X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mambembe Hostel Reviews

Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 251, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
104 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great place. Directly adjacent to Lapa, an awesome night time spot. Easy access to the subway (metro, ~10 minute walk)Would stay again if visiting Rio.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Super hostel, great staff, great vibe!


91%

The place was phenominal! I've stayed at another hostel and this one just blew the other one out of the water. Honestly the location is amazing, the owners are incredible helpful and they don't gouge your eyes. Loved it!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

international Staff can give good information about Rio and more, good athmosphere, bus ,metro, food, restaurants in walking distance and Lapa party scene around the corner.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

AMAZING staff, and people who are there are super friendly and fun. I had such a great time that i hope to come back. It's a very new hostel so everything is very clean. The breakfast was on point and the location can't be beat!

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Good atmosphere, great staff and location, more like a community of people living together than a hostel.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice place. And next to all the bars and clubs of lapa but not so close that you can't sleep ;) everyone is very friendly and nice


97%

location was great, staff was excellent cant wait to go back. thanks oliver and staff for making my stay in rio de janeiro unforgettable.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel is well placed (between 2 excelent areas), nice staff (indications for to do and transportation by bus with map) and good for price (Rio is expensive). A little problem with flush in bathrooms and flies in breakfast, but it can be solve.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Than you for you review. We appreciate it! We are fixing these problems!

97%

We had an incredible time at Mambembe. The hostel is set up such that there is plenty of opportunity for getting to know other travelers, and we in fact spent time hanging out with both travelers and staff alike. The locations was ideal, too, located between the beautiful old buildings and viewpoints of Santa Teresa and the fun atmosphere of Lapa. We'll definitely be back!

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome comment, guys! We're really happy you enjoyed your stay. See you soon!

83%

Had a wonderful time staying here. The atmosphere and people there can be described as "bohemian". It's not a party hostel but it's also not a dead place. There's character here.


100%

Fantastic, one of the best hostels I've stayed in. It's run by former backpackers, they know their stuff and they're super helpful. Bring your own alcohol or drink, they're mega relaxed and that vibe emanates through the whole hostel. Oliver on check in is a champ, go Spurs!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the awesome comment! Enjoy your trip and we hope to see you back one day! And remember: Go Spurs!

100%

The word mambembe, as I understand, is Brazilian slang for improvisation, however what the hostel represents reaches far beyond the act of composing or making from whatever materials are readily available. Mambembe Hostel is decorated with beautiful works of art: a bar made from glass bottles and bricks, rich vegetation, murals, etc. Mambembe returns value to materials that would normally be discarded and it truly embodies the concept of space and place: creating a perspective of experience....

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

very helpful staff thanks very much


97%

Great place to stay, really good location and really nice vibe in the hostel. Highly recommend

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(35 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback