Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mandarin Hostel Budapest

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,807 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,807 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.5
Mandarin Hostel Budapest Located at Budapest, VIII.k. Vajdahunyad 30., , Budapest.
Mandarin Hostel Budapest
Hungary
Budapest 1082 Budapest, VIII.k. Vajdahunyad 30.
76% 1807
47.4870925 19.0738749
Mandarin Hostel Budapest
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
8.9

We loved our stay at the Mandarin Hostel- the atmosphere is lively and friendly, the kitchen really handy, and the lockers (electronic) very secure. The location is easy to access and easy to get to other main sites in Budapest, and a shopping centre with a supermarket very close by. However, as two young girls we found the location unsafe after dark and were wary to walk back alone. The hostel was a little noisy, but overall good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
9.7

Great atmosphere, meet great people. It worth it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
5.1

This place was a very average hostel, the internet kind of sucked, it was dirty, the staff was semi friendly, it was not the best but it was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • katie59913
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Jul 2016
5.4

Location is great but there's not much happening here. The hostel is very dated and rooms are so tiny. I wouldn't stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
2.0

The staff especially the old man was so rude! Asking me to pay again for my bed which I already paid at check in and he was saying I wasn't checked in yet and told me I had to move to another room. Avoid it like a plague! No athmostphere at all. They advertise as 24 hour reception, that's bulls because they close reception at 11. You often have people trying to check inn buzzing the bell after 11 and no one answers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
8.9

I stayed for a week with a friend, and we had a great time! It's location is pretty good, a shopping mall literally seconds away, so it's handy to get fresh food every morning at the supermarket before adventuring! It's a little out of the centre of town, but we appreciated it in the long run in order to get a decent nights sleep without trying to block out nightclub noises etc. You get a locker to put your stuff in, which has ample space, so you dont have to worry about carrying everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2016
4.0

Potentially great hostel but poor experience. Very hard to find. Greeted by loads of smelly bins in lobby. guy on the desk was rude and not helpful checking in. Asked us to pay in Euros but no card machine (after finding an ATM that actaully did them at a really bad conversion rate, we were later told we could've paid in Forints, which we had, which meant it was more expensive than expected), room and storage locker felt insecure (anyone could take key), kitchen smelled weird and no atmosphere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
5th Jul 2016
8.0

A very nice place and all in all good value for Money. Only complaint is the lack of tidyness and cleanliness. Some of it due to travellers who don't bother to tidy up after themselves - and the cleaning doesn't seem to be enough to catch up for that laziness!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Jun 2016
4.6

The uncomfortable start to your stay at the Mandarin begins as you open the door, here you are greeted with the smell of Frebrez on top of week old rubbish in 30 degree heat. This unsanitary feeling continues as you go to the bathroom where being able to wash your hands with a working tap is now luxury. Waking up in the morning is never an issue, as falling asleep in the first place is almost impossible, but due to the lack of shower fittings the enema will definitely wake you. Good luck!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • kirra
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
8.3

One of the cheapest hostels in town, but even keeping that in mind the fact that there was only one toilet for the floor was inconvenient, and no bin so people dropped things on the ground. People are living there, and staff thrust sheets at me and pointed in the general direction of my room. Still good value for money though, security is excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.