X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Managua Backpackers Inn Reviews

Colonial Los Robles Monte Los Olivos, 1 c. Norte, 1 c. Oeste, � c. Norte Casa #55, Managua, Nicaragua

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
528 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Swimming ool is wonderful, as Nicaragua is so hot and humid. They don't give you towels, no hot water. Near a shopping mall and supermarket, but not places to walk to once the sun has gone down. Managua is huge, and nothing is nearby.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Just to clarify a few points, we do, and always have, offered free towels to our guests. Simply talk to the receptionist and we'll lend you a towel for the duration of your stay at no extra charge. As for hot water, although we don't offer hot water in the dorms, we have 2 private rooms that offer hot water.

91%

Very good


69%

Hostal is within reasonable location near airport and downtown bus terminal. I needed a place to crash for the night and MBI was ideal. Dorm room was a little congested for size: person ratio. Staff friendly and helpful enough. Had the breakfast....delish :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing your feedback!

100%

great hostel. so nice to watch netflix when you're hanging about waiting for a flight out of managua. A 20 min taxi to airport for $15 USD for 1 person or $10 USD for 2 or more people each is great. Also, if you're taking a bus from granada, it stops at the big shopping centre, and the hostel is only around the corner from there. Free water refills too so would strongly recommend the hostel. FYI - Roberto in particular is great to represent the hostel at the reception. hire more like him :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive comments!

40%

Since the moment we walked in we were very uncomfortable. As Americans, the first thing we saw was a list of American sterotypes. The room and bathroom was filthy and overpriced. We couldn't get out fast enough

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We pride ourselves on being a clean and secure hostel (as reflected in our high ratings on HostelWorld) that offers accommodations to fit most travelers budgets. We keep a close eye on the conditions of the rooms/beds/shared bathrooms, etc. so we were surprised to hear about the poor condition of your room. Our apologies for your experience.

83%

Only stayed one night, however we had complications at the airport and arrived a day late. They wierdly didnt receive our cancellation for the shuttle and room, even if they have responded to all my other emails within 2 hours. Our stay was average and the hostel is well situated however with are the cancellations we werent reembourses it was a bit expensive. The breakfast café was also a bonus we enjoyed.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Unfortunately we received the email notifying us of the cancellation of your flight very late and the shuttle driver had already gone to the airport to meet you. For that reason we were unable to reimburse you for the shuttle that evening. All the best and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

86%

Though the first time I stayed there the pool was empty, when I came back a month later I found that they had planned to revamp the pool area which is now really nice and quite refreshing in the hot sun.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed the pool area. Hope to see you back soon.

100%

Never had a chance to experience the hostel much but the 2 receptionists are such a laugh


91%

spacious REAL hostel in the city!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive comments...hope we see you again soon!

74%

Great pool - really needed as it was so hot! Friendly staff and the shuttle to the king quality station was easy to book and trouble free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive feedback!

77%

The bathroom in rear of the hostel needs repair. The sink is about to fall off.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. Since you stayed here we've renovated that bathroom completely. Cheers.

100%

Everything was great aabout this hostel..... Staff were friendly and helpful on every level. Great garden, pool and common areas. Very cleanclean. Really comphy beds and they didn't squeek like the previous ten jostles I stayed at. Great place to get rest. You can have peace and quiet after 11pm and you can't hear other doors in the hostel shutting. Twill over this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments!

69%

Some ups and downs. Cold water, staff never at the counter, pool out of order, and really old towels from the front desk. Guy who checked us in after a 20 min wait was nice and I think he was the only English speaker. I would not recommend walking around at night. Ever

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're very sorry for the long wait you experienced during check-in. Sometimes depending upon the volume of guests, the line-up at reception can get a bit long. Also, the maintenance to our pool was completed since you stayed with us. Thanks for your feedback!

69%

Nothing special, but for a night good.


80%

I booked for 4 nights only stayed for one as the city was not the nicest. This place had wonderful staff, especially Roberto. The dude was hilarious. Biggest downfall was the pool was empty. Also the kitchen untensils need a major upgrade as the knives were dull. The visitors were all friendly and staff was very helpful. Great stay 3.8/5

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The location is convenient. It is close to many restaurants, shops, and the mall. The staff is pretty friendly. If you like Netflix, you'll enjoy the free Netflix available on the flat screen in the lounge. The pool is also a nice touch!

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A great hostel, they charge you about 10 dollars for a shuttle to the airport if you are more than one person. If it's just you 15 dollars. It was a little bit sad that you can't use the pool at the moment because it's being painted. I think they will open it again after 26 April.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comments. The pool is currently under maintenance and we originally expected that it could take until the 26th of April to complete. Fortunately, we're ahead of schedule, so with luck (and the weather) on our side, we should have it all done by the 17th April.

49%

Nice outdoor areas, but we booked a double room and were given a room with two bunk beds and a queen bed, all with dirty sheets. In the middle of the night, a new girl was brought to the room and told she could share the bed with the woman sleeping in the queen bed. The woman sleeping there, naturally, refused to share her bed with a stranger. We were just looking for a place to sleep on the way to Costa Rica and ended up not getting much sleep at all because of people coming into the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Our apologies for the discomfort that you encountered during your stay with us that night. There was definitely some confusion about the room type that you booked before your arrival, however, you definitely did book a dormitory with us, which meant a shared room and not a private room as you noted in your comments. In any case, we offer our apologies to you and hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels.

46%

The staff is so badly aware of bus & NORMAL taxi prices, their own booking system & availability. They seem to be there to have a good time, not work. We were made to switch rooms in the middle of our stay which would have been fine have we had a place to put our stuff in for the day. But no, we had to wait for hours for the cleaning ladies to finish. How does a back bag in a corner of the new room bother the cleaning? Also the staff goes creeping around the guests belongings. Just don't go.


46%

The kitchen was stinking and looked like a piggery, rotten food was hanging around on the stove. The waste bin was overflooded and nobody was changing it for 1 day. The bathrooms are disgusting, dirty and worn as hell. They have 2 showers (one is combo with a toilet) for dorm beds, and they have 2 electric plugs for an 8 beds in the dorm. The dorm was way too hot and stinky, the only fan was loud as hell, turning on and off randomly and doesn't help at all since it was blowing towards the floor.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Managua Hostels

Please give us your feedback