Hostelworld.com

Mamallena Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 632 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 632 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.7

I arrived late/early morning to find there wasn't a bed for me in my dorm. However they did upgrade me to a private room free of charge. Rooms are clean showers are decent. Make your own pancakes for breakfast. Communal chill out spaces. Good WiFi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Feb 2017
8.3

Comfi hostel, little bit out of town but with the cheap taxis it is no problem.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
28th Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel, good location. In the morning you can make your own pancakes, how much as you like :) A lot of places to chill, outside, inside, there is a garden as well, nice staff and rooms. I really enjoyed this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
7.4

Don't really have too many complaints but if I was ever visiting Panama City again I'd be tempted to pay a little more to stay in a better location. Air-conditioning in our private room didn't work, only a fan, so changed to a dorm room after one night. Staff were very friendly but didn't seem overly willing to help, and our room was already given to somebody else when we got there, meaning we were put in a dorm room for our first night. Unorganised, but fine for a brief visit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jan 2017
8.3

Good deal for value. Stayed in double private,clean and spacious. We booked for the beginning of our journey in Panama and Costa Rica then came back twice. Helpfull and friendly staff. Common area are clean toilet and shower always OK just the kitchen should be clean more often. Nice place to start organize your journey. Nice area to getting around and discover Panama City. Markets are close.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Nice pancakes for breakfast, good location, great security

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jan 2017
7.4

I enjoyed it here, place is huge. Complimentary pancakes were wicked and they have a ping-pong table!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.7

Very nice, clean hostel. Lots of showers and toilets that are always clean. Nice sitting area out back and lots of lounge spots around the hostel. Decent kitchen as well. Doors are almost always locked to get in and out (just ring the bell and staff will open the doors). Very safe feeling. Comfy beds and ac that turns on at night. Would stay again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Dec 2016
8.9

The staff and atmosphere at this hostel is great met some lovely people there. Only problems was the cleanliness the kitchen and floors are a bit grubby and the sofa made me ithcy might need a Hoover. The bathrooms however where clean but the broken toilet seat was not fixed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • crawling_nina
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
7th Dec 2016
6.0

We stayed at Mamallenas in Panama for one night due to the fact that we had our pickup to SanBlas from there. Our room (double) had a really bad smell and the staff was not really concerned about it. The Hostel seems to be in an area that is not that safe for foreigners. When in Panama City I would not stay there again. Anyways the breakfast was tasty and the comon area is cosy, wifi works well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.