Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mandala Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 785 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 785 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Mar 2017
9.1

Small cosy hostel, I recommend ! Everything was great, the staff was very nice. Only a few points to be perfect : - There's only 2 showers (with toilets inside), for up to ~15 people. - some hostel are closer ot the center (it's ok, you need less than 10min walking to the bars, 15min to the center) - the floorboards creak for every single move, but that's also the charm of an old fashion hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

Wonderful hostel. I would say it's the cheapest hostel in Budapest. It's well located right in the center just 5-10 minutes away walking from the main square. You have a tram at 3 minutes walking. The staff is super helpful, they treat you like you are a family member. It has a very cozy-familiar-friendly atmosphere. The only thing I didn't like is that I couldn't stay longer because I had to go to another city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • NZ_Globetrotter
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Feb 2017
9.7

I will never forget my time at Mandala Hostel. It really was more like a home than a hostel! And the lovely rescue animals were an absolute bonus! Fabulous staff, fabulous concept.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • smott
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Mandala is a very relaxed and quiet hostel, but would not be desirable for anyone who wants a loud or party style atmosphere. Staff is very friendly and all the bathrooms and beds are tidy and clean, they even have a guitar to jam on. Worth its price :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
8.9

Very nice and uncommon experience. Eco friendly policy. If you're looking for a room to have a good sleep, maybe you should avoid booking the double private room that is next to the kitchen (common area), it can be a bit loud in the evening.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
9.7

I love this little cozy hostel. Maybe because of the small size, every traveler gets to know each other,we hangout a lot at the kitchen. The employee are super helpful and nice. There is one thing I would like to point out is, I wish they have more lights in the room, it's too dim most of the time. Other than that, I strongest recommend you should stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Oct 2016
8.3

Nice clean hostel. Not much atmosphere though and the common area is in a dorm so it's a bit awkward when people are trying to sleep. The staff were really helpful and accommodating though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Oct 2016
9.4

By far the most diverse social and hospitable hostel I have stayed at in my 6 weeks of travel. Staff couldn't do enough to help. Sad I had to leave..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
7.1

Neat little place, nice people. Kinda a cool setup with nice decor. Problem is you hear everyone and it can be hard to just turn in and go to sleep. They had a dog that would growl at you. Also apparently their building was having some maintenance done so there was no running water to use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Oct 2016
9.1

If you want to stay in one of the private rooms, be aware that they are not located within the hostel. It is an extra apartment around the corner. So you won't have a "real" hostel-feeling unless you go to the "main-part" If you are a group of 6 or so, than this is definitely the best choice! It was clean, safe and staff was friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.