Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mandarin Hostel Budapest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,880 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,880 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.7
Mandarin Hostel Budapest Located at Budapest, VIII.k. Vajdahunyad 30., , Budapest.
Mandarin Hostel Budapest
Hungary
Budapest 1082 Budapest, VIII.k. Vajdahunyad 30.
77% 1880
47.4870925 19.0738749
Mandarin Hostel Budapest
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Sep 2016
5.4

It was the worst place I have ever stayed in! After check in, I never saw any of the staff again, there were old men staying in the hostel who made it clear that they were sexually attracted to some of us girls. There were multiple guests who were mentally unstable and on first glance, the staff should have noticed and not allowed them to stay for their own saftey and the saftey of others. There was NO social atmosphere at all! Would NOT recommend staying here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Sep 2016
6.3

Staff is spotty and won't necessarly answer the door when you ring, there's not much of an athmosphere, but other than that it's pretty nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Sep 2016
10.0

I love everything about this hostel. Very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
6.9

Location was good, near mall and public transport, but the surrounding was a bit dark and creepy especially at night. The receptionist wasnt always there, couldnt use card to pay. Like the individual locker with the electric key. Extra secure because no stranger could get in the hostel without key.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Sep 2016
4.9

Was extremely cheap so didn't expect much however the price was the only good thing about the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
6.3

Late-night smoke from cigarettes wafting into the room, facing the courtyard, plus noise from late-night talking/laughing in the courtyard, plus very creaky beds, made sleeping difficult here. I had to go and ask other guests to exercise basic courtesy and respect and stop smoking just below my room, well after midnight, and also, request others to turn down the volume on their boisterous conversation, again well after midnight. Staff should be responsible for talking to inconsiderate guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Aug 2016
9.4

Nice little hostel, the old guy who runs it reminds me of the three eyed raven from game of thrones (that's a good thing!). My only complaint would be that we had a twin room with wooden framed beds which were very noisy and creaked everything we rolled over, quite loud! I don't think all beds in the hostel are wooden though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Aug 2016
9.4

Great little hostel, great environment, close to lots of things.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
8.6

I was looking for a place with a relaxed, more quiet atmosphere than other party hostels in the city. It was definitely nice in that sense, and the outdoor courtyard was a lovely space to chill. What I did not enjoy however was that the dorm room was located right on the street, and there would be loud construction noises at 5 am, or people talking right outside at any odd hour.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Georgia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2016
9.7

We loved hostel staff very much especially maid. She was very nice to us. We will come again in mandarin hostel if we are back in budapest :) Thanks a lot for amazing memories

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.