Hostelworld.com

Mambembe Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 287 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 287 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
Mambembe Hostel Located at Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Mambembe Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241320 Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa
90% 287
-22.9161614 -43.1811640
Mambembe Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Apr 2016
8.9

Great hostel. This was a great place to hang out and meet fellow travelers. The hostel is in a nice location (very close to all the Lapa bars). The only downside is that it's a bit of a hike up a hill and the closest metro stop is a 10-15min walk away. The staff were very nice and there was a place for me to store my bag the day I checked in and the day I checked out (I arrived early in the morning and left late at night). The rooms could be kept a bit colder at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
6.9

Pros - good location (up a hill but really not too strenuous), good breakfast, good value for money Cons - room wasn't cleaned/bin wasn't emptied in the whole 4 nights we were there, not enough bathrooms and the staff don't seem to have received any training regarding the tourist sites so although theyre all very nice we had to find most stuff out on the Internet in terms of how to get to places and different tours etc I mean advising how best to get to Cristo Redentor is pretty basic right?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
9.7

WATCH OUT: It's almost impossible to not become a part of this community and to not feel like the people around u could easily become your new family. So if you plan to stay maybe one or two nights you should cancel your flights, rip up your bus tickets to other locations and make sure that your family back home is awared of not seeing you for maybe never again. Because once you checked your sweet little self in, it will already be to late and the Mambembe-Spirit will not easily let u go.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
9.7

This place is awesome. The staff is friendly and attentive and there is overall a very cool vibe to this place. The location in Santa Tersea is awesome and the hostel felt very secure. They have a ton of nice outdoor space and a fabulous view. It was very easy to meet other travelers, but it wasn't too loud or rowdy. They had your typical hostel breakfast included in the price as well. I would absolutely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • emmawatts
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.0

Hostel was great- always clean, staff were really friendly and always willing to help. Good atmosphere- can party and chill out :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
7.4

Not the best of hostels. The showers werent good. The pillow was super tough so I woke up with back ache. Never happened to me in 4 months travelling. The whole hostel is not in best shape. Normal breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
7.4

Situated above the "main strip" in Lapa, Mambembe is in a great location. BUT you have to hike up a hill every time you go home. The dorm rooms have comfy beds, plug socket, reading light, curtain for privacy. Breakfast is above average with fresh cake every morning.They also have a chef that does great bbqs cheap. Biggest negative is that the social life revolves around a smart TV with Netflix.Very dull.Staff are mixed: nice but often travellers themselves with little local insider knowledge.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
9.7

The staff is just amazing. Helped me planing my trip and retrieve my phone after I lost it in a taxi. The hostel itself is great but the ac unit is just working at night. The Internet is ridiculously fast. Had a great stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2016
10.0

The legendary Mambembe Hostel ... A cozy place , CLEAN, POSITIVE VIBE, also has the advantage of being close to the metro , the arches ( with the working cable car !) and the Bohemian life of the lapa . You feel welcome, with staffs that help you, give you tips on what to do and are polite and kind and very funny! I came to all the tourist places easily and make great friends around the world. It was nice after a long time have the feeling of being at home...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2016
9.7

I definitely recommend this hostel to everybody who wants to meet people in Rio or lone travellers. I had a great time with the travellers and the nice people who work in the hostel. Everybody is chatting and the atmosphere is great. You have a lot of balconies and places to hang out to have a good beer or coffee. located closely to the parties in lapa, an awesome district for nightlife, 10-15 minutes walk to the metro system, sometimes you can buy awesome dinner from a guy working there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.