X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mamas & Papas Hostel Reviews

ul. Nowiny 19, Gdansk, Poland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
342 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very helpful and friendly staff, nice cozy common room to socialize, quiet area just a short bus ride away from the city: I really liked it :)

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Georgia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

If you want to get away from the rat race come to this awesome hostel. Its not far from the city center but far enough to get some peace and quite. Mama and papa are lovely people who run a super clean hostel. Beautiful garden close by and supermarket is really close too. I really loved every moment here and would have loved to stay longer.... Thanks Mama and Papa


100%

Papas has a good T-shirts taste :)

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cyprus
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing staff!!!

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great people, friendly atmosphere. Big room with music recorder, lot of CD's, books, guitar, movies and a... bow. They also have a cat! Location not the best, but close to the bus stop with lot of busses. Very good and personalized breakfasts. A shop 50 meters from the hostel.


83%

Mama and papa are very nice people. The hostel is a little bit out of the way so there isn't much around, but it's in a quiet neighbourhood. Our dorm was unfortunately just behind the reception desk, so the good news is it's very safe, the bad news is it's a bit noisy and I couldn't go out of the room without passing the reception. The beds were really comfy.


83%

Hostel had really comfy beds, bus to town was easy to navigate, staff were very helpful, great common room upstairs with big tv ans dvds. Good place to stay if you want some peace and quiet away from the hustle of the city Centre.


86%

This is a lovely little hostel slightly out of town, if you want to relax a little bit. They have a great common area with awesome breakfasts and the staff are really helpful!


97%

Mamas and Papas hostel is possible the best I've ever stayed in! The staff are so friendly and helpful and would go completely out of their way to ensure you have everything you need. The beds were so comfy, the bathrooms were clean. The lounge room in the attic is fantastic for chilling out, with plenty of DVDs and albums to chose from. The breakfast included was a perfect touch. I cannot fault at all!

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was good, but the stuff especially!


97%

This is one of the best places I've ever stayed in and I've seen pretty many hostels. Mama & Papa are so friendly and helpfull. They really make you feel like home. Great breakfast and comfortable beds. And it's also very simple to get from the Place into the city center of Gdansk. I warmly recommend this Place to everyone, it suits all kind of travellers in all ages. Excellent!!

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Keep up the good work!

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel I've ever stayed!

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Mamas and Papas is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed at! Upon arrival, Mama and Papa welcomed me with open arms and treated me to some of Papa's mother's pickle soup - delicious! They are the kindest, sweetest people I have ever met on my travels and made me feel right at home. The hostel is on a quiet street away from the the Old Town but is very easily accessible by bus. The garden out back adds the perfect touch to this home away from home. When in Gdansk, go to Mamas and Papas!

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The location is poor - you have to get a bus in and out of the town which is really inconvenient, especially as so many hostels (for the same price) are central. The staff were confused and unhelpful when we checked in, although 'mama and papa' themselves are friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're very surprised by your opinion. Yes, the staff could be confused because you came early in the morning, long time before the check-in and your beds were still occupied. You booked beds in a dormitory, but the staff member decided to give you a private room, in the price of a dorm. Additionally, he offer you free breakfast. How is it "unhelpful staff"? Well, we will be always unhelpful that way ;) It's easy to check location before booking on the map on hostelworld and book your favourite

100%

Easily the best hostel I've stayed in!


89%

Really nice people.


100%

Nice city and beautiful family! Thank you Papa and Mama. :)


100%

Amazing atmosphere, delicious food, outstanding hospitality! This is the best hostel in the world!

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

In 3 months of travel, this is probably the best hostel I've visited to date. Was greeted with a home cooked meal and plenty and of information including bus schedules to the area. For a day trip to Sopot, Papa walked us to the train station and at nights he had plenty of time to talk about travel and music. Felt like a home away from home, with great hosts, guests and overall vibe. Ended up extending for two more nights, but I was sad to go at the end of it. You won't regret staying here!


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Gdansk Hostels

Please give us your feedback