X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mambembe Hostel Reviews

Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
112 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I really enjoyed the time at this hostel and made me to extent the stay two times. The hostel is very unique because of all the travelling artists staying there. If you wanna spend a bit more time in Rio and looking for an cozy environment to hang out and meet interesting people, i would definitely recommend this place.


100%

well this place turned out to be a great find … i went on a friends recommendation,, was very impressed with the price after comparing it with a few other places and after staying a few days i abandon my plan of changing hostels and staying in other parts of Rio … its very easy to get around from Lapa and things are cheaper in this part of town …the hostel is clean and everything works … the guys that own the place and the staff were very very helpful .. I would recommend this place ..

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was good, some members of the staff were very helpful and polite while other members were not. There seem to be several long staying guests which gave rise to a strange atmosphere in the hostel. At times one wasn't allowed to sit where one wanted to as the seat was 'reserved' for a long staying guest. The hostel is located in Lapa which is an unsafe area. The water to wash up dishes is always cold and the showers are mostly cold also


86%

Oliver was amazing.. as was the boss lady.. Dan, Sebastian n Micah.. so easy going n friendly.. The city is of course very different to Europe.. n as alot of people live in this hostel full time it has a different vibe to most.. I met amazing people there but there is always one or two you have to watch.. you have that everywhere.. For me I had an amazing Experience.. but you have to know your stuff n watch for some of the locals I'm afraid.. If Nick n Sinah are still there.. but them a beer


89%

The Lapa district is good for those looking for some night life. Artsy neighborhood, and so, not very quiet. It was close access to a popular bus stop and the metro, which accounts for getting around all of rio quite easily. Staff was helpful in guiding us toward fun activities!

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

When you are on the road the most exciting thing is who you meet. Mambembe has a special community vibe with super cool staff and many long stay people there. A true backpacker place. The location is perfect and the house is creatively renovated giving it a hippie and inspirational atmosphere. Happy breakfasts are included as well:)

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfect stay, friendly staff, answer all my questions. Lots of areas to sit in and beautiful views. Very comfortable beds and the rooms were a good size. Would defiantly recommend!

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff are all dead set ledges. hammock´s on every balcony with a rip snorter of a view! strategic location, 2mins to the arches and the selaron steps.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

I hated everything about this hostel! Dirty rooms! Weird people! Dangerous area!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Several of my staff members took a lot of time to help this guest when she had trouble booking her next flight. She kept mentioning how stupid everything in Rio de Janeiro is but my staff members tried to relax her and continued helping her. Our area is not dangerous. Our guests come home in the middle of the night and nothing ever happens. We clean the whole house every day but for the guests' mess we are not responsible. Maybe next time a hotel would be the better option for this guest.

80%

Although it's really close lapa, the streets are so inclined and looks dangerous. Inside the hostel is clean, but outside unfourtunately is a little bit durty. In addition the house is quite old. The staffs were so kind and helpful and the hostel has a really nice green area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! We appreciate it! It's like a three minute walk to Lapa and it's safe. People from the hostel come home at any given time and nothing ever happens. Even during the early morning hours. Yes, the street is inclined but it's so close and when you arrive at the hostel you are rewarded with a nice view. We hope t see you again sometime!

89%

Ideally located between Santa Teresa and Lapa (closed to stores, bars and transports), this house is big, functional, designed and with all commodities. Staff is able to speak all languages and they are very helpful. I really appreciated all the different patios which bring fresh air and let enjoy the heights of Rio. This hostel is a big house and it's more like a shared house! The atmosphere is welcoming, relax and multicultural.


74%

Nice atmosphere at this hostel, with a very friendly owner Barbara. Not always sure who works there and who doesn´t, bnut averybody is always willing to help you around. Nice breakfast and clean bedrooms. The location is perfectly situated between Lapa and Santa Teresa.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

One of the best hostels I´ve ever been to. The stuff is very friendly and helpful, the location is perfect, one of the most beautiful neighbourhoods in Rio. The bathrooms were always in excellent condition , as also the other places of the hostel. I totally recommend it to everyone!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Mambembe is an awesome place! I completely fell in love with the staff and their great vibe. It's amazing how little things make all the difference. I stayed in the shared room with the balcony, it's a nice room with two balconies which gets you a beautiful light and fresh air. I got to meet lots as cool people... Musicians, backpackers, and story tellers, it all made it hard to say goodbye. Huge hug to everybody! Have fun in Rio! Simone

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It is a perfect place to discover Rio, the team is really welcoming, the neibourhood is excellent to visit the city and enjoy ing the night life, vers good breakfast and good equipment (kitchen, terace... ), Nice people You hâve to go

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Mambembe is a wonderful place. It is not just rooms and breakfast located in beautiful Santa Teresa. It is rather a Refugium providing a Family-like atmosphere, interesting open-minded staff and guests, Music, creativity, arts and collectivity. I highly recommend Mambembe to everyone who does not solely look for a hostel bed and tourism, but who wants to experience Rio de Janeiro among fascinating People from all over the world.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

This felt more like a big share house than a hostel as its very casual. The staff are friendly, especially Oliver. We did find it a bit difficult to always find someone to answer questions and its not really obvious who works there and who is just a long term guest. The location was great for the nightlife. There was construction on the street outside our window which was very loud. Then the party area for the hostel was also outside our window at night. Bring earplugs and a sense of humour.


97%

Excellent hostel, friendly staff and guests. Difficult to leave and would definitely go back. Highly recommended for single travellers. Perfect location to explore Rio. Very chilled place to stay.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel runned by owners. Great breakfast! BIg beds, and "heads up" three bed bunk beds. Be carefull with the google maps instrunctions, from the airport the best option is to take a cab.


89%

Really fun hostel. Good vibe with outgoing backpackers. The staff is great, especially Oliver. Nightly trips to Lapa to party. Great location if you want to be close to lapa, but a lot of the touristy stuff and day time activities are a bit further away.


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback