Hostelworld.com

Mambembe Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
Mambembe Hostel Located at Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Mambembe Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241320 Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa
90% 301
-22.9161614 -43.1811640
Mambembe Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • samoomens5843
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.4

Such an awesome hostel and first taste of Brazil. The staff were awesome and helpful and friendly. The location seems a little unsafe at first but you get familiar with it and it's ok, same as Rio in general. The facilities were good and cleaned every day, the free breakfast was awesome for its value. The vibe was great, people always around to hang out and we made heaps of friends but also plenty of places to go chill on your own. Would definitely stay again?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th May 2016
9.4

One of the best hostels I stayed at, maybe even the best. The owners are former travellers, who are living there as well and are constantly improving and decorating the hostel. That makes the difference. The house has a lovely atmosphere with focus on many details such as: curtains in front of beds; bed lights; filtered drinking water; shampoo in the bathrooms; netflix account; various breakfast; many common rooms (inside and outside); very strong wifi connection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDATION!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th May 2016
9.7

Easily the best hostel I've stayed in! Convenient location near all of the parties in Lapa, amazing staff who will make sure you have the best time in Rio and great atmosphere and communal spaces for meeting other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rachelebrewster
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd May 2016
8.6

Clean and friendly hostel. A good location for lapa and the centre. Quiet in private room. Good amount of space and comfortable bed. Lock on our door was a bit dodgy but seemed secure. Breakfast was OK, first morning a bit under supplied. Helpful receptionist when we arrived. Large communal areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
8.9

Great hostel. This was a great place to hang out and meet fellow travelers. The hostel is in a nice location (very close to all the Lapa bars). The only downside is that it's a bit of a hike up a hill and the closest metro stop is a 10-15min walk away. The staff were very nice and there was a place for me to store my bag the day I checked in and the day I checked out (I arrived early in the morning and left late at night). The rooms could be kept a bit colder at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
10.0

I loved this hostel. It has such an incredible vibe with amazing staff and awesome facilities, all of which made me extend my stay from 2 nights to two and a half weeks. The location is perfect - on the border of Lapa and Sta Tereza which makes for really fun nights out as well. The set up of the building allows for easy interactions between guests and staff, and also places where you can take time out for yourself as well. Also the curtains around your bed are a great touch. I LOVED IT HERE!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
6.9

Pros - good location (up a hill but really not too strenuous), good breakfast, good value for money Cons - room wasn't cleaned/bin wasn't emptied in the whole 4 nights we were there, not enough bathrooms and the staff don't seem to have received any training regarding the tourist sites so although theyre all very nice we had to find most stuff out on the Internet in terms of how to get to places and different tours etc I mean advising how best to get to Cristo Redentor is pretty basic right?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
9.7

WATCH OUT: It's almost impossible to not become a part of this community and to not feel like the people around u could easily become your new family. So if you plan to stay maybe one or two nights you should cancel your flights, rip up your bus tickets to other locations and make sure that your family back home is awared of not seeing you for maybe never again. Because once you checked your sweet little self in, it will already be to late and the Mambembe-Spirit will not easily let u go.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
4th Apr 2016
7.1

We liked this hostel but found the lady on reception quite rude. She complained when we came down for breakfast by accident early one morning. Rooms are basic and some are too small. The outdoor bar is really cool and breakfast is great choice. Would maybe stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2016
10.0

Omg it's amazing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.