X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Managua Backpackers Inn Reviews

Colonial Los Robles Monte Los Olivos, 1 c. Norte, 1 c. Oeste, � c. Norte Casa #55, Managua, Nicaragua

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
344 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Ok hostel to start your Nicaragua trip. The guy who checked us in wasn't really interested but the evening guy seemed a lot better. Only two bathrooms for all the dorms it seemed. Be prepared to wait a while.... Big shopping mall is a 5min walk so very handy. Close to bus stop to granda too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. Just to clarify your comment..each of our 4 dormitories has a bathroom with shower. 2 of our dormitories have an en-suite bathroom/shower, while our other 2 dorm rooms have a bathroom/shower located outside of the room.

89%

Great place, lots of nice staff and interesting travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, we hope to see you back soon!

66%

Really cheap and clean but verygrubby living area and only 1 shower for the dorm so we were all delaywd and waiting to use the bathroom or to even brush our teeth.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing us with your comments! Our facilities currently include 1 shower/bathroom for each dormitory room of 6 or 8 beds. This is usually enough for the number of guests but depending upon the time of day (esp. in the early morning hours) they can be quite busy, which can result in delays. We'll keep this in mind next time we look at making renovations to the facilities. We'll also keep a close eye on the cleanliness of the common areas.

83%

Best option to stay in Managua

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments!

80%

Very hot in the dorm rooms, overall the location isn't near any supermarkets making the stay a little difficult if you tend to cook in the hostels, due to the fact you'll need to take a taxi to the food store. Kitchen wasn't well supplied but a tad clean as most of people chose to eat out due to lack of supplies. But it is a cheap place so you get what you pay for, all we needed was a bed and we got it so we can't really complain a lot. Workers were reasonably helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! Just a couple of things to clarify...We also offer a dorm with air conditioning, in case the basic dorm is too hot. Also we are located approx. 5 mins walk from 2 excellent supermarkets. We'll take a look at the communal kitchens and update the supplies where necessary.

86%

For a little over 10 bucks, this place was amazing. The shared dorm was clean and sufficient for the 6 hours I slept before heading to the airport. Even though there was a ceiling fan and a huge table top fan, the room was really hot--especially because there was 5 other people in there. Again, for 10 bucks...I'll choose not to complain about that. Bathroom situation was odd as it was pretty far from the room--outside by the pool. It was clean, flushed and stocked w TP so that's a bonus!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I found the city of Managua to not be worth my time relative to what I wanted to get out of my trip, but this hostel is a great place to stay if your staying in the city. Clean and secure. Also worth noting that you can pay to have the ladies cook you breakfast if you don't feel like eating at the MetroCenter food court down the street.


91%

Close to mall which is great. Good onward transfers available. Kitchen needs a good scrub though. All of the staff are very friendly and willing to help. Nice comfortable beds in dorms, little bit cramped though. They need to fix the lockers , not enough for all of the people here.


71%

I like this place so much I came back twice! It's nothing fancy but the friendly staff, fun atmosphere (good for meeting people), and great location (5 min. walk to a mall with a grocery store and movie theater as well as restaurants and cafes, plus a cheap taxi ride-no more than 30 cords pp-to the station where buses leave for Managua and Leon) make it worth the price. The only nit-picky con for me was that the wifi was unreliable during my stay and the kitchen could use more pots/pans/utensils


71%

Good location, pool is a plus and they serve breakfast in the hostel for pretty cheap. There is a good Cuban place around the corner but its a bit of a sketchy neighbourhood. The internet was also down the day we were there, other than that it was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately, we have had some recent troubles with the internet connection here due to problems originating at the internet provider. Fortunately, since you stayed with us, the internet company has been able to resolve the problems, so everything is now working well with the internet/wifi. Thanks for your feedback!

83%

Great place to be in. We stopped by on the last leg of our trip before we headed out of the airport near managua. We arranged a shuttle from the airport to the hostel and unfortunately they did not get the timing right, by reimbursed me back in full for the mistake. The staff and amenities are really great.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry about the mix up with the transportation from the airport and thanks for your understanding. We hope you will come back and stay with us again!

74%

The staff was awesome! So helpful, patient and kind!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! Hope to see you back at the hostel soon.

100%

Great location, friendly staff, and a pool. In Managua...that's huge! Will definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing your positive feedback! We hope to see you again soon.

91%

Great hostel, we arranged a pickup from the airport which was stress free and timely - a great help. The dorms were very warm but clean. Pool and communal areas are lovely!

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback!

94%

Roberto is great! Tabarnak

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes, is definitely a national treasure! Hope to see you again soon!

71%

Ok for one night stopover before/after airport run, would not stay more than 1 day as there is little to do in the area


71%

would be a great place if Managua had a bit more to offer and maybe the staff tried to set up some activities or help you find things to do in the area of the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Its true that Managua doesn't offer the same type of tourist experience that other cities in Nicaragua offer (i.e. surfing and colonial architecture), however, there are definitely still great things to do in the Capital. Managua has arguably the best nightlife in Nicaragua and some of the best restaurants. There are also a number of important National monuments and museums that are also worth a visit. We'll try to do a better job here of pointing these places out! Thanks for your comments.

83%

Good location to mall. Need A/C!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We offer various rooms that include a/c, including private rooms and dormitory. Thanks for your feedback.

89%

The staff was very welcoming. The atmosphere was relaxed and not stressful. The pool was clean and a plus to adapt to Nicaragua's temperature! A very nice place to start off or take off your trip from Managua's airport!


89%

Only stayed for one night but there was a great backpacker buzz, lots of different areas to hang out and mingle with other travelers, staff are friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend :)

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Managua Hostels

Please give us your feedback