the day is not too strenuous. Not much in the near vacinity but supermarkets are OK. Fantastic friendly red-lored amazonian parrot adds a bit of amusement.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • EcaterinaThomson
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Oct 2016
7.4

Stayed here only couple of nights to get to San Blas islands. Quite a rundown hostel and nothing more else to offer besides bed to sleep in. Aircon rooms can get very very cold so pack layers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Oct 2016
7.1

Decent hostel, with friendly staff. location not great, felt like the less safe part of town and transport isn't convenient. The pancakes for breakfast were a nice touch though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
21st Sep 2016
6.3

Rooms are a bit all over the place which didnt allow for interaction with other guests.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
6.9

Nice place to chill out at, Tv with lots of channels. They got free make your own pancakes for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.