X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mambembe Hostel Reviews

Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
133 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Lovely colonial house in Santa Teresa. Decorated with lots of love to details and funky touch. Great people and familiar atmosphere!

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Location of the hostel is awesome, but the walk up the stairs from Lapa is a killer - especially if you're carrying a pack! Staff are very helpful but not the warmest bunch! very clean and cool hostel overall


60%

We were staying during carnival so it way always going to be busy, but the beds were stained and it was hard to sleep. But the staff was always willing to help and up for a chat :). Though the owners played loud country techno rock in the morning. not great

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Nice building. Location close to Lapa, we went in Carnival time so area smelt and was dirty but that was the same for many areas in rio that week! Quick internet and clean beds.


100%

Best hostel I stayed at in Brazil! A really nice big old house turned into a well decorated hostel with a bohemian touch. The place is full of nice posters, plants, a lot of books, and it has a living room with a comfy sofa where you can watch movies. The staff is super friendly and helpful and offered us not only fun activities, but also delicious home made dinner several times during our stay. Made me feel like home, can't wait to go back someday :) Thanks guys!

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Breakfast very good, wi fi excellent, bathroom clean 'nd nice shower.


97%

I booked for three nights, and ended up staying for three weeks. Mambembe is an excellent choice -- the hostel is welcoming and has a fun and laid-back vibe. It is near lots of bars and grocery stores in Lapa, and yet the road is quiet and residential. The staff are super helpful and friendly, and the accommodations are clean. Stay here.


100%

Great hostel, from the first minute you feel like at home, all the staff are amazing! Thank you guys! And see you soon!


94%

I had a very good night in this hostel. Very clean and very kind staff, and all of that with a good price. Definitely coming back if I ever need to stay overnight in rio.


91%

Mambembe was my favorite hostel in Rio! It has a laid-back atmosphere and is great for solo travelers to meet people. The staff is really helpful and welcoming. We came home late after a night out and the guy working at reception offered us the food he was cooking. It definitely has more of a homey feel, which is why so many people end up staying longer than expected.


100%

Mambembe was my favourite place to stay in Rio. Everything about it was great and its easy to call it home.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice hostel. Ok area, unless want to stay in Lapa


77%

Fun hostel with a good vibe. Right by Lapa, a big tourist/party area, and the Selaron Steps--great location if you don't mind walking up the hill every day. Bathrooms and rooms were cleaned daily and staff was super chill, really helpful, and accommodating. We stayed in the cheapest dorm rooms, and my partner couldn't sleep b/c it was way hot on the highest bunk, so he was told he could borrow a personal fan from the bar, but we ended up going to a friend's house that night anyway. Would return.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I really enjoyed the time at this hostel and made me to extent the stay two times. The hostel is very unique because of all the travelling artists staying there. If you wanna spend a bit more time in Rio and looking for an cozy environment to hang out and meet interesting people, i would definitely recommend this place.


100%

well this place turned out to be a great find … i went on a friends recommendation,, was very impressed with the price after comparing it with a few other places and after staying a few days i abandon my plan of changing hostels and staying in other parts of Rio … its very easy to get around from Lapa and things are cheaper in this part of town …the hostel is clean and everything works … the guys that own the place and the staff were very very helpful .. I would recommend this place ..

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was good, some members of the staff were very helpful and polite while other members were not. There seem to be several long staying guests which gave rise to a strange atmosphere in the hostel. At times one wasn't allowed to sit where one wanted to as the seat was 'reserved' for a long staying guest. The hostel is located in Lapa which is an unsafe area. The water to wash up dishes is always cold and the showers are mostly cold also


86%

Oliver was amazing.. as was the boss lady.. Dan, Sebastian n Micah.. so easy going n friendly.. The city is of course very different to Europe.. n as alot of people live in this hostel full time it has a different vibe to most.. I met amazing people there but there is always one or two you have to watch.. you have that everywhere.. For me I had an amazing Experience.. but you have to know your stuff n watch for some of the locals I'm afraid.. If Nick n Sinah are still there.. but them a beer


89%

The Lapa district is good for those looking for some night life. Artsy neighborhood, and so, not very quiet. It was close access to a popular bus stop and the metro, which accounts for getting around all of rio quite easily. Staff was helpful in guiding us toward fun activities!

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

When you are on the road the most exciting thing is who you meet. Mambembe has a special community vibe with super cool staff and many long stay people there. A true backpacker place. The location is perfect and the house is creatively renovated giving it a hippie and inspirational atmosphere. Happy breakfasts are included as well:)

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfect stay, friendly staff, answer all my questions. Lots of areas to sit in and beautiful views. Very comfortable beds and the rooms were a good size. Would defiantly recommend!


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback