Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mambembe Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
Mambembe Hostel Located at Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Mambembe Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241320 Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa
91% 324
-22.9161614 -43.1811640
Mambembe Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
8.3

really helpfull and nice staff! cool design! During night it was super noisy not only because of some other respectless travelers but the special construction of the building! it was impossible to sleep! if you intend to have a party trip to rio I would recommend otherwise better chose another place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
7.7

Really cool atmosphere but not the safest location. Everybody in the hostel super friendly and always happy. Really enjoyed the stay and best at the weekend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
9.4

Awesome place, great atmosphere and one of the best I've been to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Jun 2016
9.1

We stayed at Mambembe Hostel 6 nights and had a graet time there. The staff is very friendly, helpful and relaxed. I liked the atmoshphere, the good oldies music for breakfast and the big buffet where you can eat as much as you want. Also the area around is very beautyful with many old villas! I totally recommend this cosy welcoming place...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
7.7

The hostel was up a big hill so be prepared for that! The staff were friendly and helpful. The bar area had a nice atmosphere. The rooms and bathrooms were relatively clean but I did not enjoy staying on the top of three bunks. Was quite annoying to climb to and the room was extremely crowded with no room to keep belongings or get changed! The breakfast was tasty with a good range of food.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
9.1

The staff was very helpful and the place had a great party atmosphere. The only downside was that the triple bunk room is right above the bar, so bring your ear plugs if you intend on going to sleep before 3am.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st May 2016
8.9

Lovely staff, nice laid back atmosphere. Location is memorable and was the perfect place to begin our trip. Curtains on the beds were a nice touch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
7.4

I really liked the building, its huge with several little nooks and balconies - however, it can still be difficult to find a quiet place to chill. Location is nice but inconvenient for exploring rio. Staff were really aloof and phlegmatic. Strange vibe about the place, perhaps too" hippie" for my liking. They do have bikes that you can borrow though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • samoomens5843
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.4

Such an awesome hostel and first taste of Brazil. The staff were awesome and helpful and friendly. The location seems a little unsafe at first but you get familiar with it and it's ok, same as Rio in general. The facilities were good and cleaned every day, the free breakfast was awesome for its value. The vibe was great, people always around to hang out and we made heaps of friends but also plenty of places to go chill on your own. Would definitely stay again?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th May 2016
10.0

Was one of the best hostels i've been in Brazil, staff is very friendly especially a guy named Gabriel. He took me during his free time to a local Brazilian football match. Location of the hostel is also great, it is very close to the main party district of Rio and busses can take you easily to the beaches.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.