X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Managua Backpackers Inn Reviews

Colonial Los Robles Monte Los Olivos, 1 c. Norte, 1 c. Oeste, � c. Norte Casa #55, Managua, Nicaragua

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
278 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

It was nice hostel, but the dorms are pretty hot. They should put more ventilators.


97%

The place was awesome. Food was pricey, but there were 2 open kitchens and massive supermarkets within 5 min walking distance in either direction. The pool was a nice bonus. I stayed for a bit, and when bed in my price range were taken, they were kind enough to allow me to stay for $5 on a hammock or couch. The one downside was that a longer-term guest with mental health issues threatened me multiple times in the presence of other guests, yet the manager wouldn't proactively evict him

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Ok location within walking distance to a couple restaurants and also a mall with a cinema. Reception staff was not particularly helpful when asked questions or for assistance. 8 bed dorm had a good mattress and was cool at night to sleep in. No key to the dorms but had lockers outside the room to use. Not a load of atmosphere but you can get a good night's sleep instead. Overall I was expecting more, especially for the price.


91%

Located in great central location of the city, safe neighborhood, and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again. Not to mention the great little authentic restaurant conveniently located in the courtyard.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great feedback! We hope to see you again soon.

100%

Great hostel all around good location,good WiFi,clean,safe and best of all they take credit cards for payment or cash but most hostels do not take credit cards so this is a nice feature when travelling so it keeps cash in your pocket and less visits to the ATM machine

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing us with your positive comments!

69%

The kitchen was not equipped at all and what you find is very filthy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We'll check the shared kitchens and the condition of the equipment to make sure everything is in good, clean condition. Thanks for providing us with your feedback.

91%

The guys that that greet you in the reception area are really friendly and Roberto was young, vibrant, happy, helpful.

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We definitely think we have great receptionists! Thanks for your comments and hopefully we'll see you again soon.

77%

all around positive place to stay. will go directly there when i return to managua.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments!

94%

I would definitely recommend this hostel. They arranged a shuttle for when we arrived at Managua airport, they were well organised and reliable. The room was nice and clean, it has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere thr perfect place to stay in managua. Really good value for what you get. I would go back again.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location, internet is good, place has a pool and is one of the best hostels I have stayed in Nicaragua it has plenty of space and common areas so people can spread out and use the facilities, price is fair overall a great hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing your feedback!

86%

Quiet hostel with all the facilities that a traveler needs for a stopover in Managua

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing us with your positive comments!

86%

Very nice Guesthouse! Good and cheap breakfast, very fast Internet, refreshing Pool, a bunch of Good People on their Way in and out of Nicargaua. Safe neighberhood, guard 24h infront of the House and good staff. Free Water Not to forget :-) ..... If you travell a Lot in Nicaragua like i do, You will immediately appreciate this place! Def. Come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. We definitely hope you'll come back and stay with us soon.

97%

Good facilities and very helpful staff :)


83%

I stayed here on 3 different occasions in the mixed dorm. Beds are comfortable and rooms are big enough to put your stuff. There are fans, but it is still pretty hot at night inside the rooms. Nice outside hang-out areas and a cosy living room. Computer access. Reliable shuttle service. Staff was mainly uninterested and not really motivated, apart from 1 guy that was very motivated in flirting with female guests... It's a good place to stay when you're in Managua!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for providing us with your feedback. We appreciate the fact that you've chosen to come back and stay with us on a number of occasions. We'll try our best to keep the fans that are in the dorms in good working condition to keep the rooms as cool as possible. For better or for worse Managua is pretty hot, so we also offer a dorm with air conditioning, just in case that may work better for you next time.

49%

This hostel is poorly located for visiting Managua. The female dorm room has no lock and no secure storage facilities for backpacks. There are also broken window vents meaning mosquitos are a real problem at night. The staff were completely disinterested apart from a guy called Ricardo who was the only good thing about this place. There are better located hostels for your money - go elsewhere!! The hostel advertise as being in a safe location - this is only true if you want to visit the Mall...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, In fact the female dorm does have a lock on the door, however, being a shared dorm (not a private room), we don't provide a key to guests for the room. We'll look into the problem with the window and make any necessary repairs. Also, we have lockers located just outside of the room you stayed in and also near the reception area. We feel that the hostel is well located near major transport hubs and shopping, etc. in one the best neighborhoods in Managua. Thanks for your comments.

74%

Most people who stay here only stay for the night as they are either heading to or from the airport. The hostel is located in an upscale and safe area of Managua, close to expensive restaurants and bars. The staff speak good English and there are two computers for guest use, two kitchens and the swimming pool is a nice touch too. There doesn`t seem to be enough showers or toilets for the number of guests who stay in the dorms though. If you wish to explore downtown Managua you will need a taxi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for providing us with your comments. In general we have 1 bathroom/shower for each dormitory of 8 people (in addition to the bathrooms inside the private rooms). This lies within the recommended ratios for the hosteling industry. Some of the dormitories have an en-suite bathroom, however, perhaps the dormitory you stayed in did not. Thanks again for your comments and we'll keep an eye on the situation with the bathrooms and ensure they are in kept good working order.

77%

Managua is the most dangerous city. As far as hostels go, this one seemed very safe. A small group and myself walked around the block to the Cuban restaurant, which was pretty good. The private double room was rather expensive, compared to the price of the combined rooms. Still, it was clean and the air conditioner worked good.


60%

Great location and not much competition in Managua, so often full, but only place in two months of traveling Central America that we thought was overpriced. Ants in the room and no electricity in the rooms until after 10 PM, which means no fan until then. Second night not turned on at all and couldn't find staff to do so. Only hostel in two months to do this. Restaurant and lounge area were good. Staff did not interact at all.


69%

overpriced for the jail cell that my room was. (I haven't stayed elsewhere in Managua, but compared with elsewhere in Nicaragua). Meh.

  • 12th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to hear that you were not happy with the room you stayed in. We have a number of different room types and sizes. Perhaps next time we can offer you a larger room that may suit you better.

91%

I loved it here! I was totally stranded with no passport, I was able to book in within 30 mins of arrival and was greeted warmly. The staff knew english very well and were helpful in all situations. The 2 kitchens for use and pool facilities etc were kept very well and the linens changed each day. bathrooms of plenty and all in very sanitary conditions. A lot of turnover here an some nights the couches were rented out for 5$ since they were so full. I would definitely reccomend this hostel.

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your positive comments! We hope to see you again soon at the hostel.

« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Managua Hostels

Please give us your feedback