Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mambembe Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 333 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 333 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
Mambembe Hostel Located at Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Mambembe Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241320 Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa
91% 333
-22.9161614 -43.1811640
Mambembe Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.1

The hostel itself is great. It's about a 20 minute walk to the metro through an ok area. The staff are nice and helpful and the breakfast is yummy with fruit and ham & cheese toasties. They buzz everyone in so its secure from people outside but the dorms don't have lockable doors so anyone can come in the room if they are inside the hostel. There are small lockers in the room though. It's more of a party hostel so if you like going to bed early then it might not be the right place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
8.9

nice place, nice neighborhood, well organized. bikes! but noisy beds. only one personal plug.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rfpcmaia3831
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
9.7

We only stayed one night, but really liked the hostel. Awesome building, great staff, good atmosphere, and good location right next to Lapa. Would definitely recommend it and I'd probably stay there again and for longer next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
8.9

Cool place in Rio...more chilled vibe there. Nice garden, backyard and balconies to hang out there. Nice and helpfull staff. Beds (3 on top of each other) could be a bit more comfy, they are shaking a lot if someone is moving.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.3

really helpfull and nice staff! cool design! During night it was super noisy not only because of some other respectless travelers but the special construction of the building! it was impossible to sleep! if you intend to have a party trip to rio I would recommend otherwise better chose another place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2016
7.7

Really cool atmosphere but not the safest location. Everybody in the hostel super friendly and always happy. Really enjoyed the stay and best at the weekend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
9.4

Awesome place, great atmosphere and one of the best I've been to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Jun 2016
9.1

We stayed at Mambembe Hostel 6 nights and had a graet time there. The staff is very friendly, helpful and relaxed. I liked the atmoshphere, the good oldies music for breakfast and the big buffet where you can eat as much as you want. Also the area around is very beautyful with many old villas! I totally recommend this cosy welcoming place...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
7.7

The hostel was up a big hill so be prepared for that! The staff were friendly and helpful. The bar area had a nice atmosphere. The rooms and bathrooms were relatively clean but I did not enjoy staying on the top of three bunks. Was quite annoying to climb to and the room was extremely crowded with no room to keep belongings or get changed! The breakfast was tasty with a good range of food.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
9.1

The staff was very helpful and the place had a great party atmosphere. The only downside was that the triple bunk room is right above the bar, so bring your ear plugs if you intend on going to sleep before 3am.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.