Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mandarin Hostel Budapest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1895 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1895 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
4.3

The staff here sucks ass, with the exception of the old man whom i assume owns the place. Don't leave anything out at all not even in the fridgeratir because it will get stollen. I had a few things stollen here not just food and it only takes a minute for it to happen. The heat is off during the day and is not turned back on until late in the evening so the room is cold when you first go to sleep. The place routinly smells of pot, which i would not mind if they offered a bowl for compensation.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
5.1

The staff was not very nice or helpful, often not at the reception desk (which often smelled like weed). The wifi didn't work at all in my room, and only intermittently right in front of the reception office. Also after being out all day I came back to find no bedding on my bed. At this point the others in my room were asleep and I had to struggle to put sheets and a duvet cover on in the dark. Also the bedding, pillow and duvet were basically nothing. I wore sweats and used my coat as a blanket

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
7.1

Good location and security. Staff was pretty catatonic and inconsistently available. Wireless is horrendous. Their sign says there is printing, but there isn't. God only knows where you can find it. They charge you for just about anything else you might need (besides the room itself), so the value is pretty lackluster.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • evonne0616
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Dec 2016
7.4

not very far from the city centre. The price is pretty good and worth it. Shared kitchen and public room.The room is clean enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Dec 2016
10.0

I really suggest this hostel. All the staff is very friendly, professional and kind.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Sep 2016
5.4

It was the worst place I have ever stayed in! After check in, I never saw any of the staff again, there were old men staying in the hostel who made it clear that they were sexually attracted to some of us girls. There were multiple guests who were mentally unstable and on first glance, the staff should have noticed and not allowed them to stay for their own saftey and the saftey of others. There was NO social atmosphere at all! Would NOT recommend staying here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Sep 2016
6.3

Staff is spotty and won't necessarly answer the door when you ring, there's not much of an athmosphere, but other than that it's pretty nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Sep 2016
10.0

I love everything about this hostel. Very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
6.9

Location was good, near mall and public transport, but the surrounding was a bit dark and creepy especially at night. The receptionist wasnt always there, couldnt use card to pay. Like the individual locker with the electric key. Extra secure because no stranger could get in the hostel without key.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Sep 2016
4.9

Was extremely cheap so didn't expect much however the price was the only good thing about the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.