Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mambembe Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 343 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 343 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 9.0
Mambembe Hostel Located at Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Mambembe Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241320 Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa
92% 343
-22.9161614 -43.1811640
Mambembe Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Sep 2016
8.3

I kind of thought it was gonna be a party hostel, but when I was there it was far from it. Instead it was pretty chilled. Feels more like place if you wanna relax. The location is good with a lot of stuff going on in the surrounding areas, but... it's also dodgy to say the least. The rooms were great. A private balcony, lamp by the bed + two outlets. Breakfast was nice and bathrooms really pleasant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel! Stayed in the private room and it was perfect. Definitely stay on the hostel side instead of the B&b side if you can. Social atmosphere with everyone on the patio all the time, super friendly and helpful staff taking people out and making recommendations everyday. You can tell its run by backpackers. Very clean and safe location. It's a bit of a hike up the stairs, but would stay again without a doubt. Awesome toasties in the morning. Thanks for everything guys! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2016
9.7

An awesome hostel with a nice chill vibe. Nothing bad to say expect for the number of showers which is only 4. Location couldn't be better for nights out. Also Ipanema and Copacabana are reachable with public transport in about 35mins. Staff is also super helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
10.0

Perfect place right in Santa Teresa. Nice rooms and even nicee people. The staff and guests made it a great overall experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Aug 2016
9.4

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very helpful, lovely atmosphere, great caipirinhas. The hosts took their time to bring all guests together, there was always someone around we could hang with. The facilities were great and the staff was always trying to further improve the hostel. Busses were close by to go anywhere in the city. Although Rio as a city isn't really safe all the time, we felt absolutely safe in the hostel. #respect

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.1

The hostel itself is great. It's about a 20 minute walk to the metro through an ok area. The staff are nice and helpful and the breakfast is yummy with fruit and ham & cheese toasties. They buzz everyone in so its secure from people outside but the dorms don't have lockable doors so anyone can come in the room if they are inside the hostel. There are small lockers in the room though. It's more of a party hostel so if you like going to bed early then it might not be the right place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
9.4

It's a fantastic place to stay with great staff and great atmosphere. Definitely would stay again if I ever return to Rio

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
8.9

nice place, nice neighborhood, well organized. bikes! but noisy beds. only one personal plug.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rfpcmaia3831
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
9.7

We only stayed one night, but really liked the hostel. Awesome building, great staff, good atmosphere, and good location right next to Lapa. Would definitely recommend it and I'd probably stay there again and for longer next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
8.9

Cool place in Rio...more chilled vibe there. Nice garden, backyard and balconies to hang out there. Nice and helpfull staff. Beds (3 on top of each other) could be a bit more comfy, they are shaking a lot if someone is moving.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.