Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mamallena Backpackers Reviews

'Casa 7-62, Calle Primera, Perejil', Panama City, Panama

Reviews & Ratings Explained


446 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Really good price for a private room, lots of showers and toilets. Loved the free pancake breakfast and got loads of help from the staff especially for booking our San blas sailing trip. Very comfortable hostel, great chill areas.


We enjoyed our stay, the staff were extremely friendly & helpful & booked our trip to San Blas (which was incredible) for us. The room was comfortable with AC & the lovely big communal areas (inside & out) were great to chill out in. Kitchen was good & pancake breakfast was nice. Location was good & in a safe area but you need to take a bus or taxi to most of the tourist areas (old town, canal etc). Thanks for a great start to our trip! Charlotte x2 & Alicia - England


I booked two nights and stayed six so that tells you all you need to know. Staff was great from the desk people (expect the overnight guy) to the travel agent to the owner. I had a great time there and I will be back next time I'm in town!


Nice hostel, very clean and air con was a real bonus! Not located in the old town but taxi's are cheap and staff are helpful as to how to get to places. Clean kitchen and nice seating area to chill/watch films. Manager Richard was great ad recommended some great places to eat/visit. Great end to our trip.


I stayed only one night then moved to magnolia inn in coco viejo mainly for the location. Mamallena was okay but nothing special!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yep, but special hostels usually charge a lot more as well :) Our location isnt right where you'll find popular bars and restaurnats, but we are within walking distance and we are right near public transport. We're also in the budget area, where you'll find cheap bars and restaurants that you won't find in Casco Viejo.


This hostel is in the middle of no where- no good bars/restaurants nearby. Staff were good and helpful. Kitchen is below average with no toaster! Breakfast is make it yourself pancakes and coffee (no milk provided). Private room was very small and dark, felt like a cell. Worst hostel I have stayed in Central America. No atmosphere or good common area to meet people. Wouldn't stay again sorry.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The kitchen has two microwaves, a fryer, a huge fridge, a coffee maker and most things you need. A toaster actually isnt that common in Latin America and can be hard to find. Our privates are small and we say that as well, but they are comfy and do have a window. Atmosphere depends on the people here at the time and often not something we can control. We have a large balcony with sofas, a TV room and a large garden, plenty of common areas!


Was there just for one night, but my first impression was not the best. Entrance kind of messy and the neighborhood is not the most inviting, but it was ok. The common areas were cool, and wifi and room were ok, with AC and lockers. I was well treated but did notice the staff a bit impatient with most guests. Overall ok, but for a similar price I have stayed in better.


What a terrible hostel. Dirty kitchen, very dark stairways, broken and crooked stairs, couches, the couches smelled just like the dirty dog that was sleeping on them. Tiny room with a mattress full of limps. We left the first day and let Hostel World keep the deposit.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well, thats a bit scathing isnt it? Considering you were here 15 minutes, and weren't in the best "condition" when you arrived either. We are a basic hostel and we never claimed to be anything else. You've read the other reviews, you saw our prices, you saw we had a dog, why did you book? I dispute what you've said but you are apparently entitled to an opinion. It is a shame that you use it to try and damage our business and put our staff out of a job.


The hostel has a good vibe, very secure, not the cleanest but not filthy either. Has all the facilities you will need and free pancakes. Good wifi too. Staff during the day are fantastic and helpful, the guy on night duty is grumpy though


Really nice hostel! We only stayed there for 1 night but wish we could have stayed longer! The atmosphere is so cool and there are lots of chillout areas. The AC in the dorms is working perfectly and we had the best night of sleep. Besides that we really enjoyed the free pancake/coffee breakfast! We can only recommend others to stay here.

View all Panama City Hostels

Please give us your feedback