X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mambembe Hostel Reviews

Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
85 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

It is a perfect place to discover Rio, the team is really welcoming, the neibourhood is excellent to visit the city and enjoy ing the night life, vers good breakfast and good equipment (kitchen, terace... ), Nice people You hâve to go

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Mambembe is a wonderful place. It is not just rooms and breakfast located in beautiful Santa Teresa. It is rather a Refugium providing a Family-like atmosphere, interesting open-minded staff and guests, Music, creativity, arts and collectivity. I highly recommend Mambembe to everyone who does not solely look for a hostel bed and tourism, but who wants to experience Rio de Janeiro among fascinating People from all over the world.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

This felt more like a big share house than a hostel as its very casual. The staff are friendly, especially Oliver. We did find it a bit difficult to always find someone to answer questions and its not really obvious who works there and who is just a long term guest. The location was great for the nightlife. There was construction on the street outside our window which was very loud. Then the party area for the hostel was also outside our window at night. Bring earplugs and a sense of humour.


97%

Excellent hostel, friendly staff and guests. Difficult to leave and would definitely go back. Highly recommended for single travellers. Perfect location to explore Rio. Very chilled place to stay.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel runned by owners. Great breakfast! BIg beds, and "heads up" three bed bunk beds. Be carefull with the google maps instrunctions, from the airport the best option is to take a cab.


89%

Really fun hostel. Good vibe with outgoing backpackers. The staff is great, especially Oliver. Nightly trips to Lapa to party. Great location if you want to be close to lapa, but a lot of the touristy stuff and day time activities are a bit further away.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

If you are too tired or too disoriented to find your room and you just crash on the couch, its mambembe. If you arrive in rio without plans for the weekend and people invite you to crazy parties, its mambembe. If you feel tired from your trips and you just chill out in a cozy living room maybe cook your favourite food in a tidy and clean kitchen, its mambembe. If you plan to stay in rio for only 3 days and you end up staying 10, its mambembe. And the breakfast is good, too

Owner Comment (Hide)
You got the feeling. You are Mambembe!! Danke für den Kommentar, es war schön euch in die Mambembe-Familie aufzunehmen, gute Reise und bis bald! Abraço

94%

The hostel staff was great and very helpful. They found our friends wallet after we left and kept it safe and returned it to him afterwards. We arrived pretty early in the mnorning and they let us use the showers and have breakfast and even put the bags in the room. The hostel is in Lapa, which turned out to be the best position for going out, all in walking distance. As for sightseeing, it's easy to get around either by bus or metro and some of the central part one can do on foot.


94%

I stayed there 2 times and I really liked it! The first time I was there at Carnaval; the whole staff was wearing costumes and lend clothes to everybody who wanted to dress up! The kitchen is perfect, with a lot of clean, useful facilities, that makes you feel like cooking at your own place.:) Talking about food, breakfast is great as well, there is everything, from bread and jam, over hot cheese sandwiches and cereals, to fresh tasty fruits! Only champagne is missing!^^ Oli is an amazing guy!:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awesome comment! See you next time!

71%

great place to stay and very friendly staff. showers need to be improved as they were cold

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We have taken care of the hot water issue. All showers now have hot water. See you next time!

94%

Friendly staff offered so much help. Really cool location too.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great place. Directly adjacent to Lapa, an awesome night time spot. Easy access to the subway (metro, ~10 minute walk)Would stay again if visiting Rio.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Super hostel, great staff, great vibe!


91%

The place was phenominal! I've stayed at another hostel and this one just blew the other one out of the water. Honestly the location is amazing, the owners are incredible helpful and they don't gouge your eyes. Loved it!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

international Staff can give good information about Rio and more, good athmosphere, bus ,metro, food, restaurants in walking distance and Lapa party scene around the corner.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

AMAZING staff, and people who are there are super friendly and fun. I had such a great time that i hope to come back. It's a very new hostel so everything is very clean. The breakfast was on point and the location can't be beat!

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Good atmosphere, great staff and location, more like a community of people living together than a hostel.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice place. And next to all the bars and clubs of lapa but not so close that you can't sleep ;) everyone is very friendly and nice


97%

location was great, staff was excellent cant wait to go back. thanks oliver and staff for making my stay in rio de janeiro unforgettable.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel is well placed (between 2 excelent areas), nice staff (indications for to do and transportation by bus with map) and good for price (Rio is expensive). A little problem with flush in bathrooms and flies in breakfast, but it can be solve.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Than you for you review. We appreciate it! We are fixing these problems!

« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback