X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Managua Backpackers Inn Reviews

Colonial Los Robles Monte Los Olivos, 1 c. Norte, 1 c. Oeste, � c. Norte Casa #55, Managua, Nicaragua

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
380 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

What a great vibe at the hostel. Very close to metrocentro mall. Transportation available to the airport. I stayed in a private room with air conditioning and a shared bath. Cold showers but it's Nica! The guy at the desk kept headphones on the entire time and obviously did not want to be there but he did do his job.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! We now have 2 private rooms equipped with hot water heaters in the shower. Perhaps you can specifically request one of these rooms when you come back next time.

71%

Roberto at front desk a big plus !!! ...... Need to spend a few more dollars on improvements ..... Good food ..... "Tiny" table in room ..... leaving the floor for storage and getting organized ..... Great location convenient to UCA mini-bus terminal ..... buses leave every 30-minutes and the price is right at under $2 ..... An older Mercedes which became exceptionally crowded within 15 minutes ..... Fortunately ..... I had a window seat ..... Short stay seems smart .....


69%

The place is good enough for a short stay off a night or two. The atmosphere with the backpackers themselves was a bit weird - people seemed a bit bored and were all on phones or computers, and few of them wanted to chat. The kitchen, although large, has limited accessories such as cutlery, and most of the knives are blunt. If you want to use a locker, bring your own padlock and key.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. In our view, the single most important factor for a hostel is the people (staff/guests), so we're always looking for ways to improve the social environment in the hostel. More often than not we have a lively environment with a great mix of international travelers. Perhaps you were here on an 'off' night. Regarding the kitchen, we'll review the accessories and make sure they are updated where needed.

77%

Pretty good. Nothing special, but the was , and staff friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review.

54%

They couldn't find our reservation even though I had confirmed with them over email the day before arrival. Then they gave us the wrong room and only gave us 2 beds instead of the 3 I reserved. The bathrooms are shared and not actually ensuite. It wasn't a bad hostel but they are deceiving in their offerings. Good coffee though!!


83%

Always a pleasure to stay at Backpackers, except this time. They need to brick up the window in room 4 that faces the pool and get the guy on night duty to enforce quiet hours. After 12 hours of travel I was too wasted to fight with the inconsiderate bums in the kitchen area and they ignored my wife when she tlked to them in Spanish..

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing us with your comments. For the reason you mentioned, we have a fairly strict quiet hours policy which begins at 11pm and runs until 7am, during which guests can engage in quiet activity only. If you encounter this problem again, please let the overnight staff know and they will discuss with the guests causing the disturbance.

83%

This is a great hostel if you are using Managua as a stop over. It's in a fairly residential area, but very close to a big shopping mall so handy if you need to stock up on things. The hostel has a pool, an on site cafe and loads of different communal areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback!

97%

Nice place to stay. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Only stayed there for one night so I havent seen much of the are. but would highly recommened the hostel as I felt super safe !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive commentary!

97%

I stayed here 3 years ago and it was a really good hostel. This time I found it to be amazing. The place is so clean and the staff work around the clock keeping the place clean. The pool is so nice to cool of in. The wifi works even from the pool. There's nothing better then checking your emails while relaxing in the pool. Happy hour 3 local beers for $2.50 us. Nice firm mattress. Located real close to a big shopping mall. A few more washrooms would be nice. Overall an amazing place. 4 stars.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! We hope to see you back soon.

100%

True story (LOL): There was an earthquake on the second night that we stayed. I like the way that the night manager handled the situation. His name escapes me, he is the same guy that picked us up from the airport. He kept us informed and made light of the situation with his humor and calmness. Very relaxed atmosphere, overall. I will revisit.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing this story! Fortunately there was no damage as a result of this quake. Due to Nicaragua's location in the pacific rim and its proximity to active volcanoes, our staff are all well trained in how to deal with these type of situations.

80%

Good onenight hostel for a stopover staff were really good helped me out with ringing airline about lost baggage

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing us with your comments! We're glad everything worked out with your luggage and it was a pleasure to help you.

83%

they have bought a new house so the hostel isnt split into 2 parts any more - this is great! I like it loads better

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing us with your comments!

77%

The Managua Backpacker's Inn is precisely what it needs to be: A stopover after a long flight and a hub to connect you to the real tourist draws in Nicaragua. Given that taxis in Managua are so affordable, the 20-25 minute ride from the airport is not a problem. But,If you are going to Managua to sight see then you have another thing coming. My advice to you is to get out of town and head to either Granada, Laguna de Apoyo, Ometepe, SJDS, or a number of other great tourist towns in the country.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback!

83%

Perfect to arrive in managua, comfortable beds, nice and helpful staff! Free water and coffee def is a big plus!

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us! We hope you come back soon.

83%

Good hostel. The worker was super cool

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. Hope you come back soon!

89%

Great place to meet fellow backpackers. Nice atmosphere, good, inexpensive breakfast (coffee was free), close to a mall with nice supermarket (though you can buy beer in the hostel). Both day and night staff were very friendly. Nice swimming pool area that closes at 11 PM so there is no noise if you want to sleep. Several bathrooms make it easy to always find one to shower. Great value for the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon!

74%

There´s a big kitchen, but mark your staff while keeping it in the fridge, because others might eat your food!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments (and suggestion). To avoid problems with food disappearing, we recommend that guests put their food in a plastic bag and mark it with their name. This is to lessen the chance that someone takes another guests food by accident.

63%

The staff that worked the night of August 31st was horrible. He mislead 7 people (including us) in booking a taxi which never came. We almost missed our flight. When all of us got mad at staff for misleading us to book through the hostel and saying it was a taxi for each group but then making us late to book a shuttle...which was 45min late. The staff swore at guests continuously. Very disrespectful and laughed at us when we were upset about him telling us a taxi. Get some better staff please.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Just to clarify, the shuttle was 15 mins. late in arriving to bring the customers to the airport (arrived at 415am rather than 400am as agreed), For this we offer our apologies. The guests were understandably upset at the time but became irate and were threatening to the staff on duty saying that it was his fault that the shuttle hadn't arrived. Staff confirmed with the shuttle driver that the shuttle was on the way and would arrive shortly. Our apologies for the delay.

60%

Ok hostel to start your Nicaragua trip. The guy who checked us in wasn't really interested but the evening guy seemed a lot better. Only two bathrooms for all the dorms it seemed. Be prepared to wait a while.... Big shopping mall is a 5min walk so very handy. Close to bus stop to granda too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. Just to clarify your comment..each of our 4 dormitories has a bathroom with shower. 2 of our dormitories have an en-suite bathroom/shower, while our other 2 dorm rooms have a bathroom/shower located outside of the room.

89%

Great place, lots of nice staff and interesting travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, we hope to see you back soon!

« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Managua Hostels

Please give us your feedback