Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Managua Backpackers Inn

  • Colonial Los Robles Monte Los Olivos, 1 cuadra Norte, 1 cuadra Oeste, cuadra Norte Casa , Managua, Nicaragua

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1014 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1014 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
8.6

The staff was awesome! Always helpful and kind. I felt very comfortable staying here. I would recommend staying at Managua Backpackers Inn. Next time though, I would be willing to pay a little extra for air conditioning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
8.6

Appart from the fact that they put me in a mixed dorm when I had booked a smaller female dorm, all was fine for one nights stay. Not as close as it seems to the bus station, mainly because Managua is hot and humid and the streets aren't very pedestrian-friendly. Hard to tell about the atmosphere, as I only stayed one night but everything was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2017
7.1

I stayed here for 2 nights - one at the start of my travels, and one at the end. My first night wasn't great - the hostel felt dirty (icky kitchen), and staff weren't very friendly. Lockers aren't in the room. It seemed cleaner/more welcoming the second time I stayed there. I do like their easy to reserve airport shuttle! But avoid staying in Managua if you can, there's not much to do and I was told not to go out at night. One perk: there's a big grocery store close by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
7.7

Space room and clean! Swimming pool was so great. And the breakfast very good! 5 min drive from UCA bus station. We only stay one night but it was great! We recommended !

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dprotti4480
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
9th Aug 2017
8.9

Staff is very very helpful. Dorms are a bit packed with no A/C but good fans. Internet works fine and there is Netflix on common hall. Two comfortable kitchens and a swimming pool that is a bless in the hot weather. Fast food places, supermarket and ATM's nearby as well as bus stations at 15 min walk. I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Aug 2017
6.3

We were only here for one night, seemed like there was a good atmosphere. Rooms very very hot, it is just a fan, not air con! Decent breakfast pancakes and nice pool. Very few showers so you could be waiting a while. Also saw cockroach in the bathroom. Receptionist wasn't overly forthcoming with information but once we asked he answered any questions. 10 minute walk to the bus station and very close to a shopping centre so if you're looking to stock up on anything it's perfect!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for providing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hostel along with the amenities and free pancake breakfast! Our apologies for the critter you found in the shower. I'll have a word with the cleaning staff to make sure they are aware. All the best!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
8.9

The place was conveniently located, and had all the necessary facilities. The bathrooms weren't the cleanest, but they weren't terrible either. There was a pool and the dorm room had plenty of fans to circulate the air. There is also free netflix which was an enjoyable feature. I was traveling with two other females so I was happy with the security there. Warning though, when it rains, the floors become extremely slippery, so proceed with caution. Overall a good experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mariahhenderson95
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
5th Aug 2017
8.6

Was decent, not much happening but had nice pool and lounge area. The staff was very friendly and helpful, plus it is only a 15 min walk to the bus station, which I thought was nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review of the hostel. We're glad you enjoyed the location and the friendly staff. We hope to see you back again soon!

3rd Aug 2017
6.9

Really expensive Hostel for what you get. I returned to this hostel in the last day of my trip in Nicaragua because of the pool but actually ended up paying more than it was in hostel world, which I didn't like..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
6.3

My first hostel experience. We stayed in a private room with private bathroom. Beds were uncomfortable but it's a hostel. Ac was not turned on until 9pm, but unfortunately the fan was connected to the same breaker so although we didnt have ac, we also didn't have a fan which made it very uncomfortable. Breakfast pancakes and coffee which was a nice bonus. Front desk guy was super friendly and accommodating.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for choosing us for your first experience staying in a hostel! We're glad you had a great experience with the staff and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. In terms of the a/c, it is run only during the hours of 9pm to 9am, but in no way do we limit the use of fans or power in any way outside of this time. I suspect there was an issue with the fan at the time (though I checked it today and it was working fine). If you have this problem in the future, just have a quick word with the reception and we'll have the problem resolved asap! Cheers!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×