X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mambembe Hostel Reviews

Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
104 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

When you are on the road the most exciting thing is who you meet. Mambembe has a special community vibe with super cool staff and many long stay people there. A true backpacker place. The location is perfect and the house is creatively renovated giving it a hippie and inspirational atmosphere. Happy breakfasts are included as well:)

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfect stay, friendly staff, answer all my questions. Lots of areas to sit in and beautiful views. Very comfortable beds and the rooms were a good size. Would defiantly recommend!

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff are all dead set ledges. hammock´s on every balcony with a rip snorter of a view! strategic location, 2mins to the arches and the selaron steps.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

I hated everything about this hostel! Dirty rooms! Weird people! Dangerous area!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Several of my staff members took a lot of time to help this guest when she had trouble booking her next flight. She kept mentioning how stupid everything in Rio de Janeiro is but my staff members tried to relax her and continued helping her. Our area is not dangerous. Our guests come home in the middle of the night and nothing ever happens. We clean the whole house every day but for the guests' mess we are not responsible. Maybe next time a hotel would be the better option for this guest.

80%

Although it's really close lapa, the streets are so inclined and looks dangerous. Inside the hostel is clean, but outside unfourtunately is a little bit durty. In addition the house is quite old. The staffs were so kind and helpful and the hostel has a really nice green area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! We appreciate it! It's like a three minute walk to Lapa and it's safe. People from the hostel come home at any given time and nothing ever happens. Even during the early morning hours. Yes, the street is inclined but it's so close and when you arrive at the hostel you are rewarded with a nice view. We hope t see you again sometime!

89%

Ideally located between Santa Teresa and Lapa (closed to stores, bars and transports), this house is big, functional, designed and with all commodities. Staff is able to speak all languages and they are very helpful. I really appreciated all the different patios which bring fresh air and let enjoy the heights of Rio. This hostel is a big house and it's more like a shared house! The atmosphere is welcoming, relax and multicultural.


74%

Nice atmosphere at this hostel, with a very friendly owner Barbara. Not always sure who works there and who doesn´t, bnut averybody is always willing to help you around. Nice breakfast and clean bedrooms. The location is perfectly situated between Lapa and Santa Teresa.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

One of the best hostels I´ve ever been to. The stuff is very friendly and helpful, the location is perfect, one of the most beautiful neighbourhoods in Rio. The bathrooms were always in excellent condition , as also the other places of the hostel. I totally recommend it to everyone!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Mambembe is an awesome place! I completely fell in love with the staff and their great vibe. It's amazing how little things make all the difference. I stayed in the shared room with the balcony, it's a nice room with two balconies which gets you a beautiful light and fresh air. I got to meet lots as cool people... Musicians, backpackers, and story tellers, it all made it hard to say goodbye. Huge hug to everybody! Have fun in Rio! Simone

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It is a perfect place to discover Rio, the team is really welcoming, the neibourhood is excellent to visit the city and enjoy ing the night life, vers good breakfast and good equipment (kitchen, terace... ), Nice people You hâve to go

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Mambembe is a wonderful place. It is not just rooms and breakfast located in beautiful Santa Teresa. It is rather a Refugium providing a Family-like atmosphere, interesting open-minded staff and guests, Music, creativity, arts and collectivity. I highly recommend Mambembe to everyone who does not solely look for a hostel bed and tourism, but who wants to experience Rio de Janeiro among fascinating People from all over the world.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

This felt more like a big share house than a hostel as its very casual. The staff are friendly, especially Oliver. We did find it a bit difficult to always find someone to answer questions and its not really obvious who works there and who is just a long term guest. The location was great for the nightlife. There was construction on the street outside our window which was very loud. Then the party area for the hostel was also outside our window at night. Bring earplugs and a sense of humour.


97%

Excellent hostel, friendly staff and guests. Difficult to leave and would definitely go back. Highly recommended for single travellers. Perfect location to explore Rio. Very chilled place to stay.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel runned by owners. Great breakfast! BIg beds, and "heads up" three bed bunk beds. Be carefull with the google maps instrunctions, from the airport the best option is to take a cab.


89%

Really fun hostel. Good vibe with outgoing backpackers. The staff is great, especially Oliver. Nightly trips to Lapa to party. Great location if you want to be close to lapa, but a lot of the touristy stuff and day time activities are a bit further away.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

If you are too tired or too disoriented to find your room and you just crash on the couch, its mambembe. If you arrive in rio without plans for the weekend and people invite you to crazy parties, its mambembe. If you feel tired from your trips and you just chill out in a cozy living room maybe cook your favourite food in a tidy and clean kitchen, its mambembe. If you plan to stay in rio for only 3 days and you end up staying 10, its mambembe. And the breakfast is good, too

Owner Comment (Hide)
You got the feeling. You are Mambembe!! Danke für den Kommentar, es war schön euch in die Mambembe-Familie aufzunehmen, gute Reise und bis bald! Abraço

94%

The hostel staff was great and very helpful. They found our friends wallet after we left and kept it safe and returned it to him afterwards. We arrived pretty early in the mnorning and they let us use the showers and have breakfast and even put the bags in the room. The hostel is in Lapa, which turned out to be the best position for going out, all in walking distance. As for sightseeing, it's easy to get around either by bus or metro and some of the central part one can do on foot.


94%

I stayed there 2 times and I really liked it! The first time I was there at Carnaval; the whole staff was wearing costumes and lend clothes to everybody who wanted to dress up! The kitchen is perfect, with a lot of clean, useful facilities, that makes you feel like cooking at your own place.:) Talking about food, breakfast is great as well, there is everything, from bread and jam, over hot cheese sandwiches and cereals, to fresh tasty fruits! Only champagne is missing!^^ Oli is an amazing guy!:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awesome comment! See you next time!

71%

great place to stay and very friendly staff. showers need to be improved as they were cold

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We have taken care of the hot water issue. All showers now have hot water. See you next time!

94%

Friendly staff offered so much help. Really cool location too.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback