Hostelworld.com

Mambembe Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 398 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 398 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Feb 2017
10.0

When I came first to this hostel, I didn't have any luggage because the airport lost it. But the people working there were really considerate and helpful to make sure I had everything I needed. Took me to this awesome pool party to keep my spirits up, their breakfasts are also awesome too. I was recommended this hostel and I'll recommend it to anyone going to Rio. It's also the reason I stayed at this hostel twice on my trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Jan 2017
7.4

Lovely staff, nice breakfast, excellent wifi, clean. They hostel is between Santa Theresa and Lapa. We didn't feel comfortable on the walk down to Lapa and have since stayed in the neighbourhood of Botofogo and felt much safer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
8.9

We used a double room which was really nicely decoraded (great poster work!) and everything was clean and confortable. Only stayed here for one night, unfortunatelly, but had the chance to check out the communal areas, which seemed quite nice. Thought it was really cool that they had a few terraces/outdoor areas throughout the hostel to socialise or just sit down and chill. Some people were chatting there and playing guitar. Staff was nice and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel with great vibes! Super chill people - both staff and the other travelers. Great location in Santa Teresa, which is one of the oldest areas in Rio so there's a lot of pretty old buildings with great graffiti art. It's very closeby to the Lapa area that is fun to go out in, and also to the city center to see another side of Rio other than the beaches. Really beautiful building, it has curtains on the bunk beds which provides more privacy - haven't seen this in any other hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
27th Dec 2016
10.0

Stayed here a week and had an absolutely fantastic time. Really great staff that's always keen to take you out every night if you wanted to! I liked the layout of the place - nice courtyard to hang out and chat with fellow travellers. Fantastic location in a pretty safe place. LOVED the beds - very comfortable, had CURTAINS (which I had never seen before), your own personal power socket and reading light. Fan is very noisy so just use the AC at night. Would 100% return and recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
10.0

Great hostel Clean Comfy beds Good location close to lapa but not noisy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
10.0

Very nice hostel ! I had a really good time here, well organized, met good people, nice location :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
9.7

Mambembe has been on of my favourites in South America. The atmosphere was great, the staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was nice, each bed had curtains/powerpoint/shelf and there was good wifi connection also. Location was perfect - I loved being able to stay in Santa Teresa but also be extremely close to Lapa for all the parties! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends. Thanks for a great time Mambembe!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Nov 2016
8.9

Great hostels to enjoy the parties and nightlife in Lapa! Nice people and living spaces. Make sure to ask for a room with AC, we had a fan and found the heat unbearable. Triple bunks in dorms, great security, friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
9.1

amazing view from balcony with noises.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.