Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Managua Backpackers Inn

  • Colonial Los Robles Monte Los Olivos, 1 c. Norte, 1 c. Oeste, c. Norte Casa #55, Managua, Nicaragua

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 953 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 953 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th May 2017
10.0

Cool staff and friendly. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
4.6

The receptionist was rude and presumptuous from the moment I first handed him my Nicaraguan identification card, claiming it wasn't valid ID and refusing to accept it. The place had a grimy feel to it overall. The second receptionist wasn't at the desk and I spent 20 minutes searching for him to turn on the air conditioning in our room. The design of the house is such that any noise outside of the room can be heard, and vice-versa, meaning no privacy. Poorly managed. Try Maracuya or Bicicleta.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review us and advise us of your concerns! Due to government regulations in Nicaragua affecting foreign travelers and accommodation providers like us, we can only accept a valid passport as identification from foreigners. In the case of domestic travelers (Nicaraguans), we can accept a valid national identity card ("Cedula"). The identification that you originally presented was a card from the "Peace Corp", which does not meet the government's ID requirements. Fortunately, you were able to get us a photocopy of your passport, which allowed us to go ahead and make the check-in. Our apologies for the noise in the room that night. We have a receptionist on duty 24 hours (he may have been away from the desk checking in another guest at the time), so if you find the noise to be excessive, just let the staff on duty know, and they will take care of it. All the best in your future travels.

8th May 2017
9.1

Great hostel! the staff is very helpful, great vibe and friendly people there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Apr 2017
9.4

The staff was so nice and eager to help :) especially when our fan was broken the guy wanted to fix it sooo bad, it made me laugh! Anyway the pool is great, it's a great place to meet people and chill out :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2017
9.1

Good hostel for those transiting through Managua. Good location, secure, and the pool is nice to have for managing the Managua heat. Dorm is HOT though, only one fan for six people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Apr 2017
9.7

Chil hostel! Pool is decent and the atmosphere is relaxed. Facilities are standard, location is good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • henniterness
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.4

Area too sterile and Western. But hostel atmosphere, staff and facilities are great. If you want to eat something other than overpriced Western food court food, check out the Fancy Pupuseria nearby (across from La Union supermarket) or make your way to Mercado Roberto Huembes (by the bus station, 30 min walk or C40 taxi) for shopping at local prices. The Colonia supermarket in the mall is overpriced without a good selection. Tasty pancake breakfast 7-9am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
9.1

Managua backpackers inn was a good spot to stay after landing or before takeoff. Good security (gate and lockers), airport pickup and other tranportation (check costs), chill pool, pancakes. The best part of MBI was our driver, Roberto. He went above and beyond during our trip from Managua to San Juan Del Sur. We had a fabulous conversation with him about everything. He's patient with people who are learning Spanish. #blessed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.6

Managua is a city to skip but if you have to stay this is a pretty good hostel. It's close to restaurants and a mall. Nice pool and Netflix hang out area. The hostel felt secure. Rooms standard and clean. The only negative was the staff member who was working when we arrived in the evening on April 5th. He was so grumpy and rude. It was bizarre and not a good introduction to the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Apr 2017
8.3

Really great spot to start or end your trip in Nicaragua. The hostel is in a super safe feeling area of the city and an easy walk to the bus station or cab to the airport. Lots of areas to chill and hang out with a very chill social scene perfect for relaxing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.