Hostelworld.com

Mandarin Hostel Budapest

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 1,723 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 1,723 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 7.0
Mandarin Hostel Budapest Located at Budapest, VIII.k. Vajdahunyad 30., , Budapest.
Mandarin Hostel Budapest
Hungary
Budapest 1082 Budapest, VIII.k. Vajdahunyad 30.
70% 1723
47.4870925 19.0738749
Mandarin Hostel Budapest
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2016
4.0

I never leave bad reviews but this hostel was surprisingly terrible- even for the cheap price. The wifi didn't work at all, the whole kitchen was disgusting, my bed was filthy and painfully uncomfortable. Little to no atmosphere. Upon checkout a staff member accused me of not paying when I had personally paid him two nights prior. Probably a good idea to keep track of things like that.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
6.3

The pillow cases and blankets offered appeared to be a bit under washed and some had a horrible smell to them. The lockers offered to keep possessions worked well. The wifi was horrible and cut out completely one day in the bedroom. Overall, decent not great but worth cheap value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Apr 2016
9.7

I stayed for only a few hours at the hostel, but everything was perfect. Zoltán was very friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and tidy, as well as the bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Mar 2016
6.0

This hostel was ok. I mean for this price we get what we expect. The Metro Station is really close to the hostel and you have a big shopping mall close to the hostel. The staff is friendly. Just the bathroom was a little bit dirty. For all young people its a good hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • mhagzie1505
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Mar 2016
4.9

Staff barely acknowledged my existence. One went as far as snubbing me twice when I was the only other person in the dorm. Terrible atmosphere in the hostel. Would not recommend for solo travel, fine for a group for a short stay maybe? A few older men were hanging around hostel, not sure if they were guests

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
4.9

The restroom was just impossible to deal with. Super dirty and stinky! The bedroom is really tiny but it's ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2016
3.4

It was the worst hostel i have been. Its a really old and dirty building. Every room smells funny. The toilettes are really dirty, smelled like urine or smoke. Sometimes there were ashes on the floor and wifi was really slow. The lockers didn't work so my stuff wasn't safe at all. There was a huge gap on the bathroom celling on top of each shower that had access to the attic. Overall I felt really uncomfortable in this hostel, honestly I'm surprise it is still open.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
8.0

This is a really good hostel if you aren't looking to party a lot. Many people went to sleep early. It had really nice showers though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
6.6

It's a suitable place for young people who come to hostel only for sleeping. The location is pretty much OK, another advantage is the lockers for every person in the room. But there are some problems with facilities (pillows and blankets are terrible, hair-dryer is very slow, no air-conditioner) and they didn't give us free towels (the rent is possible). There actually was no space in the room. The bathroom could have been cleaner. The receptionist has very strange accent and reminded a vampire.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
4.3

There was no heating. The stuff tell us that we need to take a clothes and the linens were to short.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.