Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Managua Backpackers Inn

  • Colonial Los Robles Monte Los Olivos, 1 c. Norte, 1 c. Oeste, c. Norte Casa #55, Managua, Nicaragua

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 983 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 983 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Jul 2017
9.7

Hostel has kitchen that we can use with filtered tap system. Pool was great. Breakfast was delicious. Dorm room had nice fans and decent beds. Location is close to the mall and main centres and bus station. Everything is walking distance. Great place to stay for 1 night before leaving Nicaragua or starting your trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jul 2017
8.0

Overall the hostel was cool: it is spacious, seems safe and has a nice pool. Our room, however, was a little cramped, not too clean and had a musty smell to it. As a place to stay for the night, it is completely fine and adequate. The staff are friendly and knowledge and the free breakfast is a plus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Jul 2017
5.7

PROS: it has a pool, and is good if you need to catch a bus out of Managua. Free breakfast was also lovely. CONS: VERY unwelcoming staff, the guy probably said about 4 words in total, didn't show us anything apart from the room. Breakfast staff were the same. The room was essentially a shed, and the pool was disgusting on the evening we arrived. Shuttles cost 3x as much as anywhere else. Atmosphere was a weird mix between 'non existent' and 'unfriendly'. Overall, not great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review us. First of all, we are very sorry for the poor experience you had during your stay. Our staff is known for being friendly and helpful so the experience you had is not indicative of the norm here. Also, the shuttle service we offer is in fact cheaper than equivalent shuttles offered in the airport. It's more expensive than a regular taxi because it's a private service with clean and well maintained vehicles and all of our drivers have been vetted, i.e.. we have copies of insurance and identification. I'll be discussing your comments with the staff here so that they are aware and can improve in the future. Thank you again and we hope you may give us another chance in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2017
9.4

Great hostel!! The pool was more than welcome. We took the shuttle option to go from the airport and it was super good. Breakfast is really good and the staff is super nice. Good place to chill, we met a lot of travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2017
9.4

Great pool and common area, also a TV and Netflix to use. Felt very safe and staff was very nice and helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
8.0

A great hostel for Managua . I only stayed one night because I was just passing by . The staff picked me up from the airport even though I was lseven hours late due to flight delays . they drove me to the hostel no problem . It was fantastic ! the room was great although it was very hot but it's to be expected in Nicaragua. The staff was very helpful with information and directions as to where to grab the shuttles and all . Great neibourhood compared to the rest of Managua . I recommend this

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd May 2017
6.3

We had specifically booked a twin room so that one of us could get up early in the morning without disturbing the other, we were shown to a double and was told there was no other option which was very annoying as we wouldn't have booked this hostel otherwise. Close to the bus station and mega mall and was good to be able to watch Netflix though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I would like to apologize for the problems you had with the room. We've since made some changes to the room descriptions online to make it clear which rooms have twin (separate) beds and which do not. All the best!

17th May 2017
10.0

Cool staff and friendly. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th May 2017
6.0

I feel like this hostel kind of lacked atmosphere - the rooms weren't great and although everything was fairly clean it just wasn't the best. The location wasn't near any food (from what I could see) . Best thing was the clean drinking water ! I'm sorry guys I think I just didn't like managua haha

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th May 2017
5.1

No atmosphere whatsoever, not great for solo travel. Location was pretty poor. Breakfast was average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.