X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mamallena Backpackers Reviews

'Casa 7-62, Calle Primera, Perejil', Panama City, Panama

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
435 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

This hostel is in the middle of no where- no good bars/restaurants nearby. Staff were good and helpful. Kitchen is below average with no toaster! Breakfast is make it yourself pancakes and coffee (no milk provided). Private room was very small and dark, felt like a cell. Worst hostel I have stayed in Central America. No atmosphere or good common area to meet people. Wouldn't stay again sorry.


37%

What a terrible hostel. Dirty kitchen, very dark stairways, broken and crooked stairs, couches, the couches smelled just like the dirty dog that was sleeping on them. Tiny room with a mattress full of limps. We left the first day and let Hostel World keep the deposit.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well, thats a bit scathing isnt it? Considering you were here 15 minutes, and weren't in the best "condition" when you arrived either. We are a basic hostel and we never claimed to be anything else. You've read the other reviews, you saw our prices, you saw we had a dog, why did you book? I dispute what you've said but you are apparently entitled to an opinion. It is a shame that you use it to try and damage our business and put our staff out of a job.

80%

The hostel has a good vibe, very secure, not the cleanest but not filthy either. Has all the facilities you will need and free pancakes. Good wifi too. Staff during the day are fantastic and helpful, the guy on night duty is grumpy though


94%

Really nice hostel! We only stayed there for 1 night but wish we could have stayed longer! The atmosphere is so cool and there are lots of chillout areas. The AC in the dorms is working perfectly and we had the best night of sleep. Besides that we really enjoyed the free pancake/coffee breakfast! We can only recommend others to stay here.


66%

staff needs to be more friendly and helpful


83%

Staff in the day were not as friendly and helpful as staff in the evening. I felt like I couldn't even ask anything about the canal/airport transfers. My friends were staying at another hostel called Machicho in Marbella where staff were friendly so I booked everything through them! There hostel was pretty nice too so hung out there! Pancakes were good, just make sure you buy the fruit etc, as only batter is provided! Other than that could do with more charging sockets in the room!




View all Panama City Hostels

Please give us your feedback