Hostelworld.com

Mandala Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 780 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 780 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • smott
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Mandala is a very relaxed and quiet hostel, but would not be desirable for anyone who wants a loud or party style atmosphere. Staff is very friendly and all the bathrooms and beds are tidy and clean, they even have a guitar to jam on. Worth its price :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
8.9

Very nice and uncommon experience. Eco friendly policy. If you're looking for a room to have a good sleep, maybe you should avoid booking the double private room that is next to the kitchen (common area), it can be a bit loud in the evening.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
9.7

I love this little cozy hostel. Maybe because of the small size, every traveler gets to know each other,we hangout a lot at the kitchen. The employee are super helpful and nice. There is one thing I would like to point out is, I wish they have more lights in the room, it's too dim most of the time. Other than that, I strongest recommend you should stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Oct 2016
8.3

Nice clean hostel. Not much atmosphere though and the common area is in a dorm so it's a bit awkward when people are trying to sleep. The staff were really helpful and accommodating though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Oct 2016
9.4

By far the most diverse social and hospitable hostel I have stayed at in my 6 weeks of travel. Staff couldn't do enough to help. Sad I had to leave..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
7.1

Neat little place, nice people. Kinda a cool setup with nice decor. Problem is you hear everyone and it can be hard to just turn in and go to sleep. They had a dog that would growl at you. Also apparently their building was having some maintenance done so there was no running water to use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Oct 2016
9.1

If you want to stay in one of the private rooms, be aware that they are not located within the hostel. It is an extra apartment around the corner. So you won't have a "real" hostel-feeling unless you go to the "main-part" If you are a group of 6 or so, than this is definitely the best choice! It was clean, safe and staff was friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Sep 2016
5.7

It was very quiet so I didn't get to meet many other travellers which was a shame

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
25th Sep 2016
7.1

Staff were super friendly/helpful and location was good, but the dorm room is actually the common room and my bed was right next to the couches which was a little weird and I felt uncomfortable going to bed early because everyone was sat on the couches.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Sep 2016
8.0

This place had a very homey feel and it was a good place to stay as a solo traveler. As a non smoker, however, I wouldn't suggest staying here. The place always smelled like cigarettes. People would smoke non stop on the balcony but the way that things are configured made it easy for smoke to drift into the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.