Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mambembe Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2017
10.0

Had such a fantastic time staying in Mambembe, it was the perfect place to be during the last leg of our time in Brazil before flying back home. Yuri was exceptionally helpful, friendly and a total joy to be around showing us the best nightlife and sightseeing places. We'll be coming back for carnival in a few years, big love to you all !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
10.0

One of favourite hostels from my trip in South America!!! Great place to chill out. Has everything you need, including very helpful and welcoming staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Aug 2017
10.0

Such a lovely and great hostel! I enjoyed the stay in there a lot!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • saschkacp6489
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
9.7

I liked this place. It felt like home the moment I walked in. Super chill but super friendly staff, beautiful building with plenty of space to socialise or to hide from others if you want some alone time. Awesome location and beautiful view, you can watch hummingbirds in the back garden. The staff were sooo lovely, took me to a great party and we danced until the morning 💜 I love you guys and send you big squishy cuddles. Please take my email for contact if you ever come to Australia 🌻

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jul 2017
10.0

Really great hostel, awesome staff, clean kitchen and bathrooms. Awesome vibe and good fun on the weekend without being too rowdy. Met some great ppl here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
9.1

Spent 5 nights that I will not forget in Rio, mostly thanks to this hostel and it's amazing staff, recommending the sights to see, warning us of the tourist traps, and being just generally friendly and genuinely nice. It's away from the big tourist areas so it's a fair way to a beach, but it does mean that the area isn't overly stupid expensive. I give my thanks to the staff and hope that others read this review an know this is a great choice! One last thing: The staff is amazing at languages!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
10.0

BEAUTIFUL AMAZING HOSTEL

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
9.7

I truly loved Mambembe, of all the hostels I've ever stayed at this one has been my favorite. Lots of plants and artwork everywhere, nice common spaces to hangout, the bar had good prices for drinks and the layout made it really easy to meet people. The room I stayed in had it's own balcony with a table and hammocks and a beautiful view of the Santa Teresa neighborhood. The breakfast was better than the other hostels I've stayed at in Brasil as well. I'll definitely be back next time I'm in Rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
10.0

My stay was very short but very sweet. Definitely one of the best hostels I've been to. Amazing atmosphere, awesome people, and great facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Jul 2017
7.1

Would definitely recommend Mamembe Hostel! Cool chill out areas, helpful staff and it's located in rio's party area. Amazing night life only a couple of minute walk away - perfect!! Feels like you stay in the "real rio" and not in the tourist area which we liked. Breakfasts was not great at all. And unfortunately it was quite dirty. There was hair and dirt on the floor, beds were not comfortable and the linen we got had holes and massive stains on them. Shared bathrooms were quite dirty too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×