Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mandarin Hostel Budapest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 1943 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 1943 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jul 2017
6.3

the place is cheap and reflect that , noisy and not really clean, the dormitorys were smelling and cramped, at night the street become noisy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2017
9.4

Lovely staff and great hostel! Location was fab, next to a large shopping centre and the metro was easy only 3 stops into the centre! Wasn't the cleanest hostel I've been too but wasnt dirty! Bathroom was good although no lock on the door but other that a lovely stay! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jun 2017
7.1

Quite a long walk from the centre. I was in a four bed dorm with my friends and the room was cramped and was in the centre of the building so the only window opened out onto the corridor. This meant it was hard to cool the room down. Showers were not mounted so awkward to shower with. However it was reasonable for the price we paid

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2017
5.7

It is cheap, but there is a reason. You are far away from most of the city's attractions but there is transport nearby. The bathrooms were awful. Not enough, no locks, see through shower doors, very dirty floor, no place inside for a towel or your clothes, constantly running out of paper towels and toilet paper that staff were slow to replace. My dorm room had two local people living there that didn't speak English and it was uncomfortable in the room with them. But it was cheap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
6.6

Not a bad place but you could probably get something better for the same price. My check in was at 2, so I got there at 2 and they told me I had to come back in an hour which was kinda annoying. There was never a person at the reception, you had to call them from a phone at the desk. It was a pretty good place though for $6 a night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
2.0

Some friends were robbed in this hostel and the staff didn't even bother in help them. The "smart lockers" they have, are actually broken. There is 1 toilet for more than 20 people. I'm a budget traveler but this is just anti hygienic. The only good part is the lunge and the kitchen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
5.1

Would not recommend for solo female travellers. Bathroom and shower doors don't lock and the shower sliding doors are kind of see through. Room mates camera & wallet was stolen the first night. Difficulty checking in late as reception is often unmanned. Hostel located next to a shopping centre and railway line (3 stops from city square which was great). I believe they purchased a single dooner, cut it up into twelve squares and then issued them to guests as pillows.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
6.3

Dirty flooded bathrooms. Entire place reeks of cigarette smoke. Expensive for the amenities. Wifi is shoddy and goes in and out. Sheets looked dirty. Pillows were flat. In a shady part of town. Also. If you're a female, I would recommend going somewhere else. There are a lot of men in their 40s+, as there is no age limit for the hostel. Felt a bit unsafe. On the bright side; there's a diverse group of young travelers, front desk gentlemen were helpful and friendly, it's a ten minute walk ...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th May 2017
5.4

The biggest issue I had was the overall cleanliness. The pillow and duvet were way past due to be updated. The pillow was hardly a pillow due to the fact that the cotton inside was all coming apart. The sheets given were also below average but not terrible. The room itself was fine as far as space (small but it didn´ t bother me), however, I slept on the top bunk next to the lockers which you can see the top of and the entire top was caked with layers of dust. Way past due to be cleaned.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2017
9.7

Great hostel, not too close to the city centre but only a couple of metro stops out Staff were friendly and helpful, as were the other guests, not too busy but lively enough I've stayed in a few hostels but this one I can't think of any way to improve, would definitely recommend if you're on a budget

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.