X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Managua Backpackers Inn Reviews

Colonial Los Robles Monte Los Olivos, 1 c. Norte, 1 c. Oeste, � c. Norte Casa #55, Managua, Nicaragua

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
526 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Super cute for a temporary stay! The pool helps so much because there is quite little to do around Managua! So many awesome bars and food nearby as well as the convenience of the mall a minute away!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive comments!

83%

Roberto is the guy at the frontdesk that you need to help you! He is really kind and do.everything possible to give you the good.information. But the other guys at the front.desk.where looking high and lost in the wind... The place is very secure and of a mall with grocery store which is really nice because you have access to the kitchen to cook. The pool is also really nice! This is a good option for transit to go at the airport or arriving in managua .

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Showers need to be improve.


89%

I really like this place and always stay when I am passing through Managua. Atmosphere is great, very laid back and I always meet other travelers and the staff is super sweet and professional. Highly recommended for budget travelers.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comments. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again soon.

74%

Good size dorm, nice kitchen & good location. Unfortunately, I had things stolen from my dorm, people not very sociable. Two staff members not very helpful, except guy there on final day. Taxi arranged for Ticabus, but was 25 mins late, nearly missed bus. No storage room when I went to Ometepe.


97%

Only stayed here one night before flying out but was very nice and a really good value. Lots of shared and private space. Our private room was very nice and it seemed like the quiet hours were enforced. Free drinking water was a treat! Note-pool needed to be cleaned.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. We completely clean and chlorinate the pool daily before 8am, so its possible the pool was getting a bit dirty with leaves, etc.by later in the day. We'll keep a closer eye on the pool between cleanings.

54%

stayed there on new years eve (we were flying out of Managua on January 1st), place was totally empty and there was nothing to do


89%

Located a few blocks from Metro Center in an upscale neighborhood that is drifting commercial. The hostel is two adjoining buildings that are in good shape and well maintained. Tasty breakfasts are available for a modest price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing your commentary!

74%

This was my third stay here and my second trip to Nica. This is my go-to place before and after flights in Managua. This stay was the best - thought it would be a quiet night reading before catching a flight home the next morning. But by 10pm there were about 15 people from five countries by the pool all talking. Had a private room with a shared bath - the other room managed to lock me out, so I had to use the communal one, which wasn't fun. Could have asked for help I guess, but it was early.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. That happens once-in-a-while with the shared bathroom. Next time that happens, let the receptionist know and we'll get the shared bathroom unlocked asap.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

This is definitely not a party hostel, one on the quieter side, but that's The neighborhood is quiet and suburban, close to some fancy restaurants & literally right around the corner from Intercontinental Hotel, Metrocentro & most importantly... La Colonia (grocery store)! We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip & 1 night at the end. It's a fairly large hostel, lots of common areas inside and out to socialize, a big (kind of old) kitchen, lots of bathrooms & a CAFE for breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive comments! We hope to see you again soon.

86%

Good hostel, though I hated managua. Very close to a mall and not too far from bus stations

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the hostel!

74%

The location seems far from things, but we didn't venture out much so we could be wrong about that. The room was clean and the bathroom was good too (we had the private). Breakfast was good (extra $). The staff was okay, and the atmosphere was kind of lacking. It was good for what we needed-an overnight somewhere safe. It is pretty expensive though for what it is. Does have wifi though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
In fact the hostel is very much located in the new centre of Managua. We are located near 2 large supermarkets, a shopping mall and there are also many restaurants and bars located within a few minutes walk of the hostel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the hostel.

91%

Good for a night stay,or longer if you must be in Managua. people were really friendly and the location was one of the better I've had the opportunity to see in the terrible place that is Managua. But it was slightly difficult to find the bus station from the hotel walking.. So take a cab or if you're proficient In spanish keep following the road as it's confusing w the map the hotel gives you (not very much to scale).

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for providing your comments!

89%

A big hostel that includes a pool and a lot of space to hang out. I would definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. We hope to see you again soon.

63%

The overhead fan in our dorm was broken so a desk fan was put in place. That didn't sufficiently cool the room so other travellers opened windows letting in lots of mosquitos. Both the kitchens were poorly stocked, grotty and disorganised. On the upside, shower/bathroom was clean and well stocked, cheap laundry service, nice staff. Managua itself is a dive so I didn't have much expectations for a hostel. I suppose is the best choice as you are likely only here for stopover.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We checked the overhead fan in the room that you stayed in and it is in good working order. Perhaps it was just a matter of adjusting the setting to increase the speed of the fan? Also, as much as we can, we try to keep the two shared/communal kitchens as clean as possible. However, we make it quite clear through signs in each kitchen that each guest is responsible for cleaning their own dishes, cutlery, etc. Unfortunately this rule doesn't always get complied with. Thanks for your feedback

86%

A great option for a quick stopover through Managua. There was free black coffee in the morning, good wifi, and seemed to be in a convenient area. Staff were very helpful, and it was overall a very quiet, pleasant stay.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback!

86%

Great value for a decent hostel. It's close to the mall and a few bars, has a pool, and the beds are comfy and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments!

80%

It doesn't take USD$20 to take taxi from the airport, walk out the airport to the street and you can get a taxi for C$200 (8~10USD), you can ask the taxi drive to pick you up the next day to airport for the same amount. There are some good restaurants near the hostel, like La cocina de Doña Haydee. Free/fast Wifi, free water and good kitchen. Most of the people here stays for one night at either their beginning of journey or last day of the journey.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We offer a shuttle service to our guests as a private and safe alternative to the taxi service you described. It is absolutely true that cheaper transport can be found between the airport and the hostel if you are willing to step a bit outside of the airport onto the main street. Just be aware that this is not likely to be a private service and may not be as clean and safe as what we offer. Thanks for providing your comments!

94%

Nice large hostel with pool near to shopping mall with food court. Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff are very helpful. Perfect place for a stopover in Managua, would stay again.


80%

Excellent hostel!

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! We hope to see you again soon.

(299 results)


View all Managua Hostels

Please give us your feedback