Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mambembe Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
9.7

I truly loved Mambembe, of all the hostels I've ever stayed at this one has been my favorite. Lots of plants and artwork everywhere, nice common spaces to hangout, the bar had good prices for drinks and the layout made it really easy to meet people. The room I stayed in had it's own balcony with a table and hammocks and a beautiful view of the Santa Teresa neighborhood. The breakfast was better than the other hostels I've stayed at in Brasil as well. I'll definitely be back next time I'm in Rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
10.0

My stay was very short but very sweet. Definitely one of the best hostels I've been to. Amazing atmosphere, awesome people, and great facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2017
7.1

Would definitely recommend Mamembe Hostel! Cool chill out areas, helpful staff and it's located in rio's party area. Amazing night life only a couple of minute walk away - perfect!! Feels like you stay in the "real rio" and not in the tourist area which we liked. Breakfasts was not great at all. And unfortunately it was quite dirty. There was hair and dirt on the floor, beds were not comfortable and the linen we got had holes and massive stains on them. Shared bathrooms were quite dirty too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • jerrylarkin221683
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jun 2017
9.1

Really great hostel with friendly staff and cool and friendly atmosphere. Only drawback is that the area is quite dodgy at night and it's not really safe to travel alone with valuables. But the hostel itself is recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jun 2017
10.0

Absolutely loved staying here!! Staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful if they tried 😀. Would definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Jun 2017
9.7

A great place to stay in santa Teresa! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, there were loads of bathrooms with hot showers, adequate breakfast, and really cool views. Only (uncontrollable) drawback was the very loud noise from the buses outside and neighborhood dogs/cats, so even heavy sleepers beware. An upstairs private room is the best, we were happy there! Would stay again if returning to rio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2017
10.0

I cannot think of a single fault with my stay at Mambembe. Alex, Yuri and the team really make an effort to make Mambembe feel like a home and creating one of the most relaxing and friendly atmospheres I have been in. The hostel itself has a fantastic layout with great social spaces and a couple of hideaway spots if you just want to read a book in peace. Having breakfast served every morning was an added bonus! I cannot recommend Mambembe highly enough for anyone visiting Rio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.0

Spent a week in Rio, half the time on Ipanema, and the other half here. Good facilities, but not so great location. It's good if you plan partying on Lapa all the time as it is very near. And also close to downtown (which on weekends is pretty much empty). Otherwise, the surroundings felt dodgy and not so safe, and it wasn't that convenient for going to the beaches, Sugarloaf, etc. I would recommend staying near the beach and going downtown when needed. But it depends on what you want.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Jun 2017
10.0

I love this hostel. Staff are great and make you feel super welcome. It's a sort of inbetween hostel- not a party hostel but not super quiet either. It's busier and louder on the weekend because the bars open. The staff are super good at taking people to cool nights out but it's good because it's not one of those big group of gringos on a big gringo train sort of situation. You can just tag along where they feel like going. Breakfast is also really good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
10.0

Not a place for the youthful party crowd (you won't hear any ubiquitous pop music here; more likely to get Edith Piaf) Mambembe just might be the coolest, best hostel you'll come across. Away from the beach scene, Santa Teresa is a laid-back neighbourhood with atmosphere, close to downtown Rio, and Mambembe is perfectly located within it. An artistic touch, a fantastic, airy house with great light, good facilities and mature, knowledgeable and helpful staff; hostelling doesn't get much better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.