X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Managua Backpackers Inn Reviews

Colonial Los Robles Monte Los Olivos, 1 c. Norte, 1 c. Oeste, � c. Norte Casa #55, Managua, Nicaragua

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
363 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great place to be in. We stopped by on the last leg of our trip before we headed out of the airport near managua. We arranged a shuttle from the airport to the hostel and unfortunately they did not get the timing right, by reimbursed me back in full for the mistake. The staff and amenities are really great.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry about the mix up with the transportation from the airport and thanks for your understanding. We hope you will come back and stay with us again!

74%

The staff was awesome! So helpful, patient and kind!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! Hope to see you back at the hostel soon.

100%

Great location, friendly staff, and a pool. In Managua...that's huge! Will definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing your positive feedback! We hope to see you again soon.

91%

Great hostel, we arranged a pickup from the airport which was stress free and timely - a great help. The dorms were very warm but clean. Pool and communal areas are lovely!

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback!

94%

Roberto is great! Tabarnak

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes, is definitely a national treasure! Hope to see you again soon!

71%

Ok for one night stopover before/after airport run, would not stay more than 1 day as there is little to do in the area


71%

would be a great place if Managua had a bit more to offer and maybe the staff tried to set up some activities or help you find things to do in the area of the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Its true that Managua doesn't offer the same type of tourist experience that other cities in Nicaragua offer (i.e. surfing and colonial architecture), however, there are definitely still great things to do in the Capital. Managua has arguably the best nightlife in Nicaragua and some of the best restaurants. There are also a number of important National monuments and museums that are also worth a visit. We'll try to do a better job here of pointing these places out! Thanks for your comments.

83%

Good location to mall. Need A/C!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We offer various rooms that include a/c, including private rooms and dormitory. Thanks for your feedback.

89%

The staff was very welcoming. The atmosphere was relaxed and not stressful. The pool was clean and a plus to adapt to Nicaragua's temperature! A very nice place to start off or take off your trip from Managua's airport!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

Only stayed for one night but there was a great backpacker buzz, lots of different areas to hang out and mingle with other travelers, staff are friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend :)

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Had such a great time there. They were very helpful. We are going back before getting back on the plane!


80%

Great hostel! Friendly staff. My only wish is that there were larger lockers. They do have small lockers that will fit cameras, and valuables.


80%

Usual close to the airport hostel. Nice staff. Can't complain.


57%

staff could be more obliging

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This is a great place to stay after/before flying in/out. A cab to the airport should be about $5. During my stay, there was a decent mix of people staying for a night on their way somewhere, and others staying for several weeks.


77%

Great hostel if you want to stay for only one or two days. The hostel is in a relatively safe part of the city. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help you. The only downside is the vibe. Most people don't want to be involved in shared activities, and wanted to be on their own.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good location in a safe area of Managua. Couple good bars just down the road and a large shopping centre too. Staff were great though was told I would go back in the same room as I was in on my first stay but this didn't turn out to be corect. There are only small lockers in the common area. Nothing for your backpack. Beds are comfortable and it is kept nice and clean. Would stay here again.


80%

It was nice hostel, but the dorms are pretty hot. They should put more ventilators.


97%

The place was awesome. Food was pricey, but there were 2 open kitchens and massive supermarkets within 5 min walking distance in either direction. The pool was a nice bonus. I stayed for a bit, and when bed in my price range were taken, they were kind enough to allow me to stay for $5 on a hammock or couch. The one downside was that a longer-term guest with mental health issues threatened me multiple times in the presence of other guests, yet the manager wouldn't proactively evict him

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for providing us with your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you (mostly) enjoyed your stay here, except for the problem with the one guest that you mentioned. I just wanted to state that this guest was evicted from the hostel shortly after you left. We definitely do not tolerate any kind of threats made against guests, however, we still need to make sure we investigate thoroughly the situation before we evict someone. Sorry for the problems that you had with this person.

89%

We flew into Managua airport at night so it was nice to be picked up by the hostel. Do not spend time in Managua! There are so many beautiful places in Nicaragua and Managua is not one. This hostel is a great place to stay a day before or after your flight. Very safe and has a nice pool and good food. Great hostel, bad city.


(227 results)


View all Managua Hostels

Please give us your feedback