Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mambembe Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
9.7

The Mambembe was awesome! The staff was super accommodating and even took us to a local DJ set behind the airport. Great location a short walk from Escaleras Selaron. Awesome atmosphere and great people. Loved my stay! Thanks Mambembe!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
9.7

Stayed for one night. Perfect place. Perfect location. Great value for the money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Everything you need in kitchen, some free condiments. Plenty of fridge space. Fast wifi (works in the rooms) super friendly staff. cool hang out areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

We stayed at this hostel for Carnaval and it was outstanding. It is very close to Lapa and Santa Teresa, but far enough to be away from the crazy. Perfectly safe area. There is a little steep walk from the main street, takes your breath away but worth it. The hostel itself is amazing, really great place to meet people and the staff are unbelievable. They go above and beyond and join in the social events. Thanks to Yuri, Alex and Leona, you guys were wonderful. Recommend the private room w/AC.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Feb 2017
9.7

Staff were extremely helpful and from the offset made me feel welcome. Great atmosphere and a good location for partying but also if you wanted a bit of quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.0

Quite good. Dorms are a little small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
10.0

When I came first to this hostel, I didn't have any luggage because the airport lost it. But the people working there were really considerate and helpful to make sure I had everything I needed. Took me to this awesome pool party to keep my spirits up, their breakfasts are also awesome too. I was recommended this hostel and I'll recommend it to anyone going to Rio. It's also the reason I stayed at this hostel twice on my trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
29th Jan 2017
7.4

Lovely staff, nice breakfast, excellent wifi, clean. They hostel is between Santa Theresa and Lapa. We didn't feel comfortable on the walk down to Lapa and have since stayed in the neighbourhood of Botofogo and felt much safer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
8.9

We used a double room which was really nicely decoraded (great poster work!) and everything was clean and confortable. Only stayed here for one night, unfortunatelly, but had the chance to check out the communal areas, which seemed quite nice. Thought it was really cool that they had a few terraces/outdoor areas throughout the hostel to socialise or just sit down and chill. Some people were chatting there and playing guitar. Staff was nice and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel with great vibes! Super chill people - both staff and the other travelers. Great location in Santa Teresa, which is one of the oldest areas in Rio so there's a lot of pretty old buildings with great graffiti art. It's very closeby to the Lapa area that is fun to go out in, and also to the city center to see another side of Rio other than the beaches. Really beautiful building, it has curtains on the bunk beds which provides more privacy - haven't seen this in any other hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.