X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Managua Backpackers Inn Reviews

Colonial Los Robles Monte Los Olivos, 1 c. Norte, 1 c. Oeste, � c. Norte Casa #55, Managua, Nicaragua

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
347 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Quiet hostel with all the facilities that a traveler needs for a stopover in Managua

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing us with your positive comments!

86%

Very nice Guesthouse! Good and cheap breakfast, very fast Internet, refreshing Pool, a bunch of Good People on their Way in and out of Nicargaua. Safe neighberhood, guard 24h infront of the House and good staff. Free Water Not to forget :-) ..... If you travell a Lot in Nicaragua like i do, You will immediately appreciate this place! Def. Come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. We definitely hope you'll come back and stay with us soon.

97%

Good facilities and very helpful staff :)


83%

I stayed here on 3 different occasions in the mixed dorm. Beds are comfortable and rooms are big enough to put your stuff. There are fans, but it is still pretty hot at night inside the rooms. Nice outside hang-out areas and a cosy living room. Computer access. Reliable shuttle service. Staff was mainly uninterested and not really motivated, apart from 1 guy that was very motivated in flirting with female guests... It's a good place to stay when you're in Managua!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for providing us with your feedback. We appreciate the fact that you've chosen to come back and stay with us on a number of occasions. We'll try our best to keep the fans that are in the dorms in good working condition to keep the rooms as cool as possible. For better or for worse Managua is pretty hot, so we also offer a dorm with air conditioning, just in case that may work better for you next time.

49%

This hostel is poorly located for visiting Managua. The female dorm room has no lock and no secure storage facilities for backpacks. There are also broken window vents meaning mosquitos are a real problem at night. The staff were completely disinterested apart from a guy called Ricardo who was the only good thing about this place. There are better located hostels for your money - go elsewhere!! The hostel advertise as being in a safe location - this is only true if you want to visit the Mall...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, In fact the female dorm does have a lock on the door, however, being a shared dorm (not a private room), we don't provide a key to guests for the room. We'll look into the problem with the window and make any necessary repairs. Also, we have lockers located just outside of the room you stayed in and also near the reception area. We feel that the hostel is well located near major transport hubs and shopping, etc. in one the best neighborhoods in Managua. Thanks for your comments.

74%

Most people who stay here only stay for the night as they are either heading to or from the airport. The hostel is located in an upscale and safe area of Managua, close to expensive restaurants and bars. The staff speak good English and there are two computers for guest use, two kitchens and the swimming pool is a nice touch too. There doesn`t seem to be enough showers or toilets for the number of guests who stay in the dorms though. If you wish to explore downtown Managua you will need a taxi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for providing us with your comments. In general we have 1 bathroom/shower for each dormitory of 8 people (in addition to the bathrooms inside the private rooms). This lies within the recommended ratios for the hosteling industry. Some of the dormitories have an en-suite bathroom, however, perhaps the dormitory you stayed in did not. Thanks again for your comments and we'll keep an eye on the situation with the bathrooms and ensure they are in kept good working order.

77%

Managua is the most dangerous city. As far as hostels go, this one seemed very safe. A small group and myself walked around the block to the Cuban restaurant, which was pretty good. The private double room was rather expensive, compared to the price of the combined rooms. Still, it was clean and the air conditioner worked good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing your comments!

60%

Great location and not much competition in Managua, so often full, but only place in two months of traveling Central America that we thought was overpriced. Ants in the room and no electricity in the rooms until after 10 PM, which means no fan until then. Second night not turned on at all and couldn't find staff to do so. Only hostel in two months to do this. Restaurant and lounge area were good. Staff did not interact at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry to hear that you had these problems during your stay. In the case of the electricity, we definitely do not have a policy of turning off the power at any time. The only restriction we have is regarding the air conditioning, which is run between the hours of 9pm-9am, however, this in no way affects the availability of fans/tvs/lights, etc. which are a basic service here and available 24/7/365. Thanks for your comments.

69%

overpriced for the jail cell that my room was. (I haven't stayed elsewhere in Managua, but compared with elsewhere in Nicaragua). Meh.

  • 12th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to hear that you were not happy with the room you stayed in. We have a number of different room types and sizes. Perhaps next time we can offer you a larger room that may suit you better.

91%

I loved it here! I was totally stranded with no passport, I was able to book in within 30 mins of arrival and was greeted warmly. The staff knew english very well and were helpful in all situations. The 2 kitchens for use and pool facilities etc were kept very well and the linens changed each day. bathrooms of plenty and all in very sanitary conditions. A lot of turnover here an some nights the couches were rented out for 5$ since they were so full. I would definitely reccomend this hostel.

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your positive comments! We hope to see you again soon at the hostel.

97%

Lockers are very small and some of them didint work because my paddlelock was too small for them. Everything else was simply perfect.


89%

Good option!


83%

Friendly staff, extraordinarily clean and pleasant atmosphere. Staff begin cleaning at 6:30 am though, that seems early to me. Only cold water showers, that might put some people off.

  • 25th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

It was good they had 2 wifi areas so you could get online anywhere in the hostel. Was in a nice area


89%

Nice Hostel with a swimming pool. the guy working in the reception is very helpful.


43%

I do not recommend this place, old installations, just the pool is ok, everything else baad!

  • 19th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel and really helpful staff, slightly annoying there was only one toilet working which was also where people showered but eventually the staff let me use another room that had checked out. Good spot that feels safe to walk around.


83%

We stayed 2 nights, the first was very good, received our room just like we reserved and it was clean and comfortable. The second night was miserable; the room we reserved wasn't available despite reserving it far in advance, so we were given another room with no working electricity for fans or AC, so it was very uncomfortable and we hardly slept. It would be hard for me to recommend this hostel because of that experience, even though it is clean and comfortable. Fix that kind of problem please!

  • 18th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We arrived very late and were very happy to find an open door and a good bed.


94%

This is a great place to centre yourself in Managua. I availed of the airport pick up as I arrived in a bit late and was glad to have done so as it can be a bit daunting without the local lingo! Beds are good. Great to have a kitchen but it needs more cutlery and crockery. Close to UCA busses for Leon and Granada. Lockers available for smaller packs. Take your own lock. I returned here twice during my trip through Nicaragua, and was always greeted with a smile from Ricardo... Enjoyable stay.


(218 results)


View all Managua Hostels

Please give us your feedback