Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mambembe Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 436 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 436 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th May 2017
10.0

Not a place for the youthful party crowd (you won't hear any ubiquitous pop music here; more likely to get Edith Piaf) Mambembe just might be the coolest, best hostel you'll come across. Away from the beach scene, Santa Teresa is a laid-back neighbourhood with atmosphere, close to downtown Rio, and Mambembe is perfectly located within it. An artistic touch, a fantastic, airy house with great light, good facilities and mature, knowledgeable and helpful staff; hostelling doesn't get much better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
9.7

Great place for the price. The staff is very nice and accommodating, I left my lock at the previous hostel and they loaned me one for my stay. It's a steep hill to get there from the subway so keep that in mind. The atmosphere was great, very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.4

Mambembe is a hidden gem we should have spent more time at. It's beautiful. There is art everywhere in this hostel and there are tons of cool spots to hang out both indoors and outdoors.. The breakfast was great and the staff really made us feel at home, thanks Alex! The one downside for us was location, being far from the beach. That said I highly recommend Mambembe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
26th Apr 2017
8.6

Great value for money hostel in Lapa. The location as stated by others is a little sketchy at night (esp if you're a solo female traveller) but those in groups, couples etc, it is perfect - with the only complaints being that the walk is quite far to the metro and it's tough making your bed on the bunks. Breakfast is fantastic for the price. Good vibe and helpful staff. Would recommend and return to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.1

The hostel is easy to get to, the staff is very helpful, and the included breakfast is way better than what you get in other hostels!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
9.7

The Mambembe was awesome! The staff was super accommodating and even took us to a local DJ set behind the airport. Great location a short walk from Escaleras Selaron. Awesome atmosphere and great people. Loved my stay! Thanks Mambembe!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you!!

4th Mar 2017
9.7

Stayed for one night. Perfect place. Perfect location. Great value for the money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Everything you need in kitchen, some free condiments. Plenty of fridge space. Fast wifi (works in the rooms) super friendly staff. cool hang out areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

We stayed at this hostel for Carnaval and it was outstanding. It is very close to Lapa and Santa Teresa, but far enough to be away from the crazy. Perfectly safe area. There is a little steep walk from the main street, takes your breath away but worth it. The hostel itself is amazing, really great place to meet people and the staff are unbelievable. They go above and beyond and join in the social events. Thanks to Yuri, Alex and Leona, you guys were wonderful. Recommend the private room w/AC.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Feb 2017
9.7

Staff were extremely helpful and from the offset made me feel welcome. Great atmosphere and a good location for partying but also if you wanted a bit of quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.