Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mambembe Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 364 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 364 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
Mambembe Hostel Located at Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Mambembe Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241320 Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa
94% 364
-22.9161614 -43.1811640
Mambembe Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Nov 2016
8.9

Great hostels to enjoy the parties and nightlife in Lapa! Nice people and living spaces. Make sure to ask for a room with AC, we had a fan and found the heat unbearable. Triple bunks in dorms, great security, friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
9.1

amazing view from balcony with noises.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
9.7

One of my greatest hostel stays so far. Great location: lapa but not really lapa , so no need for earplugs, really great building and confort, awesome staff and the best atmosphere I've seen so far in a hostel. Nearly 10/10 for a stay that rather felt like staying at friends. Will come again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Oct 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved Mambembe!!! What was supposed to be a weekend stay turned into almost a week and a half here and I enjoyed every minute. This hostels vibe is great with the patio and common area and the staff are excellent as well! Shoutout to Yuri and Alex for making my stay all the more better. Best location as it sits right in between the quiet hilltops of santa teresa and the busy streets of Lapa, its the best of both worlds. Definitely planning on coming back ! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Sep 2016
9.4

Awesome staff. Seemed like everyone stating there also worked there but everyone was so helpful, knowledgeable, and keen to take you out for a night out! Great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Sep 2016
8.3

I kind of thought it was gonna be a party hostel, but when I was there it was far from it. Instead it was pretty chilled. Feels more like place if you wanna relax. The location is good with a lot of stuff going on in the surrounding areas, but... it's also dodgy to say the least. The rooms were great. A private balcony, lamp by the bed + two outlets. Breakfast was nice and bathrooms really pleasant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel! Stayed in the private room and it was perfect. Definitely stay on the hostel side instead of the B&b side if you can. Social atmosphere with everyone on the patio all the time, super friendly and helpful staff taking people out and making recommendations everyday. You can tell its run by backpackers. Very clean and safe location. It's a bit of a hike up the stairs, but would stay again without a doubt. Awesome toasties in the morning. Thanks for everything guys! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2016
9.7

An awesome hostel with a nice chill vibe. Nothing bad to say expect for the number of showers which is only 4. Location couldn't be better for nights out. Also Ipanema and Copacabana are reachable with public transport in about 35mins. Staff is also super helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
10.0

Perfect place right in Santa Teresa. Nice rooms and even nicee people. The staff and guests made it a great overall experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Aug 2016
9.4

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very helpful, lovely atmosphere, great caipirinhas. The hosts took their time to bring all guests together, there was always someone around we could hang with. The facilities were great and the staff was always trying to further improve the hostel. Busses were close by to go anywhere in the city. Although Rio as a city isn't really safe all the time, we felt absolutely safe in the hostel. #respect

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.