Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mandarin Hostel Budapest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.5
Mandarin Hostel Budapest Located at Budapest, VIII.k. Vajdahunyad 30., , Budapest.
Mandarin Hostel Budapest
Hungary
Budapest 1082 Budapest, VIII.k. Vajdahunyad 30.
76% 1847
47.4870925 19.0738749
Mandarin Hostel Budapest
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.3

Nice hostel, not far from the centre of town (about 25 min walk). Lots of social areas and things to do like ping-pong, pool etc. Wifi was a bit hit and miss and the rooms could have perhaps been a LITTLE cleaner but it was by no means dirty or in need of serious washing and I enjoyed my stay here :) would certainly recommend people to stay here if on a budget as the location is good, the hostel is nice and the staff were very welcoming and friendly!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
2.0

Worst hostel I have ever been to. Would not ever recommend. Booked from the 10-17 of August. On the 13th they told us they had over booked and there was no room for the 2 of us. They never offered us any help in finding another hostel to stay in they just got angry at us swore in their own language then told us to get out. We were stranded in hungry in the middle of their biggest festival with no where to stay. Extremely rude people also

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
9.1

I liked it a lot! Nice place, huge kitchen, beautiful backyard with table tennis and a BBQ. The location was great as well as a good starting point to explore the sights of the city or to get lost in the stunning surroundings. You can definetly go there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
2.9

A 2.9 overall rating is actually generous for this place. I read a few of the bad reviews prior to booking but chose to ignore them for the good ones, I regret this. Bloke who checked us in in the morning wasn't friendly at all. Security wise they give the luggage room key to ANYONE, it literally just sits at the front desk so anyone can grab it. Did not feel safe leaving my luggage there. No quiet hours either so people were making a racket and playing ping pong till 4am. DO NOT STAY HERE

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
9.7

The Mandarin Hostel is located in walk-distance from most things one wants to see in Budapest. Every resident is given a personal cupboard with electronic lock (bound to a chip on your keys). The yard offers a perfect ambience for joining great conversations and meeting new people. The bunks vary in quality (some is made from wood, some from steel) - but none are worse than expected. The 24-hour check-in is not overwhelmingly easy to figure out, but the staff is nice and helping!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
8.3

Great location for metro & trams plus many shops easily within reach. Beautiful courtyard area and good facilities. They let us store our kit in a secure luggage room for most of the day after check out. The down side was the dorm was squashed and airless and the atmosphere was dominated by drunken "back packers" (who aren't travellers) so no real chance to meet interesting/alternative nomads. Good deal for one night only.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
10.0

Stay at Mandarin hostel, was just amazing, the beds are confortable, everything clean, the lockers are so safe ( the hostel provide you electronic key), the location great, is a less than five minutes to the metro, and if you want to walk until the center is close too. Next to the hostel you have a big mall, where you can buy everything , the hostel has a big kitchen, where makes you feel at home,you have all you need to cook anything you want and the staff is just so helpfull, warm and polite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
9.1

Was there for a couple of nights, amazing facilities, clean place, would love to visit again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2016
6.6

the hostel was great value for money. but the location wasnt too great, you need to take the metro to get into the centre. but the metro station is really close. theres free foosball and pool and a PC with internet access. just dont expect too much for a hostel thats so cheap. overall a pretty good experience :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.3

The best hostel I have ever been. Staff was very kind, the atmosphere was awesome. If I will ever come to Budapest, I will definitely stay at Mandarin again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.