Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mambembe Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
Mambembe Hostel Located at Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Mambembe Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241320 Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa
92% 382
-22.9161614 -43.1811640
Mambembe Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
27th Dec 2016
10.0

Stayed here a week and had an absolutely fantastic time. Really great staff that's always keen to take you out every night if you wanted to! I liked the layout of the place - nice courtyard to hang out and chat with fellow travellers. Fantastic location in a pretty safe place. LOVED the beds - very comfortable, had CURTAINS (which I had never seen before), your own personal power socket and reading light. Fan is very noisy so just use the AC at night. Would 100% return and recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
10.0

Great hostel Clean Comfy beds Good location close to lapa but not noisy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
10.0

Very nice hostel ! I had a really good time here, well organized, met good people, nice location :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
9.7

Mambembe has been on of my favourites in South America. The atmosphere was great, the staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was nice, each bed had curtains/powerpoint/shelf and there was good wifi connection also. Location was perfect - I loved being able to stay in Santa Teresa but also be extremely close to Lapa for all the parties! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends. Thanks for a great time Mambembe!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Nov 2016
8.9

Great hostels to enjoy the parties and nightlife in Lapa! Nice people and living spaces. Make sure to ask for a room with AC, we had a fan and found the heat unbearable. Triple bunks in dorms, great security, friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
9.1

amazing view from balcony with noises.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Nov 2016
10.0

Absolutely amazing place!! The vibe, the people, home away from home, I loved this hostel. Highly recommend staying here, as it's an experience in itself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
9.7

One of my greatest hostel stays so far. Great location: lapa but not really lapa , so no need for earplugs, really great building and confort, awesome staff and the best atmosphere I've seen so far in a hostel. Nearly 10/10 for a stay that rather felt like staying at friends. Will come again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Oct 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved Mambembe!!! What was supposed to be a weekend stay turned into almost a week and a half here and I enjoyed every minute. This hostels vibe is great with the patio and common area and the staff are excellent as well! Shoutout to Yuri and Alex for making my stay all the more better. Best location as it sits right in between the quiet hilltops of santa teresa and the busy streets of Lapa, its the best of both worlds. Definitely planning on coming back ! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Sep 2016
9.4

Awesome staff. Seemed like everyone stating there also worked there but everyone was so helpful, knowledgeable, and keen to take you out for a night out! Great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.